We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Touroperador Tjaereborg, 6 | Urbanización Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have rated this as Very Good, because TripAdviser does not give a "Good" option - had they done so, then I would have used "Good".

Two of us spent an enjoyable holiday here. The hotel is unusual insofar as it is designed in a 3 tier circle, the outer tier being the quietest- it is set in extensive,well-kept gardens and we had a room overlooking the golf course- very pleasant and lots of laughs at the "golfers". Rooms are basic but very clean and, if you are satisfied with peace and quiet, then this is the place for you. Although, advertised as Maspalomos, the complex is, actually, a couple of miles outside- the walk into Maspalomas takes around 20 minutes - care has to be taken with pavements as they are uneven and step high up from the road - not good for elderly or infirm.However, there is a bus that will take you to and from - timetables available from the hotel reception.

Food is fine, but rather bland - breakfasts rather predictable- bar-b-que night was good, though,and the salads are great. Whilst there is a restaurant indoors, there is no bar- drinks are served from what is really a pool bar. We opted for All Inclusive and feel this is the best value- eating out would mean a car//bus ride or a longish walk every time.

I feel that 4 star is a little high, a good 3 star is, perhaps, more realistic. I would expect rather more both from the point of view of service and facilities, although the holiday was very pleasant at that time of year.

Room Tip: Outer tier- backing onto golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    192
    115
    53
    48
See reviews for
166
199
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I are just back from 7 days all inclusive at Jardin Dorado. On arrival first impressions were very good as visually it is a lovely complex. However as the week went on we really started to resent a few things
1) the rudeness of the staff. 2 or 3 of the bar/restaurant staff were very rude and just plain ignored you at times as well as banging down drinks
2) the pools were all freezing. One was heated and was marginaly warmer (but not by much) and they were in need of a good clean
3) The meals were very much a case of, they made so much and when it was gone it was finished. You then had your choice of what was left over. My girlfriend was a veggie so her choices were really limited as almost everything on offer had some kind of meat in it
4) On the day of departure you had to be out of the room by 12 noon (although our card locked us out at 11.30am). After we were given a further 30 minutes to get our bags we were then summoned to the reception to have our all inclusive wrist bands cut off by the receptionist. We were not due to leave to 5.20 pm so we never got a chance to have lunch. Given we had not arrived until 9.00pm on our arrival day we assumed it would be all inclusive until we actually left 7 days later. Clearly not!

This spoiled what was a lovely week for us. To be fair the little bungalows were lovely and they are cleaned daily and the weather was fab. There are some good walks around the area and the dunes are worth a trip. You also have access to a free bus(when wearing the wrist band) and taxis are cheap and plentiful. I would warn you that there are no money changing facilities on site or nearby so go with cash.

On leaving we asked if they had a feedback form we could complete as i am a great believer in giving constructive feedback where possible. However we were told they don't have such a thing
I would agree with other comments about it being quiet but if that's what you are looking for its ideal. If you want night live and drunks staggering in at all hours go some where else although the few young kids on site struggled to stay occupied particularly with he pool being so cold

In summary - nice place but..... they don't have much concept of the an excellent customer experience. I would go back to the area again but not stay there.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room and it was excellent for slipping in and out of
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day all inclusive stay here. The four of us had two, lovely, spacious rooms which were in the centre circle of small bungalows around the elegant pool and fountain. It is arranged in three circles of dwellings with the pool set in the middle of it all. The complex is well kept with palm trees, grass areas and hedges of flowering hibiscus and the overall first impression is very good. The restaurant is nice and clean with buffet style food, with plenty of choice, although lots of the food is not very hot unless you time it right, when the trays are being topped up.
There is only the one bar and it is open air, beside the pool. This has tables and chairs set up beside it, but it was too cold to sit and relax after emerging from the warmth of the restaurant, which closed at 9p.m, so most folks headed back to their rooms. None of us had ever stayed at a hotel without an inside bar, so this came as a surprise.
The staff were expected to multi task to such a degree that it was often a ten minute wait at an unattended bar whilst they were clearing the restaurant tables etc. At times, you did feel ignored to some degree; due to a lack of staff trying to do too many tasks. The drinks were good quality and large measures but only free until 11p.m.
Beware though, as on your last day, they want the all inclusive band off your wrist at 12 noon!!, So you get half a day less, all inclusive, than you have paid for, which is so petty and leaves you feeling upset and short changed. (never had this at any other "all inclusive" holiday)
There was entertainment on the Saturday night by way of a solo guitar/singer which was very bland. There are no other restaurants or nightlife in the immediate area unless you jump in a cab into Playa del Ingles which costs 5 euros each way. (30 min walk)
The swimming pool is absolutely freezing, however a small quadrant of it is said to be heated!! The temperature in this bit was marginally warmer than hyperthermic. We did brave it once in the 10 days but not for long. Overall we had a very relaxing and peaceful experience. It is a good location if you are into golf or tennis.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 117 and 118 they had an internal dividing door which is great for large families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, Staffs
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Returned yesterday from this hotel after a week of lovely sunshine.The hotel is absolutely immaculately kept, the gardens beautiful and the bungalows spacious with large bathrooms and comfortable beds.We opted for the all inclusive option which we found to be good value.The food was plentiful with lots of fresh salads and fruit.I found the cooked choices to be rather unappetizing being mostly pale warm rather than hot,but most people were quite happy with it. The beer and wine were good and local spirits acceptable. I notice a few previous reviews mention difficulty in getting drink service but we did not find this ..Indeed the bar staff were pleasant and obliging especially Bruno _ ask him to make you one of his special cocktails! I agree with some of the less complimentary comments but on the whole our experience was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the front circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The rooms are basic but clean, nice setting and looks the part. The problem with this resort is that you expect 4 star but really it is at the most 2.5. There is no inside bar so if you are all inclusive and want to have a couple of drinks after dinner it`s all outside, round the pool bar with no stools. OK if it is high season no problem, but my wife and i have just returned from a weeks holiday on 13 Jan and could not take advantage of what we paid for due to the dip in temperature at night. On average there were only 5 people sitting around the bar all well covered up. The food when available was very buffet style, not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Don`t even think about al a carte, it is a snack menu. The staff must be under a lot of stress because i have never been to a resort in 30 years and been treated so bad. We were all inclusive and our flight was at 10pm on our return, we had to pay 30 euro`s for lunch and at 12 noon we had our bands cut off and were told if we wanted anything else there would be a charge, this included a drink of water and if you want to extend your room or have changing facilities, no chance. I could go on, i have been very fortunate to holiday many times with my wife and family and appreciate that not everything is perfect. I have never left a review before but many of us work very hard and need a break. The resort was half empty, i shudder to think what it would be like if full. Don`t forget to take good walking shoes, beach is a good 45 minutes away, supermarket 20 minutes over waste land. Not worth the money!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'd probably give it a 3.5 but saying a 4 is a little too high.
I had a nice week here, but that was more down to the weather and company than the resort.
The rooms are nice, spacious, with a small lounge area, and an outside patio area. Compared to some of the resorts there was a lot more space around the resort and between what I can only call small bungalows. They were clean, with decent furniture, but no luxuries, just a tv, fridge and hairdryer.

There were 3 pools, all joined, outside. They said one was heated but you wouldn't have known. Surely the winter months are times to heat the pools, but no, and so maybe one or two people were brave enough to take a dip each day, sadly not more.
The food was ok, some days better than others. As someone else has mentioned you should get in early to get the best choice. Steaks, fish and other meats were cooked fresh, whilst they lasted. A fairly good range of drinks were also included in the AI package. If you're only half board they're charging 15euros for the buffet.

The location was fine for what we wanted... you could walk to beaches but they're not really close. There are golf courses v nearby, and then there's a free bus which will take you into Maspalomas or Playa de Ingles but the times were quite restricting. Taxis pretty cheap though.
It wasn't pretty outside the front gates, another resort opposite with an advert for tennis courts, we never discovered what else was there. Then a lot of land was derelict and looking fairly shabby, as if ready to be built on.

The staff didn't seem to enjoy being there... Bruno and one or two others were friendly, but a smile would've gone a long way. It often took a while to get a drink at the bar, so we'd often get more than one at a time.

And if you're AI, you'll have to check out by midday and that's when your meals run out. An average menu is served then in the restaurant.
Oh and there is a hot tub and sauna... but there's no sign or information about it so it was only noticed the day before we came home. Communication a little lacking.

All in all we had a good break, but there are things that can be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in the beginning of July '12 (lovely and hot), and considering we hadn't looked much into this place I can definitely say we were pleasantly surprised! Upon arrival, the sight of the grounds was enough to make me fall in love instantly - the adorable bungalows and paved pathways surrounded by gorgeous flowers and trees - I knew we were never going to want to leave. Our bungalow was lovely, well kept and clean with a great amount of space - although having to push two single beds together to make a double was a thumbs down! The pool is especially lovely and rarely was over-crowded due to being so big. The overall vibe was relaxing and everyone, not just staff, were friendly. I would recommend this holiday any day for people who want a great holiday on a little(ish) budget! And for only a few pounds more I would recommend getting the all-inclusive wristband which allows you to eat and drink til your heart's content!

Room Tip: Bungalows in the third row back are more secluded and quieter when the poolside gets louder at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Address: Avda Touroperador Tjaereborg, 6 | Urbanización Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Dorado
Jardin Dorado Hotel
Bungalows Jardin Dorado
Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.