We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabaiba Princess

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tabaiba Princess to your Saves list
Tabaiba Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Maspalomas
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went to this hotel for a christmas break, room was very clean if not a bit basic. Pool area was lovely but the pool really needs to be heated it was freezing the sea was warmer. Food was basic if not somewhat repetitive and not much variety. No bottled water which for an all inclusive hotel is very poor and no tea making facilities in the room. Staff tried to be helpful but were somewhat uncaring but then again who wants to be working over the festivities. The drinks in the hotel were a bit watered down and not pleasant and the pool bars were somewhat confusing as not all available for all inclusive. Hotel is in a good location with a nice 15 minute walk to the beach. The walk to Melonaras is lovely and this really is the place to stay hotels super and luxurious. Lots of lovely walks but be careful in the dunes must say that was a real eye opener for me lol. Taxis are all good and the drivers helpful and friendly. Weather was lovely over the christmas period.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joh1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I want to stress that I don't normally write reviews, but I am doing this to save other families disapointment with this hotel. We have returned from a week at this hotel over the New Year Period with 2 young children (Age 6 months and 4 years). We upgraded our room before we left to "The Best" room which is a Junior Suite Garden View/area.....DONT BOTHER with the extra expense of £500 per week as not only do you not get much extra room but the garden is a 3ft x 3ft mud garden area, pathetic!!
On arrival we were given our room key to discover upon unpacking that our room was infested with ants, all over the bed, walls, bathroom etc, we reported this to reception who shook shoulders at me and said there was nothing they could do......I requested that we were moved room and I was literally thrown another room key by the receptionist and was offered no help in moving etc, very frustrating when you have 2 tired children.
I know everyone has different expectations of food, but I can assure you that the food quality and choice here is awful (especially as they are supposed to be 4 star hotel), we were all inclusive and only ate in the evening once, breakfast was alright to be honest, but it kind of put me off on day 2 when for lunch I saw them take a bowl of Hamburgers from under the heater keeping them warm, take the burgers off the buns re-heat them and then place back on the same buns...food poision city!!
We ended up eating out the rest of the time in Meloneras which is a 20 minute walk which is very nice, Meloneras is lovely, hotels down there are great and a high standard, so my advice is to pick one of those as the resort of Melonaras is beautiful, lots to do for families, great restaurants and bars and they can't do enough for familes. The Tabaiba Princess is for you if you have low expecations, enjoy ballroom dancing in the Piano bar, enjoy watered down drinks, enjoy fighting Germans for a sunbed as the pool areas are all shaded so little beds in the sun, poor food and are aged 60+, and enjoy swimming in pools that are so cold they turn you blue (the sea was warmer) and when we looked inside the other hotels in Meloneras the swimming pools were heated like baths so children and adults could enjoy and not freeze to death. I am sorry but I really don't have anything positive to say about the hotel, just don't go here. The positive is as I mentioned earlier, go to Melonaras and pick one of the hotels there as you wont be disapointed, we are booking again for New Year New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NatnJuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed at this hotel over the xmas period , lovely hotel , food was good for breakfast , lunch and dinner . All inclusive cocktails were watered down and from the machine , fizzy soft drinks were good , even though we went all inclusive there was no bottles of water in sight and had to buy them from a local supermarket , no bottled beers either just draft beer .
We managed to get a sunbed at 8am most mornings but prime locations were gone by 6am , hotel management need to address this problem ,
Entertainment was ok in main bar apart from young children running around , piano bar was interesting watching the senior people enjoying themselves .
Lots of seating area for cards , board games etc .
The only downside is location , a good 25 min walk to local area , ok on a summer night to walk the food off !!
Would definately stay in hotel again , it is quite pricey but well worth the money .
Pools were very cold and could do with another heated pool there as a choice .
Xmas entertainment was first class with the cocktail hour , followed by a four course meal , dancing horse and spanish dancer , along with a visit from santa .
Weather was really hot and sunny for the week we were there ,

Room Tip: we stayed 2293 , quiet back room overlooking mini golf
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianneharry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our 3rd visit in 2012 to this hotel. Food is excellent, staff very helpful and location although a bit of a distance from the beach is only a 3/4 euro taxi ride or if you prefer to walk you can do it in about 25 minutes.

Only down side was the number of children - noisy , running about not just in the mornings or at meal times but at night when the entertainment was on.
Parents did not seem to bother and I am not just talking about English children, the Italians were very noisy and came in large family groups.
Could not understand how the waiters put up with them.
The hotel should have put all the families with children in one part of the dining room and not allowed them to roam freely amongst the food - one small boy kept trying to use the soft drinks fountain but he could not reach it properly . Children should be seated at the table and not move- it is damgerous at breakfast if you are carrying a cup of tea or coffee and a small child runs into you. Also every meal had several crying children who screamed if they did not get their own way.
Will not be going back there during school holidays and several other guests who went there regularly were of the same opinion.
Its time the tour companies charged for children and not give them free holidays under a certain age.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a de luxe room its worth it especially if you are there for 2 weeks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have only just started using trip advisor hence why my review is so late.

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago. On that visit we met a lady out of emmerdale 'Viv' who was also staying in the hotel. We decided to return with only vague memories of the hotel.

The food is amazing. You can go up as many times as you like. A huge range of meats, salads and puddings. The waiters were really helpful and friendly. Especially a guy called Blake.

The pool areas are always clean and tidy. One section of the pool area has sandy rocks on the floor which help with the heat but do get abit annoying when your feet are wet.

The rooms were cleaned daily and to a good standard.

The entertainment wasn't the best but at night we got a taxi to a nearby resort with a lighthouse and went to the shops there.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel. If you are looking for value for money and lovely food and service then this hotel will tick all the boxes. For me this Hotel is brilliant from start to finish.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fort234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed for the first week in November. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The TV was old and stopped working. We got a new flat screen replacement but this would not tune to any English news channel!!!
Internet had to be paid for and was available in the areas near reception including the outside bar. The minibar ( fridge) also cost as did the room safe. Annoying but very common.
The hotel gardens are beautiful and there were lots of interesting birds. We were very happy with the food at all meals. Plenty of variety to keep us happy for a week. Leaving the hotel by the back gate it was a pleasant walk along the "dry river bed" ( actually an enormous storm drain) to the beach. Just before the beach, on the edge of the sand dunes there are wetlands with a good variety of interesting birds. It was not a long walk in the other direction to the large market on market day.
There were a variety of different entertainments in the evenings. You have two "mirror image" hotels to choose from and the piano bars are pleasant for a relaxing evening. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarksongManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is our first trip to Gran Canaria and we are used to staying in 5* accommodation all over the world. The hotel is very nice, kept very clean, cleaning staff friendly & polite. Pools look amazing but biggest negative for us was only having one small deep salt water pool heated, therefore its very busy! The rest are FREEZING and the whole week we stayed I only saw 2 people swim in them!!! It states in the brochure at least 1 kids pool would be heated (it wasn't) having a 1 year old this made it almost impossible to use more than 10 minutes at a go! Let me explain the sunbed issue... The way the pools are set out to the ratio of high trees, In the morning a 1/4 of the sun beds are in the sun, in the afternoon a different 1/4 is in the sun and so on! So it's true when other reviewers have said sun beds are reserved & only used for a few hours a day. Mini bar... If you want the use of the fridge you have to hire it for 13.50 euros a week. (This does NOT include any drinks! You then have to pay 20euros for there selection(2coke2fanta2beer2water) so beware this can get expensive if like us you have a you have a young family that take naps and you can't leave them and go down to a bar! The safe is also 13.50 euros a week to hire. On to rooms, we upgraded to a deluxe suite which stated would cater for 2 children & 2 adults. (we only just managed to get the cot in the room! although the room was clean it was in no way a "suite! many other reviewers have complained about the bed! I know why! It was so hard! Both hubby and I came away with sore backs! The balcony was huge and south facing! No complaints except for us it would of worked better to have a larger room with a smaller balcony! Let me explain "waiter service" there is NONE. Everything including drinks/food is self service! Totally alien for us! Breakfast a great selection from hot to cold and fruit/ yogurt etc. BIG negative no freshly squeezed orange juice. Only sugary juice from a machine. No freshly brewed coffee! No fresh cold still water, only fizzy which i was told to give my 1 year old!! Lunch & dinner were Average (Kind of like canteen type food) puddings were good! And cheese selection also pretty good. Surrounding area, there is a shop 5 minutes walk away and there is a 30 min walk to the beach. So overall this hotel could of received a much higher rating if these issues were resolved. We still had a good holiday and certainly wouldn't want to put anyone off. If you have any questions please feel free to email me.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3219 which is on the top floor, quiet and south facing balcony! Beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.9 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#32 of 88 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,975 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.0 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Las Margaritas
Barcelo Las Margaritas
#35 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabaiba Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabaiba Princess

Address: Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#21 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Tabaiba Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is perfect for families with children, golfer (there's a golf course right behind) and those who just want to relax by the pool. The two u-shaped buildings Maspalomas Princess and Tabaiba Princess share a huge pool landscape including an artificial beach, with pool bars and a relax-island. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is situated in Maspalomas, in the south of Gran Canaria. Within walking distance there is the golf course Maspalomas Golf (300 m) and Maspalomas beach (1,5 km) with its famous dunes. Gran Canaria Airport is located 35 kilometers from the hotel and the resorts Meloneras and Playa del Ingles 3 kilometers. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess has two main restaurants with live-cooking, offering buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. The À-La-Carte-Restaurant "La Hacienda" in the pool area serves tapas and international cuisine. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and shirts with a sleeve in the evening in the restaurant. A total of 9 bars complete the gastronomic offer of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess. The huge pool landscape of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess boasts 6 outdoor pools, including 2 kids pools and a pool with an artificial beach, wooden parasols and a sand volleyball court. Some of the pools feature sloping entrances. The animation team hosts activities such as aquagym, aerobics, archery, beach-volleyballs and darts. Furthermore there is the option to play table tennis, mini golf, tennis, billiard and giant chess within the hotel. For the smallest guests there is a mini-club, kids pools, mini-disco, a playground and a special miniature hotel, the so called play-hotel. There are 439 rooms and suites in the Maspalomas Princess and 434 in the Tabaiba Princess. As a standard all rooms feature air conditioning, minibar-fridge (€), satellite tv, balcony or terrace and bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Tabaiba Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabaiba Princess Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing