We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabaiba Princess

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tabaiba Princess to your Saves list
Tabaiba Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smashing Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the all-inclusive Tabaiba, 14-25 Feb, 2013.Room no. 1237. Staff were very friendly and helpful on the desk and you were greeted in a lovely grand atrium, complete with rec. birdsong! Food superb and laid out in an attractive way. Plenty of choice, the fish and shellfish were very nice.The red wine was particularly nice but the white and rose were not cooled, so stayed with red.The lovely themed evenings included Canarian and Mexican, with staff dressed in costumes and mariachi bands playing, and a Chinese buffet. There was also an excellent choice at breakfast. Special diets can also be catered for.

Our room and bathroom were large and comfortable. The balcony was sunny for a while in the morning, but had no view as such, apart from tall palms and cactus, which made it private.

The hotel shares facilities with her twin, the Maspalomas Princess, and you can choose either hotel for the entertainment. All inclusive guests may take their drinks with them.The entertainment was mixed. Shows were varied. We liked the soul music night, the Brothers acrobatic duo and also the team of Chinese Acrobats.The drag impressionist show was quite short. Well done Martin Dunckley, from Astrotrek, who put on a star gazing eve. by the pool. Bookings taken at reception. He had a set of high powered telescopes set on the moon, orion and jupiter. We had a great time spotting craters on the moon and saw the moons of jupiter and it's bands clearly. Hope he does well as this was a new venture and that the hotel keep him on as a permanent show.

The pool complex was very attractive but only 2 were heated. The all inclusive snack bar was very pleasant, as it overlooked the pool, and comes in useful on your arrival day.

Maspalomas beach is about 25mins walk along the side of the storm gulley, passing an attractive nature reserve, where we saw a flamingo and other birds feeding. The beach is gorgeous and stretches around to Playa del Ingles, but beware the 'nudierudies'! Beyond the lighthouse, in the other direction, is Meloneras, with a swish set of shops and restaurants. The walk is lovely here, where you can watch surfers, whilst listening to beautiful Spanish guitar music. The market is about 45 mins north from the hotel along the gulley.(After 20 mins you reach Holiday World where there is a handy loo), then continue to mkt., via the tunnel ahead. Masses of stalls!

Other activities: We booked the jeep safari through First Choice. We went with Raymond, and Joshue was filming the whole thing. DVD's can be bought. Was a great day out.Mountains and gorges amazing. Also went on the Supercat trip which was great. Food excellent, wine not so good! My husband went diving to extend his qualification, which he enjoyed. This was attended at Taurito.

We would recommend this holiday, as the hotel was great and the staff were very nice and extremely hard working. Daily temp. was lovely. A lovely break to escape the bad weather at home. Would definitely return! Thankyou.

Room Tip: The rooms opposite the pool complex seem to have the sunniest balconies, but may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    415
    172
    50
    17
See reviews for
314
495
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got back on the 26th of february and We felt it was over rated and getting dated.
Rooms need new matresses and lick of paint,only one pool usable in feb as the other so called climatised pools were freezing.About 4 euros in taxi to get anywhere as a bit far out and not alot to see close by.
First choice brochure un official rating is a 5 star???? but to be honest just makes a 4 in our opinion.
No one to take cases for you on arrival,had to pay for a fridge and the general condition of hotel is looking tired.
saying this the food is very good,maid service and general staff are great and if you want a no frills clean hotel within half an hour of airport to lay on a sunbed for a week then you should book.
If the price was right and no other hotels available then we would revisit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is, in my opinion, a lovely hotel. We've just returned, rested and refreshed, from an eleven day all inclusive break which was really enjoyable.

The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, and the bedrooms spacious with plenty of storage space.

The pool area and gardens are well tended, and although there was a bit of 'sun lounger reserving', we never once found the need to do so and always managed to find somewhere to our liking to sunbathe.

The restaurant is very well managed with food replenished constantly. The food was always displayed attractively and was extremely tasty with plenty of choice and variety at all meals.
Couldn't fault it any way, and the wines are drinkable (just) though a shandy was more palatable!

Reception staff are very obliging and ensure that you get whatever you ask for. Can't get English chanels on the TV? A maintenance man appeared within minutes to retune it. Need another pillow? Just ask and it will be there by bedtime. Fridge not working? Replaced while we were at dinner.

The location will depend on your preference, as it is in a quiet area with not a lot going on around. If you exit by the back gate there is a supermarket across the road for everyday essentials (be prepared to queue!) but it's worth noting that they do not sell medicines so take everything you need with you as it's a long walk to find a chemist, and we found it impossible to find one open on a Sunday!

The same back gate will bring you out at a dried up river bed. It's a pleasant flat 20-30 minute walk down to the main resort and beach, and much the same in the other direction to the market (Wed & Sat 08:00 - 14:00).

The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss - sometimes good (The Flamenco dancers, The three Tenors and an acrobatic duo) and other times not so great, though I do accept that it cannot be easy to find acts that satisfy the wide variety of nationalities that stay there.

The weather was perfect and it would be difficult to find fault with the whole experience.

My only small niggle, and it is a small one, is that the balconies are not very private. There is no dividing screen between them, just a little low foliage border which means you get to know your neighbours better than you normally would or might wish!

If you bear in mind the old adage 'that you get what you pay for' I would say that this hotel represents good value for the money.

Room Tip: Try to avoid one near the lifts as they tend to be rather noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recently returned from 11 nights All Inclusive at the Maspalomas Tabaiba Princess.
Could not find fault with anything from the moment we set foot inside the imposing glass vaulted atrium housing the Reception desk.
Staff are professional, helpful and have a sense of humour. Above all, they are INTERESTED in what you want and need as part of your holiday. Nothing is too much trouble.
At our time of booking, our agent had requested for us a lower floor room as my wife is a bit nervous of lifts. Immediately upon checking in the receptionist, a genial young Spaniard called Roberto, actually specifically referred to our request and informing us that the hotel had given us a ground floor room. First class service !!
The entire hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms comfortable and spacious with all the usual facilities you would expect of a four star rated establishment.
The gardens are superb and extensive with a massive Caribbean type palm tree and exotic plant theme throughout. In fact, in some areas you are hard pushed not to believe you are in some tropical paradise.
As the gardens completely surround the hotel complex it is easy to find many palm shaded areas away from the pool scene for a quiet read, a game of giant chess or just a little sun dappled doze to top up your batteries.
The pool complex is typical of the Princess group's pool ethos...several pools, (one heated), designed to cater for all ages and swimming competence, all of which are constantly supervised by Life Guards.
There is a very interesting waterfall feature which flows overhead of you and into several attractive small pools as you walk a scenic path along the outside of the south facing windows of the restaurant.
As well as extensive sun terraces around the pools and outside the several themed bars and snack outlets, there is a great swathe of man made beach. Once again, thoughts of the Caribbean are conjured up.
Pay no attention to the 'knockers' who compain about the 'gravel' sand! It is a type of very fine gravel similar to coarse beach sand withouth the inconvenience of it sticking interminabbly to your wet parts or blowing into your snack lunch.
'Towels-on-the-Sunbed' syndrome did not create any problems either. There are more beds than people and there are always spare beds at all times of the day in all the good sun spots.
Food is excellent, well varied from day to day with several excellent themed food nights offered at regular intervals.
Poolside snacks of of a very high standard and also well varied.
Evening entertainment is very good with live shows available as well as live music and dancing in the Piano Bars. Guests in the Tabaiba can use the facilities and attend the entertainment and bars in the sister hotel next door, (The Maspalomas Princess), merely by walking through the shop line connecting mall into the adjoining hotel, and this, could present the only problem with the entire experience!!
The way the complex of two hotels has been designed, (like a small letter 'm' with the connecting corridor at the top), is of genius proportions in that the one hotel is the EXACT MIRROR IMAGE of the other. Everything in one hotel is in exactly the same position as it is in the other but the other way round!!
The only way to tell which hotel you are in is by the colour of the shades on the table lamps...So, if you are spatially challenged, or if you enjoy a really good drink of an evening..you have been warned!!!
In short, top marks all round, desreves a fifth star.

Room Tip: No real need to upgrade, all rooms are excellent and you only sleep in it anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed from 28th January for a week all inclusive. Lovely clean hotel, pool areas very nice and organised, only really one heated pool. We found the food above average, and hot if you timed it just right, and a fairly good selection. Spacious dining room and good staff. Self service drinks at dinner were nice. Drinks in other bars were really quite good considering they were not the brand names, Baileys or similar was very good. Our room and balcony was very nice and clean, good bathroom with very powerful shower. You have to pay for TV, Safe and wi-fi so not happy with this. One pool towel provided with the room. Lots of very high palm trees causing shade in most balconies, but they were lovely. Two beds together but found them to be quite comfortable. The location let it down really, we walked for hours to find things to do but not everybody can do that, particularly the 80% over 60's staying in this hotel. Lots of Germans in this hotel. Entertainment can be seen in either hotel, a bit hit and miss, good on the odd night, and then everyone just ran to bed within minutes apart from the few couples under 50. We had a lovely lazy holiday whether we liked it or not really. It also helps if the receptionists that dress like doctors could speak Engling and see us in front of the Gernans.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are more likely to get the sun, we emailed them several times and got a middle room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi,
My family and extended family all stayed here, for my brothers 30th birthday, and the hotel was faultless.. don't listen to the other moaning minnies on here, the hotel is gorgeous, amazingly so clean, the pools are fantastic.. the food is better than what you would expect on an all inclusive.. i couldn't fault anything.
Seriously.. it is fantastic, and would recommend it to anyone.. may even consider going back myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed as a couple in this hotel from 4th Feb and in our opinion the hotel is spotless and the rooms comfy and clean the food is better than you would expect and the staff are friendly
The hotel was very busy and there was a lot of disruptive children but you can't blame the hotel for that!
The pool area has a lot of potential but to be honest is a bit naff, there's not enough room around the pool for everyone so we resorted to the beach - which was much more peaceful
When we did sit around the pool area all we could smell is greasy food being fried which wasn't great
The rooms are good but most are overlooked - our room had no door nets so for privacy we had to keep our curtains closed all of the time as we were overlooked by 12 other rooms who were just a stones throw away
We used the gym a couple of times the equipment is very old and some machines don't work so a poor excuse for a gym!
The entertainment was also naff - i personally don't agree with live animals being used in shows to entertain the public. Owls snakes and parrots all being used for cheap entertainment purposes. Out of date and a poor excuse for entertainment also the Elvis tribute is not worth watching and the only act that was worth seeing was the drag act who was doing all he could to interact with the crowd and have a laugh!
Overall a nice hotel with good food, will we return ......................probably not!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabaiba Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabaiba Princess

Address: Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tabaiba Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tabaiba Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabaiba Princess Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabaiba Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.