We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #11 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

4 adults over new year, service for food and drink is first class, rooms allocated were poor and found a cockroach in one of them. entertainment ok.
our rooms were located next to the car park,despite requesting a change this was not forthcoming so bit disappointed at that. but great weather although heated pools were fairly cold witnessed by very few people in them.nice location would maybe go back again. animation team believe they are wacky (or in Dutch kraazy) but believe me they can be a pain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    438
    121
    37
    15
See reviews for
379
527
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

6 adults, three children under 8, and two babies. Weather 22/28 C, perfect. Stayed in many riu's and this had best food by far and lots of choice. Mexican and eastern restaurant great favourites but you have to book for these, but no probs booking. Good location on upmarket side with easy promenade walk to classy shops. Reception staff in riu's are normally focussed on German travellers and i can find them an bit brusque but here reception desk always fully manned and a great help.
Downsides? A few. Our ground floor rooms were well located, but no interconnecting garden rooms available, and you could only have a cot OR a single bed which meant in a 4 person family adult couples had to split up over two rooms. The hotel, pre Christmas was very busy with sunbeds packed everywhere. Mainly couples so we had the pool to ourselves most of the time, great. However the "three pools" was actually one split into three and not that large so could be a prob in school hols.
The hotel rooms were very clean but very basic and dated. The hotel is undergoing refurb which is badly needed.
However the ambience, food and drink would make this a hotel i would recommend to anyone in the "all inclusive" market.

Room Tip: Ask for a re furbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel made our Christmas holiday even more special. The location is fantastic with fabulous walks along the shoreline just outside the hotel gardens. My room on the 3rd floor was bright and immaculately clean with an amazing view of the sea and gardens from its private balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food plentiful to say the least. The buffet style meals offer an incredible choice of fresh, healthy (and not so healthy) options - simply could not fault the choice or quality of everything on offer at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The patio area offers plenty of sunny and shaded space to sit, relax and enjoy 'people watching'. The only negative comment I have to make about this hotel is with the in-room air conditioning - which simply wasn't efficient enough to keep the room cool. Hopefully this issue will be addressed as part of the hotel's imminent refurbushment in 2013, which would then make this hotel absolutely perfect in my opinion. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Third floor upwards, with sea and/or garden views are definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here over Xmas and really enjoyed every aspect of this lovely hotel. The location is superb, as a short stroll though the gardens brought us out to a lovely promenade beside the sea shore. Perfect for an after dinner walk. Our rooms on the 3rd floor were immaculately clean and had lovely views over the garden and the sea beyond. The food was of high quality with a wide ranging choice. Something for everyone. Staff were helpful and friendly especially the reception staff who arranged for a meal for us even though we were late arriving and the restaurant was closed. Sun terrace was a lovely place to begin and end the day with a great atmosphere. Despite the fact the hotel was apparently full there was room for everyone.
Wonderful holiday we would recommend this hotel and plan to return.

Room Tip: Garden view up grade is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very good hotel, clean, helpful stuff, good food, nice poolarea and nice shops near the hotel. Easy to go to play golf.We travelled with our teenagers and thet liked the hotel very much too :) We could visit this hotel at next holiday too.

Room Tip: Our room was near the stairs and it was a little bit noisy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our first Christmas abroad as a family, we arrived on Dec 17th for a 10 days Holiday and it certainly didn’t disappoint. As has already been written the staff and service is very good, always smiling and welcoming, the added bonus is I’ve learnt to say Hello/Good Moring/Good Afternoon in about 5 different languages just listening to them.
The Hotel is all inclusive which is good if you have kids as they can help themselves too soft drinks at will and food as when required. Personally I’m not much of a drinker but plenty of choice, you can help yourself to wine and beer on tap, cocktails/spirits etc just get from the bars.
The animation team should be highly commended for their efforts. They are a team of about 10 young people who during the day organise the activities i.e. sports/art/fitness etc and in the evening are usually the key entertainment. However don’t expect the West End the entertainment if very cheesy for UK tastes and we only popped in a few times but they do try very hard. We have two young teenage boys who we thought may be a tad bored as this is not a Hotel aimed for that age group however they had a great time with all the day activities, big mention for Ruben one of the animation team who was top class.
The food was of very good quality, three restaurants, one you have to book as has speciality’s , the other two mirror images of each other. Every think you want , not sure on the person who said lack of variety as there was so much to chose from I thought it was very good. The Christmas Gala meal was also good, though a few little quibbles when you are use to a good old British Christmas Dinner.
The mix of nationalities about 80% German, 10% Scandinavian, the rest UK and Dutch, oh and someone from Luxemburg . I found this fine though I know some folk who live in a bubble may find this a little difficult, the boys mixed well and made for some interesting football matches.
A few negatives so to balance out my review.
The Hotel is showing some wear and tear, the rooms are very tired, old fashioned pine finishing, dodgy curtains, a CRT TV when was the last time you saw one of those. The pools again need some work they’re not as nice as in the catalogues, the floors have been patched up with some boarding which is not nice on the feet and the area is a little drab and dated.
The main outdoor bar area is also very dated and lacks comfort, not so keen on sitting on cheap plastic chairs at my age.
The rest of the Hotel is a little similar, lacks refinement and looks dated however so we have heard it is due for some refurbishment hopefully to the standard of the Riu Palace next door, just pop over and take a look.
The entertainment is poor, certainly before 9.00, but I don’t think this is any different to most of the Hotels , but the Animation team do make a good effort on some of their shows so don’t be to harsh.
Local amenities are about 5-10 minute walk, some nice restaurants and shopping centre along the promenade; though be prepared to be hounded by ticket touts etc for day trips. The beach is another 5 -10 minutes walk though we didn’t make use of it so can’t comment.

All in all a good Holiday, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend the Hotel however maybe wait until they have carried out the refurbishements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

All staff are fantastic. Really good pools, relaxing environment. Good choice and availability of all inclusive food,quality great. Evening entertainment by inhouse team not great although they deliver mimed shows with lots of enthusiasm. Lots of places available in hotel to eat and drink. Fabulous location directly on promenade although a bit of a walk to nearest beach. Local shops top end and designer names. Needs its imminent refurb but would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 3 and 6-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 m2 garden. 900 m from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 m from various shops. 37 km from the airport. 100 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;