We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to sheraton standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“not up to sheraton standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just back from a week in this hotel

Let me start by listing the positives and there are quite a few

`1 Quick check in (however we were the only couple at reception)
2 Room clean
3 Roof top pool delightful and warm
4 Plenty of sunloungers and lots of space in between them
5 Lots of relaxing areas around the hotel
6 Most of the staff pleasant
7 Golf is great
Now for the negatives
1 Too few staff on duty . They do not seem to know what they are doing and seriously under pressure.
2 I counted at breakfast 12 dirty tables. They stayed dirty for about 15 mins and this was at 8 in the morning . Dread to think how many there would be at peak time.
3 Menu at lunchtime awful They changed their menu whilst we were there and it was a joke. My husband had fruit and it was presented in a half wine bottle with loads of crushed ice. On the ice was four tiny bits of fruit. I should have taken a picture. It was a disgrace.
4 Food at night was luke warm. If you arrived at peak time there was a bottleneck. Not enough room to walk around and you had to wait for food to be grilled, Veg was cold and in this day and age there is no excuse for this. On the whole if I were to go back it would be bed and breakfast only. I spoke to a few people and they agreed the food was not good,
5 The hotel was in the middle of nowhere and to be fair I did expect this. I guess I thought there would be some entertainment in the hotel but alas not much to talk about.
6 We had to get a taxi into Melonaris every night to have some entertainment and as the holiday progressed hot food. We were full board but honestly it was an endurance at dinner time to find something hot.

I would like to finish up by saying two things

1 Samson the entertainment guy during the day was lovely and had a lovely nature. He played my husband at table tennis and was an asset to the hotel.

2 I respect that the manager usually replies to reviews and says the usual standard things but having read the same old over and over |I have to say that talk is cheap and nothing seems to have changed .All the reviews months back stating the exact same complaints that I have written have still not been addressed. So please no reply is needed just action

Hoping this hotel gets its act together as it has great potential.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better but rooms overall are great and soundproofing is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for taking time to write a review about Sheraton Salobre Golf & Spa. We apologize for not meeting your expectations, however, we would have liked to know your comments during your stay so that we could have had the opportunity to make your experience better.

We hope you give us another chance and come back soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    314
    101
    59
    24
See reviews for
130
641
41
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is not a run of the mill beach hotel A lovely relaxing holiday in the hills in a tranquil setting with a combination of excellent facilities and very friendly staff. Good shuttle service to the beach if required or just a rest in the hills or golf for the more active. Samson provided "keep fit" every day for the guests who would like a little active exercise. Nice to be among such friendly positive staff members. This hotel provides a rest away from the stress of city living or an active holiday if you enjoy golf and other activities. A real gem of a place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor and it is only one stair to climb to the wonderful roof top swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Sheraton Salobre for your holidays. We are delighted to know you had such a wonderful stay with us, and to know that you enjoyed the activities provided my our trainer Samson.

We hope you do come back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We knew little about the place when we booked, coming there we were completely impressed, not only by the exceptional friendly staff, to start with Antonio at the entrance, Carlos and Cristina at reception and lovely Ada in the restaurant. The impressive design of the hotel makes you feel walking through a state of art place which is just build the right way to focus on how to relax and disconnect. Me and my wife we were absolutely amazed by the surrounding nature, the views to the sea and our place on one of these fab Bali beds. Top of the top was the Louis, the waiter coming around from time to time with a fresh drink. What else would you wish in your holidays.
They do well offering some smooth sports, like back exercises, Yoga and so on. I myself like to go running in the morning and found interesting tracks all around the resort, even down to the sea which is not more than 4 miles.

This Hotel is an Oasis of calm and beauty, we adored design of the hotel , gardens and bar area and would return in a heartbeat.

The rest of the hotel didn't disappoint, from the amazing breakfast selection with a very large selection of fruit to the staff in the bar at night, everything was aimed at making our holiday just right. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We are delighted to learn that you had a fantastic holiday with us and enjoyed all our facilities and services. Your positive comments, especially about our staff will encourage us to keep on in our continuing effort to improve services.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in the Sheraton Salobre on vacation and it was fantastic. The Hotel grounds and rooms were amazing and the staff are very pleasant. The spa was a bit of a let down and not worth €15 charge for 2hours but other than that everything else was excellent. We will definitely return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms as close to the 11th floor as possible is best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Virginia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and to recommend our hotel. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuners Hill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Decided to take a last minute break on secret escapes, they were offering a fantastic deal, 7nights half board with private transfers. On arriving at the airport it was pure luxury having our own driver, 25 mins later we found ourselves winding up the hillside to the hotel nestled in the foothills, we were met at the reception with a cold glass of cava, great start...
Our room was fantastic, love the bathroom with the glass wall, we looked over the golf course and the sea.
Dinner is relaxing, sit anywhere you want, staff are immediately there to get you a drink, this is after you have finished the complimentary cocktail as you walked in. The buffet dinner was different every evening, no time to get bored with the high quality of the food, one night we even had freshly made sushi.
Every day we made our way to the top pool and managed to get a huge subbed on a few occasions, these made the day even more special, total relaxation, no children running around, just peace and the cooling wind.
The breakfast buffet was also of a high standard, again Cava was served for those who dared.
We had the most relaxing holiday that we have had in ages, will definitely be returning at some point in ten future. Thank you to all the hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Laraine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. I am also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a really lovely stay at the Sheraton, definitely 5 star from the food left out for us in our room following a late evening arrival to the way that our 7 year old was treated by all the staff. They made a great fuss of him and couldn't have been more welcoming. The pools and facilities are great, we didn't play golf but used the hotel as a based for tours etc. Food was really good with nice touches like cava or a fruit cocktail on a arrival at breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Gran Canaria is a strange arid place with a lunar landscape and the Sheraton is brilliantly designed to fit in to the landscape - with star viewing areas and very effective use of glass screens and native cactii and foliage - a really sympathetic clever design set in to the hill side. Kids club was great and the sunset pool a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive comments. We are thrilled to know we were able to make your son feel special during his stay with us and we are equally pleased that you enjoyed your break in our hotel.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Sheraton Salobre. This was a very last minute booking that worked out remarkably well. The hotel is very good and the staff extremely attentive and pleasant. Our room on the 10th floor was spacious, well equipped and ideal for the pool area on the 11th floor! The sunset bar area is lovely and perfect for sunbathing and swimming. Several areas with sunbeds so that it never seemed crowded. The pool was cold but strangely seemed to warm up towards the end of our stay - great not to have children allowed in the pool area (apart from those who chose to ignore the signs!) - maybe this could have been better managed with a quiet reminder to parents? On the whole though a lovely hotel made more so by the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Tricia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you decided to spend your holidays in our hotel and were pleasantly surprised.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort And Spa
Sheraton Salobre Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Sheraton Salobre Hotel
Sheraton Maspalomas
Maspalomas Sheraton
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.