We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado to your Saves list
Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Touroperador Tjaereborg, 6 | Urbanización Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Maspalomas
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very basic and pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'd probably give it a 3.5 but saying a 4 is a little too high.
I had a nice week here, but that was more down to the weather and company than the resort.
The rooms are nice, spacious, with a small lounge area, and an outside patio area. Compared to some of the resorts there was a lot more space around the resort and between what I can only call small bungalows. They were clean, with decent furniture, but no luxuries, just a tv, fridge and hairdryer.

There were 3 pools, all joined, outside. They said one was heated but you wouldn't have known. Surely the winter months are times to heat the pools, but no, and so maybe one or two people were brave enough to take a dip each day, sadly not more.
The food was ok, some days better than others. As someone else has mentioned you should get in early to get the best choice. Steaks, fish and other meats were cooked fresh, whilst they lasted. A fairly good range of drinks were also included in the AI package. If you're only half board they're charging 15euros for the buffet.

The location was fine for what we wanted... you could walk to beaches but they're not really close. There are golf courses v nearby, and then there's a free bus which will take you into Maspalomas or Playa de Ingles but the times were quite restricting. Taxis pretty cheap though.
It wasn't pretty outside the front gates, another resort opposite with an advert for tennis courts, we never discovered what else was there. Then a lot of land was derelict and looking fairly shabby, as if ready to be built on.

The staff didn't seem to enjoy being there... Bruno and one or two others were friendly, but a smile would've gone a long way. It often took a while to get a drink at the bar, so we'd often get more than one at a time.

And if you're AI, you'll have to check out by midday and that's when your meals run out. An average menu is served then in the restaurant.
Oh and there is a hot tub and sauna... but there's no sign or information about it so it was only noticed the day before we came home. Communication a little lacking.

All in all we had a good break, but there are things that can be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    200
    119
    57
    50
See reviews for
176
213
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in the beginning of July '12 (lovely and hot), and considering we hadn't looked much into this place I can definitely say we were pleasantly surprised! Upon arrival, the sight of the grounds was enough to make me fall in love instantly - the adorable bungalows and paved pathways surrounded by gorgeous flowers and trees - I knew we were never going to want to leave. Our bungalow was lovely, well kept and clean with a great amount of space - although having to push two single beds together to make a double was a thumbs down! The pool is especially lovely and rarely was over-crowded due to being so big. The overall vibe was relaxing and everyone, not just staff, were friendly. I would recommend this holiday any day for people who want a great holiday on a little(ish) budget! And for only a few pounds more I would recommend getting the all-inclusive wristband which allows you to eat and drink til your heart's content!

Room Tip: Bungalows in the third row back are more secluded and quieter when the poolside gets louder at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jokela, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing time away from the din of Playa del Ingles, book a bungalow here ans remember to choose All Inclusive (because of very limited restaurants in the area, though you can get groceries and cook for yourself if you prefer). This suite hotel is in a secluded area of the Campo International area of Maspalomas. That is a plus if you're looking for peace and quiet. If you want activities, better look for something more central.

The hotel does have bus service to both Maspalomas beach and central Playa del Ingles, although the times they run are not all that extensive. At night you need to take a taxi if you plan to go that far. In walking distance there are some shops (we went to C.C. Faro 2 for groceries, about 15 minutes out) but not too much. Also about 15 minutes to the Mirador de Golf cafe and tourist info, for a highly recommended scenic view especially at sunset.

Rooms okay and clean, shower okay, only complaint was the mattresses and pillow are very hard. If that kind of setting disturbs you, bring a pillow of your own or get another hotel. I slept on the couch actually the rest of the week.

Food is very good for a hotel this level. In the high season it must get very crowded though (the waiters were a little overwhelmed at some busy times even in January). Coffee not very good, but you get used to it ;)

All Inclusive drinks are okay, but they do come out of a machine. The staff is generally average, with some impolite lugs (Sebastian?) and some super friendly and polite (Bruno!). In general, the level of english is not very good, but you can ask them anything and they will at least try and help you despite the language difficulties. They were a little understaffed at least in January, so you may have to wait for your drink for a while. However, if a few minutes ruins your holiday, I think you're approaching your holiday in a wrong way...

Pool looks nice, but is freezing. The smaller end bits are warm and nice (one for kids, one for adults). The gym is just for show, everything in there is broken (they should just close it up and throw everything away, really). The sauna is pretty nice, if they would fix the seats. You can get a pretty decent sweat going even as it is.

That's about it. No activies except a few games for 1€ coins. If you're looking for peace and quiet, good food and drinks, and sun, this is your place. Mind the hard beds though! And do not let the occasional rude staff bother you. The others are more friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely, clean and well maintained bungalows beside the Maspalomas golf course, with well maintained grounds centered around 3 adjoining swimming pools, reception and restaurant. Great choice of food in the restaurant, we were there for the New Year Gala dinner and it was fantastic. There's something for every food taste and they will cook some things to order, eg steak night, bbq, fresh fish. The room itself was very comfy, although there were no double beds available in any rooms (we asked) and one of the mattresses was past its best. The hotel lays on regular free bus transfers to Maspalomas and Playa Del Ingles (Yumbo & Cita shopping centres) otherwise it's about a 40 minute stroll to either. I disagree with many of the negative reviews posted here. I think it's a very nice place

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the rooms were clean and kept so,clean towels daily,,,,,,the food was plenty as long as you didnt leave it to late(when its gone its gone) unfortunately it wasnt very warm as only light bulbs to heated ,,,the staff appeared to be dragging themselves through the day,smiling rarely and at times quite rude,,,,,,little or nothing for the kids to amuse themselves other than swimming in a unheated pool ,,,,,,great for the old or the childless unfortunately we were neither.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We wanted a nice relaxing time away rooms were very clean and clean towels every day.The staff were very friendly and on news eve they whent all out with the food and drink for the gala dinner.the only down side was the pool was so cold so i never swam all week We like a cup of tea when we get up in the morrning so know kettle so i asked for one and had one in 15m
great place to stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here from December 21st to 28th. Having read the reviews we were not bothered by the lack of entertainment as we just wanted a quiet break. Rooms were spotlessly clean and towels changed every day.
The pool is not heated so was too cold to use. The resort was not full (about 50%, I'd estimate) so getting sunbeds / mattress was not an issue. I can't really add anything to what's been said. The food was repetitive, so we went out twice during the week. It's not Jail !
They charge for internet in the rooms, but it's free in reception. They charge €10 for pool towels, but you get this back at the end of the stay, and there's a small charge for the safe.
The staff work very hard, but I believe there's a policy of slowing down the service to limit the amount of alcohol you get (For example, if a paying guest pays in cash, they have to go to reception to get change - they will not serve people waiting and then get the change)
There is a really small supermarket in the Las Vegas golf resort opposite. Just buzz at the gate to get in.
I would probably stay here again but would not recommend it if you would get bored with no entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.7 mi away
THe Koala Garden Suites
THe Koala Garden Suites
#39 of 66 in Maspalomas
3.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#22 of 66 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#12 of 66 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#19 of 66 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#25 of 136 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Address: Avda Touroperador Tjaereborg, 6 | Urbanización Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Dorado
Jardin Dorado Hotel
Bungalows Jardin Dorado
Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.