We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Bonita Gay Resort to your Saves list
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Amsterdam
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned after a weeks stay at Vista Bonita apartments and cannot recommend the complex highly enough. The staff are very friendly and welcoming but we would like to give a special mention and thanks to Chris who was personable, accommodating, helpful and incredibly charming. Chris definitely added to the enjoyment of our holiday! Chris organised a Paella night on Wednesday which costs 9 euros and includes a drink- bargain!

When we arrived there were many females, however, within a couple of days the male/female ratio balanced out perfectly and it was very mixed - which was ideal!

The duplex apartments are beautiful inside and out, are very clean and extremely good value for money. There was a complimentary bottle of wine in the apartment when we arrived which was a lovely touch. We were staying in apartment number 1, which was situated opposite the bar and at times could be noisy and perhaps limited the desire to use the terrace as you were facing the bar (not private). A huge plus is the spar next door to the apartments, it is very reasonably priced!

Within walking distance of Melonares which is definitely worth a visit. Maspalomas beach is probably about 40mins to walk to. As previously mentioned it is approximately 4 euros to the Yumbo centre (5mins).

We had an amazing stay and will definitely be back at some point in the near future.

Helen and Karen - Glasgow, Scotland

Room Tip: Lower numbers are nearer bar. If more privacy is what you want, go for higher numbered apartment as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFT J, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear. We are really glad our team made all your stay excellent, and we are really happy with your high score included in your review. Thank you very much for your comments.
Sincerely,
Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    54
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
168
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from staying here for just over a week. This was my 9th time in Gran Canaria and the first time that I would return to the same the accommodation when returning.

The complex is made up of about 20 apartments most of which are duplexes. There is a good size pool and jacuzzi. It is located in the area of Sonneland. Its €4 by taxi to the Yumbo Centre. And €38 from the airport which is the regular price around Maspalomas.

We were greeted on arrival by Barbara the manager who instantly made us feel at home and promptly served a complimentary drink while Belinda (the housekeeper) finished getting our apartment ready. We had arrived quite early. The first thing that hit us was the friendliness of the other guests, everyone that passed us says hello and has a chat with you. This is a very sociable complex and everyone feels welcome.

Christophe and Alberto: Where do I start with these two? Possibly the friendliest and sociable people you will meet. They are the barmen (and the chefs!!) The laugh and giggles we had with the pair of them was amazing. On our first night they ran a grill/bbq night. HOMEMADE salads, pork, chicken, mushrooms, peppers, and much more. Oh and be sure to try Albertos Aioli sauce! Fantastic! The BBQ costs €10 and includes a drink of your choice. The food was better than any local restaurant could provide. So well worth it! This is a great way to meet the other guests in a relaxed and sociable manner. Our only critique of the bar was having to have a tab running which made it slightly difficult to keep an eye on your spending for the week. Also the bar is open from 10:00-14:00 and 18:00-22:00 so it closes during the day which is annoying so make sure your fridge is stocked.

Housekeeping: Belinda is the housekeeper and is very friendly and diligent. Always has a smile on her face. The apartments are serviced on alternate days. Belinda keeps the places looking great. Our only critique of the housekeeping is that the bed sheets should be changed more often. They are changed once per week which really isn't enough when its hot and the apartments do not have air conditioning.

We met some amazing people here and lifelong friends! One thing that the complex needs to be careful of though is that they dont focus too much on one side of the gay or the lesbian market. The beauty of this complex is that both gay are lesbian are welcome together and this is the unique selling point. There did seem to be a major focus on the lesbian market while we were there but hopefully this was just the way the bookings happened.

A huge thank you to Barbara, Christophe, Alberto and Belinda for making our holiday so amazing and enjoyable! We will definitely see ye again!

In Summary:

The Good Stuff:
-The Staff
-Apartments are clean and well decorated.
-The complex is very sociable.
-Only €4 in taxi to Yumbo.
-Chilled, relaxing pool area.
-Tastefully decorated bar area.
-Excellent Value.

The not so good:
-No air conditioning.
-Bar closes from 14:00-18:00.
-Needs to be careful not to focus too much on the lesbian market.

Otherwise we couldn't recommend this complex highly enough! Well worth a stay!!!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms have either a pool view or garden view. The garden view rooms are probably a bit quieter, pure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFT J, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear. We are really glad our team made all your stay excellent, and we are really happy with your high score included in your review. Thank you very much for your comments.
Sincerely,
Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Like Herbie, we enjoyed Vista Bonita around the same time. The management have recently changed & we found all of the staff to be keen, friendly and willing to go the extra mile wherever they could - they really made a big difference.

We never felt uncomfortable at any point and everyone was very relaxed. The complex itself is in a reasonably quiet area of maspolomas, however four euros can get you to Yumbo, Melonaras or the beach by taxi. In fact, we walked to the beach in just over 30 mins.

So, it was quiet and relaxing but close enough to the life to be a little gem.

We will definitely go back - a real find!

Thanks to the lovely Alberto and cheeky Christoph - see you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFT J, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Jason. We are really glad our team made all your stay excellent, and we are really happy with your high score included in your review. Thank you very much for your comments.
Sincerely,
Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 15 days and really enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of the place. The apartment we stayed in had airco, flatscreen tv, a microwave and was decorated in a manner that we felt at home straight away. The kitchenette has a hotplate with two rings, sufficient to prepare a simple meal. The pool has a length of 20 metres, good to do some laps. The pool is not heated but in june there was no need to.
The staff are friendly and helpfull and are present most days from 10 in the morning till 10 in the evening. For my birthday they bought a cake for me as a surprise, which I thought was very attentive! The apartment gets cleaned 5 times a week.
They organize paella nights and BBQ nights, which enables you to meet the other guests. When we were there the other guests were mainly couples and a few guests were travelling individually.
A great asset of Vista Bonita is its calming effect. There is no party noise at night, and I felt recharged when I came back home. We will come back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFT J, Gerente at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear.
Thanks for taking time to post your review of our hotel. We do appreciate all the great comments about our location, cleaning and room. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shared your kind words with them. I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again. Best regards.Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Such a wonderful place to stay, quiet, calming and still great fun. Always clean. Friendly staff and really nice Apartments. Have been twice this year and cant fault it at all! Highly Recommended!! Jorge does a wonderful job at keeping everyone happy and is a great host. It is situated up in sonnenland a little way out of the main area which is perfect! We hired a car this time and were able to do so much more for such a small extra cost! We cannot wait to return! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden end first time, and the pool end second both just as great as each other!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If value for money is important to you, then you will be very pleased with these apartments. The apartments are more like a one bedroom house, on 2 levels, with a small lounge/kitchenette and toilet on the ground floor, and bedroom and bathroom upstairs. There is a balcony upstairs with great views towards the sea and the Maspalomas lighthouse. Downstairs, you have a terrace with a sun lounger, and table and chairs overlooking either the pool or garden. The rooms have a safe, available for a small extra charge.

We chose an apartment overlooking the garden, as we value our privacy and peace and quiet. It was the best of both worlds - a private terrace, just a few steps away from the pool and jacuzzi. The pool is a good size and you can switch the jacuzzi on or off as and when you wish.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Jorge, who is a welcoming host. He really does care that you enjoy your holiday, and he is there to answer any questions you may have about the apartment or the island.

We didn't have a car, but there is parking available if you do.

You can walk into Maspalomas/Meloneras (about 40 minutes, mainly downhill) and a taxi back is always under five euros.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There was 7 of us stayed here and this place is spottless the dupelex apartments are great huge bedroom with queensized bed with your balcony then your bathroom toilet then downstairs u have your living area kitchen breakfast bar flatscreen tv and another toilet my room was no 4 great location just off the pool and bar area a nice big terrace with table chairs and sun lounger and compimentry bottle wine and bottle water the welcome off the owner was great he made us feel it was our home he could not have done more for us .. There is a spar supermarket next door to hotel and plenty places to eat close by.. U can get a taxi into playa del ingles for under 4 euro and they come regular out side hotel there is also a free shuttle bus to the beach wich u can get 2 mins down the street outside vista oasis or u can walk to beach wich takes around 30 mins but is a nice walk....... Taxi to airport is around 40 euro. ...... This hotel is fantastic great welcome and they made our stay and we are all comming back next year in a bigger group.......

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Bonita Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Address: Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Bonita Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Bonita Gay Resort is an attractive complex exclusive for gay men and lesbians. Set around an outdoor pool and hot tub, it is less than 3 km from Maspalomas Dunes, and offers spacious apartments with terraces and free Wi-Fi throughout.The Vista Bonita features simple décor and each of its duplex apartments has a kitchenette and toilet on the ground floor. Living areas lead onto a terrace, giving direct access to the pool. Upper floors have a bedroom and a bathroom, as well as private entrances.Guests can enjoy a drink in the Bonita’s bar, or relax on the terrace, which offers views of the attractive gardens. There is a snack bar and barbecue facilities are available.The centre of Playa del Inglés, where there is a selection of shops, bars and restaurants, is a 5-minute taxi ride from the complex. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk and an airport shuttle service is available for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vista Bonita Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Bonita Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Vista Bonita Gay Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Bonita Gay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.