We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, a great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #10 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
bute
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Once again, a great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for a week 1 - 8th December and had a lovely time. Or second stay here. As said before the food is fabulous and great choices. I am a fussy eater but managed to always find something to eat. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always eager to talk. Practicing my spanish was encouraged and the staff helped when I said something wrong. Drinks a plenty, cocktails very refreshing and wine and beer on tap.
We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor. Huge with a seperate sitting room area which was nice.
The cleaner got carried away and we had swan shaped towels, bed covers shaped into flowers etc. it was interesting to come back to the room and see what she had done next. Room was spotless and well stocked. Hairdryer was a bit useless so next time I will take my own.
The animation team were just full of enthusiasm. They worked tirelessly and remembered your name. Particular mention to Laura who gave the spanish lessons and Reuban taught me to use the air rifle. The entertainment was great although the resident band was in my opinion rubbish,
We had a great stay and will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    419
    118
    36
    15
See reviews for
359
512
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Pleased with hotel, staff very very good. Drinks on all inclusive basis and no waiting to be served. You can even pour your own beer ,coffee & soft drinks. Food very good and plenty of choice. Pool water very cold, the sea was warmer. Entertainment was very good after 9.00pm, however the resident singer was poor. Good atmosphere in hotel. Reception staff organised bycicle hire and were always on hand to help out.Fresh bottles of water in room daily. Age group around late fifties on average and 95% german.Short stroll to lighthouse and classy restaurants.

Room Tip: Definately garden or preferably sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've never stayed out Maspalomas way before but I will in the future. The hotel is a big complex with beautiful gardens and 3 pools. The staff were always in hand, laughing and joking. The food was always hot, lots of choice and plentiful even just as the restaurant would close. You can help yourself to soft drinks along with tea and coffee and so many different drinks on the all inclusive list from the bar.
The rooms are the only part of the hotel that I would say let it down, they are starting to become tired, but I've been told this is to be rectified when the hotel has a refurb next year.
Outside the hotel leads directly onto the prom which is about 5-10 minutes down to shops bars and restaurants and a further 10 minutes to the lighthouse beach and dunes.
Definitely return I loved every minute.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Riu Club Hotel from 12th to 26th November. We were a bit put off by reviews saying that the hotel was getting tired and needed refurbishing , but we found it perfectly ok. We'd taken note of other reviews and upgraded to a garden room and also took notice of comments saying that the upper rooms were the best. We e-mailed the hotel ( clubhotel.grancanaria@riu.com ) and requested a high room and received a prompt reply saying that they would do all they could to accommodate us. When we arrived we were allocated a room on the 6th floor, so they had indeed granted our request. The check in was very swift and efficient; the reception staff very polite. We were pleased to see that the room safes were free and not charged for at a daily rate as happens in most hotels we have stayed in. We found the food very good, although the two main restaurants would advertise that they had International food in one and Canarian food in the other, but we found it difficult to differentiate between the two! The entertainment was very good and included an interpretation of Grease, a Chinese acrobatic act and a Lennon and McCartney tribute. The hotel was clean, the hotel staff friendly and the Thomson rep, Pete, very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clean, well organised and good food.
With a good choice from the the buffet and a restaurant to be able to book for different menus.
There are always things that we would like different but nothing that you could complain about.

Graeme

Room Tip: Can fault the place, it seems to attract alot of people fromGermany but also a good mix of most othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Riu Club (as the locals call it) for one week between 17th-24th November with my partner and mother. We booked this through riu.com directly and flew from Luton with Thomson.

After a surprisingly pleasant flight with Thomson, which had adequate legroom (luckily, we flew on one of their more modern aircraft) we arrived at Las Palmas airport quite refreshed. As it was a Saturday, the airport was extremely busy and there was a problem with the luggage conveyor belt but this was quickly resolved.

Then onto our reasonably priced speedy shuttle transfer, booked through resorthoppa.com, with Viajes Urbis. A very prompt departure which had a maximum of 4 stops. Meloneras is about 30 minutes from the airport, depending on any stops and how quickly your driver goes. Ours was pretty fast! We arrived at the hotel before the Thomson transfer and were checked in very efficiently by the reception staff and offered a drink while we waited.

After picking the first lift, (which would not seem to stop on our floor), we jumped into another of the 4 lifts and finally got to our lovely suite on the 4th floor, with a double balcony. It was in the main block of the hotel, above the restaurants and overlooking the gardens, you could see the pool area and sea in the distance. We were not over the bar area, which we could hear a little in the evening, so maybe best to avoid a room above the bar as a lot of people sit outside and the hubbub I imagine could be quite off putting if you like to go to bed early. The room has a free safe and I found the beds to be very comfortable. We called reception for extra pillows and these arrived within 10 minutes.

The service in the restaurants was excellent. There are 2 main buffet restaurants, one with international cuisine and the other with international some evenings, then Canarian for a few nights and finally Andalusian for the other nights. No reservations required and you can eat when you want to, unlike some Riu hotels that have set dinner times, you can eat when you wish and also in either of the buffets. We didn't try the Las Brisas theme restaurant (Mexican/Asian on alternating days) as we used this in our previous trip last year. You can book your table at reception in advance the day before. I had emailed the hotel before our trip as my partner requires lactose free milk and we were able to obtain this from the restaurant manager, Señor Carlos, every morning (he can be pretty elusive though so you have to keep your eyes peeled!)

The food I can honestly say has improved from last year. It was beautiful then and is even better now. From omelettes and scrambled egg in the morning to fresh meat at lunch and the most lovely salads and deserts in the evenings, we all agreed that we have all put on a lot of weight each! There is a carvery every night and the chef isn't miserly with the portions like they are in Toby Carvery, he will pile your plate high if you let him!
The lunchtime buffet in the Las Brisas restaurant is more than adequate with burgers, hot dogs, pasta and salad. The food was delicious, but we preferred the main restaurant.

There are three hotel pools, two of which are acclimatised in winter and two whirlpools. The hotel provides free pool towels on check-in and you can change these between 9-12 by the pool. You're not allowed to reserve us beds before 8am and the staff will remove towels etc before this time. We went down about 8.30 and most beds were available. The hotel was quite busy but I wouldn't say it was completely full. In peak season you might want to go to the beds even earlier to ensure you get a good spot.

One day, we left our towels on the beds about 2.30pm to go for lunch and then to bingo in the pool bar at 3.30. When we returned at 4pm to the beds, we found some woman had stolen our spot and our towels were nowhere to be seen! Someone closeby claimed that the pool attendant had taken them as we had been gone for a while. I have been coming to Riu hotels for years and I have never known pool attendants to take towels during the daytime. I choose not to believe this woman and that someone had taken our towels. We went to reception who immediately replaced the towels and apologised. But this wasn't their fault, it was some greedy guest! So beware of your beds/towels being taken from you!

The Riu entertainment team were great. They never pester you to join in with aquagym, rifle shooting and bingo etc and all day they all have a smile on their face. The evening shows ranged from Grease (which I have seen in various Riu hotels since 2007!) to a circus themed act. There was also a Lennon/McCartney tribute by an outside act that was rather enjoyable. The shows started at 9pm and at 10 we were treated to lounge singers. Some were alright, but some were shockingly bad. Whichever lot you got on a certain day, you were always guaranteed to hear Rivers of Babylon, Release Me and Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Oak Tree. The resident DJ also only ever seemed to play Sex Bomb, Mambo Italiano and Michael Bublé's version of Sway. It got so tiresome that 98% of the hotel patrons evacuated the entertainment lounge at the stroke of 10pm each night!

The hotel has a nightclub, Kiss, from 11pm until 1.30am located behind the gym. One night after listening to Engelbert Humperdinck murdered for the fifth time we thought we would check it out. But to our shock horror it was closed. In winter, the entertainment lounge becomes the nightclub until 1.30am. We couldn't bring ourselves to stay in there listening to that music until 1.30. Someone should sack that DJ!

The hotel is 24 hour all inclusive with the alcoholic drinks available from the entertainment lounge past midnight and also ham and cheese toasties to microwave. They do have branded some branded spirits as when we ordered Bacardi it really was and not the local version. They don't use measures and simply pour pour pour! However I never saw anyone drunk or lager-loutish! The cocktails are ready mixed and we always enjoyed them. The bar staff are all pleasant and friendly. There are self service hot/soft drink machines at all bars except the entertainment lounge. Outside here is another bar (the one I mentioned earlier that people can hear from the balconies) which is busy. With quite a lot of people sitting around the area from about 4.30pm onwards, getting a table here is quite hard unless you are down early!

If you want to pamper yourself you can also book and get spa treatments from Riu Palace Meloneras next door. The hotel offers car hire through Avis, excursions that were reasonably priced and wifi in the lobby at 18 euros per week. We booked our own car hire before leaving home and collected it from Orlando car hire, out the hotel front entrance, turn right and follow the road down to the roundabout opposite the Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis and the office is there. They also do bicycle hire. The car was great and we got it at a reasonable price. The excess insurance was 5 euros per day payable on collection plus 175 euros deposit on a credit card. We drove to Las Palmas and spent a day there shopping and also to Playa del Inglés. Turning left out of the hotel back gate on the promenade takes you to Lopesan Boulevard with a supermarket and nice boutiques. If you keep walking then you will come to the El Faro (Lighthouse) and beyond that is the beach (complete with nudist section!) which eventually leads onto the Maspalomas sand dunes.

The clientele of the hotel seemed to be couples who were middle-aged to elderly. There were a few families with small children and were mainly German, with some British and Spanish guests (I have stayed at the hotel in September and there were more families, but still predominantly older couples). I would say that this hotel suites those in that age range and those who want an excellent quality all inclusive in an upmarket resort. It is not the place for young people who want to socialise with others their age. But if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday with the option of joining in some activities then it is perfect.

The hotel is looking slightly worn and dated but that doesn't effect the amazing service they offer. Everyone is friendly and helpful, from the reception staff through the restaurant staff and to the cleaners who work tirelessly and keep the place spotless. Everyone says "hola" to you no matter what time of day it is. The hotel is probably the least grand looking in the resort as it is positioned next to the very opulent Riu Palace Meloneras, Lopesan Villa del Conde and Lopesan Baobab behind it. But don't let that put you off as the hotel is getting a 3 month refurbishment between April and mid July 2013, with a redesigned swimming pool and I imagine a lick of paint. I can't wait to return once it is all done, I know I will have another amazing holiday!

I hope I've covered everything, if anyone has any questions about the hotel or the island, don't hesitate to email me, I've stayed in all the major resorts.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a garden view. Avoid rooms over the outside bar area as these could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Me and my husband have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel, first impressions were good we had a garden veiw room which had a good view our room was also on the first floor, the only fault i think with this hotel is that some food in the buffet resturant isnt labeled so it was hard too tell what it is, the hotel entertainment team were fab in the daytime and the nightime, al so a speacial mention to the bar staff in particular paco. while i was there i heard the hotel is due for a refurb next year, overall another fab stay in a riu hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Las Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 3 and 6-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 m2 garden. 900 m from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 m from various shops. 37 km from the airport. 100 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.