We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staying & great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
zurich
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good staying & great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were a little bit sceptical after having read the negative comments; but I have to admit that we had a very nice stay. We were spoiled: very kind service and helpful employees. Nice room on the 9th floor (make sure that you have one in the back!); nice SPA (even if the entrance could be given for free to the guests booking a massage or other); great golf courses - one very green and the second one very wild and varied! Apart and calm location, during the day there is a free bus shuttle to take you "downtown"; however if you want to discover the island, rent a car - the island is full of magic and many little nice villages to be discovered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing a review about your vacation in Gran Canaria. We are delighted to know that you had a very nice stay and were spoiled. We will pass on your comments to all of our staff.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your room, spa, golf and shuttle service. We look forward to your next visit.

Sunny regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    335
    107
    62
    24
See reviews for
154
759
48
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are Four seasons ritz carlton regulars but without these choices in gran canaria, we settled for the Sheraton. We were not disappointed! I do understand the mixed reviews you will either love or hate this hotel. The Sheraton is set in the salobre resort amongst villas and the 2 golf courses. It is out of town which was perfect for myself my wife and 8 year old as it was quiet and relaxing. If you want busy maspolamas is in easy reach by car. The staff were helpful and patient particularly as I do not speak spanish. There was a good choice of food at breakfast dinner and our one evening room service meal was good. A nice touch is to be able to order morning coffee in the room at no cost pre breakfast. Other hotels note! The premier room was spacious with fantastic views. Once the lift system is mastered then all levels are accessible. Top secret is the sun deck on 12th floor that was not at all busy over new year because so few take the trouble to find it from lower floors. Shhhhhh! A great easy family holiday and we will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved the hotel! Also, that you like the room, environment and Sunset Area. We will pass on your compliments to our staff..

We hope to see you soon back with us,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is quite isolated, approximately 20 minutes drive to the beach and local town, however, its ideal if you want to stay in a quieter hotel.
The golf courses are well maintained (the North course is particularly challenging) and the spa offers plenty of treatments.
The (non-local) staff offered very good customer service, but I was a little disappointed by the service offered by the local customer facing staff.
The food was OK, but nothing special, and the order taking in the restaurants was hap-hazard at best.
The room was well appointed, spacious, quiet with a good bathroom (we stayed in a corner suite).

I would tentatively recommend this hotel to certain friends, but its not a place I would revisit.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade to a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed golfing in both Golf Courses, and the service of our staff.

We will pass on your comments to our management.

Warm regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent 95 euros on a New Year's Eve dinner which was cold when we received it. The staff were lovely but for what we paid we only got a choice of two on our main meals. After we finished our meal (with my Credit card ready to burn a hole in my pocket) thought we'd make up for it at the bar, only to find that all the bars were shut and unless you paid a premium to sit and have dinner in the gala dinner. Bearing in mind this was the same price as the restaurants but with a crappy show thrown in for twice the price! We left feeling deflated and all dressed up and nowhere to go and the fact that we tried to book the gala dinner but we were told it was fully booked. Our only option? To head home and drink our room dry. I would not recommend anyone to stay there over the Christmas period , it actually ruined our night apart from the good company we kept! My verdict over rated, over priced and not worth the money!

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sara,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. Your opinion is very important to us. Please do not hesitate to contact me,

Warm regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

With great weather in October compared to the rest of Europe, it was great to leave behind the winter coast. We had a mix of sun, clouds and occasional rain burst. It wasn't warm enough for beach weather by my standards, but that didn't seem to put off others. The hotel is off the beaten track, up in the hills and far far away.

The hotel had a nice welcoming reception and an arrival refreshing drink. The staff were very cheery with good customer service. Otherwise the entrance was not very welcoming with a big staircase and cold stone walls and cold floors. The breakfast room is on the 1st room - extensive self-service choice and really great fruit drinks served outside. There are a number of restaurants serving dinner from tapas to full dinner. The serving team got our order correct 1 night out of the 4 we ate in the restaurant. It was served with a smile and joke so naturally being british we said nothing!

There is a great restaurant on the 4th floor (I think it was 4). Outdoor or under a roof dining, with good family choices mixed with local cuisine. The serving team were great and very accommodating as a late lunch migrated into a relaxed afternoon drink and many bottles of wine later, an early evening bedtime! The roof top bar/swimming pool has a great view, but we gave up waiting for the serving chap to quit chatting to his friend to serve us and went back to the 4th. There are plenty of pools for quiet areas to relax, including 1 at the spa. We didn't have time for a spa treatment but it looked very nice, hygienic and the usual very high EU spa prices.

There is a nice bar and business area. Spacious and light. The big let-down was the quality of the wifi. In the room it was non-existent and even in the main building area very very slow. I gave up trying to work in my room and had to sit in the bar area to get enough signal to hook into my work systems. There is a LAN option in the room if you happen to have a laptop rather than tablet.

We had an upgrade and the hotel room was great. Spacious room, comfortable bed, very well-kept including clean towels/bedding. The ladies looking after our room were lovely, reminding us to drink plenty of water to avoid dehydration and asking if we needed anything. There was a secure room safe and plenty of hanging/storage space. Of course this is the EU, so no kettle in the room. Also no iron or ironing board unless you rang down for it. Helpful note - the hotel rooms are an interesting layout, so you need good directions to find your room the first time! You take 1 lift to the 4th floor and then walk down a corridor to find 2 other lifts. Ask for a map on check-in if they don't offer one - the minimal signs are very confusing and you will get lost.

The golf shop arranges a shuttle to the courses. The North is pure ricochet golf - 5 meters off and your ball is ping-ponging down the mountain side and if you hook plus some good luck, usually landing back on the fairway. A buggy is essential - this course is NOT for walking. The South course is a little down the valley with wider fairways and less ricohcet moments. Beware hitting the roof of the building on the right of the 13th - it sounds like a gun-shot and everyone hits the deck!!!!!!

Considering the time of year and hotel location, the average guest age looked around 45 to 60. There were a couple of young families but no more. Guests were here for the golf or for our work event. There was also an Indian marriage which boosted the numbers and made the hotel feel more lived in. There is a shuttle bus to the town and back (set timetable, first come, first served). The shuttle goes to the beach club and you can then walk back into the town. Otherwise a taxi is around 13eur. The hotel location is very isolated, so this is not the hotel for you unless you are there for the golf or relaxed isolation.

In summary a great golf and a good get-away location. This is not the place for a family or party holiday. Service was better than average for Spain and the prices were representative of this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to your next visit to Gran Canaria.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

As has been said by many reviewers of this hotel it is almost very good and a few small changes could improve it considerably.

It is very modern and minimalist with no pictures in in the rooms or public species and little in the way of signage telling you where things are. It is in the hills north of Maspalomas with no other hotels bars or restaurants in the area. It is set on an east facing hill side which is its first problem. In the winter months it only gets sun in the morning. As they own the whole valley it seems odd that they did not choose to locate it on the other side. If you want sun in the afternoon you have to find your way upto the pool on the top of the hotel. This has lovely views all around and sun all day. Only problem is that it can be a bit windy.

The hotel is a little difficult to find your way a round at first but once you get used to it not too bad.

All the staff were professional and pleasant.

As has been said before the mini bar is simply a drink dispensing machine and does not allow you to store your own wine or water. It is also very expensive. 3.80 euros for a can of coke. There is no shop to buy drinks or snacks in the hotel. There is a small Spar at the entrance to the resort about a mile from the hotel itself. If you are playing golf then you can use the buggy to get there.

Again it has been said over and over in the review of this hotel NO FREE WIFI!!! Instead 60 euros!!! for 7 days of poor quality Internet access. This is a huge issue for me and Judging by other reviews many others who need to stay in contact with work whilst on holiday. I do not understand why Sheraton have not acted on this issue. It may be that the majority of guests are corporate and therefore able to charge the wifi and mini bar to their companies?

The TV has only a few channels in each language.

The only heated pools are the one at the top and the spa which you have to pay for. When we visited the spa was empty. The treatments were very expensive. Why bother to have the spa at all if you make the treatments so expensive nobody goes?

The hotel offers a bus to Maspolomas which is worth a visit. There are some good shops and restaurants near the light house.

We stayed on a half board basis. The food is served in the Gofio buffet restaurant. There are other restaurant but they all seemed to be closed. The buffet is very impressive with many options including freshly prepared meat and fish. Our deal included wine and water. I personally do not really like buffets and as has been said before in these reviews often the food was not hot enough.

We had a deluxe room which was comfortable and spacious with a balcony overlooking the golf course. We were also provided with a bottle of water each day and tea or coffee was bought to our room each morning.

There are two golf courses on site. The South Course is relatively easy with some challenging and spectacular holes. The cost for a round is about 200 euros for 2 including a buggy. If you are happy to play in the afternoon the cost is about half this and the course quite. Buggys are picked up straight form the hotel. The North Course is altogether different. Much more challenging with many holes requiring shots over deep ravines or up or down steep valleys. The greens were very fast and on many holes if you miss the green you will loose your ball. Fun yes but not really a fair challenge. What the courses lack is a club house at the end to enjoy a drink and count how many balls you lost. Instead the club house is located on the 15th hole of the South Course. This seems massive mistake and lost opportunity to generate income from food and drink.

So overall a modern hotel set on a golf course with good rooms and good staff set away from the coast? If they made a few relatively small changes, all of which have been often repeated in these reviews it would be really good. We travelled with Voyage Prive and only paid £550 each including flights, transfers, half board with wine and water. At this price it is difficult to find much fault. Will we come again? If we can get as good as deal next year I expect so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. It is lovely to hear that you liked the hotelm staff and golfing. We will pass on your suggestions to our management.

Do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Gran Canaria. Warm regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is American-architect designed, modern and cleverly conceived, great spaces. The bars are cool and relaxed, as is the rest of the complex. The views are fabulous. The staff are very welcoming and very friendly, attention was instant and well delivered. I was unwell for part visit and was looked after like better than being in hospital. The buffet is very good and varied. There's a lot of space everywhere so it is easy to laze in the sun like you're the only ones there. On one night a trio played Canarian music during dinner which was nice and there was good jazz in the bar on another night. It is cut off from places so I wouldnt think of using it as a base for travelling unless you have a car but we were there for the seclusion and sun rest and this place is ideal for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salobre2008, Director Comercial at Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation, and liked the hotel, staff, attention to detail and atmosphere.

We look forward to your next visit to Gran Canaria. Warm regards,

Sandra Leibrock
Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Business Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort And Spa
Sheraton Salobre Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Sheraton Salobre Hotel
Sheraton Maspalomas
Maspalomas Sheraton
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.