We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as super as before” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not as super as before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Unfortunately this hotel has changed to the worse. The wounderful ambiance that was present before is gone with the wind and was no where to be found. Very quickly Salobre has deteriorated from a hidden gem to a mediocre "decent place to stay". Worn out building, extremely stressed staff, very noisy, sloppy cleaning and prices in the automatic minibar that are comparable with usury. It sad to see something so breathtaking beautiful turn into something so common.
As a member of Sheraton you are supposed to have complimentary water in the room and that never happened. I could have asked for it but since the beverage service is automatic in the room I thought may this would be to but no. €3.80 for a can of soda water was my option.
My love story with this, once so beautiful gem, has turned into a divorce and its time for me to find a new love.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear sir,

I would like to thank you for writing about your stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. Please do not hesitate to contact me to further talk about your stay.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    407
    131
    72
    26
See reviews for
190
910
56
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in February. Nice room and friendly staff, but my stay was spoiled by small irritations, TV didn't work when I checked in, hole in bath towel, shampoo and supplies not replaced each day, no plug for bath, all small niggles individually but adding up to a lack of attention to detail. Internet access in room was expensive at €16/day. We also ate in the hotel one night. The meal was served cold! This hotel has everything except character! I wouldn't hurry back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a decent view, higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Niall,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. We will pass on your comments to our General Manager.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights, and really liked it. It is a great hotel with friendly staff and good services. I am an SPG Platinum and was given an upgrade to a suite, but sadly had to decline it as I was travelling with a relative and we needed a room with 2 beds (all suites have King beds). The staff changed us to a new room in an efficient way with no fuss. The food at breakfast was really good and we also enjoyed the meals in restaurants and room service that we had in the evening. There are so many pool areas that we could always get a sun lounger, and I would particularly recommend the infinity pool on the 11th floor, which had some very attractive furniture and features and a beautiful view in all directions.

The hotel was tranquil and peaceful, and we had a very relaxing time. You do really need a car to get there and around, but it is within easy reach of lots of different types of things to do according to your interests. There is a free shuttle bus to the Sheraton beach house which is situated by a nice beach with restaurants and shops nearby.

For the rate we paid, this hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and like the hotel bars and restaurants, your room and the pools. We pride on caring for our guests, and your review tells us that we are on the right path.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Gran Canaria.

Sunny regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

As Platinum SPGs we've stayed at this property many times now, most recent Jan 2013.

Would just like to warn other travellers that Internet access, either via WiFi or the 2 computers provided in the lobby, is not always guaranteed at this Sheraton (I thought Sheraton was business focused also?). Frequent outages seem to occur, somethings part of the day, sometimes all of the day and on 1 trip extended to a total 3 days without Hotel provided internet.

This can be very frustrating when needing to do work, etc and the Front Office don't seem to have the ability to sort it out 'we do not provide the service, it's someone else' kind of thing. The hotel is also remotely located in the hills above Maspalomas, so picking up another wi-fi or an internet cafe is not an option. Be prepared with your own alternatives.

Also, we'd echo some comments from a couple of recent posters - food is very samey, if staying for an extended period you'll come across the same food everyday (in SPG breakfast room, ladies who work there lovely however), and be sure to check your bill throughly, items do tend to appear on it that are not yours. Service Centre calls sometimes just ring out, never answered. Room Service was working well this time with every call answered, on other stays we had the same problem.

On the positives it is a large property with many different pools, there are a lot of different areas to relax in, the heated pool in the Spa being a highlight. Again, great staff manning this area. We like the hotel provided shuttle down the hill to the Beach, very handy.

Recommended property, but the hotel needs to fix the Internet as a priority.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel and for choosing again and again our hotel to spend your vacation in Gran Canaria.

Regarding the internet, we are working on updating our systems and we are confident that the issue will be fixed soon. Nevertheless, we will pass on your comments to our General Manager along with your comment about the food and bill accuracy.

Do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Gran Canaria for any matter. Warm regards,
Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

if you like cold empty spaces without character you will like this. Reception and bar areas had no welcoming or warm feeling although staff did their best. Clearly designed by a designer who never thought to ask what guests actually wanted. Food became very boring after three days and it was hard to see the difference in theme nights. After all you have paid for a five star experience. Golf course is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about the hotel. We are sorry to learn that you did not find your stay as expected. I would like to take the time to further talk to you about this matter. Do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for one week in January just after the New Year. It was very quiet but thats exactly what we wanted. We booked via Secret Escapes and got a very good deal. Dinner, bed and breakfast, flights and transfers. You would need to book dinner here as it is not easily accessible without a car - we were glad it was included in the price.
The rooms were 'deluxe' and extremely comfortable. We looked out over the golf course so did not feel we had inferior rooms because we did not pay full price. The room included toiletries and bathrobes (very welcome) but did not include tea or coffee making facilities. Would have been nice especially as a cola from the mini bar was 3.8 euros for a small can. (make sure to check your bill incidently as we had mini bar items on it that we had definitely not had!).
Meals were buffet style. We could have dined in another restaurant but the menu choice was extremely limited. We tried it once and although the presentation was lovely and it was nice to be waited on for once the food was only ok. The buffet food was good on the whole. Eggs and pancakes were cooked to order at breakfast and you could not want for anything else. Cava was available and a nice touch.
Dinner was also good. Meat was cooked outside on the barbeque as well as the buffet main courses. Wine was about 15 euros a bottle for the house so very reasonable.
We did check out the spa (3 visits per person were included in our package but no treatments) but the cost of treatments was prohibitive. Over 100 euros for a 50 min massage. The golf prices were also very expensive.
The design of the hotel is lovely. Very contemporary and with lots of places to sit and chill. Our favourite place was on the four posters above the hotel. Breezy but with fantastic views.
If you are looking for a quiet holiday with lots of relaxation and you get a good deal I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is built on a hillside so most rooms have a good view. I would ask for one overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, liked the hotel’s design, dinner, your room, and the hotel facilities.

We will pass on your compliments to our staff. Do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Gran Canaria.

Warm regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have just returned from a week at the Solobre Golf Resort, having been there with my husband and another couple for a week of sun and relaxation. We had read a number of the reviews before going so knew what to expect. The hotel was lovely and we spent most of our time by the sunset pool which is on the 11th floor. If you are looking for a chilled out week then this is the place, but if not, you may feel rather cut off. There is a free shuttle service down to the beach and town which we used once, and we did hire a car for the day, travelling around the whole island. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We were booked on a half board basis and really enjoyed the buffet breakfasts. There was also plenty of food, both in choice and quantity, in the Gofio Restaurant where the buffet theme changed each night. Meat and fish was cooked on the bbq each evening, but was sometimes a bit disappointing due to its lack of flavour. There was a wine of the month which was reasonably priced and we did have a few drinks in the bar. We also sent the men off to a local Spar shop for additional wine, water and nibbles, which was about 20 mins walk away. The bedrooms were lovely and clean and we had a nice sized balcony where the 4 of us could comfortably sit and socialise. Any minor problems with the room were quickly and efficiently put right. Our package also included Spa Circuits which we enjoyed. The spa pool was the warmest of the pools we used. With not too many people staying, we almost had the pool to ourselves. This was a lovely January break and just 4 hours away. I hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sharon,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us, and liked the pools, room, buffets and staff.

Do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Gran Canaria.

Warm regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort

Address: Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salobre Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort And Spa
Sheraton Salobre Hotel
Sheraton Maspalomas
Maspalomas Sheraton
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.