We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Save Saved
You added Vista Bonita Gay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My partner and I have just had a fantastic holiday at Vista Bonita Apartments. When we arrived Nicolette "the hostess with the mostess " was on hand to check us in and then direct us to the bar where we were fed and watered. The atmosphere at the bar was cool - in a non-pretentious way - guests were laughing and joking and some came over and made their introductions. It later became clear that the guests, during our stay, were funny, generous and good natured people. Our accommodation was perfect and was just the right size for us - from our balcony, we had a view of the sea and lighthouse. The pool area and jacuzzi were great for lazy days and evenings at the apartments. The location was perfect for us with restaurants and shopping facilities within walking distance and a taxi rank 4 mins away. The Yumbo centre -tacky but fun with some good restaurants is a 5 minute taxi ride. The lighthouse area (Faro) is a little more classy with nice restaurants but not as much fun and is 7 minute taxi ride. Nicolette can arrange car hire at reasonable prices and there are beautiful places to visit such as Puerto Mogan. This holiday was well anticipated and it was made all the more special by Nicolette who would do anything for us and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend these apartments and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
122
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This really is a fabulous place made all the better by Nicolette and her wonderful helpers. The apartments are great, the pool excellent and the bar area a lovely place to relax and let the world go by. You really can do as much or as little as you want here - we stayed by the pool for most of our week but hired a car (25 Euro for the day through Nicolette) for one day and drove up into the mountains and the national park.

All in all we had a wonderful stay at Vista Bonita and would highly recommend it for friends, singles or couples!

Room Tip: All rooms face south and Nos. 1-12 look out over the bar, pool, jacuzzi and 13 to 20 look out over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are worn out, need a relaxing place in the sun with a great hostess, Vista Bonita is the tonic you need. If you are a loud inconsiderate person/group then this is NOT the place for you. Staying at Vista Bonita with Nicolette is like staying with your favourite aunt (young one!). She arranged for a birthday cake to be baked for my partner and provided complimentary bubbles which we shared with all the friends we met at Vista Bonita. On the morning of my partner's birthday everyone sang Happy Birthday to her as she stood on our balcony having just woke up. It was like being part of a big family but everyone still respected each others privacy. Re value for money, I have paid more than I can afford for pretentious luxury hotels but the warmth you get from all at Vista Bonita is priceless. Lynne xx

Room Tip: If you don't want a room next to the pool/bar ask for apts 16-20. Although it is so quiet here a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I do not want to detract from the nice place and great accommodation as it is brilliant but nicolette who runs this place is just amazing, a Trojan. If she'd told me she'd built the place over night with her bare hands I would have believed her! "of course" you will hear her say! I felt at home, part of a community and safe; essentially this is what every gay/lesbian place should aspire to be, clean, safe and fun...what more is there?
We had a real mix of people from different countries and different ages and this place bought us all together like a school reunion.
Yes it's not 5* and it's not closest to the town but maybe that's the beauty of this place, a retreat, a holiday; At 3€ to town/beach it's hardly worth noting anyway!
I have never even thought of writing a review before and I think the fact I have says it all.
Nicolette, we thank you :-). James xxx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

As with previous comments- there's not much more to add. The apartments were perfect for 2 and very spacious. Location is a short ride from the beach and the centre (or if your that way inclined a 40 minute walk). The staff were all very friendly and helpful able to recommend places to go to- Nicolette has been in GC for 30 years so is a minefield of knowledge. Atmosphere was amazing with friendly staff an guests which made it a fantastic break. I honestly cannot recommend the place enough! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently returned from VB after a one week break. I really cannot improve on recent comments. These were the nicest apartments we have stayed in, a well run, friendly environment where nothing was too much trouble and all guests mad to feel welcome. If you want a quiet get away and be left to your own devices or join in with new friends, this is the perfect place to go to. Nicolette certainly knows how to give that personal touch, yet not intrude. A big thank you! We will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've spent almost 2 weeks in Vista Bonita and has been a wonderful experience. The resort is clean, discreet and the apartments are quite spaciuos. I went there alone but has been really easy to meet people of the other flats and have fun together. Nicolette and her daughter are perfect Resort keepers, extremely kind and helpful and always friendly. Obvioulsly I confirm everything great already written by the other guests and I'm really looking forward to get back there as soon as possible! Ciao da Venezia! ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista Bonita Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Address: Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Bonita Gay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Bonita Gay Resort is an attractive complex exclusive for gay men and lesbians. Set around an outdoor pool and hot tub, it is less than 3 km from Maspalomas Dunes, and offers spacious apartments with terraces and free Wi-Fi throughout.The Vista Bonita features simple décor and each of its duplex apartments has a kitchenette and toilet on the ground floor. Living areas lead onto a terrace, giving direct access to the pool. Upper floors have a bedroom and a bathroom, as well as private entrances.Guests can enjoy a drink in the Bonita’s bar, or relax on the terrace, which offers views of the attractive gardens. There is a snack bar and barbecue facilities are available.The centre of Playa del Inglés, where there is a selection of shops, bars and restaurants, is a 5-minute taxi ride from the complex. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk and an airport shuttle service is available for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Vista Bonita Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Bonita Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Vista Bonita Gay Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Bonita Gay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.