We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent all inclusive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
west sussex England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A decent all inclusive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in June.
Check in was very strange, they gave my wife & I a bottle of water each & two towels. the last thing we needed was something extra to carry, there was no porter available.
The room was ok & very clean with plenty of wardrobe space.
The food at this hotel was excellent, we've stayed at 19 Riu hotels & the food was almost as good as the Riu Palace hotels in the Caribbean.
Of course the service & cleanliness was what you expect at a Riu, excellent.
The wine leaves a lot to be desired though, Im no expert but the Rose & white wines were warm not chilled, & the sparkling wine called Dubois was awful, it was the cheapest sparkling wine at the local supermarket at just over 2 euros a bottle.

This is a very noisy hotel at night as some posters have mentioned, we had lots of people shouting and screaming in the corriders in the early hours of the morning.
This is a decent family hotel but it's hardly a 4 + and Riu should, just for once enforce it's own rules on reserving loungers as other posters have said.
I've stayed a the clubhotel Riu Vistamar in Porto Rico & I think it's a little bit better than this hotel. It's definately quieter at night!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    525
    145
    47
    18
See reviews for
429
685
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Stayed in other 4 star Thomson hotels yet this was supposed to be 4 star plus. I am afraid not so. The other reviewer correct - 90% Germans (not a prob) but the usual towels at 4am job and the sunbeds 2 centimetres away from each other. Nothing to do in "resort" if you can call it that and the beaches were "washed away in February" said the rep. Thanks for letting us know Thomsons! Some folks have stayed there 4-8 times but I think they just lie in the sun all day (not near the pool - you can't get there unless you are a 4am riser! What a shame as the place is ok if judged 3 star - not worth the dosh I would say

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Am writing this review as have just read an extremely negative review. We visited with friends in May, Everything about hotel was perfect, rooms lovely, spotlessly clean as was rest of hotel and gardens. Plenty of sunbeds and area around them and the pools all immaculate, Staff very friendly and helpful, always busy cleaning and tidying.
Restaurant excellent, so much choice of food, all good quality and well cooked. We tended to eat lunch at the pool, apart from the usual toasted sandwiches, burgers, hotdogs, chips etc there was also pasta, pizza, different casseroles or steaks, also soup, salad and fruit. Best selection I have ever seen for lunch at a poolside. We loved this hotel and it was definately up to the usual Riu standards.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Just returned from a week at the Riu Gran Canaria.

The good points:-

• Spotlessly clean as usual for a Riu
• Food excellent – plenty of variety & choice of restaurants
• Book a garden view room to get an excellent view
• An upmarket very clean resort with a lovely promenade all along the coast (out of the hotel’s back door – be warned it shuts at 10pm)
• Very friendly staff with minimal queuing at the bars/restaurants

The bad points:-

• The English are very much in the minority – maybe 10%
• The pool area has so many sun beds it is very claustrophobic so we avoided it & went to the beach everyday
• The main bar is outside the main reception area but has only plastic furniture so looks cheap & not appealing for drinks in the evening
• Dress code seems non existent with guests wearing all sorts for dinner
• The hotel does not do late check out rooms so if you are on a late flight you will need to be out of your room by 11am & use the courtesy changing rooms which while well stocked with towels etc & clean is extremely hot

Some tips:-

• Right out of the back gate (10 minutes walk) takes you to Melonaras beach – clean though a bit rocky but with some nice restaurants/bars
• Left takes you eventually (15 minutes) to the Maspolomas dunes & beach. Keep walking past the first 100 yards of beach with is packed Brighton bank-holiday style to find some space with beach bars for beer/wine/snacks at sensible prices (6 Euros for 2 large beers)
• Also left takes you past numerous shops & bars but the drinks can be expensive
• If you want to take a taxi there are usually some waiting outside the hotel & they are all metered so no rip-offs

Would we go back? To the resort – yes but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

after a 20 hour delay at gatwick we arived at the club riu with high hopes we had read all reviews unlucky for us we walked straight into the engand v germany game of the worldcup game where we were out numbered 50 2 1 the hotel was nice clean and the staff you could not fault they are fantastic the hotel is remote a good walk to anywhere not that much around would recomend the k1 cafe to watch the sun go down its amasing altho thomson say this is 24 hour all inclusive this is not the case all bars are shut by 1230 exept a disco in a garden shed that shuts at 0130 food is good but would not give it the the rate thomson have good for sun bathing but no night life

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel has gone downhill since March,It certainly does not warrant 4 Star.There was noise and singing by the Polish youths who were going to and leaving the night club on site.The noise was horrific until 4-0 am.There were hundreds of complaints to reception , to the Thomson Rep and Hotel Manager.What happened absolutely nothing ,even though the Manager promised to put them off site.The pool area and sunbeds were filthy.There was no dress code in the restaurant for evening meal guests were turning up in shorts,tea shirts and trainers. The enter tainment was rubbish in fact the worst I have seen abroad.Now the good points,bar service and room service was excellent with no queueing at all.Will I return no not a chance.I would reccomend the Lopespan Villa Del Conde across the road.To all are readers you book this hotel at your peril.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is a superb hotel and we will be booking the next visit within the next 2 weeks. The only fault is the Germans, the hotel does tend to focus on the german customers including the food and the music of an evening. However.. hot tips .. we paid extra for a pool view room, I recommend you do this. We stayed in room 2088 and the view was stunning, gardens, pool and the sea. The hotel exceeded all our expectations, I have travelled the world and stayed at the Dorchester, The Mandarin Oriental in Singapore and I would rate this hotel among the best.

I cannnot understand the previous persons comments re the entertainement, the animation team are not professionals, but they do tell you this. We had a lot of laughs and fun, they managed to get the dancefloor filled, they also put on a "Grease" musical which was pure entertainement. The team work endlessly to ensure you have a great holiday. The salon is wonderful, huge dancefloor, fab black marble bar and we were lucky enough to watch the England game with plush chairs and a huge screen and of course the drinks flowed.

We booked the Asian and Mexican meals, the Asian is a chinese buffet style and was excellent, however the Mexican fell short. Cold taco's and the ribs were not cooked, I would not recommend this evening.

The taxi's are competitively priced for local visits but do not venture further afield in one, 60 euros to Las Palmas!!!!!!!

Check the excursions too, Thompson charge 22 euros each for a trip to Las Palmas, the bus is 11 euros each and only takes an hour. The Bus station is situated near the first roundabout. Take a right outside the hotel, and walk round, it has shelters over, less than 5 min from the hotel.

We took an excursion to Puerto morgan, depending what you like but we didnt think it justifed the 25 euro each. The boat ride there was really boring, there is nothing to see on the coast but rocks and more rocks. The town itself is ok, but nothing special, there is a large market here, personally if you have visited one market in Spain you have seen them all. It sold the usual bracelets, bags etc the 3 hr excursion was too long. You travel back by coach and i must admit the guide was really interesting.

If you walk to the rear of the hotel, past the pools and take a left it is a wonderful promenade, full of designer shops and boutiques, check out the irish coffees in Cafe Du Paris. Past the lighthouse are the sand dunes, I would not do this walk again!!!!! they are HUGE dunes, and it is an ardous walk. Plus we had the added naked men popping up out of bushes (they walk across here stark naked) , not a good place if you have children.

The staff at the Hotel can not do enough for you, they are wonderful, from the head waiter to the cleaners. Plates are cleared quickly when eating, and there are absolutely NO queues.

The sunbeds, what fun, the germans rise at an unearthly hour to secure theirs , although we were advised the hotel do not allow reservation of sunbeds we saw no evidence they did anything at all. On one occasion 10 sunbeds remained all day with towels on and no people!!!! They had reserved them and wandered off!!!!! We did mention this and disappointingly nothing was done.

The food is high quality, and you can always find something, check out the afternoon cakes in La Brasca around 3-5, lovely! We found lunch here wonderful, you can sit under the terrace and watch the pool and sea... heaven. The hotel is spotless, we never saw litter anywhere at all.

All in all, a superb hotel, fantastic holiday and we will be booking again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 3 And 6-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.