We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time......shame about the freezing pool!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Touroperador Tjaereborg, 6 | Urbanización Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Had a great time......shame about the freezing pool!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from two weeks at the Jardin Dorado and we had a lovely time.

Food: most days the food was really good - I'm quite fussy and always found something to eat from salads to pasta dishes, curries, lots of meats, pizza and chips, there was always plenty of choice although sometimes it was not very hot but there is a microwave in the corner which you can use.

Staff: we found the staff very friendly but we have stayed here before and were recognised, Alfredo was always friendly with us and made an effort with our shy daughter!
I think if you are friendly to the staff they are friendly back, they are very overworked and a smile goes a long way!

Rooms: very clean and spacious, they have everything you need. Ours did not have a kitchenette area apart from a small fridge but I believe some of the rooms do.
The beds are two single pushed together and to be honest they are a bit hard and not very comfortable.
The room was cleaned every day and we had clean towels almost every day
The bathroom is a good size with bath and shower, there is also a hair dryer so no need to take one.

There is not much entertainment at this hotel I think there was a singer once or twice but this suited us, with a six year old we did not want noisy nights,

The location for us was good, it's a very quiet area but there are buses and taxis if you want to go anywhere and it's not far to walk to holiday world or the market or shopping centres.

The pool is lovely but very very cold, one small area is supposed to be heated but it was hardly noticeable so not good really, for us this was the only bad point to the whole holiday and having now been twice we probably won't be going again........unless they heat the pool!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    186
    110
    52
    47
See reviews for
160
192
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A very nice break in the sun and the accommodation was ok. Not 4 star as previously mentioned probably 3star
Not a bad location with a free bus service to Maspalomas and Ingles, taxis cheap.
Rooms ok, the big problem was with some of the staff in the restaurant and bar, some were very poor and in some cases rude...watch out for a very rude waitress called Fani she seemed intent on making peoples life a misery !!
The food was ok, nothing special and you could never find a warm plate so the food went cold very quickly
Nasty little trick with the bands at the end of the holiday, they are cut off at 12.00 noon on the last day so you have to pay from that point on, in our case 4 hours.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just come back from gran canaria. The weather was lovely, a lovely break from the uk weather.
The hotel we stayed in was the jardin dorado, we stayed purely because it was the cheapest all inclusive we could find.
It is a little further out than we would of liked but there is free buses to centre of maspolomas, & another free bus into playa del ingels.
The food was the best we have experienced at that level of hotel.
The rooms were cleaned to a high level every day, & the cleaning staff were very friendly.
The size of the room for our family of four was fine.
The only down side we had was the staff in the restaurant & bar ( not the chefs or kitchen staff, they were helpful ).
I dont know why they were like they were, but wow, awful. i.e On our first day my husband & two kids wanted an ice cream, so i took my 10 eruo's to the bar (we were all inclusive but you know how things are now, that's fine no problem, that i had to pay ). The waiter took my money & told me all cash transactions go through reception (unless you wanted it on you room) . Come back later for my change. I went after my evening meal ( he had gone off shift at four that afternoon). I was then told i was to late to collect my change, it had gone in the tip jar. Wow the red mist came down, i must admit, i told the bartender (sebastion) that ,that was theft, I wanted my money now, he told me tough. I weighed up he pro's & con's of complaining to reception & decided against, i thought it would put a downer on our holiday.
All inclusive guests were treated like second class citizens. They never wanted to serve you at the bar, you were left standing there for long periods of time. There was no friendly banter what so ever, it was quiet frosty on occasions. Replace all waiting on & bar staff & your hotel would be lovely. Dont replace them you will lose custom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Arriving at the suite jardin darodo expecting a 4 star accomadtion, with a gym, spa and sauna, I have never been so disappointed. We were greated at reception with a not so warm welcome. The whole complex needs a serious update, when it says gym it's a shed with no working equipment, the spa was tiny and dirty. the waiting staff were so miserable, never made you feel welcome. We went all inclusive and the hot food was awful, stick to salad. The room was clean, but the bathroom smelt of smelly drains, don't expect to sleep during your holday as the beds are like camp beds, no such thing as a double bed. The card entry to our bunglow never worked we changed the card 4 times and still didn't work properly, sometimes we were stood outside trying for about 5 minutes to access the room, no staff were interested in helping. From talking to other holiday makers in the complex i hear others were also having problems with facilities. Over all this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel over all a nice place to stay, very relaxed and chilled ambience. Rooms clean and airey with small living area and kitchen facilities, even with all inclusive deal. At Meal times there is plenty choice, but food warmer the earlier you eat, had to wait for a table most nights to be cleared from previous diners. The staff were hard working and multi tasking, think they need more training in giving a good impression and to be more customer focused,but a few we're very good at there job. There should have been more happening on the evening as there are no immediate bars or shops so one guitarist for one night is not enough! It's a 3 euro minimum taxi to anywhere, it just felt isolating at times. Weather mainly sunny and warm,although there were some sand storms the first few days.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a bit worried about going. But when we did get there I can not fault it. Food was good, service was good and cant really complain about pool temperature (its heated by the sun, only other way is by getting staff to top it up with a kettle!!) Could do with a little more for the kids to do, and only other niggle is bands being taken off you at 12 but we only had 2 hours till we left.

Room Tip: pool sde rooms get less wind and more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Enjoyed our week at Jardin Dorado. The complex is located at a distance from all the buzz of both Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas although a free bus service does provide a limited daily service to and from both places. Accomodation is spartan but adequate and the beds "firm". Contrary to a number of earlier reviews we found the staff helpful and friendly - particular mention of Adolfo. Meals are buffet style and unless you stick to the cold items suffer from a common buffet problem - keeping the hot food hot. Most hot dishes were "warm" at most at start and often "cold" by the time you had finished eating. This could be helped if "warm" plates had been available - only cold plates provided. Having said that there was a good selection available at both Breakfast and Dinner - we were "Half Board". The daily specials were often a good bet as they were usually served freshly cooked on a heated ring.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Address: Avda Touroperador Tjaereborg, 6 | Urbanización Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Dorado
Jardin Dorado Hotel
Bungalows Jardin Dorado
Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.