We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Significantly better than feared!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Oasis

Save Saved
You added Palm Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Oasis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Albert Einstein s/n | Sonnenland, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Significantly better than feared!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Palm Oasis for 10 nights from 2nd Sept. We were relieved to find that the facilities were in a far better state than some of the reports on this site suggested! We stayed in a Studio apartment (D-319) which was spacious, clean and more than adequate for the 2 of us. Only minor gripe is that the bath/shower facility needs updating, although the bathroom itself was very good. As written by others, the remoteness of the resort does limit dining options if you want to eat out, although the hotel restaurant offers a reasonably priced and adequate buffet option. There are some local restaurants within walking distance that offer good value meals, and the El Carreton offers a very good value for money take-away pizza service. There are also local supermarkets, as well as the on-site facility, that offer everything a self-caterer may need. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and in general the complex is kept in very good condition. Pool areas were reasonably OK although there were high numbers of 'ghost' users in regards to the towels on sun-loungers, despite the apparent watchfulness of the hotel staff. Taxis for Maspalomas-Faro and Playa des Ingles are just outside the hotel and seem quite reasonable. We noted that the west side of Faro was slightly quieter for a more relaxed evening meal and/or lunch/coffee during the day. The hotel runs a free coach service to Maspalomas beach each day, but beware that the pick-up times clash with another local hotel and you have to get on the right coach! All in all a good experience, and we would recommend to others and visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    142
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
114
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived Monday 9th Sept 2013.
Check in friendly and straight forward.
Room A405 spotless and clean, well equiped kitchen. kettle, toaster (toaster did not work but replaced within 2 minutes of calling reception). microwave, coffee machine, juicer. all plates etc, and tea towel.
Bottle of water tea and coffee and small milk on side. Large living area, and balcony. Large bedroom, plenty of storage. Big bathroom, bath, separate shower, two sinks. Dressing gowns, Room cleaned dailey except Sunday. Great pools. Pool bar expensive for drinks and main bar which was down stairs. Not much entertainment, but didn't bother us. (when pool bar closed no where to get a drink for those that wanted one until the main bar opened)
Had buffet in restaurant which was very good, the fruit crumble was very nice.
Wasn't much around, german bar, cafe, spar shop, gift shop, a couple of restaurants. A must is La carreton steak house, 5 minutes walk on left hand side past the chinese. excellent mixed grill here would have cost £12-15 at least (and not as good) but was 9.95 Euros.
Yes it seems along way from anything but it's not that bad.
Took a steady walk to Holiday World down hill, took about 15-20 minutes, about 25 minutes to walk back. Free bus to Maspolamas beach, there and back just ask reception.
4-5 Euros in a taxi to Playa del ingles. (here £12 for same journey).
Walk down hill to catch No1 bus to Peurto Rico and Morgan, 6.45 Euros one way for two. Friday morning market in Morgan.
Do not except the first second, third or forth+ price on the stalls. I asked the price of an item and was told it was 25 euros, i still walked away at 10 and the price was falling. Do not pick anything up, you'll never get away. Some shops show a price then when you take to counter they say oh it's on wrong rail etc, walk away. Do not get ripped off at the cafe across from market, they charged us 3.95 euros for a can of fanta, which i questioned but was firmly told that's the price if no price displayed ask. We won't be going to that cafe again.
Definately go on the submarine it's worth it. Went on buggies which was good but next time will hire one for the day, it's cheaper. For night life in playa del ingles don't go out until 10.30, nothing starts to happen until after then. Will definately go back to Palm Oasis, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Any would be ok they all seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

First things first. this is basically a self catering hotel. Do not expect all of the bells and whistles from an all inclusive complex.
What they do, they do very well. The whole site is kept immaculately clean.
The rooms are cleaned 6 days a week.
The pools are some of the very best that there is.
There is only one entertainer / animation member but she works extremely hard. The pool aerobics are very professional and can give a good workout. Kids are well looked after, with water polo, treasure hunts and crazy golf amongst other activities. All activities are based around the pool area, and are aimed at kids from around 7 upwards.
Tips to make your holiday more pleasant.
Ask for a second floor villa, facing Maspalomas dunes. These have the best views and also! a rooftop terrace, for private sunbathing.
Sun beds by the children's pool are taken early (same everywhere, from my experience).
The on-site supermarket has most provisions, including small bottles of washing up liquid.
Tea towels are provided in the apartments, but not sponges / dish cloths.
No need to take beach towels, as they are provided and can be changed twice weekly.
A taxi rank is immediately outside the hotel. Fares are displayed on a board. 4 to 5 euros will get you into Melanoras (where the lighthouse is) or into Playa del Ingles.
Across the road from the hotel is a chemist and Chinese restaurant. Personally, I thought that the food was quite bland at the Chinese.
A good size Spa supermarket is only a 5 minute walk away. It also has a cashpoint machine. Turn right past the Chinese restaurant (across the road from the hotel) and it is on the right hand side.
A largish shopping centre (El Tablero) can be seen from the hotel. Go past the Spa shop and turn right. Be careful as you are walking alongside the main GC1 road, on what is little more than a hard shoulder. 6 or 7 minutes from the Spa shop will get you there. There is a large supermarket and 30 or 40 shops.
The pool bar sells pizza, chips, sandwiches,salads. 30 to 40 euros will buy lunch and a drink for 4 persons.
In Playa del Ingles, the Kasbah centre is a shopping / restaurant / bar type affair, and is a little bit dated. The Yumba centre is much larger, with similar shopping / bars / restaurants.
For a more refined evening, Melanoras is the place to go. This is a relatively new area with quality shops and excellent restaurants. It also features a good promenade, with typical street artists along it. The Grand Italia food was excellent. For a family of 4 expect to pay 50 to 120 euros, dependant on what you purchase, for a 3 course meal.
Only hotel negatives are the fact that tennis & crazy golf are payable (around 6 euros for a family of 4). I would have expected it to be a refundable deposit.
Overall, an excellent value hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were at Palm Oasis from 17/08/13 - 31/08/13 and had a great holiday, the staff are great especially in the restaurant, this is our 3rd visit to Palm Oasis and noticed that there was still a lot of the staff there from previous years, so we believe them to be very trust worthy. We had to laugh at night there is a happy hour from 11:00 - 12:00pm and some people do not buy a drink until 11:00!!
Yes there is a few things that could be changed the pool bar could be opened longer, but we do not go on holiday to just sit and drink so this is not a problem for us. There is a great system regarding reserving sunbeds, if there are towels on the beds before 8:00am they are removed by the pool man (towels are provided by the hotel) and a green band is put on the arm of the sun bed advising that the towels have been removed.. after 8:00am if the beds are still empty a green band is put on the parasol at about 9:30 if the bed is still vacant an hour later then the towels are removed and bands on beds advise that towels have been removed.. this then allows other people to use the beds and avoids confrontation with previous be hoggers.
Cleaning staff & garden staff work really hard, and this shows with the cleanliness of the rooms and gardens (which are stunning) pool area is exceptional. Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas are only a short taxi ride away although the hotel is a bit out of the way we like that as there are no noisy revellers leaving bars etc.. we like to relax and that is what this hotel provides

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Palm Oasis for a week after spending the previous week at Anfi Del Mar. Anfi is a hard act to follow but we found the staff were friendly and attentive on arrival (and throughout to be fair). The room was clean and spacious enough, the decor was a little dated but the apartment was well appointed and had all that we needed. There were two loungers on the balcony and a table and chairs for outside dining but could have benefitted from an electric socket so we could have plugged a docking speaker in to play music when we came home for a drink on the balcony. We were a little disappointed to see we didn't have a poolside view but a view of the front where the fairly busy GC500 road passes. When we ventured down to the pool area we were greeted by the welcome site of a lovely pool area with a massive landscaped pool and beautiful gardens surrounding and a pool bar in the middle breaking everything up. This really is the hotels jewel in the crown and can't be faulted. Waterfalls, a jacuzzi and a slide for the kids - a pool area to rival any I've experienced. Now for some negatives. The hotel is a little way from the main hub of Maspalomas which, when you get there (5 euros each way in a taxi) is a lively metropolis with some really nice restaurants and bars. Go to the lighthouse at the front facing the sea and turn right for the upmarket fine dine establishments which are not anything like as expensive as you might think or a left turn will take you to an area of more traditional restaurants. These too offered good value and we didn't have any bad experiences at any of the places. Would highly recommend the Oasis Restaurant on the beach front for nice food and laid back live music into the later hours. Now, back to the Palm Oasis Hotel. There isn't an awful lot you can walk to although the Chinese dead opposite was quite nice and the little Grill Bar just down the road on the left is also worth a try. There is a commercial centre with stuff going on from what we could tell but we couldn't work out how to walk to it and you have to get cross quite a busy road to get to it so we didn't try. The hotel has Wifi but it is quite a poor signal and you can only hook up on one device - quite stressful with 2 kids with iPads and iPods plus mom and dad all battling to use it! You can upgrade the service but it worked out quite expensive. There were a couple of niggles with the room. The plug became stuck in the bath so we couldn't use it for last couple of days. Panic not, there is a shower as well but the jacuzzi bath was a nice treat! The freezer drawer door wouldn't close properly because the freezer had become so frosted up. The sofa bed that the kids were using had seen much better days and led to both our kids having poor nights sleep on a number of the nights we were there. All in all though, this hotel was pretty good and the gardens and pool area were first class. They also offer a free shuttle bus to and from the beach which we took advantage of. Could use a little TLC in the rooms but I would recommend to others.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here from 10th - 17th August. Staff on arrival were very friendly. We walked in to our two bed apartment which was clean, spacious and on the 1st floor so we had a lovely roof terrace with sun beds.
The first day we had breakfast and then went to the pool (Circa 10am). There were no sun beds available although most of them weren't occupied so we changed our minds and drove down to the beach.
The pool bar is fine and does reasonable if not basic food. At 7pm this bar closes and at that point there is no bar on the complex which is open. The bar which opens at 10pm is in a basement and is pretty poor.
Taxi's down to Maspalomas are only 4 Euros and there is a feast of restaurants. Head for the "Faro" (Lighthouse) there are some really good restaurants down there. One restaurant Grand Italia serves some of the best Pasta I have ever eaten. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having stayed here recently i feel the need to share an honest review of this hotel!
Upon arrival the hotel seems nice enough and rooms are really good, the pool is super and the pool bar is good too!, but unfortunately that is where the good things stop, due to the following reasons
1. The staff are generally slow and unhelpful
2. The air con is only availiable during certain months.
3. The drains in my bathroom had a terrible smell.
4. The nightlife is non existent. No drink available from pool bar closing at 4 until the pathetic excuse for a bar in the basement that is always empty opening at 10!!!
5.The food in the restaurant is horrendous and choice very limited, although the pool bar does nice pizza during the day!!
6 . And most importantly the cleaning staff are thieves, i had money go missing during the week from my room, to which i thought i had simply lost, until later in the week when 100 euros was stolen from my bag while my daughter was in the bathroom!, i was so shocked i planted a camera and another 10 euro on the floor beside my bed the following day, and this also went walkies!!. After consulting with the manager of the hotel who is extremely rude and no help at all, he refused to help us in any way even though we had photographic proof the maid took it! (Something she even denied lol).
We left the hotel the following day and i will not look back with any sadness about leaving! The hotel in my opinion should be 2 star and i am away 90% of the year so i do know my hotels and standards that should be reached.
I cannot stress enough how bad the staff are, unhelpful, rude and also untrustworthy, book this hotel if you must but dont say you were not warned!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Oasis

Address: Avda Albert Einstein s/n | Sonnenland, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Oasis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Palm Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Palm Oasis
Palm Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Palm Oasis Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.