We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks aren't everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Looks aren't everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Don’t be fooled by the pictures of this hotel in the brochure on or online – this is not the “old prison” that it looks. Yes, it is old, with extensions to every area and nowhere from the outside does it look very nice, except the gardens I hasten to add, these are extensive, beautiful and impecably maintained. On arrival by taxi (if you don’t get it included as we did, it is a well worthwhile extra) we were met by a waiter with a glass of champagne each and a rose for me and everything was taken from us, even a carrier bag containing an empty water bottle and newspaper and taken through to reception for us. We just handed over our passports and were offered use of the facilities to “wash our hands” - wow, gold plating everywhere and spotless - then led by a waiter straight into the lovely restaurant. We were greeted by the Head Waiter and the Restaurant Manager and made to feel like Royalty even though we were drained and tired from travelling having started out at 5 am. The food was good, plenty of choice and plenty of it. The minute our plates were finished with, they were taken away and clean cutlery supplied.The waiting staff hovered like flies which some people may not like but they are only doing their job and as we go to know them we had little jokes if things weren’t quite right – like one night we didn’t have an ice bucket… for our water! This was quickly attended to with a smile and a bow. I would say that the English are certainly in the minority at this hotel and it did show in the food, however, there was a “roast” every night and a huge selection of salads which always included lobster, crayfish, smoked salmon. Cavier and prawns. There was a huge variety of fruit and puddings were good although much the same every night. Our room was okay, a very grand design but now very dated and the bathroom was fine. There was a small balcony (no lighting) which whilst had the tiniest section of sea view, it mainly overlooked a small garden area and then a road with shops and restaurants. The first day we selected our sunbeds and were given towels and a sunshade which was moved about for me as the sun moved. The “pool guy” said not to worry about putting towels out as he would reserve those for us from now on. However the second day on arriving at “our” beds we were surprised to find that they had been turned round and had books on them to reserve them. We were shifted along, being told that these had more space around them. About an hour later a couple appeared and took up residence on the previous two beds and within minutes waiters were coming up to them with drinks and extra towels. We subsequently found out that this couple (Dutch and not German as we originally thought) came to the hotel 3/4 times a year for 3 weeks at a time and were very big tippers! Still, we were happy to tip the guys to have beds reserved every day but not as much as the regular – and obviously wealthier – guests. All in all this was an enjoyable holiday, we met some very nice people and the entire staff couldn’t be more attentive, polite and very friendly – they are without doubt the 5* bit of this hotel.

Room Tip: No really good sea view rooms, mainly garden views but this may change when hotel is rebuilt next ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    122
    49
    23
    21
See reviews for
90
165
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

just returned after two blissful sun-drenched weeks at Rui Grand Oasis MasPalomas ... best hotel we have stayed at for years (including some on Barbados) .. sure, one or two aspects of the hotel building are now a little dated, but any slight deficiencies in that area MORE THAN compensated by food, staff and entertainment each of which was first rate.. nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we dealt with.. .. .. we weren't even tempted by the a la carte restaurant, main restaurant was so convivial.. ... entertainment varied and well up to the mark ... if this is a typical Riu (our first experience) we shall certainly look to go again .. hope they won't lose these qualities when they extend/rebuild/refurbish this hotel next year...

Room Tip: garden view rooms have a prettier outlook than those overlooking the car park, but we happily watche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

just arrivied back after a two week stay at this great hotel what makes this hotel so special is the wonderfull staff and the excellent food we were a couple made to feel so welcome from start to finish and hope that after the refurbishment it keeps it charm would come back to this hotel at any time an would rate it as the best i have stayed in in maspolomas which there have been many look forward to coming back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just got back from 4 days. Overall a good experience. Got a room for 70 euros a night with breakfast. Staff were really excellent. Room a little dated and could do with an upgrade. Bed hard as a rock and really uncomfortable. Location excellent with a view of the dunes from the balcony. Lots of places to eat very close to the hotel and supermarkets.Yes it's full of Germans mostly older like the reviews say and a lot of English.Would say it is a good option not all good but it is what it is. Hope this helps !

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Still here on day 13. Great food and great service. A little worried on arrival as exterior looks tired but soon dispelled by staff. Rushed to collect our bags, champagne while reception fill in our forms from our passports. Free upgrade on room. Allocated private table for dinner, free a la carte choice (declined) every day. Pool service good but tired pool. Gardens nice.

Never really sure where the cabaret was but it's not our scene really.

Location is fantastic for walks. This is the No 1 area on the Island and there was a tourist event on 27-30 including a music festival and swim in the sea.

Free wifi in the reception. None in the room though.

Clean and friendly. Lots of German customers as others have said. (their economy must be good!)

4star plus is the rating overall with touches of 5 star staff.

Can't wait for the upgrade but the price will surely be more that the £40 per night per person we paid for half board in sea view!

Great hols...

Room Tip: Markets are a bit samey, better to go bowling. The sellers are pro's and will get the better of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My first impression was of faded glory, the decor needs a refresh to bring it up to date although the bathroom in the room was fine. The staf were very attentive and efficient, we could not fault the service in the restaurant. The other guest were predominantly older German couples. How the sun beds took the weight of some of those blokes amazes me!

We upgraded to a room in one of the blocks in the garden and at £1 per night it was amazing value for money. We had a lovely veranda although the beds were bruisingly hard. The location of the hotel is perfect and we did some long walks along the beach, but beware, it is a nudist beach and the same demographics apply to the beach as they do to the poolside. We are not talking about people hiiden in the sand dunes here but walking along the shore line.There is a great bar/restaurant next door for lunch or a glass of wine. It has great views of the sunset which was always stunning.

The breakfast was fine with a good choice. Evening meal less impressve I'm afraid, we ate out twice despite paying for half board, just to have some nice Italian food, in Grand Italia. We enjoyed some of the evening entertainment especially the Beatles tribute band. We may go back if there was a special offer. Weather was amazing, 34 degrees every day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

From very good memory was telephoned and asked to upgrade from Riu Palace Playa del Inglwa to this one. A big mistake it was full of German gereatrics. Did have a great time riding a motorised chair up and down a corridor! Some very good pre dinner entertainment... a group of Chinese acrobats manage to remove some polystyrene tiles from the ceing of the bar!!! Great location.... nice rooms good toweling robes.. Half board evening meals were very average... Better to eat out.. Would recommend this hotel only if you push for a discount and that's possible.. don't pay full price.

Room Tip: Front overlooking Dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;