We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cay Beach Meloneras

Save Saved
You added Cay Beach Meloneras to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cay Beach Meloneras
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really good resort, apartments are modern and clean and have all the facilities you need for a self catering holiday. The three pools were great, not too busy and always plenty of sunbeds and parasols available. Lovely tree lined short stroll to the beach and all the restaurants along the sea front. I will book again when I return to Melonoras which is a fantasticly clean, modern resort. Sitting with a cocktail watching the sun going down in Melonoras is my idea of heaven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    56
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
46
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed self catering only, so cant comment on hotel food, pool side bar food very well, when you could get it.
Cant fault the apartments very clean everything worked , infract were always spotless after being cleaned , stayed in ground floor of 2 , expect all their same with the sound coming down from above a bit too clear for comfort
Patios nice and well maintained, pools all very clean and well looked after no shortage of sun beds and segregation for children and adults.
Now the downsides. no where to purchase drinks after 6.30 when pool bar closes despite the adverts saying bar and nightclub open from 7.30 , never opened once while there for 2 weeks, when asked was told it was kaput, only explanation given, with no bars or cafes within 2 kilometers was difficult to obtain a relaxing drink when returning to the apartments, as there is a supermarket advertised as being open from 8am to 6pm thought we would purchase from there , but again they decided with no notice to restrict opening from 8am to pm
As the complex is situated on a hill and the nearest shop again is 2 k away not very easy carrying shopping 2k uphill.
Activities were advertised but were none exist ant.

This complex is good enough to attract customers without offering false offerings, if you are looking for a quite clean tidy, well mannered staff in an excellent resort you would have to go along way to beat the cay beach apartments 3 minutes downhill to beach and promenade turn left for melanores centre with classy non expensive bars restaurants and lovely promenade walk 10 mins. turn right to melanores beach centre more traditional with superb restaurants and supermarkets again along a lovely promenade , just a bit of a climb back to the apartments ,where a quite bar and some drinks would make it superb way to round off an evening , just a coffee would have been enough.
Don’t let the bad points put you off just a few moans about what would have made it perfect

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely clean apartments, good pool area. A short walk to the gorgeous resataurants, and 5 minutes away from the golf course. We went in February, weather was good. Going at this time of year meant the resort was quiet, so plenty of room on the beach. It was a really relaxing holiday. Take a walk across Maspalomas beach!!! Your eyes won't believe what they are seeing! Full of nudists, in all shapes and sizes!

Room Tip: All rooms good with a balcony or patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My sister and i stayed at Cay Beach the first week in September,and wondered at first if we were in the right apartments! We had read previous reviews on Tripadvisor and some were so "scary" we nearly did'nt book! So glad we did CAY BEACH is wonderful to say the least, from the moment you arrive to the end of you'r stay.Victor at reception gave us a warm greeting and booked us in with no fuss.Our apartment was large open-plan, large kitchen with toaster, kettel, fridge etc and fully airconed (no charge) The bed-rooms and in fact all the apartment was bright cheerful and spotless! Lots of wardrobes but not enough drawer space. The outside patio was private with table and chairs and all day sunny aspect (which we had requested) The apartment has three pools in it's well keep grounds, and lots and lots of sunbeds.The hydrobeds and jacuzzi were a real plus and great hit with my sister and i.There is a well stocked mini market on site, reasonable prices.Maid cleaned the room five times out of seven, and clean towels every time.As i said before apartment was spotless never seen ANY bugs the whole stay.We we self catering so i can't comment on food.Cay beach cares well for childeren with kiddies pool and play park there are also life guards. We have been to Grand Canaria many times and have stayed in a lot of apartments and hotels, some may i say four star+ but Cay Beach top them all! But please dont tell anyone------ we want to keep them for ourselves! Thank you again to Victor Annabell maids and all the staff who made our holiday sooo perfect.We will most defenitly be back and recommend Cay Beach.Grasis

Room Tip: all rooms are ground floor, unless there are more than three persons, then you get upstairs as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited Gran Canaria at the beginning of July and the Cay Beach was reccomended by the fabulous Thomson reps in Meloneras. We booked the accommodation through a German website which made a significant saving, car hire was pre booked with Top Car at the airport and flights with Thomas Cook.
Having visited Tenerife recently we were pleasantly suprised at how different Gran Canaria was and the Cay Beach apartments were ideally located and of a high standard, the on site shop was inexpensive and had a great choice of wines,beer,provisions and fresh bread daily.
The promenade is a pleasant 10 minutes walk away and the variety of quality restaurants was a real treat for carnivores, sea food and pizza / pasta lovers.
The rental car was a real bonus as there are some lovely places to visit, our favorites were Amadores beach and the enchanting 'little Venice' Puerto de Mogan.
Altogether a most enjoyable holiday with great accommodation in the best location.
p.s. Mojito's on draught at the pool bar are fab ! - enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My sister and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Cay Beach Meloneras. We know the area well and have stayed in some of the Hotels but this was our first stay at the Cay Beach Apartments. They looked lovely from the outside so we read reviews on Tripadvisor before booking.
We arrived around 8pm and staff from the start were very polite helpful and courteous. Victor and Annabell, thank you especially. We requested a bungalow with a sunny aspect, and this is exactly what we got. The bungalow is the downstairs part of the apartment, and it was open-plan with large kitchen come dining and seating area. Our patio had a table and two chairs, but was also large enough to take two sunloungers. On our first day we asked could we take loungers from pool area to our patio, and we were told that it was no problem, provided we took them and brought them back ourselves! This proved really relaxing and when it got too hot we were about two minutes walk to the two lower pools. The complex is spotless and is well attended to by staff. It has hydrobeds and also a jacuzzi, both of which we used a lot. The cleaning of the apartments was excellent and the staff more than happy to please.
We did not eat in the restaurant as we were self catering, so cannot comment on this. The Apartments are a little bit away from shops etc but a short taxi ride takes you to bars restaurants etc. When we stayed there were a mixture of nationalities and everyone was very friendly no matter language you spoke.
I know there are a few negative comments about this Resort but we could honestly say we found nothing to complain about, except it got a bit too hot some days!!!!!!!! By the way there is aircon in the bungalows and it was included in the price, and proved very welcome because of the high temperatures.
We have highly recommended the Cay Beach Meloneras, to our friends and family and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room type that suits your needs, sunny shaded whatever I'm sure they will provide it f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 11 nights (we were supposed to stay for 7 nights, but the ash cloud from Iceland put spanner in the works for us;) 

We got a two storey bungalow which was quite large for us, as our children were only 1 and and 4 years old. If you have older/more children you might want to consider booking the duplex (both floors) but else you can get along quite well in the apartment (ground floor).

The breakfast was quite ok, nothing fancy but it got you going in the morning. We never ate at the restaurant in the evening as it did not look that tempting. There are several restaurants abt. a 10 min. walk from the hotel so we preferred to eat out every night.

The resort is located a little outside the coastal promenade. The area as a whole is very nice with luxury hotels in the neighborhood. Some bungalows even have nice views over the sea. The pools were nice and there is a separate small pool for children. There is also a game room with staff that played with the children. A small market at the resort also came in handy a few times.

Everything at the resort was clean and well maintained. If you do not mind the short walk to the beach and the lack of a wide range of restaurants at the resort this is a nice and a priceworthy place to stay at.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cay Beach Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cay Beach Meloneras

Address: C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cay Beach Meloneras 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Cay Beach Meloneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Meloneras Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Cay Beach Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cay Beach Meloneras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.