We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay - let's revisit in 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Stanstead Abbotts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay - let's revisit in 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wonderful location with many sea front restaurants close by. Everything from small to larger restaurants with varying degree of sophistication. In other words, anyone can find a restaurant or bar they can enjoy.
On the plus side, the Oasis is reasonably well appointed. The staff are delightful. The restaurants’ food is pretty good. The Hotel is due to be refurbished in the Spring 2013 and we would be very interested to see how it turns out in 2014.
We were disappointed that the Krystal restaurant was only open 2 or 3 nights during our stay as we enjoyed the food there.
The pool was overcrowded and we eventually opted for the gardens where less conflict could occur with neighbouring sunbeds!
The refurbishment will hopefully address the room’s lack of power points. The bath was poorly lighted.
On the whole we had a pleasant stay and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea views are closer to the main reception but the vista is spoilt by one of the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    137
    51
    29
    21
See reviews for
93
191
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I managed one night out of our eleven at this establishment, before being transferred to another hotel. Food is awful, only made worse by the arrogant and rude waiting staff. This coupled with the plastic chairs on the miniscule balcony overlooking the tired and threadbare lawns and the shopping arcade with the loud music, Is not the beautiful picture of serenity described in the hotel documentation. The first thing you see when you enter your dull room is the dirty carpets, followed by the stained and soiled shower curtain. 0 stars rating is more appropriate than the 5 star rating it proclaims to be. The only positive about this hotel is the leaflet in the room explaing it is being demolished soon.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is going to have a refurbishment from spring 2013 ready to open again winter 2013. Booked up with Thomson Holidays. This is a very large hotel with rooms some of which are a long way from the main reception and restaurant areas. The room we had overlooked the car park but this was not a problem as the sun never shone on this side so sitting on the balcony was not going to happen. The room was a little tired. Poor TV selection for English channels. Room towels plus pool towels were in dire need of replacement. Cleaning lady was excellent. The hotel is predominantly occupied by German guests who are very noticeably the very top of the pecking order for the attention of the staff. We had no problems with any of the guests. They had a lot of class and were very well dressed. It was very refreshing not to have any pig ignorant or embarrassingly scruffy families that we encountered at another Riu hotel in Djerba Tunisia last year, however this hotel was half board, not all inclusive as in Tunisia. The dinner was a major disappointment. I found this strange that so many well heeled guests of whom I would have thought had tasted a much better selection of top quality food could not get enough! Do not judge a book by it's cover. Soon discovered that the rush for the hot main course at the start was to secure the best looking meats etc. Very poor choices of meats and vegetables. The dinner here does not match up to the very high standard of cuisine at the Riu Palace Olhos D'agua Portugal. The chefs cooking the food would wait until a dish was completely empty before begrudgingly putting more in unless they identified you as a guest for special attention. I saw a chef who was responsible for fresh fruit cut up new fruit for a French guest whilst leaving the bowls with some poor remains of the existing fruit. This happened a lot. The chef responsible for serving salmon would give the best portions to some and small end pieces to Irish, English guests. On the other hand the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Everything you could ask for. Fresh fruit smoothies of all kinds and all the breakfast choices imaginable. It was unusual to see some chicken breasts at breakfast whereas we didn't see any at dinner. The gym/fitness suite was a joke, very old and sparse equipment that I would not touch with a barge pole.
On arrival at Las Palmas airport we had a taxi transfer, however despite confirming that we were going to the Grand Palace to Thomson we were dropped off unknowingly at the Palace Hotel by the driver who confirmed it was the Grand! After being given a glass of Cava here we were told we had no reservation. I had to pay for a taxi to the Grand Hotel. Very poor Thomson! The flight home was very cramped in a tired airplane that had blocked toilets front and back. Not good. Overall the expensive looking facade of a 5* hotel was just a disguise for a 3*. Paid the bill on departure to a clerk who was decidedly uninterested about having a conversation, yet fell over himself to ingratiate himself to departing German or French guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen am Rhein, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great location, great food, great service! Spent a quite, relaxing week there in November 2012. It has everything I want in a 5 star hotel. Would like to return before it becomes just another flashy Maspalomas hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have spent twenty holidays (over thirty weeks) at this hotel during the past twenty years, so for sure I have mostly enjoyed my time there, otherwise I wouldn't have been back year after year. During the glorious past (over 10 years ago) it was 'The Hotel' of Gran Canaria but unfortunately it slowly turned into a (german) sanatorium.
The place should have closed it's doors already 5 years ago for redevelopment.
I recently paid my very last visit to the hotel, just to say goodbye. However now I wish
I didn't. My last visit was nothing but depressing.
I am so glad the doors of this place will be finally closed in a few months.
After three years - if I'm still alive - I hope to visit a place worth the words: Oasis,Palace and Grand. During the past years the place had nothing to do with Palace or Grand. Goodbye!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this hotel as a last minute deal. Never been to Gran Canaria before, so wasn't sure what to expect. Hotel is Spanish chain, and the guests were mostly Germans, with a few Dutch and Belgians. Service was superb and the food excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. However, there is a hierarchy, with the regular guests (we found out that some of the Germans went there up to four times a year, and had been doing so for twenty years!) getting preferential treatment at the sun loungers. This is only a minor gripe.

The hotel is being demolished next April and will re-open two and bit years later. It is a bit dated, but still a great place to go.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a garden view when booking, otherwise you will eb sitting on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arrived back after one week stay in the sun drenched Maspalomas Riu Grand Palace Hotel Wonderfully friendly helpfully staff. The food was excellent,with plenty of choice. The whole hotel was very clean and tidy. The location is right on the beach . I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view. Only problem there are a lot trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.