We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a bargin price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Brit in Copenhagen
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Luxury at a bargin price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

For some reason, the summer months on the Canary Islands, when the weather is at it's best, are
the low season, so you can get some real accomodation bargins. However, stick to the main resort areas because some restaurants and attractions in the less popular areas are closed during this time.

My family of four (teenage kids) fell in love with Maspalomas when we were touring around the island so we decided to stay for a few days. An hour on the internet ended with us booking two rooms with half board at the five star Maspalomas Oasis on their website at the last minute bargin price of around €100 per room.

The charming German front office receptionist upgraded us to partial sea view rooms, which were clean and comfortable and equipped with satellite TV a small raised sitting area and an excellent bathroom. One small complaint was the slightly limited cupboard space, otherwise, very good, especially at that price.

There is a large pool area with plenty of space which never got really crowded. If it ever does, then the huge garden area with palm trees, loungers and activity areas for adults and children would be a perfect alternative. There is a pool bar (great mojitos) and a snack bar as well.

The only thing which let's the place down a little is the food. Both breakfast and the evening meal provide plentiful and varied food, the problem is that it's not particularly nice, especially after a couple of days eating the same type of food. This is not unusual of course, for hotels providing a buffet style of service to a large number of guests, but don't expect a Michelin type experience. Also, remember that you probably paid very little extra for the meals, so you don't have to feel to bad about skipping a meal or two and eating out. There are several resturants within easy walking distance. Go inland if you want reasonable prices, walk along the promenade to the right of the hotel if you want to people watch or entertainment.

The hotel is very close to the beach, and the four kilometer walk along the shore with the mini desert behind you should not be missed, if you are feeling slightly energetic. Maspalomas itself is a very pleasant, slightly up market resort. We would recommend both the resort and the Riu Palace Maspalomas Oasis - but be aware that there is plenty of hotel competition nearby, so you should be able to get a good deal if you are prepared to negotiate a little.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    150
    55
    29
    20
See reviews for
100
212
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The hotel on arrival looks like at 1970 car park however don't let this put off, the room is also dated but is so clean and adequate that it didn't really didnt bother us.
Having stayed in many rius it's staff and quality lived up to expectations. The hotel is in a good area for shopping and some nice restaurants on the sea front.
If you hire a car be aware there is limited parking and there is the usual towel episode with people getting up at 6am to reserve beds and not actually sitting on them till 1 pm but never the less it's a good base in an exceptionally clean and hospitable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Whenever possible we book a Riu Palace hotel when on holiday as their service is always second to non. This Grand palace did not disappoint either. From the outside this hotel looks a bit old and 'tired' but once you walk into the reception area you know you are going to have a lovely holiday. After a welcome glass of champagne we checked in and were swiftly take to our garden room. This was more than adequate and we had a peaceful view of the gardens from our balcony.
We could not fault the service in any way. Food was well cooked and plentiful. There were ample sunbeds both around the pool and garden areas but despite notices not to reserve beds guests (who obviously could not read) still reserved them even at 8am. We regularly stayed around the pool for most of the day and some guests who did reserve their beds never appeared!
All in all it was a lovely week and we would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks break and had a fantastic time.

The hotel was excellent, the location is brilliant with access to the beach through the gardens. We don't usually have evening meals in hotels as we like to eat out, but must say that the food was very good. We ate twice in Krystal and found it to be really good, to be honest, as good as eating in restaurants that we have paid over £100 for, so it really was good value.

After evening meal we then left the hotel and spent our evenings in Meloneras usually ending up sitting outside at the 19th hole as they have a live musician on until about 12.30, other than that it was pretty quiet in the evening. Went to the casino a couple of times which made it more of an evening.

As other reviewers have mentioned the guests are more mature, we are in our early 40's and felt young, but we didn't mind that, everyone was very friendly and we don't stay for hotel entertainment anyway.

The only slightly negative I would say is that the hotel room was on the cold side, we had only booked a standard room as it was a last minute decision to have a break, this was at the front of the hotel, said mountain view but could really only see the car park and it didn't get any sun, hence never really warmed up. Must say though that the room was really nice with a nice big bathroom, really nicely decorated.

You can also get the use of a room after checking out if you're there for the day, this was really needed as we stayed by the pool on the last day and it was hot. The room was just like checking into a new room, newly made up with clearn towels and a full choice of toiletries.

I have saved the best until last which is definitely the staff, everyone we came into contact with was so helpful and friendly this really made the holiday. We have decided we would book this hotel again for a winter week of sun and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Friendly efficient staff make this hotel a pleasure to stay in. Excellent position for both beach promenade and shopping/night-life. Food choices and quality are both good and the service in the restaurants is second to none. Rooms are comfortable and clean but there are some minor cosmetics needed. The public areas are spacious, comfortable and well maintained.

Room Tip: cool at nights in February so a south facing room (beach view) will get the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel in an excellent location. The public areas are high quality and the service is good. The hotel is however very large and the buffet breakfast area is huge and frantic. This aspect seriously undermines other claims to 5 star quality. The gardens are very extensive and allow solitude away from the busy pool area. The weather seems to be reliable in winter.

The basic level room was very satisfactory. Other comments about outdated facilities did not apply to us.

Really excellent wifi in the lobby. English tv disappointingly limited.

We plan to return next year and note the hotel website prices undercut the agents.

Room Tip: All seem acceptable with price determining facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,england
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip in December. It's in a good location right next to the beach however it is dated looking and needs some money spending on it.
I ate dinner in the restaurant which was buffet style. There was plenty of choice but what I ate was overcooked and average.
Breakfast was similar. There was a lot of choice but much of the hot food was either luke warm or cold. Not the most appetising.
The bedroom was a good size but was at the back of the hotel, I had a view out on to a man below sunbathing in his wifes bikini!
Having said that, the hotel was packed, mainly with elderly people, so it must have been some peoples cup of tea!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.