We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Maspalomas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canary Garden Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canary Garden Club to your Saves list
Canary Garden Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Avesta, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Maspalomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Club Rio Maspalomas II! The bungalow was perfect for us with kitchenette and located next to the playground. This time of year it was nice to have heated pools. We tried the dinner and breakfast buffet the first day but thought it was good that we did not have all inclusive (the food was okay but boring). We did breakfast and most dinners at home in the bungalow instead. Pool bar lunch was much better!

+ The little shop by the reception had bread so we can have fresh bread for breakfast everyday
+ Heated pools including childrens pool
+ Nice and clean bungalows
+ Laundry room
+ Nice area with palmtrees and flowers
+ It was possible to follow the Grande Canale nearby and easy walk to the dunes and El Faro

- The laundry room need to be organized better. We had to wait a long time and ask the reception many times before we could to laundry because it was occupied. Some kind of reservation off the laundry room would be an improvement!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow heading south if you want more sun outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    114
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
88
137
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The people here are so friendly. It is a beautiful complex with very clean and well kept surroundings. The prices of food in the restaurant and bar are reasonable. The staff bend over backwards to be helpful and gracious. The only thing that brought this place down was that there was hardly any acknowledgement it was actually christmas so christmas day was a bit of a damp squib but other than that it is very very hard to fault this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Club Rio Maspalomas Brilliant place to stay as you first get there you can tell how clean the apartments were.the first day we woke up at 6am to look out and watch all the staff cleaning the pool area which they did every day.It was great not to have had to put money in the tv before you can watch it and there were some nice English channels as well.the free bus to maspalomas and playa de Ingles was a big saving even though it only cost a few euro in a taxi.the meals at club rio were the best i have ever had in Gran Canaria i have been going to Gran Canaria now for 22 years and have never had such great food every other day we had freshly made omellettes done to just how you like them.Lunch meals were al a carte which gave you plenty to pick from.Eve meals were great the Chef would be cooking on his hot grill every night ie chicken,pork,kebbabs ect loads of salad every thing you can think of it was there. the staff came to ask what you wanted to drink straight away they all worked really hard day and night.The reception staff were there for any info you needed and all staff had good English so they understood everything.On the odd night there was a singer but lots of people did not stay to listen to them which was a shame.the rooms had two sunbeds and table and chairs so if you wanted to stay by your room you could.the rooms had a mico wave but no kettle which did not matter we always take a travel kettle with us.the rooms has a nice large shower,and a double and a single bed in bedroom. it only cost about 30euro+deposit for the safe for 2weeks which is good well worth money to keep your things safe.we will deff be going back to Club Rio again BRILLIANT!!!! place to stay.A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL STAFF at Club Rio

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

not sure where to start so many good points about the club rio maspalomas II . on arrival the reception staff were excellent very quick and organised giving all details to your room at first we were along way from the pool and did not look like the apartment would catch the sun . we went back to reception as there were 4 of us they couldnt move both at the same time but moved me and my partner the same evening and our friends following morning without any inconvenience . the staff couldnt ask for any more the was superb couldnt do enough to help . the apartments were absolutely brilliant they had a little patio area and 2 sunbeds if you wanted to catch the sun from your room late afternoon and table and chairs . we was all inclusive the food was a good variety everyday and the way they checked you in to the dining room was excellent so they knew whos eating also alternate days they would cook omlettes at breakfast while you wait and tea time fresh meat like steak chicken and chops . the one evening had a joint of pork which was carved for you also when sat in dining room for tea they would take your order for drinks and bring them to you at your table . the only real let down was no daytime entertainment but the occasional evening singer . a definate must should be the submarine tour at puerto mogan what a great experience . there was a free bus down to the beach also playa de ingles 3 times a day all in all the holiday was great one and would go back in the near future we have to say a big thanks to the staff and the way the complex is organised and run .

Room Tip: ask for 28-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yateley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a great family holiday Age range from 60 years to 10 months old? staff always helpful and friendly . All areas vey clean.. Food good but except cakes in afternoon.
Excellent baby child pool.
Make sure you book bungalow with air conditioning
Excellent position to all amenities
We.will be going next year with family
Great value for money

Room Tip: 4.1. 4.4. 4.3. Units very well positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The overall impression of this hotel is very good, the only problem is the breakfast and the evening meal, they were not up to standard compared to the rest of the place. However this was made up by the great lunch time meal which is prepared to order. There was also a lack of entertainment. The bungalows are lovely and clean and airy have a little kitchenette (lacking a toaster and kettle, we used a saucepan to boil water in) with plenty of room for two people. The bedroom could have done with extra pillows, but we used a rolled up blanket. The TV had 5 English channels, you have to hunt for them but they are all in a block of 5. The terrace was smashing, we had sun all the day so we used the sun loungers which every bungalow had plus a small table and chairs. The grounds were well kept. Best of all the people in the hotel were very polite and couldn`t do enough for you.

Room Tip: The bungalows are in a group of four each facing a different direction - get a south facing one for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a wonderful time at the resort. Staff were so lovely and so friendly. They work so hard especially in the bar/restaurant part, so polite.
The Bungalow was adorable. I went with my friend and her two daughters. They had the double bed, she had the single and i had the sofa bed. Which was suprisingly very comfortable. The Bungalow itself was quite small but wasnt cramped at all.
The complex was very pretty, cute little paths to follow up to each individual bungalow and lots of palm trees.
The pools were nice, bit cold but soon walmed up once you are in having fun.
We went all inclusive and the food was absolutly gourgous. A big variety of meals throughout the day.
There wasnt much entertainment at the complex in the evenings whilst we were there but was pool and computers to keep us amused. Also a short walk from the supermarket and a little leisure park so had plenty to do.
Free buses are provided to take you to the nearest beach and town, taxis pretty cheap also.
Overall a very lovely holiday, very relaxing as it wasnt a noisy busy resort which was great. Will definatly be ruturning in the near future. Miss it already x

Room Tip: Bungalows are not very big. It could fit four adults but may be a bit small depending on how much sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canary Garden Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Garden Club

Address: Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Garden Club 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canary Garden Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Rio Maspalomas Ii - Canary Garden Club Hotel Maspalomas
Rio Hotel Maspalomas Ii
Canary Garden Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canary Garden Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.