We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean, spacious, 3 pools and good food - perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cay Beach Meloneras

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cay Beach Meloneras to your Saves list
Cay Beach Meloneras
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Leeds
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean, spacious, 3 pools and good food - perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in May 2012 with a friend. Apartments spotlessly clean with air conditioning and a private sitting area - really nice. Comfy beds and everything you would need kitchen wise.

Main hotel restaurant has had some slating on here but I don't know why. I was reluctant to try this but maybe they have bucked up their ideas after reading earlier comments. we had the Canarian Buffet (Wednesdays) for 13 Euro per person (about 6 euro for children). Not a massive selection but more than enough and all the meat was very tender and tasty, and all vegetables and salads were lovely. No complaints whatsoever. Friday night is BBQ night (same price) and again the food was spot on and plenty of it. Very good value. service in restaurant and reception was also very good and I would certainly stay here again. We also had lunch twice at the pool bar and their Cay sandwich (a bit like a club sandwich) was one of the best I have eaten and very well priced. Bar staff friendly and accommodating.

The location in Meloneras is quiet which suited us perfectly, with a 20 min walk along a beautiful and quiet promenade next to the sea into the small town area. Mix of eating places (all prices and tastes) and also many bars - from quiet to a but more lively. No evidence of any nightclubs which suited us. if you want a crazy night out then a 5 Euro taxi ride will take you to Las Palmas which is a different kettle of fish entire;y. Very much a gay resort, however we went up there for a couple of the party nights and the atmosphere was great - if not a bit loud and crazy!

The hotel is not great for beaches as many are quite rocky but down in the main town area is a lovely beach. We prefer the pool holiday really and the Cay Beach had 3 large pools (great for lengths) and also a few small ones along with open air jacuzzi's - spoilt for choice. One of the large pools was set away from the pool bar and was very quiet without music which was lovely for a quiet read and a snooze.

Overall a fab holiday and I aim to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    35
    9
    2
See reviews for
62
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Back a week from cay beach, nice apartments that are kept really clean,restaurent a disaster cold plates cold food the best bit was dessert and as that was cold they couldnt go far wrong! we gave up after two days and ate in all the local restaurents which were all good and reasonably priced,they were about 10-15 minute walk away we had a car so used that some nights but if it rained you would have to take a taxi or take your chances with the onsite restaurent.
Some of the apartments were better situated then others ours had a large tree outside and we got no sun on the patio at all nice in the middle of summer but not in March,upstairs apartments seem to see more of the sun on the balcony but from what i saw of them they didnt have even tea/coffee that you could make yourself as these were not self catering units.
The walk along the coast to the lighthouse in maspolomas is lovely bit further on nice spots to stop for morning coffee.We had 14 days of unbroken sunshine while we were there so we were very lucky.Very few irish/english there but it could be the time of the year we went may be different in the summer.

Room Tip: if you like the pool ask for a room facing the lower pool bit of a walk to main complex but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I just came home after one week at the hotel. The service, room was very good. But unfortunately I had half pension. The dinner was very very bad. Food from a can, rice, french fries, tomato, and almost nothing more. Very limited selection, very bad quality. If you do not order food at the hotel, then it is a good choice, but my vacation was a little bit spoiled because of the bad food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of november.

Positives - great location and area, bank machine right outside the door. Architecture is lovely and the complex overall is very nice. You wont get better value price wise in this area. it's a quiet holiday complex as opposed to loud areas (ie: playa de ingles/ puerto rico). Rooms are fairly large and kept very clean. Has 2 nice adult pools and a kids pool and the front which was great for families with kids - also another adult pool down at the other end of complex which was quiet and kid free if you dont have any (or want to escape!) Staff seem friendly enough but we didn't really have to much to do with them- we went self catering. some of the reception staff a little grumpy!

negatives - Deposits for everything which got very annoying. €15 for beach towel, €6 for extra room key,€6 for remote control. Safe was extra (not sure how much). Rooms are impossible to find when you arrive (esp when it's dark!) and the numbers make no logical sense. Walked around for ages (as did many others during the week) trying to find the room even asked a staff member we spotted around the grounds and even they didn't really know.

The room: No electric kettle - one for the stove. in our room the bedroom door wouldn't close. Think it was supposed slide over but it wouldnt budge! fairly modern (bathroom could be updated) and kept spotless all week. cleaners only seemed to have one day off (sun). We seemed to have a great cleaner! Shower was poor (not very powerful and the hot water was a bit unperdictable (boiling one sec, cool the next!) and a fair bit of rust around the plug hole.

Overall, I would stay again as I like that area and you wont beat the price! but if you can get a deal on the hotels beside it i'd take that first as they are pretty good (stayed in the h10 and lopesan hotels before). I would imagine these apartments are even better value for families as the two bed apartments seem quite large and practical and wern't much more than the 1 beds.

PS- weather fantastic, location great 10min walk to lighthouse, 5 min to meloneras beach with resturants. if anyone has any questions just email- been to this area a good few times and wish i was still there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The apartment complex is great place to stay for families. There are 2 large pools, a kids club and plenty of sun loungers / umbrellas. The views from the apartments / sun decks are not the best in the world but the complex is only a 5 minute walk from the sea front and beaches. The on site shop is not open particularly long hours but the super markets in the town are cheaper and only 10 minutes walk away. Our apartment was cleaned regularly and the air conditioning worked very well and the on the whole we thought it was very comfy and spacious. The resort of Meloneras is quieter than Playa del Ingles but being smaller was much more refined and relaxing. There were plenty of beech front restaurants to choose from in the evenings. Would definitely stay here again if we go back to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Just home from a fantastic holiday at these apartments! went with my husband and 3 small boys (3,7,9) and it was perfect for us. booked them myself online and was absolutely delighted with what we got. Pool area fantastic, loads of room and plenty of shade for those hot afternoons. jacuzzi and massage tubs heaven! Had a kids club but didn't bother to be honest, kids reluctant to leave the pool for anything! no other irish/english there, but that suits me on holidays!! Accommodation wise, we had the upstairs and downstairs of our apartment which was fantastic. we slept upstairs, 3 boys slept on the 2 singles downstairs. was lovely to have our own "house" with no-one above or below us like in so many complexes. so much space, lovely and clean. little shop with all you need, open all day. did our main shop in the supermarket but this was great for fresh bread in the mornings. nice pool bar open till 12pm, lovely lady working there. beautiful walk down to melonares boulevard in the evening - initially thought it would be too far for my 3yo but we took it handy and would be there in 15-20 mins top. did this every evening, great people watching and looking in at the 5 star hotels!! :) would go back in a heartbeat. only downside was that both pools were very deep, my kids couldn't stand in either. would have been nice to have 1 pool they could stand in. but still would not hesitate to return! Loved it :)

Room Tip: only a few houses have a sea-view, lovely if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Have just returned home. We were moved here as our hotel in puerto rico under renovation. Rooms ok but shop staff and pool bar staff cannot understand basic english and are rude. Reception staff only good part helpful and friendly. Hotel ok if you are any other nationality than english. Kids club a joke my 8 year old daughter was ignored for an hour being the only english child there and left unapproached to wander the complex looking for us. No real entertainment, shops or restaurants close so had to taxi into playa de ingles to eat costing 10 euros a night. Rep very far and few, did not resolve my complaint only to move us at a cost of 1000 euros refused and made best of, will not return again. If thinking of staying here I would think again!

Room Tip: All the same ok to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cay Beach Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cay Beach Meloneras

Address: C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cay Beach Meloneras 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cay Beach Meloneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Meloneras Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Cay Beach Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cay Beach Meloneras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.