We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maspalomas Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de Maspalomas

Playa de Maspalomas
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Maspalomas
Attraction details
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Maspalomas Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Nice beach, but very crowded. Not particularly impressed with the nudist area which is way too close to the main beach area. You have to pay for the deckchairs, but it is clean.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    618
    164
    43
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“LOVED THE AREA AND SAND DUNES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in the Maspalomas area and loved it. Eight of us booked into the Ifa Faro Hotel, which i would highly recommend. A smashing hotel right on the beach..................bliss.
The sand dunes are a five minute walk away from the hotel along a clean beach. The sand dunes itself are just beautiful. We ran up them ( well tried to........ had to stop a few times to get our breath !) ) and took some smashing photographs.
There are nudist areas and when the first nude person walked past us, i felt really embarrassed. But then it was what the heck, aren't we all the same and I didn't even notice them.
Maspolomas is a lovely area to stay, with transportation links to all parts of the island.
It's quite, very pleasant, lovely coffee shops, bars and some good restaurants and a really good beach with life guards. Avoid if you want disco's. loud music and cheap clothes shops.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANGLESEY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I like to walk on the waters edge along the beach, it is a long walk & will take about 5 to 6 hours to walk it all, there are a lot of nudes there but do no harm to anyone you just need to be aware of it or of course you can turn back if you wish..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Found the area not well indicated with signs or attractions and the type of hotels were well out of our budget, worth passing through

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great beach but can be windy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

super surfing for the beginner. 20 minutes pleasant walk from Dunas suites and villas but can push a pushchair if needed. good beach hire and chair and umbrella good value.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de Maspalomas also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Gran Canaria, Canary Islands
 
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Playa de Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de Maspalomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.