We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Christmas Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cay Beach Princess Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cay Beach Princess Bungalows to your Saves list
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Touroperador Thomson 4, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Maspalomas
UK - Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Christmas Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The overall holiday package offered was good. The half board package was worthwhile even only for the Christmas Eve meal. The Restaurant Service and Staff were excellent.
The Bungalows are basic by clean and towels are replaced often.
There is a free coach service provided to the beach which otherwise would be a 30 minute walk. Some nice beach side bars and cafes.
The only downside is that there aren't that many places within walking distance to eat or drink outside the hotel.
There were 7 in our party and we had 3 bungalows.
I would return to Cay Beach again.

Room Tip: There are two sizes of bungalow. The single room ones are average but the twin room ones have far mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    187
    58
    28
    14
See reviews for
162
161
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, CT
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Note -- I would have given this place a 3 1/2 if I could.

We were at Cay Beach for Christmas 2012. We arrived Christmas Eve and left New Year’s Eve. Weather was windy, 21 – 25 C, and sunny the whole week.

My first impression of the place was not good. We were tired, hired a car but couldn’t find the place, had to wait much too long to check in only to be told I had to wait (essentially get back in line) purchase Internet and Christmas dinner because there was someone behind us waiting to check in that had just gotten in to line. As I said I wasn’t impressed with the service at this point. We made our way to our room which had been upgraded to a two bedroom bungalow without charge as the resort was full and I had previously purchased a different upgrade (this was a bonus).

We walked through the pool area which is beautiful really, very clean. This was the case every day. In fact every part of the resort was clean. We cannot fault the cleanliness at all. A nice job was done here.

Bungalow -- We found our bungalow, number 158, which had the children’s playground right outside our door. We have a three year old son so this was handy for us and turned out to be really nice for the whole trip. We could sit at our patio table and watch him play while drinking our morning coffee, etc. There was only one night where there were kids playing at 10:10 at night and that really irritated us. Not sure what the parents were thinking. The bungalow is also alongside the little road you drive on to get to the bungalow. We thought there would be too much road noise but it was fine. Good location if you have kids. Close to the pool too.
Bungalow 158 is a two bedroom bungalow. It has a nice sized bathroom with a tub and shower. Water pressure was fine, water temp fine, however, if everyone has showered then the water may be cool as it is solar heated hot water in a tank.

The kitchen is tiny and not very well outfitted. There was one small fry pan. Seems there should be two for a family. There was a fridge/freezer, drip coffee maker, kettle, toaster, microwave, two burner stove, NO oven. This would be adequate for a self-catering bungalow had everything worked correctly and had it been stocked well enough. We didn’t try the toaster but it appeared to be really, really old. The kettle worked fine. The drip coffee maker was a blessing as we love coffee but after three exchanges we still had a coffee pot that leaked all over and took forever to brew a pot. The microwave scared me, I don’t think it was working right and it wasn’t in good condition. I really wish there had been an oven. Plenty of cups, glasses, dishes. Need more fry pans. You are provided nothing but a kitchen towel. There is no wash soap, no wash cloth or sponge to clean dishes with, no paper towels or napkins. No salt, pepper, oil, etc. You must purchase everything at some point.

The living room was a nice size, one couch to sit on. We did not pay for TV or AC.

The beds were extremely hard and painful. My hips are bruised. We asked for toppers for our bed and we never received anything, not even “I’m sorry we don’t have anything”. Reception had indicated there might be something. We didn’t feel like mentioning it again. The walls are thin in the bedroom.

Pool – There are two pools. The one with the bridge, the bigger one, is not heated. The smaller one by the hydro beds is heated. A little. The hydro beds are not heated or at least it didn’t seem like it was, which is why we didn’t try them. The water temperature in the heated pool wasn’t REALLY bad, I’ve been in worse but it was colder than it should be and this is a huge detriment for me. My little guy was cold and this being a family resort the water should be heated more. Not sure what this place was thinking. People saved loungers with towels which is not allowed. You are handed a piece of paper telling you this. Nothing was enforced. I was prepared to remove towels and complain but there were enough loungers in good enough spots so I didn’t feel I had to complain or remove anyone’s towels.

Food – I wouldn’t go all inclusive here. The food was only OK. It was buffet style and they tried but it was just ok. It would get you by. The pool food wasn’t that good. Had a pizza, was frozen pizza, only ok. Had an omelet, again, only ok. They did a really nice job with the Christmas Day dinner. It was spectacular but they put in a lot of effort and it was a nice time.

Staff – I felt the staff was good and decently friendly.

Housekeeping – We had sporadic service. We had no service on Christmas Day which is fine. We had service the next day, the day after that and the day after that. That was the last service we had. When done they did a great job. Fresh towels every other day. Our sheets were changed once. Was fairly happy with it. Going two days without service cause our garbage in the kitchen to build up as we did cook and eat in. They kind of dropped the ball at the end which was right after I tipped. I hate that.

Other – The resort has one washer and one dryer which we used twice. A bit expensive but less than paying for additional luggage weight, by not much. There was miniature golf, 3E a person. Tennis, don’t know how much. A kid’s club but only saw it on once and we were not informed of anything so you have to kind of look around reception. Something going on at the bar every night but we stayed in. We hired a car so getting places was not an issue for us. They offer a bus to the beach and we saw many people take taxis. There is an on site grocery store that is decent. More expensive of course but not too bad and has what you need basically.

This resort is decent and if you’re looking for budget family place then this place is good. We will look elsewhere next time because having a fitness center and spa services is important to us. If those things are not important then this is a good place.

Room Tip: 158 has the playground right outside it's door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

stayed 24th november onwards for a week.
we have been to the island 2 years ago,love the vibes and weather so have returned, to try this hotel.
got the transfer bus from the airport to the hotel-always a good move.
got a taxi to Playa de ingles (about 4euro) to get a hire car from our usual hirer,approx 25 euro a day,needed this due to the location and independence it gives us to explore the island.noted alot of people were legging it to Playa etc approx 40 mins im told,leg works not for me when i'm on my jollies.
Found the hotel pool area spotless and aesthetically beautifull,plenty of sunbeds.only ever saw half the beds being used. Only real downside was the pool's freezing -only for the brave this one,we went to sea and this was warmer!!
staff at pool side food place excellent and cheery.food basic but fair for snacks.
Reception staff good too,have read on here the odd gripe from others but found these to be unfounded? maybe its other peoples approach to them?
Our room 102b was by the pool we had requested a pool side room,it was good for access but if you want a quiet time its not for you as the pool bar music is audible inside.i hope you like cats there were about four and the black and white tom does spray you if he's shoood away.if you leave the door open you might have a cat napping on your sofa!! To be fair their not in your face as other reviews have hinted.
cleaners were great-cannot fault them-excellent service.solar powered hot water never ran out.
site shop good.
on your final day if your out the room at 12.00 you can have free use of a changing room with showers for half an hour or try and continue renting your room for around 40 euro's for the rest of the day! ) just book this at reception on the day,we found this really usefull.
in summary we will go back as its serviceable for all our needs-Very recommeded.

Room Tip: If you peace and quiet ask to be far away from pool,as bar music might bug you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Recently returned from Gran Canaria and the Cay Beach. Had a lovely week in 22/23 degrees of sunshine. Cay Beach Princess Bungalows were excellent on the whole. Staff were friendly and helpful. As was Kirsty, the Thomson rep. The apartment had everything you are likely to need. TV/Internet/safe cost extra. We self catered but ate at the Pool Bar on a few occasions - the food was ok and did a job. We ate at the restaurant once and didn't make the same mistake again! The food in there was on hot plates and, whilst plentiful, wasn't worth the 13 euros we paid for it. There are good restaurants in Meloneras that are a 4 euro taxi ride away (Grand Italia on the front being particularly good). The on site shop sells everything you are likely to need. Sun loungers were plentiful and the pool area is good (but the water was cool). Lots of cats on the complex who get fed by the residents! Entertainers tried their best, with the Flamenco dancers being the best on Sunday night, plus there was Bingo every night except Monday. We would definitely stay again. Our apartment (123) was on the outside of the complex and we thought it might be noisy due to the main road. However, we didn't notice it really. The poolside apartments did look a bit noisy from the music playing at the Pool Bar.

We did two trips through Thomson while we were there. The Las Palmas trip was good but focused on shopping too much (although there was a C&A) for our liking. The Puerta de Mogan trip was excellent. Craig, the tour guide (who didn't work for Thomson) was very knowledgable. He talked for the whole time on the coach and we were very glad of some peace and quiet when we finally left the coach! The trips were expensive and having done them, we thought we could do a better trip by public transport on our own.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the complex. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed in Cay Beach first week in Dec was ok but probably wouldn't go back to these again. We had pool side bungalow but were very noisy could hear everything the neighbours were doing, even stirring a cup!!! Were very clean but some of the staff were not very friendly at all. The pool bar staff were fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. Food here was really good and cheap. If you like Cher you will love it here..........The CD was played all day everyday in the end was ARGHHHHHH.... they did actually change it for one CD haha then low and behold back to blah blah blah ....... pool area was great, plenty of sunbeds best place for winter sun is infront of the restaurant get the sun there all day.. if you want a cheap deal pretty good offering here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Got a great deal from at Cay Beach bungalows. Have stayed there three times. Bungalows are comfortable, some have been refitted recently. New UPVC windows and doors so security is not an issue. End of year stays are good as the complex is half empty. If you want a peaceful and quiet week away this is the place for you - large pool although water is cold set in well planted tropical planted gardens - plenty of sunbeds - free of charge.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet bungalow ask for one that is on the outer circle of the complex away from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Been to G.C. island many times, stayed in many resort complexes (including next door to this one) but Cay Princess one of best! the pool is fantastic, the staff brilliant & Kirsty, our rep very helpful. Although not close to beach etc it runs a courtesy bus, & a 3 euro taxi ride will get you to any major attraction within Maspalomas/Playa Del Engles. Cay Princess is a lovely quiet palm tree filled set of bungalows giving rest peace & tranquility whilst being central to all there is to see & go to around. The food is excellent well presented & fairly priced. We went early dec & the temp was 23-25% all wk! Luuvellyyy pre christmas break! I will stay there again given the chance.

Room Tip: all bungalows good but 3 seperated from main bungalows, (below reception, think overflow for when bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cay Beach Princess Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cay Beach Princess Bungalows

Address: Avda Touroperador Thomson 4, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cay Beach Princess Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cay Beach Princess Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cay Beach Princess Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.