We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Lurgan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“5 star experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wife and myself spent one week here late july and tried this as our first "5 star" hotel experience, especially with the Riu group of hotels which we favour. I must admit that overall we have had better hotels/facilities in 3/4 star establishments. However this should not distract from our holiday. The Grand Palace while not the most attractive exterior enjoys a very privilidged position in this beautiful relaxing resort. Six steps from the back gated entrance is the beginning of 4 miles of wonderful beaches including the fabulous Maspolamas Dunes which one must walk to experience. Bring water with you!! The other way is a walkway past the Faro lighthouse and the promenade for great evening strolls and sunsets and the gateway to many shops/restaurants. When returning daily from the beach the garden jaccuzi was always very welcome. The hotel gardens either at the beach side or the pool side are very large and definetly live up to their name as being an Oasis as either walking or sitting in them is very relaxing. Many people spent the day in them relaxing or reading. The hotel is fairly dated both inside and out. The rooms were just o.k. nothing special with poor air-conditioning but a good ceiling fan. Food both for breakfast and dinner was exellent and the chocolate fountain was well used each night. We tried the speciality Krystal restaurant once, no extra charge, and found it well worth the visit. The evening entertainment held outdoors at the Garden Bar was not as good as expected with only a speciality act on a couple of nights with the resident band playing every night. Overall we had a very positive trip but maybe expected a bit more from 5 star. Would we return here? Probably yes.

Room Tip: no sensational views from any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    150
    56
    29
    20
See reviews for
101
212
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Location next to wonderful beach Dunas Oasis and bulvard El Faro from the other side, in palm oasis - is the best in Maspalomas. If you dont want too much sun, you can enjoy under palm in garden or next to swimmingpool. Not noisy, evenings animations are outside in garden. Enough sport activities, morning gym under blossom tree is nice. Good choice in restaurant, very friendly and profession personal. Service is absolutely perfect! Nice room with exit to garden - very comfortable.
What I did not like: Internet connection is only in lobby and "Its not fantastic" - words of receptionist. Really not good, 3 days didnt work, I had to pay for connection.
I was there 4 years ago - personal is mostly the same.
They say hotel will be closed for reconstruction after April 2013. Maybe it will be better? And more expensive?

Room Tip: Room with garden view is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

As with all Rui hotels we have experienced this has the same level of Service and attention from the pool attendants to the maid service.
Our only gripe on this was that whilst all the staff speak perfect german dutch and scandanavian languages their english is about as good as my Spanish is and we had some hilarious lost in translation moments with various concoctions of drinks that didn't quite match up to what we had asked for.
We were both upgraded on arrival from a garden room to a sea view and we booked direct whilst my parents booked with Thompsons so were very pleased with out 4th Floor rooms. They are dated but not threadbare by any means and we all slept well . Yes the hotel is dated compared to the giant Lopesan monstrosity that has been built next door but we don't like huge hotels in the sense of the amount of people but although this hotel has 65,000sqm of land it never feels overly busy.

The kids club more than lived up to our expectations and with both Kids and Adult Activities going on all day most days there was something to do for everyone. The facilities for sports are the best and most varied I've seen in a long time from the 24hr open air gym to the beach volleyball,tennis and putting greens and driving range nets.
The grounds are vast and many who wanted a quiet retreat could have sat all day and not seen a soul.

Krystal Restaurant was a welcome break from the buffet but but breakfast and dinner was varied to suit every one kids and adults alike and of a good quality.

We decided to eat out as got bored with the buffet and here is where the only gripe is.
Gran Canaria seems to now only cater for the northern Europeans to whom the Euro is a good deal and therefore every bar and restaurant have increased their prices to cream as much off them as possible.
In a country with such high Unemployment how any local could pay €4.5 for a pint or €8.5 for a short and mixer is beyond me and this is not even in the hotel - the Lopesan promenade of shops and restaurants were twice the price than in the UK - €25 for a rack of ribs €18 for 8 pieces of sushi.
The only exception to this was the 19th hole which was reasonable for food and has live singers on every night. They also advertise sports but its hit and miss wether or not they manage to have the right game on as the manager is the only person allowed to change the channels !

On to what used to be the livelier but somewhat grottier part which is Playa Des Ingles which has been decimated to a sort of ghost town. Most of the English and Irish Quarters which were buzzing with bars and restaurants 5 years ago when we were there were mostly deserted and shut up. Two english bars remain in Gran Chapparel and for a short & mixer a soft drink and a pint we were only charged €5 in total so thanks to Kim's Bar for a cheap night out and for Mackers round the corner who advertise pints for a euro and put the Chelsea game on for us even though there were only about 10 punters in the whole place .
They were very hospitable but wonder how long they can survive before they chuck it in and come home.
It seems to be happening all over europe that working class are heading to all inclusive hotels and not venturing out at all and the rich can stay in the new exclusive resorts and everything else is falling apart.
I hope that when Rui redevelop the hotel they don't destroy it and make it like the newer 5*'s as it has a certain elegance that the newer brasher hotels can never replicate. The poor staff don't even know if they will have a job left once they close in April so hope they redeploy them once it is renovated

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my first time at this hotel. Stayed last week and enjoyed most of the stay. I would go back but I found the male reception staff to be arrogant and rude....food was great, drinks were expensive, rooms were OK, rest of staff were wonderful, location was good...beside the beach and not too far from the airport. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just arrived back home after a week at this hotel - check in was seamless, reception staff however were somewhat cold, albeit efficiently was high from all the hotel staff. The location for this hotel is fantastic - right on the beach with showers and foot showers for when you come off the beach. Pool area was ok - nothing special, but never had a problem getting a sun bed or waiter service by the pool, the pool is just boring and needs a little heating. The evening entertainment was hit and miss - but I guess you can say that for all hotels in holiday resorts. The rooms were ok - a bit of the small size was the standard twin - which my boys had - we had booked a suite - which to be quite honest was a complete waste of money - the suite was large - but the TV's were 21 inch in both the bedroom and lounge - it did have a mini bar - but again it was hit and miss if it was restocked. The Bathrooms were poor - both myself and my boys never had a good shower - it kept going hot and cold - this is not 5 star service. The inhouse toiletries were of a good standard but the towels were old and needed replacing. Next the restaurants - we ate in the main restaurant for 5 nights at the 8:30 sitting - we had a good table and the food was in most instances good - not excellent or something to write home about but good - this restaurant had a menu on the table and we were offered both table or buffet service - we never got to try the table service as in what is really nothing but a large buffet area - it was impossible to try table service and even if we had wanted to the waiters English was non existence and he kept talking German to all of us - which was amusing, if not insulting. They have another restaurant but we never tried it as you need to provide 24 hours notice and the good nights its fully booked - this was not explained to us at check-in and only when we wanted to use it did we find this fact out. The restaurant was clean and tidy - busy - but that's to be expected at this time of year I suppose. Cost of drinks was high - E2.70 for a bottle of water is just silly but again you expect this on holiday. The hotel has wireless internet for free (shocked) - this was very reliable - nothing in the room at all though.
Overall - we had a nice holiday - I would stay again but after the rumoured refurb - which this hotel is in dire need of. The air con is rubbish, the building looks tired and dated and the rooms just need gutting - the staff are the asset as are the beautiful hotel gardens. One final thing - I arranged to extend the room as are flight was late - the reception denied I had done this - so last day left a bad taste - shame really.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money on a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have been here five times in as many years. The hotel has many loyal guests and we see the same faces year after year. There are plans to redevelop the hotel in 2013 but it would have been nice to have had some sort of display and timetable to convey to the guests. The staff seemed to be as much in the dark. The flight with Monarch was as poor as ever but at least at a decent time. Car transfer by Mercedes included with Sovereign was superb. Hotel, food and staff as good as ever but it needs updating. Moved rooms after a week to our original request.
Hotel crowded out with a lawyers conference on one night and cheap offers at weekends undoubtedly attracted some undesirables who didn't know how to behave in a five star hotel.
Ate in Krystal restaurant most nights and in buffet on four nights. Dress code in buffet not upheld on two nights, once for a well off Spanish guy in shorts and secondly for a German pumping iron type who thought that he would share his physique with us at dinner in a singlet.
This hotel set in it's huge grounds is unique and I hope that the redevelopment still preserves this uniqueness .
Marisa runs a tight ship herecand all of the staff are superb but again our good wishes go to Toni our room maid, Juan Rivero, Julio and Fransisco in Krystal. At breakfast Pablo and at the pool bar and the garden bar Paco. We hope to see you all again, maybe in 2014.

Room Tip: Pay for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Excellent taxi transfers to and from hotel. Arrived late evening and was greeted with smiles and a red rose which was a nice touch. We were shown to our rooms and received a large tray of meats cheeses, salad and desserts as we were too late for the evening meal.

The room was spacious comfortable and clean with a very nice large balcony. The maid who cleaned the room was friendly and efficient. The reception staff were all efficient and friendly. The waiters at the evening meal were particulary attentive even making sure your glass was replenished at the dining table,all the Riu staff were trained to an above average standard. Breakfast had a large and varied selection with fresh smoothies and freshly cooked pancakes. The eveing meal had a large selection of salads and freshly cooked fish and meat dishes with a good choice of desserts.

The pool area was kept clean,pool towels were available daily and the attendant even carried the padded cushions to your sun chair if required. Inevitable some guests left towels on the sunbeds but there was never a problem obtaining a sunbed. One of the nicest aspects for myself was the beautiful garden areas, it was beautifully maintained and set out. You could walk through the grounds or have a sunbed away from everyone else if you wanted in fact it was almost like having your own private small park attached to the hotel. It was very relaxing and tranquil.

Go through the garden gate and you are directly at Maspolomas beach, you can walk along the sands for miles. A short distance away is a saltwater lake, with spoonbills egrets, coots and moorhens to name a few. Overall a relaxing break in a quality hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.