We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel where service is a priority” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Maspalomas
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel where service is a priority”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We visited this hotel 2 years ago before it became all-inclusive and had a wonderful time then due to its excellent location,friendly staff, good service and food. Having read some of the reviews since the change we were a little apprehensive as to whether the standards had slipped and we would be disappointed. No worries! It's every bit as good as it was and service is even better.The rooms are best described as traditional but immaculately clean-it's having a re-decoration this summer . First surprise was upon arrival when we were upgraded from a room overlooking the car park which we had 2 years ago to a sea view(room 317) and all staff were so cheerful and obliging. We were originally allocated 8.30 for dinner but we prefer 6.30 so we asked to change and after two nights our sitting was changed, as a result of which were sat next to a delightful German couple with whom struck up a lovely friendship.
To all staff and management well done-a holiday to remember. We'll be back. P.S.the weather was perfect too.

Room Tip: At least 3 floors high if you want a view and overlooking sea and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    135
    51
    29
    21
See reviews for
93
189
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The riu palace oasis may be one of the oldest established hotels in Maspalomas but still offers a grand hotel with exceptional personal service to every single guest. You can not beat this 24 hour all inclusive hotel for its beautiful sub tropical grounds and location which sits right on Maspalomas beach, possibly the best beach in gran canaria plus the beach promenade with amazing walks full of shops and bars and restaurant's right on your doorstep. The hotel offers excellent food with premium quality drinks.we must mention the fantastic friendly staff throughout the riu palace oasis from arrival we were greeted by Marino with a glass of champagne and then escorted to our beautiful room on the top floor with garden and a amazing sea view. Through the week we kept on receiving the most friendly greetings and service from all the riu staff through out the hotel restaurants through to the reception, show area and even pool and garden areas and your drinks were rarely empty before the waiters offered another. As mentioned in other reviews they say the hotel is out dated but we found it grand, comfortable and exceptionally maintained and very clean. Everything in the room worked and was lovely and our room attendant toni who has worked at this hotel for many years like her husband and many off the riu palace staff members, kept our room amazingly clean and fresh always with a fantastic smile and greeting. So we would like to thank the whole team at the riu palace oasis from start to finish for an amazing stay. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Nice enough and staff couldn't be more helpful but the hotel is desperately in need of a good overhaul, especially the pool which looked scruffy and I think I caught a tummy bug from swimming in it. The lounge area, where the entertainment took placed, was very smelly and dark, and not nice at all. I would not return unless it was completely refurbished throughout. It is a shame as we had a good holiday and the weather was excellent, and the food was ok too.

Room Tip: We booked a suite and the room had a view of the sea which was a nice thing to have. The suite gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

First time staying at a All inclusive hotel with the RIU group.

if i had to some it up in one word.............. "EXCELLENT"
recently lost its five star rating and i must stress i can see why. mainly cosmetic and needs a fresh lick of paint and a good hoover in the corners of the carpets. With this in mind if they sort this out i can foresee another upgrade to 5*****

as it was a five star the staff are used to offering that kind of service. I have never seen such great service and customer care. The staff are very friendly and treat everyone individual and know exactly what you drink.
Champagne is on tap in the foyer and food flows freely all day. Excellent choice of food from all round the globe. You will not go hungry.
The week i was there 90% were German, but hey!!

being all inclusive you feel hey would scrimp on certain things. Not here, even the bar drinks are varied and all come with branded labels and not watered down.

The gardens, the pool area are brilliant.
The Gym is a little poxy and was not expecting to see such a sparse array of facilities.

overall you will NOT be disappointed here. Rooms are very very clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms 148-168 on ground floor the best. back onto quieter area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Two weeks in Feb 2014, a very pleasant comfortable hotel with decent food and good service, staff seemed happy to help out at all times and for us the all inclusive worked very well , drinks waiter served apart from pool area during the day, rooms spacious and plenty of storage space, safe, air con, ceiling fan, mini fridge and comfortable beds, housekeeping good. A bit old fashioned perhaps for some tastes. Nice gardens and located right next to beach and dunes, good location.
Lack of wifi in rooms for me a major downside and lack of power points for charging phones etc, free wifi in reception bar area but so slow. Pool area a bit overcrowded with sunbeds but plenty of mattresses umbrellas and pool towels available . A good four star but hard to think of as a five star.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel provide everything a good hotel should, clean rooms, well prepared and presented food and the reception was fantastic. Have read some of the comments before and after our 2 week holiday I wonder now what planet some people live on. I would like to see their home being as clean, their food presentation at home being a patch for 5 people never mind the 500 people in the hotel. There are clearly people who go on holiday just to whinge rather than to relax, take in the sun and enjoy the time with their partner and family.

Thank you for a fantastic holiday, you could teach quite a few 5* hotels how to look after their customers. Well done we will be back.

Room Tip: We were in 347 and its was excellent looking over the lawns and sunshine most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wettingen, Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent location, friendly hotel staff,plenty of food and drinks are highlights of our tour.We stayed 4 days and spent lots of time on beach and hotel garden. Check-in was fast . I expected some body will take our luggage from main entrance to the room which didn't happened.

We were allotted a ground floor , no view what so ever because of wall. Room size was moderate . Two levels in the room is bit uncomfortable. The beds are very old.

We selected 2nd session for dinner. There were plenty of options available .we didn't have any problem with food . Only in one or two times we found some recycled item.

The wi-fi connectivity was slow and having no internet at room was bit disappointing for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.