We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap, basic friendly apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cardonal Apartments

Save Saved
You added El Cardonal Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Cardonal Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Einstein 4, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great cheap, basic friendly apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Located in the quiet suburb of sonnenland we liked the el cardonel, we visited in Jan and it was very quiet with many couples renting apartments for the whole winter. The apartments are quite large for 1 bedroom units, sofabed in living room and two beds pushed together in the double bedroom, loads of wardrobe space, you have to pay for TV so we did without all together but had our ipod dock.
Pool is unheated so very cold in low season but the weather was great, its a long but gentle walk down to the dunes and beach takes about half an hour if youre able bodied its not a problem. The temperature in Jan was between 22-30 each day and didnt need a jacket at night just a hoodie/cardi
There is a supermarket close by and a larger hypermarket a short taxi ride away.
We did get an issue with ants in the apartment but think thats expected in hot countries, the maids did do a decent clean each day. Simple kitchen, fridge etc but we ate out for main meals, the bar was nice for a quiet drink/pool etc and there are enough restaurants in the resort.
Playa del ingles was the nearest place for partying and there was enough 'life; even in winter.
I'd go back, its cheap and cheerful. think of it as good budget accomodation and you'll not be dissappointed I dont think. we aid £160 each last min fr flight/apartment etc and thought it was fab value

Room Tip: all overlook pool, terraced style.. pool bar to the far end of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
18
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport south wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

have stayed at the el cardonal for many years now still go back for the peaceful and pleasant stay where the staff are always welcoming and helpful it s like home from home everyone is so friendly will be returning in jan 2013 can ,t wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bill and joan south wales

Room Tip: all rooms are south facing therefor sun all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Located a good half hour walk from the twin resort of Maspalomas/Melaneras, El Cardonal Apartments are situated on a steep hill in the relatively remote area of Sonnenland.
The bungalows are spacious enough but are tired and in dire need of upgrade. They contained relatively new kitchen equipment in the form of microwave, toaster and kettle, with TV was available at an extra cost. No air conditioning was evident but would not have been required during our stay.
A couple of Spar shops are available up the hill, with the Texaco petrol station at the roundabout at the foot of the hill being another option. Couple of restaurants are nearby, but there is not an awful lot of life to be honest in what is a largely residential area.
The relatively modest tariff was certainly reflected in the facilities and general appearance of the accommodation.
As a base the bungalows are bearable, just. The fusty smell that greeted our arrival seemed to lessen during our stay with repeated airings (or, maybe we just got used to it!). The pool area looked tired and was less than welcoming.
El Cardonal would not be a good option for anyone with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Rooms all looked the same, most with 'shared' terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elcardonal, Gerente at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guest, We are a great value/money complex starting 25€ an up. What you see is whta you get for that rate. We have over 1000 returning guests which pay a good rate and know whta they are paying for. We are not for everyone since we are NOT a hotel ONLY a 2 KEYS bungalow complex. Hope you can return to Gran Canaria to a hotel which will attend you better. Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

there is nothing that can be said against it at this price: you really get what you pay for! if you are a cyclist or do any other type of active sport this is a good base. it is rather far from the beach and restaurants (one is within a few 100m) so a hired car would be good (if you do not have a bike or want to use one of the pretty cheap taxis all the time). the rooms are quite big and there is a washingmashine that can be used for 3 euro. the wifi connetion is only in the pool area, hence outside and there are no tables or anything. if you wish to seat on a table you need to enter the pool bar, which is a big tent, where you have wifi but you need to buy a drink.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Perfect little bungalows. Nice pool. Spar at the top of the hill. Loved it

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have stayed at the El Cardonal apartments 11 times in the last 6 years and have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone thinking of a holiday in Gran Canaria.
There are 53 apartments of which 5 are 2 bedroom and everyone of them is facing south so you can sunbathe on your patio and have the sun all day as you can at the pool. The apartments are spacious and have 2 rings to cook on as well as Microwave, Toaster and Kettle + Fridge and optional TV for small fee. There are plenty of supermarkets around to stock up on food etc and the apts are less than a 1/2 hour walk from the beach and Maspalomas sand dunes. There is also a free bus. Also a short taxi ride from Playa del Ingles. The boss Ram (Ramiro) speaks excellent english and is very friendly and helpful and the same goes for the rest of the staff. In fact I am going back back on 10th March for another 2 weeks. Also during my times there I have checked virtually every other apartment complex in the area but haven't seen anything that would make me want to change my preference to El Cardonal. malcky7@hotmail.co.uk

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have enjoyed three weeks in a quiet and nice bungalow area. The mornings we started with a refreshing swim. During the day we read and rested in the pleasant pool area. In the pool bar you will find necessary refreshments and small snacks. Shops and restaurants are within 10 to 15 minutes walking distance. A local bus service operates every hour. Excellent value for money. We will come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cardonal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cardonal Apartments

Address: Calle Einstein 4, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cardonal Apartments 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your El Cardonal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cardonal Apartments Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
El Cardonal Apartments Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cardonal Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.