We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value for money break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canary Garden Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canary Garden Club to your Saves list
Canary Garden Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Maspalomas
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best value for money break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this after seeing the trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The little bungalows are set in a very nicely laid out complex, We had a Bungalow II, which had a double room, bathroom, lounge with sofa bed, TV and kitchenette with facilities for 4 people to self cater but why do that when there is a great range of food at the self service restaurant. The complex, the bungalows, the pool area (with pool bar and two swimming pools, plenty of sun beds) and the restaurant were all cleaned daily and spotless. No loud music or karaoke entertainment if that's what you are looking for, take a book, ipod and relax in the sun. Car hire on the island is cheap - it can be cheaper than a taxi fare to and from the airport to your resort so check it out as the island is so easy to drive around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    112
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
87
135
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent one week here with my girlfriend with the plan to do little more than sun bath & relax and this resort couldn't have been better. Bungalows are in blocks of 4 but very private. The bungalows are immaculately maintained and cleaned every day. They all seem to have the same layout with a small kitchenette/living room, a good-sized bedroom with a double & single bed, and a good-sized bathroom with strong shower. The cooking facilities comprised of a two-hob electric cooker and a micro-wave (more than enough for us). There were a number of pots & pans & plenty of cutlery (bread knife, etc.). There was also a coffee maker & a small fridge/freezer.
The safe & air-con were an extra cost (air-con was €40per week) and it had a large wall mounted tv with mostly German channels. The bungalow has a lovely patio area with a small table, 2 chairs & 2 sun loungers.
The grounds were gorgeous & very well maintained & really added to the relaxing atmosphere. It seemed to be a very peaceful resort with very little noise once you were away from the central pool & bar area. The pool area was very clean & well stocked with very comfortable sun loungers. There was a pool bar (12am-5:30pm) that served drink & food. The resort has a small shop in the reception area with all the essentials & not too overpriced. The reception is also very clean; staffed 24/7 by very friendly & helpful staff. The food in the restaurant was the only disappointment for us - buffet breakfast & dinner were pretty poor though you could eat as much as you liked. Didn't make much difference to us as we stayed in the bungalow or dined out.
Location was good. Very quiet with a nice feeling of not being in a overly resorty area but being only a 20 minute walk to Maspalomas or the Faro2 centre only 5 mins walk away (has a small supermarket & a couple of shops & restaurants). We rented bikes at the Faro2 for the week to get around. Nice & flat around Maspalomas & Playa del Ingles so not too strenuous a cycle. You can do lots of tours & other activites on the island too with plenty to keep you occupied for at least a week if thats what you're looking for.
Overall, for this type of relaxing holiday at this time of year I can't think of anywhere better for this price range. Would happily go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent last week in this resort. We had a wonderful restful week in the sunshine! It was a very nicely laid out complex with small individual bungalows which were very clean and well equipped. The staff were very pleasant and worked hard to cater for each individuals' needs. The grounds were beautiful...lovely palm trees, shrubs and flowers. There were parrots and hoopoes flying around. There was a very nice feeling of space in this complex and a feeling of privacy having your own individual bungalow. There was also a lovely view of the mountains in the distance. We took a trip to Puerto de Mogan and en route we passed through different holiday destinations...Puerto Rico, Arguineguin, Tauro and Puerto de Mogan....Maspalomas was far superior....compared to these places... it was paradise! They were overcrowded had loads of high rise hotels and were jammed in between big cliffs...no space or greenery. We were glad we had chosen this resort.
The grounds at Club Rio were very well kept. The food was good it wasn't the best food I have had in a hotel but there was a good selection and there was always something that you could eat.. Lunch snacks by the pool were very good quality especially the salada variada!
It was a 20min walk to Maspalomas beach and the nature reserve there was worth a visit...lovely birds and scenery. The Maspalomas dunes were quite spectacular also.
If you want a holiday where you can chill out in the sun, in pleasant surroundings by the pool, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skidby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

One week away with my boyfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed it! This particular complex is simple, clean and friendly. The staff were very attentive and exceptionally friendly. The little bungalows you stay in are spotless and so sweet. Most guests were either German or Spanish. We didn't expect there to be alot of English guests as we booked with On The Beach and I've never been to a hotel when booking with O.T.B to find many English guests. This diddn't bother me but it did bother my Boyfriend a little as he found many of the guests to be rude and pushy.

When we booked the holiday we chose All Inclusive. We ate at the Complex 5 nights out of the 7 and ate out in Playa Del Ingles for the remaining two. The food in the restauarant was great! Any bad reviews with regards to the food must be coming from guests who want to eat the same boring food they have at home and not try anything new! There was different food every night, I never ate the same thing! Lots of different spanish foods and cooked to perfection, we throughly enjoyed it. Also ordering lunch from the pool bar was great! A lovely menu that we were happy to choose from. The only days we didnt eat at lunch were when we ventured to Maspalomas Beach and Playa Del Ingles Beach.

The Pool area can be quite busy at times but its nothing to complain about. You may have to get your towels down fairly early too if you want to sit close to the pool, we tended to sit outside our bungalow on the terrace area and grass on our own personal sunbeds which every bungalow is supplied with (a nice touch). Our bungalow was also situated very close to the pool bar and pool so we didnt really need to be grabbing a bed by the pool! Perfect position! Its fairly quite and I found the complex to be very relaxing. No loud music... Something I cannot stand when im trying to chill! I was happy to read my book and listen to my iPod, very relaxed :)

I would really recommend this hotel for couples who dont want a tacky, hotel entertainment kind of holiday... A couple or family who are seeking relaxation and to soak up the sun! Be sure to visit Maspalomas Beach... It stunning (free bus from the hotel too, busy but its okay, your not on it for long)! The Sand Dunes are wonderful and the nature reserve close by is beautiful! Also go to the icecream palour on the corner of the walk to the beach! Sensational!

Have to mention: The only small thing which we found a little disapointing was the fact the cleaners didnt change the bed sheets once! and only made the bed if we were up early enough and we got up at 8:30 everyday... The rest of the bungalow was cleaned thoroughly and towels changed every other day if not daily.

Overall the Holiday was great and we would definitely return, maybe not for a while as we want to try lots of different destinations! We came back with terrific tans so you can be sure of some great weather! Even when its a little cloudy out there :)

Tip: Stay clear of the ladies hanging out by the walk down to Maspalomas Beach. They try to talk to you and place braclets on your arms (tight) and then expect you to pay! This didnt happen to me but I saw them and ignored them as advised to do so my other guests. Im sure a few guests have mentioned this in reviews!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for 11 days all inclusive but eat out most evenings

This was booked as a cheap and cheerfull holiday and it didn't disappoint the bungalows are lovely very clean with a patio that has table and chairs and sun loungers

We book all inclusive just for the drinks which are very generous breakfast very basic but had all we needed lunch at the pool bar was ok evening buffet was poor but we expected this so that was fine the holiday was cheap enough to eat out most nights

There is no entertainment again we expected this so made sure we downloaded plenty on the iPad before we went

Staff are very nice and helpful but the bar closes dead on 11 pm so if you want to drink past this you need to stock up which they don't mind

I woul definitely recommend this hotel I normaly pay a fortune for 5 star but to be honest we go for sun and relaxation and this ticked all the boxes if you Like a dring through the day and night then all in is worth the extra if not self catering all the way

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Club Rio Maspalomas II - Canary Garden Club

Location –
This well kept complex is situated in the quiet no through road area of Maspalomas, neighbouring to the lively Playa De Ingles & the beautiful Meloneras & Faro lighthouse. If you want to walk to either of these areas this may take you around 30min pleasant walk for all ages or 5 min ride by taxi for approx €4. There Is Faro 2 shopping centre nearby & due to the road layouts its quicker to walk rather than by car/taxi by cutting across the bridge slightly down from Club Rio entrance. Distance from Airport is approx 25 min car ride.

Transport –
Taxis are they way to get around on the Island for quickness, all taxis seem to be Mercedes with Air con, which is a blessing. The Taxi drivers know their way around to the many of the accommodation so no need to worry about language barrier. The cars are also fitted with meters so you know what you will pay at your destination. Buses are available, to get around or travel to Las Palmas, but we did not use them, instead we hired a pair of Bikes from the Faro 2 shopping centre, these were priced at €6 per day and came with lock as well, so you can cycle to the beach or the scenic routes.

Accommodation –
The Complex has blocks of 4 bungalows with your own private terrace situated where most were covered by foliage. The bungalow has 1 bedroom with a double bed and a single bed (brick base with thick mattresses placed on top), wardrobe, safe & air con unit (payable locally for the remote control). BATHROOM – Double shower tray and part shower screen, toilet & sink with mirror over. (Towels supplied). KITCHENETTE/LOUNGE – Sink, 2 ring hob, fridge, microwave, coffee machine & pots/pans & cutlery (No kettle or toaster) LCD TV and sofa with coffee table. TERRACE – large area with 2 sunbeds, patio table, 3 chairs & clothes drier.

Complex Grounds-
The grounds were flushed with trees and plants all around the bungalows with birds singing in the nearby trees. The grounds are maintained well, saw the gardener every single day. Cutting the lawns, trimming the bushes, edging the paths & tree pruning. Not to mention the maintenance guys, painting the exterior recently vacated bungalows.

Pools & other Activities –
There are 3 pools in total, 2 fairly big sized and 1 one for kids, The pools are surrounded by around 90 sun beds with a splash of sun brollies, showers & toilet block, Seating/eating area & outdoor bar which doubles up as daytime snacks eg. Pizza, chips etc. 2 Tennis courts, Volleyball Court, 2 Pool tables & cue’s & kids play area. And there were 2 lovely ladies doing massages daily called Paradise massage.


Reception –
Club Rio II & Club Maspalomas share the complex together.
The complex is divided into 2 areas. On the right to the entrance is Club Rio & to the left is Club Maspalomas, but all guests can roam between each area or enjoy the bar and use the mini market.
The reception was spotless. All staff here was very happy to help by speaking many languages or even call you a taxi to arrive just outside within 1 minute.. Leaflet desks for car hire and meeting with reps. Sofas to relax whilst waiting for trips or use the free WIFI. Use of ATM, coffee machine & 2 pc’s for internet. Just to the right in reception is the entrance to the restaurant which is buffet style food of an evening or breakfast.
Outside the doors are Luggage trolleys available to use to transport your suitcases to and from your bungalow. If you’re leaving later in the day and have checked out they do seem to have a luggage store. Payphone to use if required.


Wi-Fi Areas –
Reception area (free of Charge)
Within your own bungalow (paid locally) – This we found to be a terrible service as is very unreliable

Cleanliness –
The bungalows were cleaned daily (except Sunday) swept and mopped with bleach. Towels changed frequently. The complex was cleaned throughout the day from the windows in reception to sweeping leaves from the footpaths.

Food –
The food onsite was not what we would expect, but still plenty to go around, there are plenty of places to eat nearby either by walking 5 mins or a taxi ride to Playa De Ingles or Meloneras.



Overall for the Area of Maspalomas & Club Rio –
We found this is a great complex for the price we paid, clean, friendly staff with a 24hr reception and a good place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the lively plays de ingles.

Positive -
Great location & quiet complex
25 mins from Airport (by private car) Check out the web for best deals, these vary in price. From £48 -£80
ATM on site for extra cash.
Mini Market for basic bits (supermarket nearby – Faro 2 for more of a big shop)
Free Wi-Fi in reception.
Free Bus to the beach daily.
Maspalomas has plenty of Bungalow style accommodation, but this seems to be the best for the star rating of 1, with everything they offer it should be in my eyes at least a 3 star rating, so please don’t let any negative reviews put you off for the price you pay.
Laundrette service
Air con in bedrooms
Cons –
No toaster or Kettle for self catering
Wi-fi in rooms is not worth spending your money when reception is Free !
Weekends around the pool with a few noisy Kids using all pools.
2 sunbeds on your terrace, but accom caters for 3 persons
Sunbeds not cleaned still had sun lotion on from last guests.
Cockroaches – well to be honest most places have cockroaches in Gran Canaria, so make sure all food are disposed of properly and spray with insecticide or speak with reception and they will be round within minutes and spray the bungalow.

Room Tip: Ask them for a Map and request. found the best ones are in the middle facing the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My Family consisting of 3 adults and 1 child stayed here for a 10 days from the 6th August along with 2 other familes both consisting of 3 adults.

The first thing I must say is that I have never stayed somewhere so clean ever in this country or any other.

Apartments
Very clean. We had a bedroom with a double bed and a single bed. My husband and I stayed here on our own and we had more than enough room. The wardrobe was plenty big enough for two and probably 3.
The living area has a settee which also convers into a bed. There is a kitchen area which has a full size fridge, microwave, coffee maker and 2 rings for cooking. Though there was no kettle I easily got around this by just boiling a small saucepan of water for my morning cuppa.
We were all inclusive so did not have to worry about any cooking.
The bathroom again was spotless with a nice size shower and everything else you would expect. Towels were changed 5 times in a week the same as the room was cleaned (properly)
Each apartment also has its own private terrace area with its own table and chairs and 2 sun beds. We paid the extra for air conditioning which cost us 10 euro per night, worth the money and worked very well we could even turn it off at night sometimes.

Food
We always found something to eat every meal. Breakfast was some fried food (no English sausages) very streaky bacon, didnt see any chips for breakfast thankfully. You could have an ham and or mushroom omelette made 5 out of 7 mornings and there is the usual cheese, ham, breads and cakes and the slowest toaster I have ever seen. There is also a full choice of cereals teas, coffees and fruit juices.
Lunch had to be ordered at the pool/snack bar which was no problem always freshly cooked and a great choice from salads to steak and sandwiches and burgers.
Dinner was ok most nights there was show cooking, chicken or pork and even steak (tiny piece)
and all the usual things you get abroad only saw potatoes twice in 10 days other than chipped or fried. Drinks were free with dinner on all inclusive. And ice cream was available most of the day as were drinks and cocktails.

Night time
Very quiet at night time. The bar closed dead on 11pm though you could stock up with as many drinks as you wanted and you were not limited to how many drinks you brought at the bar like you do in some places. There was praticaly no entertainment the usual parrot show, snake show and one quiz night and one childrens disco all these lasted about an hour. If you
want night life you will not find it here we were quite happy sitting in the outside bar area and having a few drinks but we did go into playa de lingis and maspalomas centre one night..

The pool
Again very clean if you go out about 7.30 am you will see an army of cleaners and maintenance people washing, polishing and checking all around the pool area.
If you want a sun bed right next to the pool you needed to be there or at least your towel had to be there before 9 am. We usually got to the pool around 10 am and always got a sunbed even if it was on the grass area still near the pool and this actually suited us better. There are 3 pools 1 childrens pool and 2 other pools though not massive big enough and the water was only about 1.25 metres deep. The pools tended to be busier Friday to Monday when quiet a few locals would appear, though they were no trouble and we still had no porblem getting sun beds. Snack bar was located by the pool open from 11 am to 6 pm.

Out and About
There was nothing at all around these apartments. The nearest shop was a good 10 minute walk away. The Faro 2 centre that everyone has spoken about is pratically deserted bar a couple of bars and shops. Had a nice meal there the first night but was not tempted to visit again.
We did not go to maspalomas beach so can't comment. We did try and go to playa de lingis beach the boys wanted to do banana boat etc but was so windy they werent running. Must say was not tempted to sit on the beach sand was whirling about.
Visited local water park about 5 euros in a taxi not the best I have ever been too very hilly would not go again very expensive to get in and for food we spent 100 euros for 4 of us then another 48 euros for burger lunch then another 20 for a drink and ice cream.
Local market really enjoyed though a lot of the stalls are the same well worth a visit I went twice.
Everyone says about everything only 3 or 4 euros in a taxi but considering we were all inclusive i worked out we spent about 130 euros over 10 days on taxi's alone you end up handing over 5 euros a time which meant whenever you went you spent at least 10 euros on taxi's, it does add up.

Overall if you are looking for a relaxing, quiet holiday in nice surroundings (the apartment gardens are emaculate) with ok food and not much else this is an ideal holiday. If you want night life this is not the place to be.Would probably not return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canary Garden Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Garden Club

Address: Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Garden Club 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canary Garden Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Rio Maspalomas Ii - Canary Garden Club Hotel Maspalomas
Rio Hotel Maspalomas Ii
Canary Garden Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canary Garden Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.