We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky beach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de Maspalomas

Playa de Maspalomas
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Maspalomas
Attraction details
Ifrane, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rocky beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were disappointed with our trip to this beach. It was very rocky, which made it hard to enjoy just hanging out in the water. We were staying near this beach and would have liked to return each day, but we opted to check out other (sandier) beaches on the island instead. In the future, we would stay near a different beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    620
    166
    43
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a lovely beach backed by sand dunes, with huge waves, my boyfriend wanted to try walk right to the end to see where the maspalomas beach and playa del ingles beach met, warning this is a very long walk and you end up right through the nudist part!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach - fantastic! Camel rides - just don't!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The beach at Maspalomas is fantastic; accessible, clean and great for the family (at the eastern end!) The surrounding restaurants are great disappointment; they all seem to be a clone of each other and are expensive (for the Canary Islands was supposed to be cheap).

If you're tempted to go for camel ride across the dunes my recommendation is: - 'Don't do it!'. The camel ride was supposed to be our trip for the day with our young son. What at waste of time and money it turned out to be. When we arrived it wasn't clear where we should pay, I found a young man inside a building working on a laptop and asked the question and he was most aggressive in his response and was shouting for one of his staff, (giving the impression just give us your money and get out). If I recall correctly the rides are about £12 each adult and lasted about 45 min, however it was 40 min too long, because once you've seen one sand-dune whilst sitting atop a slow meandering camel you've seen them all. To be fair the guides leading the camels were friendly and took photographs of us, although our smiles belie the tedium. The only excitement was when we spotted a large fat old man standing proudly atop a dune beside a bush - stark naked; luckily I managed to distract my young son to spare him the trauma! (Yes, the camel excursion is that the western edge of the naturist beach).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed with rocks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The fact that one could loose the footing going into ocean was alarming and made swimming impossible unless you were familiar with this

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Soft sand but no shade.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Liked the long sandy walks but even in 31 degrees of heat the cold sea was not very inviting. If you walk right to the end of the beach you will find it occupied by naturists. Not a pretty site.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de Maspalomas also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Gran Canaria, Canary Islands
 
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Playa de Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de Maspalomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.