We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable stay - just wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Bonita Gay Resort to your Saves list
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An unforgettable stay - just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

First of all, an apology, as we actually stayed here in May for 12 nights and I'm late doing this.

Vista Bonita is very unique and special, and we won't hesitate to return - anyone that is not sure of booking this place, please don't be - if you don't go you really are missing out!

We arrived late having booked a shared transfer independently (never again! - book a taxi with VB it's just easier and much less stressful!).

Nico was waiting to meet and greet us which was lovely and we were given a very warm welcome and immediately made to feel at home. Unfortunately, we realised very quickly that we had left a coat (containing my partner's passport AND wallet) and also my laptop bag on the minibus that dropped us off. We were obviously very anxious but Nico immediately calmed us down and got ringing the various companies to try and track down the driver to get our belongiongs returned and she was just fantastic - that is TRUE first-class customer service!

In less than one hour we were re-united with our belongings and for that alone we can't thank her enough! That was really just a taste of the amazing hospitatlity and service we would receive at the wonderful Vista Bonita resort.

So, where to start?! Well prior to arrival I was in email contact with the gorgeous Ian, and he allocated us room number 5, with a King Size bed, and had arranged a birthday cake for my boyfriend, as we were both to celebrate our birthdays there, our birthdays being the day after each other. We were actuaslly given number 8 with two twin beds but to be honest they were made up as a double so we didn't mind at all.

The next morning as I sat on our lovely terrace, as I am always up early, Ian popped over for a chat and to introduce himself. He's a typical Northerner, warm, charming and funny, and such a nice guy, I was immediately taken with him and he made us feel so comfortable and relaxed. I mentioned the room situation, not complaining, just in conversation, and we had a good natter, no more than 5 minutes after that, he returned with the keys to number 5 and we could move.

We would of been happy to stay put but the gesture was so kind and it was nice to have a "proper" king size bed as I'm tall and it's also what we are used to, having been together for 10 years! We loved the location of number 5, overlooking the pool, close to the bar etc but not right on top of it, and away from the Jacuzzi so no disturbances there at all.

Now to say a bit more about the resort itself. There are just 20 townhouse-style apartments, with an open-plan lounge and kitchen area, and a downstairs WC, and upstairs the main bathroom and lovely bedroom with a nice sized balcony too, overlooking the pool and with views to the sea in the distance.

The apartments are well furnished, and immaculately presented, they are VERY thorough with cleaning and I could have easily eaten my salad off of the floor with no hesitations, just spotless. The kitchens have a hob with a fridge which does also have a small freezer compartment and utensils, plenty of cups, plates etc etc...

There is a TV in the lounge but we barely watched it, and I agreed, there are very few English language channels, but a good selection of others such as Italian, Russian and Spanish too of course.

We also like the way you have a "front door" which is at the back of the aparments, if you open that, you got a lovely breeze through the whole apartment, as there are patio doors on the "pool side" too, and it was just bright, fresh, and relaxing in general. There are some little bits I'd love to see, but nothing essential, they really do have everything you need!

The resort, being smaller, has a wonderful Boutique feel to it. The pool area is never crowded, everyone has their own space. Sunbeds are not an issue, each apartment has their own pair, plus some around the poolside too. One of my slight concerns before we arrived was physical space for sunloungers around the pool - needn't have worried at all, just 5 villas were taken when we arrived as we arrived just at the very end of Pride, so they were emptying out having been completely full, and each day that pased more and more couples and guests arrived. We absolutely loved that actually, as the first 3 days or so of our stay were very quiet - just what we needed, as I have a stressful and time-consuming job and was, quite frankly, burnt out!

So we had some time to really chill, read (which I do lots and I'm fussy about where I'll read as I really like to get into a book and had no problems doings so at VB!) and just enjoy some together-time before then being more sociable later on in our holiday.

There is a fab restaurants adjacent to VB - a separate entity all-together, but they have a great arrangement where you order with Ian or Nico and they bring the food in for you. It was VERY well prices, they do an amazing fry up for breakfast which we enjoyed a number of times, and Adam highly recommends the steak, persoanlly I loved the Spaghetti Bolognese, easily better than any I've ever had in Italy! and about €5 for a HUGE plateful - I had this about 5 times whereas I'm usually very adventurous with food, so that speaks volumes - and Ian and Nico were happy to serve it on your terrace if you preferred which was a lovely touch!

Now for what really makes Vista Bonita stand out from the many other "gay" resorts in Gran Canaria:

We've stayed at many different places in Maspalomas and Playa Del Ingles, having been to the island now 7/8 times as a couple. Los Almendros is a sore disappointment in comparison, yes they may have porn on the TV in the bungalows, but it's very cruisy, the guests can be quite un-sociable, and staying there as a couple that are monogamous, we felt quite uncomfortable at times. We have also stayed at Cordial Green Gold, not a gay resort, but with lovely apartments, very similar to Vista Bonita, bit full of kids - nigthmare!

By contrast, Vista Bonita is a haven, no kids! gays only, and we liked the fact there were quite a few lesbian couples staying there too, rathern than bein "men only" as it creates alighter atmopshere and we enjoyed that.

Vista Bonita attracts a different sort of clientele to waht you'll find at many gay resorts, which really suprised us as it was by far the best-priced option too - I really can't emphasise what AMAZING value for money VB is! I think we paid around €400 for 12 nights!

On Adam's birthday, they arranged a fab cake, one of Ian's friends is a professional cake maker and it was a rude one, very funny and very tasty! They secretly decorated out apartment with banners and baloons which was such a lovely thought and not what you would expect at all when paying these prices, and this is just one of the things that makes Vista Bonita such a special special place.

The BBQ hosted was a bargain at €10 and it was great, all the guests sat around together, it was also Eurovision night and we all got together, had a good chat and a drink, and about 8-10 of us went out for the night afterwards until the early hours - this just doesnt happen at most other resorts and I loved the fact everyone was social. I spent plenty of time in the Jacuzzi chatting away with other guests, and Ian often has a little sunbathe after he knocks off and was great fun to be around.

While we were there, Nico recieved her cdertificate of excellence from TripAdvisor - totally deserved, she has been there just over 1 year only, and you could see the genuine pride and happiness on their faces at receiving this, they certainly deserve it and I hope many more will follow.

In a nutshell - GO! experience it, you will love it! It was only a 20 minute walk via a scenic walkway down tot he beach near Faro lightouse, ideal for the gay beach and some great resturants in neighbouring Meloneras too. Yumbo is €4 in a cab, taxi's easily available just outside, a great lillte SPAR for all the essentials you need and we would also recommend a whale watching cruise from Puerto Rico, such wonderful memories of that day.

Would love to see just a couple of "extras" but you have to consider what you pay! I would happily pay more for mattresses on the sunloungers, as being tall, my legs hurt a bit after laying on them for some time, and an iron and ironing board in the apartments - apart from that, I really cannot find a fault.

The Jacuzzi was our favourite touch, such a luxury and we loved it! they switch it off early evening so guests in the nearby rooms are not disturbed.

Keep up the amazing job Ian and Nico and Dave, you really made our holiday for us, and we left as friends and will certainly be back ASAP!

Tom and Adam

Room Tip: Odd numbers have a king bed, even are twins. request 15-20 to be away from the pool, the quitest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    53
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
168
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

stayed in June and had a fabulous time. Super clean appartments en just a few minutes and few euro"s from Yumbo and the beach. Out of the hectic Playa del Ingles and quiet and tranquil, but party if you want to. Anything goes.. Nico and Ian were fab and very accomodating, barbecue was good fun and a great way to get to know everybody. Great tip from Ian Tapa's Tango, delicious. We also went to the gym in Holiday World a few times. Nice place lots of eye candy! Great place to stay with a realyy good restaurant at the front if you cant be bothered going out. Loved it all, back soon! John and Emile

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The stay in Vista Bonita was just great! Yan and Nico are doing their best to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. The apartments are very well furnished, the small kitchen is just what you need if you prefer to cook you own breakfast. The pool and bar area are very well kept, everything is clean and taken care of. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: We were in room 2 just in front of the bar area. If you prefer to stay in quitter area rooms 15+ wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have been going to Gran Canaria for many years and I just couldn't find a place I really felt was right to stay! I read your reviews before going and the ones on booking.com and decided to give it a try! Waw I'm so glad I did. The attention to detail is great. You are made to feel welcome and at easy from walking through the door. The complex is clean and very relaxing and a great gay space to be in! I was able to sleep at night when I wanted to, as it is in a very quiet area. I arrived a stranger and left a friend! The airport shuttle service was very grand and reasonable priced too! Nico and Ian are a great team! They have defo been to charm school and could quite easily run a course to teach other Managers how it should be done! lol I have booked to return with a friend in October! Well done you! I can't thank you enough for making may stay such a pleasant one. I wish you well in the future! The reviews are all so true and if you don't believe it! Then go try it! Abrazos Phillipxxx

Room Tip: I chose a room away from reception as some one on here had said it was better. They are all great ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Canarias, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hi,

i was first time there Nov 2011, again for gay Pride 2012, and 3 weeks in june 2012, and will go back soon. Its just an really nice place, specially its located it the nicer part of Maspalomas, where regarding the neighbourhoods architecture you find a lots of typically spanish style houses, just beautiful, much more then the really ugly part Playa Ingles, with all those old from the 60s and 70s Buildings and Hotels, where the interiours and furnishings of the rooms are also still from those years and quite ugly.
Vista Bonita and the Managment, just makes you feel like beeing on a vacation, but really still feeling beeing and home and cozy, the apartments are on 2 floors, with nice marble floors, very nice marble bathroom, and a marble guest restroom on the lower floor, the small kitchennette, is nice and functional, specially as u have the supermarket just 1 min around the corner.

The furnishings are all fitting well with each other giving a feeling of an seaside vacation place with the blue and white colours, and are a bit more upscale and kept well maintained then in a lot of other hotels in maspalomas or playa ingles. So even a clowdy day, can be enjoyed inside of the apartment really well, and with plenty of TV Channels, available in spanish language, but also in english original version......The really best thing of those duplex apartments are the both terraces, one in front of the living room, and another in front of the bedroom upstairs, where u can watch over the roofs away the sunset and the ocean...just beautiful.
its not a big complex, so its really cozy, plus an advantage of Vista Bonita is, different then in a lot of other Bungalow complexes in Gran Canaria, that the entrance is in the back of each apartment....so for those, who dont like to be watched by the crowd hanging at the pool all the time ;)
Nico and Ian are very nice Hosts, and help you out with everything you need or need advice or help, Laundry, Doctors etc......really like a concierge Service in a 5 Stars Hotel. The neighbourhood is more quite, so means you really can sit at the pool and relax, without having noise around you, like in a lot of places at playa ingles and by nighttime you can leave the bedroom window open and listen to the sparkling water of the pool and fall asleep....you dont hear any cars!

Ill go always back to this place, have never had something better for this money. That doesnt exists in Maspalomas.....and for those who rent a car, even a lot might be available for your car!

Room Tip: All rooms have the same size, just slight differences in the colours of the decorations. If u like i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This is my 4th time in GC and Vista Bonita is the one I'd return to. The apartment has lounge/kitchen area leading out onto your own terrace plus down stairs loo. Upstairs bathroom bedroom (large double in mine - some have two single) leading out to a balcony. Pool is big enough to do lengths....and a bar area.
Supermarket 1 minute away.
Short taxi ride depending on the time 3 - 5 euros.
Nico and Ian very friendly and helpful..

Brian

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

This has got to be most relaxed and friendly LGBT venues on the island. Nicolette and her staff cannot do enough to ensure that you have a good time and that your stay within the apartments is as enjoyable as possible.
The location is away from the Yumbo Centre, however this adds to the option of either walking down the hill to Meloneras for a quiet meal and designer shopping, or alteratively taking a 5 euro (including tip) taxi ride into Play De Inglis and the Yumbo an all that it contains.

Day times by the pool can be quiet and there is enough space, either on your own patio, or laying by the pool that you dont feel forced into getting to know everyone who is staying - although the weekly barbeque and the friendly staff ensure that you get to know everyone and have the chance to speak to people if you want to. The option of subathing on the Maspalomas Dunes is also avaialble and within walking distance.

My partner and I visited this complex in February of 2012 after a 6 year gap from Gran Canaria, it was the welcome and service delivered within this hotel that saw us return this month, and we are currently planning our next trip for September. This is one venue where the staff commitment to ensuring you have a relaxing holiday is a top priority, and there is nothing that any of the team will not do to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

Having stayed in Gay venues in Barcelona, Sitges, Costa Blanca and other european cities, we have found this venue to be the best balance of comfortable acommodation and good service at very reasonable prices. To Nicolette and her team - keep up the good work!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Bonita Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Address: Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Bonita Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Bonita Gay Resort is an attractive complex exclusive for gay men and lesbians. Set around an outdoor pool and hot tub, it is less than 3 km from Maspalomas Dunes, and offers spacious apartments with terraces and free Wi-Fi throughout.The Vista Bonita features simple décor and each of its duplex apartments has a kitchenette and toilet on the ground floor. Living areas lead onto a terrace, giving direct access to the pool. Upper floors have a bedroom and a bathroom, as well as private entrances.Guests can enjoy a drink in the Bonita’s bar, or relax on the terrace, which offers views of the attractive gardens. There is a snack bar and barbecue facilities are available.The centre of Playa del Inglés, where there is a selection of shops, bars and restaurants, is a 5-minute taxi ride from the complex. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk and an airport shuttle service is available for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vista Bonita Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Bonita Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Vista Bonita Gay Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Bonita Gay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.