We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Blancas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villas Blancas to your Saves list
Villas Blancas
Avenida TouroperadoTjaereborg S/N, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Wales UK
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Following on from my review of April 2009, I stayed again in November (unaccompanied) and just returned from another week of VB hospitality.

Nothing really has changed (except some additions to the Bar Staff). It's great to turn up somewhere where you are genuinely expected and welcomed. Even to the point of being happy to travel there alone.

Everyone from the Gardener (Cesar) to the owner (John) speaks, smiles, waves - you are always acknowledged! The maids are very pleasant and helpful and never bat an eyelid at the nude sunbathing (and a few other antics I am sure!) I get a sense that this place is really appreciated, meeting the same faces now for the past few years who clearly must have a similar appreciation to myself. So I do wonder why there are not more reviews? That said I get no encouragement from VB to submit a review, so it is totally independent. There is nothing I can add to this review from my review of April 2009 other than to state that the experience is consistent which is the acid test of hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    47
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
94
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed 3 weeks at Villas Blancas and did not want to leave at the end of our stay. The bungalow we stayed in (21) was cleaned regularly and attentively and we always had clean towels and sheets. The furnishings were comfortable (except the bed which creaked a little) and the kitchen was equipped enough to cook if you wanted too. But lets face it, there's no need to cook 'at home' when you can eat very well in the multitude of cafes and restaurants in the area or at the friendly home-made bistro of Villas Blancas itself. You can choose from a varied a la carte menu or you can pluck for the daily special which is not just affordable to eat every day but is surprisingly good too and is different day (although if you stay more than 2 weeks you will see the same dishes again on the 3rd week). I can especially recommend the different Salads - in my opinion the best in the area and certainly the best I found during my stay. It was packed full of many different items and presented with flair: a big plus point!! The staff are very friendly and helpful and will go out off their way to ensure you have a great stay with them. Taxis are cheap and you can hop in one to the Yumbo for just 4 euro and the pool is lively and fun and is a good alternative to going to the beach - which is also lively and fun! Overall my partner and I had a great time at VB and we definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a good gay holiday without being ripped-off and with unusually good service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I have visited Villas Blancas in Maspalomas four times, and each time was perfect. From arrival, guests are made to feel welcome and special.

The setting is perfect. 30 bungalows set within immaculately manicured gardens with two good-sized pools. As I travelled with two friends, we booked a large three-bedroom bungalow (VB2). The bungalow felt more like a villa, good proportions with a lovely private patio overlooking one of the pools. The accommodation was spotless, and was cleaned daily throughout our stay. The resort is for gay men only, around the pools clothing is optional, however the ambiance is friendly and non-sexual. Guests travel from all over the world to stay at Villas Blancas, and the clientele is truly international.

The Villas Blancas bistro and bar serves food all day, from breakfast to dinner, the international menu serves a high standard of cuisine that will appeal to all.

Villas Blancas is situated in Maspalomas; a 10 minute taxi journey (4 Euros) will take you to Playa del Ingles or the dunes and beaches.

Villas Blancas has universal appeal.
Couples, singles and groups of all ages fall in love with this gorgeous resort. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or a fun-fuelled holiday; Villas Blancas is an idyllic retreat for the perfect gay holiday.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Always clean and well looked after, whether you stay in VB1 or VB2, its the best gay accommodation on the island. Choice of two pools - one near the bar with music, the other much more relaxing with peace and quiet.

Great for naturists - you can be naked anywhere in the complex at any time (and this being Spain, walk naked to the beach/in the street if you want). 45 mins walk to the beach, 30 mins to the Yumbo.

Bistro is small with good food (but expensive), some staff can be very queenie, others friendly and welcoming.

I have being staying here for years; it outclasses all the other gay accommodation. Yes, there's no official entertainment. Entertainment? Who, but children, need entertainment laid on? Try getting to know your fellow gay travellers instead!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Great rooms, amazing staff, perfect pools, very clean, hot guys!

Villas Blancas was an fantastic vacation and resort!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Not long got back from a week at VB, and had a great time. Booking online was easy, also booked a transfer from the airport with them and the taxi was waiting for us at the airport. Perfect.

Our bungalow was clean, well maintained and of a good standard, with maid service 5 days a week, clean towels every two days and new bedding twice weekly. The resort is very well maintained, including the pool areas with ample sun-beds.

We’ve stayed at gay resorts in the past where the staff invite their mates into the complex during the afternoon and they generally have a good time whilst paying guests get treated, at best, as a inconvenience. However we were delighted to find there was none of this at VB. Sergio on reception was especially friendly, helpful, always said hello and chatted when he met you, and was always on duty when he was supposed to. Some of the staff on the pool-side bar it has to be said were at times moody and occasionally short with guests, leave your personal issues outside when on duty guys, I’m on holiday!

We generally found Gran Canaria very expensive and not just because of the Pound/Euro rate. Construction bar in the Yumbo charges 4€ for a small bottle of the local beer Tropical, many other bars charge 3€.

The VB pool-side bar was no better, after 2 evening meals each, 1 lunch each and a few drinks our bar bill was 180€. The food quality is okay, did have a chewy chicken breast and the house salad although huge, is just a load of cheap filler with a few interesting items thrown over the top and is fooling no-one.

If you’re looking for a party every night, then VB is probably not for you, however we’re a long term couple and wanted somewhere quiet to relax, where we can talk to people. VB was perfect, and there are plenty of clubs and noisy bars in the Yumbo to enjoy.

Overall we had a great holiday at Villas Blancas and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

We spent 1 week here in early Feb 2009 renting one of the one bed bungalows (with our frineds renting the bungalow next door). The place is clean and tidy and reasonably well equiped. You could self cater for all your meals if you wished (although you will be limited to a two ring hob so probably limited opportunities for fine dining!).

The one bed bungalows would probably be a little crowded for 3!

The gardens and pool areas were very tidy and very well maintained. You have various spots around the place to lay out and relax - and they make much of the fact that one pool has the bar and music whilst the other is a 'quiet' area. The noise level actually tends to depend upon who else is using the pool area and so be prepared to move around if you want to avoid (or seek!) the noisy crowd.

We were particularly impressed that at check out on our last day we mentioned a few minor maintenance issues with our room. We noticed whilst waiting for our taxi that the maintenance guy was immediately sent to put those things right - so a great attention to detail.

It is really too far to walk to the town centre or Yumbo but taxis are always around and pretty good value.

One specific point - we were in bungalow 23. The bathroom vent gives out into the bar/restaurant area which means all of the noises from there tend to be filtered in to the room. So if you do not want to be woken with the sound of breakfast being set up - or go to sleep with the sound of bar chat - avoid room 23!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Blancas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Blancas

Address: Avenida TouroperadoTjaereborg S/N, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Villas Blancas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Blancas Hotel Maspalomas
Villas Blancas Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Blancas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.