We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is what you get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolias Natura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maspalomas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolias Natura
Save
You added Magnolias Natura to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Avenida Touroperador Tjaereborg | Campo International, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The naturist complex Magnolias Natura does what it says on the tin: it consists of twenty-eight bungalows with a fair-sized swimming pool and jacuzzi in the middle, surrounded by sun beds. There is also a restaurant, although you have the option of self-catering with the help of the kitchenette in the bungalows, the main cooking facility being a two-ring ceramic hob. There is little else on-site, which is absolutely fine if you want either to spend a large part of your day relaxing by the pool or to use the complex as somewhere to stay while you go out on a variety of excursions to places on the island. On one of the Sunday evenings that I was there, there was an enjoyable Flamenco show followed by a meal in the restaurant, and it proved a good way of bringing people together. The next Sunday, it had to be cancelled, as there were not sufficient guests on-site to make it viable.

To go into more details: the weather was beautiful, and so lying on a sunbed was a very pleasant way of spending time. The sunbeds might be beginning to show their age, and were not the most comfortable I have ever been on. The pool was great - just the right temperature, not too cold when you got into it, and not too hot if you decided to swim a number of lengths. Another good feature is that the rule of "no towels on the sunbeds before 9 a.m." was actually enforced. I never had a problem finding a lounger anyway. The restaurant was very well run. As I was feeling rather poorly at the time, I decided to take the lazy way out and always eat there rather than self-catering, which necessitated buying food from a supermarket, there being no food outlet on site. The nearest supermarket is very well hidden, involving walking down the road, going into the tennis club, doubling back on yourself within the club precinct and keeping going till you have been past all the courts, and then taking an unmade path which leads to the shop! The cooks and waiters in the restaurant were all excellent, efficient and very friendly, and able to cope adequately in Spanish, English and German. Their French wasn't quite up to the task, which caused problems for some resolutely monolingual French visitors. There was a good mixture of nationalities, English, Irish, Scandinavian, German and French, for example. The atmosphere was one of cheerful friendliness.

You could pay to have Wi-Fi in your accommodation, but there was no need to do this, as you could use it free of charge in the area near the bar, and it worked perfectly. There is a regular bus service which takes you to a number of places close to the complex - for example the Maspalomas beach - and it is free to customers of Magnolias Natura. The coaches used are spacious and comfortable. If, however, you want to explore the island, you will need a hire car.

The accommodation was simple, but clean. A cleaning lady visited five times a week, and she was very efficient. Under "room service" I've only given three stars, because, apart from the cleaning, there was no room service - not that one would expect it anyway. "Fitness centre" has one star, because there wasn't one.

One final comment: I arrived at 10:00 pm, and was lucky to be let in by two guests who were returning from a visit, as the buttons to press are not indicated. Once in, however, I was very well looked after by the waiter on duty, who showed me to my accommodation and even prepared a bite for me to eat, although it was past the normal food-providing time.

Would I go back there? Yes, but this time probably for a week rather than a fortnight, and I would self-cater most of the time, using the restaurant as an occasional treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First timers and to the Magnolias, what a wonderful relaxing and friendly place from booking to arriving and being greated by cindy. Staff are friendly and very welcoming- cindy works so hard with puting on an enterainment night and to welcome everyone and making your holiday a relaxed one. We met some lovely people all nationalities. Apartments are spacious, clean with all amenities even air conditioning.. bliss. This complex is well kept and very clean and tastefully done, Just a great place. The apartments are situated in a secluded part of resort so a taxi is required returning from a night out or from the supermarket. There is a courtsey bus to and from the complex to the beach and front of Maspalomas during the day. Overall 1st class staff and complex.

First time to the Magnolias but not the last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our first visit to the apartments, found the facilities excellent, clean and well appointed. Not luxurious, but does everything you need. The only very minor gripe was that the WIFI in the bar area didn't work too well. But I didn't go on holiday to look at my emails!
All the staff were really friendly, and the meals we had on site were quite acceptable. Cindy's front of house style is really good, and she really puts her every effort in to making sure absolutely everything is OK and you have a good time.
We found a mix of 24x7 nudists and those who adopted a dawn to dusk approach. But absolutely everyone we met was pleasant and friendly. When we were there age range was late 30's to late 70's from numerous European nationalities.
Don't expect any beautiful scenic vistas, it is just another small complex of accommodation units around a pool, near a golf course surrounded by other complex's. But it is done very very well. Yes, we would go again.
One tip - Hire a car, its a long, long walk to the supermarket. it also gives you more options beyond the 'milk round' bus to get to and from the beach. It is a little bit in the middle of no-where and if you don't have a hire car you will need a cab to get into town to go out at night or to go to the beach.

Room Tip: If you do or don't want a room immediately bar the pool/bar...Ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This being our 5th time at Magnolias it just gets better and better. The improvements are tasteful and the staff cannot be more welcoming and helpful. There is something about this place that just makes you feel so relaxed and you can leave all the stresses and trouble of home and work life outside those doors and enjoy your holiday. The improvements are for the better.. it is such a same that Faro 2 is looking so dire with just the supermarket and a few resturants now open.

The food is good and the staff go out of their way to accommodate you. The "get to know eachother" evenings are a big hit and Cindy and team you are doing a great job - see you all next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Phil and myself have just returned from our first "naturalist" holiday and were very impressed with Magnolias. From the moment we arrived having been greeted by Cindy and Mullis, we just knew we had made the right choice. The whole complex is clean, good sized pool and jazzuci and the gardens well cared for thanks to Mullis. We had no problem with accomodation, comfortable, self catering if you want to; but who wants to self cater when you have the excellent Petra and Angela, to cook for you. We done girls! A bus service to and from the beach which picks and drops you off right out side the door and probably the most excercise for the week is, a 15 minute walk over the sand to the naturist beach. This is a mixture of naturism and textiles, but nobody takes no notice. (poolside is all naturism)
So we've had breakfast cooked by Petra, we've been to the beach, time to go back and have a poolside drink with Cindy. Cindy. this girl is amazing, working 14 hrs a day, with rarely a day off, full of energy, its all non-stop for Cindy, A girl with a very big heart.!
We loved our time at Magnolias, we have met some really nice couples from around europe, we've enjoyed the food and the complex.
For us it was 10 out 10 and looking forward to returning in March
A very big thank you to EVERYONE at Magnolias you are all wonderful x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the first contact during the booking process to the moment we left to come back home everything was perfect....
We arrived late on a Saturday night - we were greeted by the Bar/Restaurant manager Cindy who showed us to our bungalow - lovely and clean and spacious enough for two easily - Cindy asked if we needed food and supplied us with a few choices in the restaurant - these were cooked freshly for us and were excellent value.

The bungalow consists of a living room area and small kitchen - we didn't use the kitchen for much other than the kettle and toaster and the fridge - there is a small two ring cooker should you wish to cook for yourself but the food on the complex and locally is more than sufficient.

There is then a double bedroom with air conditioning again more than big enough for sleeping in. The bathroom has a small bath with a shower over it and a large sing/vanity unit.

You are supplied with two Yellow towels plus the the normal bath towels etc - the yellow towels are supposed to accompany you where ever you go on the site to sit on etc...you need to take your own beach towels.

The gardens/grounds are very clean and tidy and well maintained...the pool is always clean and is a nice temperature at this time of the year.

The mini supermarket that is advertised is actually a couple of shelves of goods in reception and comprise mainly drinks - but they have the essentials such as milk, juice and a range of alcoholic drinks should you need them for your room.

The bar is a reasonable price with a large Heineken coming in at 3.5 euros and soft drinks at 2.2 euros...

The restaurant is great, Cindy who runs it from the afternoon to the early morning will provide you with just what you want, she went out of her way for us to get a decent steak at short notice (borowing it from a neighbouring property!) and also arranged for my wife to have rabbit one evening..though this doesn't usually appear on the menu...Angela the cook in the kitched does a great job and as i say will cook what you want how you want it....during the morning and early afternoon cooking is done by Petra who again is totally accommodating..breakfast was cooked to order for us - there is a cold buffet and then Full English to your own specification. if you opt to have breakfast for 7 days or more then the price is reduced by 2 euros per person.

There are no rules regarding nudism - you decide when you want to dress/undress even in the restaurant - some people chose to eat there naked - no one was bothered by this - though nudity is compulsory in and around the pool.

The guests were a total mix of European couples/singles - from Holland, Belgium, Spain, Norway, Germany and us British...everyone got on great and everyone was very friendly.

The staff here are amazing and helped to make the holiday what it was..everyone of them treat you like an old friend...

This was our first visit and we have already made our minds up to revisit next summer this time for 2-3 weeks rather then the one which went so quickly..

Thanks everyone connected to Magnolias for making our holiday so special....see you again soon

Room Tip: a number of bungalows surround the pool and the bar/restaurant area - this could be an issue if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first visit to Magnolias since October last year (see previous review) and standards in all areas appear to remain high.

Booking on-line remains simple, clear and straight forward and a warm welcome awaited us upon arrival.

The bungalows are very clean and tidy and the air conditioned bedrooms are very welcome at this time of year.

A small increase in the cost of food and drink was evident, although it has to be said there has been a 2% increase in local taxes which explains much of the increase - this was made clear on the Magnolias Natura website at the time of booking. Notwithstanding this, the quality and quantity of the food on offer throughout the day and into the evening was very good with most prepared and cooked from scratch using fresh ingredients.

The gardens remain beautifully tendered with the Manager joining in and growing a few varieties of herb around the restaurant area. Try a mojito prepared with mint grown about 2m from the glass it ends up in - can’t be a bad thing can it?

The friendliness and commitment of every member of staff we encountered during our stay remains one of the main attractions of the resort for us.

If you need to see a Doctor for an ailment requiring anything less than major organ transplant surgery, then I would advise visiting the nearest Centro de Salud who generally does not charge provided you take your European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) with you. I was not aware of this and the local Grupo Medico (Private Medical Practice) successfully amputated 139 of my hard-earned Euros (about £112) to examine and then syringe my ears. Very clean and fast treatment but at a price. Check the “Medical Treatment” excess on your Holiday Insurance first.

Finally, this was the first time we have visited Magnolias in the height of summer and, if it’s total peace and relaxation you require, July and August is quieter and definitely the time to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolias Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolias Natura

Address: Avenida Touroperador Tjaereborg | Campo International, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolias Natura 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturist Resort Magnolias Natura is the perfect naturists hideaway situated in Maspalomas on the southernmost tip of the island of Gran Canaria. During almost ten years Magnolias resort has earned the reputation it has today as being one of the best naturists resorts in Europe and the number of our guests who return over and over again is testimony to this. Magnolias Natura is to be found in a quiet and secluded location in Maspalomas, close to the golf course and sand dunes. Maspalomas beach, Europe's unofficial nudist capital where naturists gather every day to relax naked in the sunshine, is only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolias Natura Hotel Maspalomas
Magnolias Natura Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolias Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.