We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
sutton surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very good hotel like all Riu hotels, excellent service, good food, great choice, lovely position high up with brilliant views, beach below is superb. Can't say anymore well worth a try out of school holidays to reduce the children syndrome ! Good prices online as well

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    525
    146
    47
    18
See reviews for
429
685
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Still here enjoying this wonderful hotel. Love the modern refurbishment. Feels very Caribbean like. Staff as always are great .. nothing too much trouble.

Food fantastic and plenty of choice. Rooms are beautiful and we were lucky to get a free sea view. Drinks of a great standard and plenty of choice of bars to use.

Loved loved loved the infinity pool which was heated and stunning views .

This is the second "new" RIU we've visited and have to say we love the new modern concept. It's just to our taste. Clean lines mixed with a splash of colour. But for regulars you still get the same friendly staff.

One example of the amazing service is I went to buy a ticket for the internet and the machine swallowed my 20 euro. Spoke with reception and instantly I was refunded no questions asked.

Also staff instantly remember your drinks orders.

We've visited gran Canaria many times and this by far is the best hotel we've stayed in . Can't wait to come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Perfect stay after the winter UK rain. Stayed all inc. from 27th feb to 10th march. Couldn't fault it. Everyone of the Staff fell over themselves to be helpul, my favourite was "Aranche". food excellent, drinks excellent. favourite watering hole was the Purple bar adjacent to the Infinity pool. All the restauraunts were excellent.
Stayed in room 3151 out of the way but quiet at night. Room spacious and very clean. Overall, a very clean hotel, eager to please guests. Anybody giving this place a negative review must be nuts.

Room Tip: If you want quiet , ask for the front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Olllla....Boiling hot amazing hotel clean and friendly staff....night entertainment was dreadful food was perfect...no room service :(....kids pool is like ice cubes even in 24 degree heat my son didn't want to go in there blue lips moved to adult pool and thousand times better shame really seems a waste for such a fun pool and kids area is too open and overlooked by passers etc... But everything else was Amazing had a lovely time would definately go back

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was a perfect hotel for a relaxing week.

The hotel itself was immaculate and the staff were all very friendly and hardworking to make sure everyone's stay was perfect.

We stayed in a garden room which was lovely as if you wanted a break from the mid day sun it was nice just to relax on the balcony and read a book.

The location itself was perfect as you could walk along the sea front, which took you to the resort centre which had an array of restaurants and shops.

Although we stayed at the hotel in the quieter season, I can imagine that it would be very busy during the height of the season, however one thing you can be sure of is that the level of service will always be first class.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a week with friends at this Riu hotel and a good time was had by all. Firstly the resort itself is very nice and a little more upmarket than it's neighbour playa del ingles being that it is very clean everywhere and not lined with souvenir shops. There is a promenade which runs along the sea front at the back of hotel which will take you to a few bars , shops and the lighthouse. You can even walk to the sand dunes and on to maspalomas if you want.
Now the hotel, if you want old, cosy comforts then it's not for you but if want clean open spaces and very good food and drink with excellent staff then it is.
The hotel has had a multi million euro make over and as such is very clean, open and pristine. There is no cosy inside lounge but there is more modern seating in the reception area and plenty of tables outside on a veranda where every evening a duo play and sing popular songs to keep you entertained. The only negative is that it can be a bit chilly in the evenings early in the season. The bar staff are great and drinks plentiful but don't expect waiter service but you get quick friendly service at the bar.
Now the rooms. We had a room on the ground floor and it was excellent, very clean and comfortable with a king sized bed which did not have the usual hard mattresses that we have encountered at other Rius . There is plenty of wardrobe space and ample drawers and a small fridge stocked with water for your use. More water is available from reception. There was a safe in the room which we were surprised that this was also complimentary.
The bathroom is spotless with a large walk-in shower and stocked with towels and some toiletries.
The outside area is huge with well kept gardens and a large pool area, some are heated. There are plenty of sunbeds , in or out of the sun but even so you still get the early morning towel brigade to reserve spots, particularly around the infinity pool which is adults only. There is a great pool area for children so I would think it would be good for families. We are an older couple now who like to be a little quieter when sunbathing and I can say we were never bothered by other peoples children. There is a good animation team which kept them occupied.
All in all, a very good hotel and it still maintains the Riu standards which we like even if it is a little modern.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just spent a very sunny week at the Club Riu. All refurbished and very smart too. From the initial entrance to all public areas and bedrooms its all very smart and cleanliness is second to none. All inclusive so you can eat to your hearts content... It even has an after hours food room (which we used at 5 am after a late night out!) Pool areas and gardens are very relaxing with plenty of sun beds and parasols. Very cosmopolitan atmosphere.
Weather was amazing hot and sunny every day..... hard to beat.
The food quality and amount of food available was top class. All the hotel staff (all departments) were just brilliant with their customer service and attitude to us the paying guests.
It surely is a model for other hotels to follow. I notice the hotel is already very busily booked for 2015 (and that doesn't surprise me one bit). I loved the "Purple Bar" for its chilled out attitude looking out to sea and drinking a cocktail (or three!)....
Only two points I believe the hotel could and should improve on:-
1. Please Improve the English radio / tv channels in the bedroom (I can only take so much of Sky-news & BBC World news!) There are plenty of German / French / Dutch / Spanish channels.
2. Evening entertainment whilst plentiful (Outdoor live music on the terrace / Club Bubbles - which was always empty / Main entertainment room - Songs from the shows type entertainment, was at best a little amateurish, however proved popular with most of the more mature guests staying!
Would I come back? - Most definitely, this hotel is very very good. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher floor room to enjoy the views. Purple Bar is very chilled with its jazz music and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 3 And 6-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.