We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful Hotel in a Quiet Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Oasis

Save Saved
You added Palm Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Oasis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Albert Einstein s/n | Sonnenland, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beatiful Hotel in a Quiet Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is really nice with friendly and attentive staff and a luxurious feel to the place. The whole place is clean and fresh looking and the staff make you feel at home. We stayed in an appartment which was really spacious and very well equiped and cleaned. Here are a few things to consider.

The hotel complex is on top of a hill and is some what isolated from the main tourist areas of Maspalomas beach and Play del Ingles. It's a good long climb back up if you wanted to walk. Taxi's are available to take you to the two places mentioned and the charges are reasonable at 3 Euros for Maspalomas Beach or 4 Euros for Playa.

There is an option to go half board (breakfast and evening buffet meals). We looked at the evening buffet and decided not to take up this offer. It didn't look that appertising if I am honest. We did try the A la Carte but wasn't impressed with that either. Plenty of people were eating there so it may be that it's down to personal choice. If you choose not to eat at the hotel, there are a couple of places near by (a Chinese and a Grill) or you'll need to go down to the beach to eat and you would have to include the price of a taxi.

The pools in the complex are really nice. Lots of sunbeds and some of them do get booked up early by some folks with their towels, even though they discourage this. There are activities for the children and some for adults during the day. There is a pool bar/restuarant and they have happy hours before and after the lunch period. The beer is a little expensive at Euro 3.40 for 400ml.

There is a shop on the complex that is a little more expensive than the SPAR shop that is just around the corner. There is a local market hall down the hill and to the left. It's about a 20 minute walk and the reception can give you directions. Taxi there is 3 euros. On Wednesday and Saturday other traders come in to sell a range of things from Aloe Vera to t-shirts. Also, on Sunday there is a 2nd hand market (car boot sale) at the Faro2 Shopping Centre. Faro2 centre seems to be on the wane. A lot of shops are closing but there are still a couple of restaurants open.

Recommend visits to Porto Mogan and Porto Rico as well as a trip into the mountains. You can do this by taxi or using the local bus services. There are various groups offering guided tours of the mountains or you can hire a car. Local buses are really good value but the timings are to be taken with a pinch of salt. The hotel also offers a free bus service from Sonneland (where the hotel is) down to Maspalomas Beach every couple of hours from 9:30. Return journeys start at 14:30.

The local beach Las Dunas are renowned for Nudity and for the Gay Scene. It's a really nice walk (about 50mins) between Maspalomas and Playa Del Ingles but be prepared to see lots of naked people. The male gay scene is nearest to Maspalomas and the mixed is the towards the other end. You won't feel out of place walking there - thousands seem to go along for a look, if not to partake in nude sunbathing or even nude walk.

Transfers from the airport take about 20 minutes. The hotel offers a pick up bus service that cost us 30 euros (for two) each way. Normal taxi prices would appear to be 65 euros.

Overall the hotel and area is a great place if you like to rest and tan by the pool, have a quiet holiday and don't mind paying for taxi's or hiring a car to get around. I will certainly go back and will enjoy it more having learned a few of the things mentioned above.

Room Tip: It's very quiet across the whole complex. The appartments are on 3 floors and don't have lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    139
    45
    7
    1
See reviews for
112
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was everything i could ever want in a holiday accomodation and more. The staff were so friendly and helpfull, and the facilities were impecable. If i was ever to return to gran canaria i would stay here and i would recommend this hotel to anyone going.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I would of been happy to pay a lot more for this hotel, the price you pay for what you get is incredible. On arrival we where greater by reception who are polite and smiley, they sorted our room out straight away and took our cases up for us! The room was immaculate, the decor suited the building feeling up to date but with personality and a holiday feeling. Our room for three people was huge, marble bathroom with jet showers, jacuzzi, wicker sun loungers on balcony breakfast table, tv, huge double bed, pull out sofa and lots of storage space. Every morning the cleaners washed up all our pots and gave us fresh towels. All staff extremely polite, always said ola with a genuine warm smile. The highlight of the hotel for me was the pool, it's just beautiful! There's two seperate pools and they feel so tropical and non business like. The pool has a slide, jacuzzi and plenty of sunloungers to soak up the hot rays! The hotel is near shops and restaurants and a free bus picks you up to take you to the beach, there is even a free bus that takes you to pueto rico for the Sagittarius cruise boat (HIGHLY RECOMMENED) the hotel is away from noise and nightlife but not too far so it feels like a mission to get to. The view is incredible, and there is a shop on sight for food and sun cream ect. The restaurant serves amazing food which I was surprised at, nicer than most restaurants! There is always taxis outside if you ever need to get somewhere and cost peanuts to get around!
As an added bonus the hotel doesn't feel too much of anything, there's a goods tire of families, couples, friends and others there, and its not chaotic, kids have a seperate pool area to enjoy. The hotel comes with a gym, tennis court and you can join in pretty much all things for free (even if your not all inclusive) the best part which is usually so stressful was check out. The staff let us check our luggage into another room and gave us a new hotel room to get changed showered and ready in, with fresh towels and cups of tea!
I really couldn't recommend this hotel more, it's one of the best places I've ever stayed and if you are about to go there be prepared to be surprised!
Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and cosy rooms with big balconies. Excellent spaces with amazing pools, jacuzzi and palm trees. The pool bar is very nice. Nice staff and cleaning service. Very quiet sleeping. Nice to rest and enjoy the sun by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've just spent a week here and had a brilliant time. This was my fourth visit and I've found the standards are still as high as they were four years ago! The pool area was always clean and so was the room. The location was ideal for me as we had a car, however if you didn't you may struggle a bit more as is a little way out. However there is a taxi rank just next to the hotel which is relatively cheap. The shop on site has very friendly staff, however we found the spar round the corner to be far cheaper and cheaper than places in town. The restaurants in maspalomas are definitely more expensive however they are more upmarket with many extremely posh hotels behind them. Playa del ingles promenade had a great holiday atmosphere, the restaurant gorro blanco is definitely worth a visit with fantastic food, staff, prices and atmosphere. A taxi here is slightly more expensive but still is very cheap in comparison to at home, being four or five euro to get to playa del ingles. We went to holiday world one night and that was a laugh and good if you have young children. The market is on on Wednesdays and Saturdays and is well worth a visit for a bargain! I have really enjoyed my stays here and am looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Excellent all around. Clean, reasonably priced and nice pool and gardens. Service also very good and friendly.
Can't fault it!!
Would definitely come back as many of the people we have met here seem to come back year after year

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli Wales united kindom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our friends invited us to join them at Palm Oasis this summer following my husbands long period of illness. We were not disappointed. The layout is spacious, the gardens pretty and rooms are fully equipped and have a large balcony with sunbeds. The pool area is not overcrowded, but on weekends, becomes quite busy with `locals` which meant securing a sunbed needed an earlier morning rise. On the whole however, we had a very enjoyable stay and have arrived home fully recharged! Do hire a car and see the island: a trip to puerto mogan is essential. Also, do visit ricky`s cabaret bar in the yumbo centre to see their show at 11.30.pm. well worth it! If you want a calming location but with the option of easy access to nightlife and fun then this place is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Oasis

Address: Avda Albert Einstein s/n | Sonnenland, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Oasis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palm Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Palm Oasis
Palm Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Palm Oasis Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.