We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent But Could Be Superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Oasis

Save Saved
You added Palm Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Oasis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Albert Einstein s/n | Sonnenland, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent But Could Be Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Palm Oasis is a complex of almost 240 units sitting on a ridge in the Sonnenland neighbourhood overlooking Maspalomas and clustered around two attractive swimming pools within the central area. The units are either in one central block or arranged in groups of six in numerous three storey villas, each with two units per level. Many overlook the pools and these are generally the best locations unless you prefer something more peaceful.

The villas are spacious, nicely finished and adequately furnished. Their large bathrooms are nicely done in marble complete with a jet bathtub, which we did not try, and a shower that has the normal shower head plus several other side sprays for maximum wetting. Unfortunately the volume of water produced by the side sprays greatly exceeded our floor drain capacity, creating a bathroom flood when we tried them. Anyone who likes cooking will find that the kitchen cookware is less than adequate.

The units have two TVs with programming in a variety of languages. Incredibly the TV in our bedroom had two less English language channels than the one in the living room. Not sure how this is even possible! Our bedroom had two large single beds pushed together, each fitted with single bed sheet sets creating a barrier which couples may not appreciate.

Daily maid service and a reasonable on-site shop are nice touches. The staff are all very nice and go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable. An enthusiastic activities director works hard to keep the youngsters entertained.

Although air conditioning is advertised, you may not be told until after you have booked that the AC is only active during the hottest summer months. Large windows and a bedroom fan provide an effective ventilation alternative. However our unit was on the ground floor of a villa near a modest external fence. We did not feel secure leaving the windows open at night so the place could have been cooler. These units should have a security bar across key windows!

The two swimming pools, complimented by a hot tub, small water slide and central bar, are gorgeous and the area is very nicely landscaped - with palms of course. If your idea of a good holiday is to sit by a pool and enjoy the sun, then this place would be very hard to beat.

Palm Oasis is located very close to exit number 48 on the island's main north-south motorway and is linked by a couple of small side streets which are difficult to find if you arrive in a rental car. This challenge is made much worse by the resort's virtually non-existent signage. The only sign is in a camouflage colour which blends beautifully with the background in day time and totally disappears at night. It is also located where it can only be seen after you have driven past the main entrance! A well lit sign on Palm Oasis property adjacent to the roundabout near the entrance would prevent first time visitors becoming lost within metres of the property. Taxis and a free bus service to the beach some 3km away are available from near this entrance.

Another major improvement would be the laundry. Although free, three small machines serving almost 1,000 people is totally inadequate. More larger machines would be a vast improvement, even if they were on a user pay basis. Wifi is available in the units and for a modest fee this can be upgraded to broadband. However at peak periods even this becomes overloaded and service is then spotty.

The Palm Oasis is an excellent holiday destination. With a little more attention to detail it could be superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    142
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
114
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just back from a truly memorable week at Palm Oasis,and cannot recommend this resort enough,,ok,, this is not a cheap hotel but value for money it is,,!!the staff are great,especially Oscar at the pool bar,,the pool is literally a palm oasis with rocks etc to sit on and loll in the pool,whirl-pools ,slides for the children,and in-pool activities,,in fact its got the lot.To be honest this is the first time ever my wife wanted to stay around the pool and not hit the beaches!!!which is really saying something when referring to the beach at Maspalomas.The walk along the front of the dunes is justifiable world famous and is about 5 kilometers long so be prepared,,!!! and if your a bit prudish ,,,forget it,,, because there are thousands of naked people,,!!.
Eating ,,,we gave the on site buffet a miss and hit the local restaurants every evening starting with some of the TA recommended. The Chinese opposite the resort is ok,but nothing to write home about,,,on the front we tried La Bodega again recommended here,,but again nothing great,wines were expensive(to me that is ,remember I live in Tenerife where wines are very cheap)next we went to an old favorite that we had found on a previous trip called the La Casa Vieja ,,,( the old house),,make your way back towards Play del Inglese and then take the road up to Fataga,,,,just above San Fernando,,the restaurant is on the left cant be missed.,,now although there is fish on the menu,this is strictly a carnivores paradise,,!!!meat ,meat and more meat,,steaks are awesome,,try the Argentinian chorizo to start,then any steak is great,,but give the pollo corral,,(free range chicken)or as a Spanish friend once translated for me,,,,,run around chicken,,!!!. The wine list is extensive and could be a bit imposing,so I,me going to stick my neck out and recommend a whine to see you though the choosing dilemma,,,,look for the wines called Ribera Del Duero,if it says Joven(young) pronounced choben,as in loch,,ch from the back of the throat and the v as a soft sounding b,,,,,tell the waiter to let it breath a bit and they will be very impressed with your knowledge of Spanish wines!!!!!!!,Saturday nights two guitarists will serenade you with some soft Spanish boleros.
For fish,,make your way back along the autopista to Juan Grande,,go down to the front and find any fish restaurant,and order the fresh fish of the day,with salad and Canarian potatoes,,,you may also want to try the ,,escaldon,,,this is Gofio,,which is a flour peculiar to the canary islands,a darkly roasted brown flour mixed into a sort of savory peas pudding,,eat with mojo sauce,,,again the j is pronounced as ch in loch,,,and again is peculiar to the canary islands,the place we tried had a white wine from Lanzarote called La Geria,this is a Malvasia grape,,now Ive recommended this grape before,,in fact as a rule of thumb you wont go far wrong with a malvasia grape wine from an area in Lanzarote called Yaiza,the grapes are grown in small circles in the black volcanic soil,if your ever in Lanzarote give the area a look over.

Room Tip: D block has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is really nice with friendly and attentive staff and a luxurious feel to the place. The whole place is clean and fresh looking and the staff make you feel at home. We stayed in an appartment which was really spacious and very well equiped and cleaned. Here are a few things to consider.

The hotel complex is on top of a hill and is some what isolated from the main tourist areas of Maspalomas beach and Play del Ingles. It's a good long climb back up if you wanted to walk. Taxi's are available to take you to the two places mentioned and the charges are reasonable at 3 Euros for Maspalomas Beach or 4 Euros for Playa.

There is an option to go half board (breakfast and evening buffet meals). We looked at the evening buffet and decided not to take up this offer. It didn't look that appertising if I am honest. We did try the A la Carte but wasn't impressed with that either. Plenty of people were eating there so it may be that it's down to personal choice. If you choose not to eat at the hotel, there are a couple of places near by (a Chinese and a Grill) or you'll need to go down to the beach to eat and you would have to include the price of a taxi.

The pools in the complex are really nice. Lots of sunbeds and some of them do get booked up early by some folks with their towels, even though they discourage this. There are activities for the children and some for adults during the day. There is a pool bar/restuarant and they have happy hours before and after the lunch period. The beer is a little expensive at Euro 3.40 for 400ml.

There is a shop on the complex that is a little more expensive than the SPAR shop that is just around the corner. There is a local market hall down the hill and to the left. It's about a 20 minute walk and the reception can give you directions. Taxi there is 3 euros. On Wednesday and Saturday other traders come in to sell a range of things from Aloe Vera to t-shirts. Also, on Sunday there is a 2nd hand market (car boot sale) at the Faro2 Shopping Centre. Faro2 centre seems to be on the wane. A lot of shops are closing but there are still a couple of restaurants open.

Recommend visits to Porto Mogan and Porto Rico as well as a trip into the mountains. You can do this by taxi or using the local bus services. There are various groups offering guided tours of the mountains or you can hire a car. Local buses are really good value but the timings are to be taken with a pinch of salt. The hotel also offers a free bus service from Sonneland (where the hotel is) down to Maspalomas Beach every couple of hours from 9:30. Return journeys start at 14:30.

The local beach Las Dunas are renowned for Nudity and for the Gay Scene. It's a really nice walk (about 50mins) between Maspalomas and Playa Del Ingles but be prepared to see lots of naked people. The male gay scene is nearest to Maspalomas and the mixed is the towards the other end. You won't feel out of place walking there - thousands seem to go along for a look, if not to partake in nude sunbathing or even nude walk.

Transfers from the airport take about 20 minutes. The hotel offers a pick up bus service that cost us 30 euros (for two) each way. Normal taxi prices would appear to be 65 euros.

Overall the hotel and area is a great place if you like to rest and tan by the pool, have a quiet holiday and don't mind paying for taxi's or hiring a car to get around. I will certainly go back and will enjoy it more having learned a few of the things mentioned above.

Room Tip: It's very quiet across the whole complex. The appartments are on 3 floors and don't have lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was everything i could ever want in a holiday accomodation and more. The staff were so friendly and helpfull, and the facilities were impecable. If i was ever to return to gran canaria i would stay here and i would recommend this hotel to anyone going.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I would of been happy to pay a lot more for this hotel, the price you pay for what you get is incredible. On arrival we where greater by reception who are polite and smiley, they sorted our room out straight away and took our cases up for us! The room was immaculate, the decor suited the building feeling up to date but with personality and a holiday feeling. Our room for three people was huge, marble bathroom with jet showers, jacuzzi, wicker sun loungers on balcony breakfast table, tv, huge double bed, pull out sofa and lots of storage space. Every morning the cleaners washed up all our pots and gave us fresh towels. All staff extremely polite, always said ola with a genuine warm smile. The highlight of the hotel for me was the pool, it's just beautiful! There's two seperate pools and they feel so tropical and non business like. The pool has a slide, jacuzzi and plenty of sunloungers to soak up the hot rays! The hotel is near shops and restaurants and a free bus picks you up to take you to the beach, there is even a free bus that takes you to pueto rico for the Sagittarius cruise boat (HIGHLY RECOMMENED) the hotel is away from noise and nightlife but not too far so it feels like a mission to get to. The view is incredible, and there is a shop on sight for food and sun cream ect. The restaurant serves amazing food which I was surprised at, nicer than most restaurants! There is always taxis outside if you ever need to get somewhere and cost peanuts to get around!
As an added bonus the hotel doesn't feel too much of anything, there's a goods tire of families, couples, friends and others there, and its not chaotic, kids have a seperate pool area to enjoy. The hotel comes with a gym, tennis court and you can join in pretty much all things for free (even if your not all inclusive) the best part which is usually so stressful was check out. The staff let us check our luggage into another room and gave us a new hotel room to get changed showered and ready in, with fresh towels and cups of tea!
I really couldn't recommend this hotel more, it's one of the best places I've ever stayed and if you are about to go there be prepared to be surprised!
Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and cosy rooms with big balconies. Excellent spaces with amazing pools, jacuzzi and palm trees. The pool bar is very nice. Nice staff and cleaning service. Very quiet sleeping. Nice to rest and enjoy the sun by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've just spent a week here and had a brilliant time. This was my fourth visit and I've found the standards are still as high as they were four years ago! The pool area was always clean and so was the room. The location was ideal for me as we had a car, however if you didn't you may struggle a bit more as is a little way out. However there is a taxi rank just next to the hotel which is relatively cheap. The shop on site has very friendly staff, however we found the spar round the corner to be far cheaper and cheaper than places in town. The restaurants in maspalomas are definitely more expensive however they are more upmarket with many extremely posh hotels behind them. Playa del ingles promenade had a great holiday atmosphere, the restaurant gorro blanco is definitely worth a visit with fantastic food, staff, prices and atmosphere. A taxi here is slightly more expensive but still is very cheap in comparison to at home, being four or five euro to get to playa del ingles. We went to holiday world one night and that was a laugh and good if you have young children. The market is on on Wednesdays and Saturdays and is well worth a visit for a bargain! I have really enjoyed my stays here and am looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Oasis

Address: Avda Albert Einstein s/n | Sonnenland, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Oasis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Palm Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Palm Oasis
Palm Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Palm Oasis Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;