We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday present” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #9 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
vonnie0101
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“50th birthday present”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having read some of the previous reviews we were a bit dubious, however the food was very good and plenty of it.
The rooms spotlessly clean although dated. Hotel is closed in 3 weeks for a 4 month renovation.
Plenty of sun beds even though the germans reserve them at 0730 and don't actually lay on them until 1430!!!
Entertainment was shocking, worst I've ever seen
Staff all very friendly and you never go without food or drink

Room Tip: We had room 3131 which was away from the lift and away from the bar area of hotel, good room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    396
    112
    34
    15
See reviews for
330
491
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Arrived new years eve. Check in was quick and efficient very pleasent staff and gave good information regarding the hotel facilities.
New years eve gala dinner was great and the fire works were out of this world, as soon as one hotels finished another hotel started theirs this resulted in approx 30 mins show.
The Weather was lovely,some days reaching the higher 20's in the sun.The pool area was clean and spacious, pleny sunbeds for the hotels capacity.Pool snack bar had varied lunch selection, something for everyone and was cooked well.Pool towels where free and could be changed every day.
All Bars had really polite staff with really quick service you never had to queue or wait to be served.There was a wide range of drinks and cocktails to choose from including some international brands.
Breakfast and evening dinner were good again plenty choice. 2 buffet restaurants and an a la carte to choose from.
The room was everything that i asked for including a beautiful sea view although the rooms are very dated and are in complete neeed of refurbisment, which is planned for april,they are very clean with plenty storage space and adequate facilities.
The entertainment was not the best i have seen however not something i would go out of my way to watch in any hotel,the animation team did ok but it lacked some outside proffesional acts, there was one over the 7 nights. Before and after the show time there were duet singers and musicians on again not for me but some people seemed to enjoy it. One night one duet couple had a tiff on stage which resulted in a heated scrap between theirselves, how unproffesional is that but it was more entertaining than their singing, ha ha.
The outside terrace bar was a great place to chill out with a drink late afternon or in the evenings, there was also a nightclub for those who wished.
All public areas are exceptionaly clean. The hotel is in a fantastic location in a stunning resort plenty shops bars restaurants near by and great beaches
Had brilliant value for money and would go back there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

4 adults over new year, service for food and drink is first class, rooms allocated were poor and found a cockroach in one of them. entertainment ok.
our rooms were located next to the car park,despite requesting a change this was not forthcoming so bit disappointed at that. but great weather although heated pools were fairly cold witnessed by very few people in them.nice location would maybe go back again. animation team believe they are wacky (or in Dutch kraazy) but believe me they can be a pain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

6 adults, three children under 8, and two babies. Weather 22/28 C, perfect. Stayed in many riu's and this had best food by far and lots of choice. Mexican and eastern restaurant great favourites but you have to book for these, but no probs booking. Good location on upmarket side with easy promenade walk to classy shops. Reception staff in riu's are normally focussed on German travellers and i can find them an bit brusque but here reception desk always fully manned and a great help.
Downsides? A few. Our ground floor rooms were well located, but no interconnecting garden rooms available, and you could only have a cot OR a single bed which meant in a 4 person family adult couples had to split up over two rooms. The hotel, pre Christmas was very busy with sunbeds packed everywhere. Mainly couples so we had the pool to ourselves most of the time, great. However the "three pools" was actually one split into three and not that large so could be a prob in school hols.
The hotel rooms were very clean but very basic and dated. The hotel is undergoing refurb which is badly needed.
However the ambience, food and drink would make this a hotel i would recommend to anyone in the "all inclusive" market.

Room Tip: Ask for a re furbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel made our Christmas holiday even more special. The location is fantastic with fabulous walks along the shoreline just outside the hotel gardens. My room on the 3rd floor was bright and immaculately clean with an amazing view of the sea and gardens from its private balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food plentiful to say the least. The buffet style meals offer an incredible choice of fresh, healthy (and not so healthy) options - simply could not fault the choice or quality of everything on offer at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The patio area offers plenty of sunny and shaded space to sit, relax and enjoy 'people watching'. The only negative comment I have to make about this hotel is with the in-room air conditioning - which simply wasn't efficient enough to keep the room cool. Hopefully this issue will be addressed as part of the hotel's imminent refurbushment in 2013, which would then make this hotel absolutely perfect in my opinion. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Third floor upwards, with sea and/or garden views are definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here over Xmas and really enjoyed every aspect of this lovely hotel. The location is superb, as a short stroll though the gardens brought us out to a lovely promenade beside the sea shore. Perfect for an after dinner walk. Our rooms on the 3rd floor were immaculately clean and had lovely views over the garden and the sea beyond. The food was of high quality with a wide ranging choice. Something for everyone. Staff were helpful and friendly especially the reception staff who arranged for a meal for us even though we were late arriving and the restaurant was closed. Sun terrace was a lovely place to begin and end the day with a great atmosphere. Despite the fact the hotel was apparently full there was room for everyone.
Wonderful holiday we would recommend this hotel and plan to return.

Room Tip: Garden view up grade is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very good hotel, clean, helpful stuff, good food, nice poolarea and nice shops near the hotel. Easy to go to play golf.We travelled with our teenagers and thet liked the hotel very much too :) We could visit this hotel at next holiday too.

Room Tip: Our room was near the stairs and it was a little bit noisy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 3 and 6-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 m2 garden. 900 m from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 m from various shops. 37 km from the airport. 100 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo and Otel so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.