We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Blancas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villas Blancas to your Saves list
Villas Blancas
Avenida TouroperadoTjaereborg S/N, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I have visited Villas Blancas in Maspalomas four times, and each time was perfect. From arrival, guests are made to feel welcome and special.

The setting is perfect. 30 bungalows set within immaculately manicured gardens with two good-sized pools. As I travelled with two friends, we booked a large three-bedroom bungalow (VB2). The bungalow felt more like a villa, good proportions with a lovely private patio overlooking one of the pools. The accommodation was spotless, and was cleaned daily throughout our stay. The resort is for gay men only, around the pools clothing is optional, however the ambiance is friendly and non-sexual. Guests travel from all over the world to stay at Villas Blancas, and the clientele is truly international.

The Villas Blancas bistro and bar serves food all day, from breakfast to dinner, the international menu serves a high standard of cuisine that will appeal to all.

Villas Blancas is situated in Maspalomas; a 10 minute taxi journey (4 Euros) will take you to Playa del Ingles or the dunes and beaches.

Villas Blancas has universal appeal.
Couples, singles and groups of all ages fall in love with this gorgeous resort. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or a fun-fuelled holiday; Villas Blancas is an idyllic retreat for the perfect gay holiday.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    48
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
95
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Always clean and well looked after, whether you stay in VB1 or VB2, its the best gay accommodation on the island. Choice of two pools - one near the bar with music, the other much more relaxing with peace and quiet.

Great for naturists - you can be naked anywhere in the complex at any time (and this being Spain, walk naked to the beach/in the street if you want). 45 mins walk to the beach, 30 mins to the Yumbo.

Bistro is small with good food (but expensive), some staff can be very queenie, others friendly and welcoming.

I have being staying here for years; it outclasses all the other gay accommodation. Yes, there's no official entertainment. Entertainment? Who, but children, need entertainment laid on? Try getting to know your fellow gay travellers instead!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Great rooms, amazing staff, perfect pools, very clean, hot guys!

Villas Blancas was an fantastic vacation and resort!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Not long got back from a week at VB, and had a great time. Booking online was easy, also booked a transfer from the airport with them and the taxi was waiting for us at the airport. Perfect.

Our bungalow was clean, well maintained and of a good standard, with maid service 5 days a week, clean towels every two days and new bedding twice weekly. The resort is very well maintained, including the pool areas with ample sun-beds.

We’ve stayed at gay resorts in the past where the staff invite their mates into the complex during the afternoon and they generally have a good time whilst paying guests get treated, at best, as a inconvenience. However we were delighted to find there was none of this at VB. Sergio on reception was especially friendly, helpful, always said hello and chatted when he met you, and was always on duty when he was supposed to. Some of the staff on the pool-side bar it has to be said were at times moody and occasionally short with guests, leave your personal issues outside when on duty guys, I’m on holiday!

We generally found Gran Canaria very expensive and not just because of the Pound/Euro rate. Construction bar in the Yumbo charges 4€ for a small bottle of the local beer Tropical, many other bars charge 3€.

The VB pool-side bar was no better, after 2 evening meals each, 1 lunch each and a few drinks our bar bill was 180€. The food quality is okay, did have a chewy chicken breast and the house salad although huge, is just a load of cheap filler with a few interesting items thrown over the top and is fooling no-one.

If you’re looking for a party every night, then VB is probably not for you, however we’re a long term couple and wanted somewhere quiet to relax, where we can talk to people. VB was perfect, and there are plenty of clubs and noisy bars in the Yumbo to enjoy.

Overall we had a great holiday at Villas Blancas and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

We spent 1 week here in early Feb 2009 renting one of the one bed bungalows (with our frineds renting the bungalow next door). The place is clean and tidy and reasonably well equiped. You could self cater for all your meals if you wished (although you will be limited to a two ring hob so probably limited opportunities for fine dining!).

The one bed bungalows would probably be a little crowded for 3!

The gardens and pool areas were very tidy and very well maintained. You have various spots around the place to lay out and relax - and they make much of the fact that one pool has the bar and music whilst the other is a 'quiet' area. The noise level actually tends to depend upon who else is using the pool area and so be prepared to move around if you want to avoid (or seek!) the noisy crowd.

We were particularly impressed that at check out on our last day we mentioned a few minor maintenance issues with our room. We noticed whilst waiting for our taxi that the maintenance guy was immediately sent to put those things right - so a great attention to detail.

It is really too far to walk to the town centre or Yumbo but taxis are always around and pretty good value.

One specific point - we were in bungalow 23. The bathroom vent gives out into the bar/restaurant area which means all of the noises from there tend to be filtered in to the room. So if you do not want to be woken with the sound of breakfast being set up - or go to sleep with the sound of bar chat - avoid room 23!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

From the moment we clicked 'book' Villa Blancas service was excellent. This small resort (30 bungalows) is close to the beach and dunes, and the less than impressive Yumco centre. No need to walk - keenly priced taxis are always available.

Our bungalow (inVB2) was spotless, very comfortable and well equipped but not luxurious. Self catering would be easy. The two pools are cleaned daily and the grounds well maintained. Most of the other guests were couples and, for us, the absence of screaming queens welcome.

The bistro serves excellent meals across the day - friendly efficient service, wide range of attractively presented food, well priced.

We're not easily pleased and holidays have included Michelin starred restaurants.... and yes, we're booking to return to Villa Blancas April 2009.

Have already recommended VB to our best friends.

  • Liked — A well run gay resort
  • Disliked — Only Sky News English TV.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

2 of us went out to gran canaria with wild expectations of gay frovility at villas blancas.
What happens whilst you're there is purely dependant on who else happens to be there at the same time as you, so we would reccommend going with a gang of mates or if you're a couple, take another couple with you and stay at the resort together.
The staff here are lovely. Can't fault them at all. And some of them are very very attractive (making the negative experiences a litte more bearable) .
The bungalows themselves are of a decentish size, but only if you go out expecting a small 'apartment'. The sofa-bed advertised turned out to be just a sofa. And one that 2 people can't comfortably lounge about on for any length of time without falling off or wanting to stretch ur legs. For a resort made for gay men, particularly couples, we found the concept of having 2 single beds pushed together a little out-dated and ridiculous.
And the television provided was a laughable little portable with only one english channel that was constantly covered with interference and white noise (ie. unwatchable). So our options when it rained (yes it rained in sunny gran canaria) was to try and watch the badly tuned sky news (which got a tad repetative) or put up with their own choice of 1980's porn.
The cleaners/maids were exemplary. The place was beyond clean. Only 3 cockroaches in 2 weeks, and that was only because I'd left a window open late at night.
Lovely atmosphere. Pool is nice and cold when the sun is out. People are warm and friendly and there's a little bit of cruising after around 1am if u get the right crowd there.
However. The Bistro. If you stay at villas blancas - eat out and drink at home. 4 days of stomach problems finally resolved by eating elsewhere. The food is overstacked, there is no such thing as a portion for these people, it's overpriced for what you get, the breakfasts are VERY basic - and one evening whilst having drinks at the bar with friends, we watched the bistro manager handle all sorts of foods, chopping vegetables, handling meats, bread, cooking different dinners for about 7 or 8 people, serving drinks, handling money and dirty plates, washing up - and not once did he wash his hands.
That made paying the bistro bill of over 300 euros. An even bitter pill to swallow at the end of our stay. Fun could be had by all here, they only need to try a little harder and send their food handlers on some heatlh & safety courses, and get some decent tv channels in order to make this place a beautiful gay haven.

  • Liked — gay friendly
  • Disliked — rubbish food and not as advertised
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Blancas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Blancas

Address: Avenida TouroperadoTjaereborg S/N, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Villas Blancas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Blancas Hotel Maspalomas
Villas Blancas Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Blancas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.