We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunas Maspalomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunas Maspalomas to your Saves list
Dunas Maspalomas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Airmarin s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caersws, Powys, Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Dunas Maspalomas and was pleasantly surprised.

We had a 3 bed bungalow with loads of room, however, no air conditioning was a downfall.

The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of quality food to choose from.

There are some very negative comments on this complex, take no notice of them and go there.

I would go on holiday to Dunas Maspalomas again only with air conditioning.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a bungalow with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations at Dunas Maspalomas, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our Dunas Maspalomas Bungalows and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards
Lisa Luppi
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    185
    70
    23
    15
See reviews for
265
125
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at Dunas Bungalows Maspalomas. The hotel complex was clean tidy and well organised. Our bungalow was equally very clean, spacious with all amenities you need. As I did ... you can hire an air-con unit for 60 euros (20 deposit) and this was delivered on the day of arrival, or a large fan for 15 euros ( 10 deposit ). The pools are heated, but in cooler months only and there are lots of sunbeds available near all thier pools. The best thing was the resturant and the food. Excellent choices varied every day, although pork is used a great deal. Try all food off the griddle especially the Steak on Saturday evening, absolutely amazing, and don't be shy to ask the chef to cook your meat again if you like well done ! If any food is running short just go and find something else and return as the chefs will replenish and keep repenishing all through service. And if you find any of your food not hot there is a microwave near the drinks dispensers. I was very suprised and pleased that any negative comments before on trip advisor were just rubbish,, the bungalows resturant was first class with a massive choice of food, you will NOT go hungry and thoroughly enjoy you dining experience at Dunas. Finally a few praises to the Staff who were ALL polite and courteous with barman Luis the TOP service provider and the waiter's work so hard under Paco's cool calm demeanor.
I have no hesitation recomending this hotel to anyone families especially, English is generally spoken by the reception staff and most of the other staff too. The info sheet is a little brief and small writing so maybe that could be improved and beware of the pools at weekends as local residents flock in so get your sunbeds early to avoid disappointment. One last thing, many thanks to SUNMASTER.co.uk for arranging my holiday, everything seamless i would really recoomend you book your hoilday with them online !

Room Tip: If you hire an air-con unit as for an extension lead !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations at Dunas Maspalomas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Dunas Maspalomas Resort for your most recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor.

It has been a pleasure to read that you spent wonderful days here and that you have been very pleased with the food, facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

We forward your praise to the staff and are sure it will be a big motivation for them to go on doing their utmost to satisfy every client.

Once again we wish to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dunas Maspalomas.

Best regards,

Lisa Luppi
Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Wife and our two children aged six and four have just returned from two weeks at The Dunas Bungalows (3rd - 17th August.) I was amazed at how well maintained the whole complex was. We had a one bedroom bungalow just down from the main pool area. The room was cleaned and beds made on a daily basis apart from on a Sunday. There is no air conditioning but during our stay there was a slight breeze which kept you nice and cool and to be honest we just opened a window at night and it was fine.The grounds staff seemed to be constantly pruning bushes, trimming boarders etc.. There are six pools with one salt water pool (tip: avoid the main pool and find one of the quieter ones around the resort) I'm not sure about the review mentioning that they were too warm (come on seriously!!!) The food quality is excellent and although it is catered towards the french we found no problems. There were 'themed' nights such as Mexican,Chinese. Our kids did survive on chips and bread some nights but there were nights when fish fingers and chicken nuggets were on the menu and if your kids eat pasta then you will have no problems. The cake and ice-cream selection was excellent! Loads of salads. San Miguel on draft (help yourself) plus wine. Plenty of soft drinks for the kids. The pool bar serves drinks during the day and snacks if you don't want a full lunch.

If you have booked into the Bungalows and don't want to join in with the 'heavily catering towards the french' evening entertainment then you can walk over to the Dunas Suites (about three minute walk) and watch the Animation Team (mini disco etc...) Your all-inclusive bracelet doesn't cover this side so remember to take a couple of drinks with you.The Animation team are very hardworking and there is always something going on during the day for kids or for adults alike. The evening entertainment is a bit tongue-in-cheek at times although it's done with such enthusiasm it's hard not to join in. Zolo and his team kept us entertained and we loved the end of night dance (plus the addition of Gangham Style for the older kids!!)

We went on two trips whilst on holiday; The Pirate Ship cruise and the Aqua Park (tip: look out for people handing vouchers out at the airport when you land giving you discounts off entry) We booked the pirate ship via our rep.....eventually (See complaints below) but made our own way to the aqua park (68 euro after discount for family of four and 8 euro each way in a taxi) The pirate ship was a real laugh and the crew 'ham it up' big time. A really fun three hours.

Unfortunately, after meeting our rep at the welcome meeting she was non-existent for the rest of the holiday. We eventually called the helpline to book the pirate cruise and found out you could only book via your rep. Needless to say she was dispatched to the hotel almost immediately to sort matters out so well done First Choice helpline!!

All-in-all we had a great time. Our three main complaints were the fact that the all-inclusive bracelet didn't cover drinks in the suites part of the resort (but you can carry your own over) the rep and the fact you had to pay to play tennis (only 7 euros) but surely all-inclusive means the sports too?

Chris, Allison, Harrison & Sam x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Maspalomas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your open and kind words. We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays. We note your complaints and we will try to improve the failures.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at Dunas Maspalomas Bungalows.

Kind regards
Hilke Hockmann
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Dunas Villa and Suites, all inclusive. The holiday was a huge success with every member of the family having a fabulous time. The accommodation was clean and well kept, the pools were inviting and all the hotel staff were extremely courteous and friendly.

The Animation Team however should be given a special mention, as they were simply outstanding. From the moment their 'Good Morning' song was shared across the pool to the moment they completed their high energy evening entertainment they had smiles on their faces. They had just the right balance between encouraging you to take part in events and recognising you just wanted to 'chill'. Our family all agreed they were the best Animation Team we had ever experienced in 5 years of visiting all inclusive hotels. Congratulations to Zolo, Adeline, Boy, Esther and all the others who made our trip so very enjoyable.

Finally, the food was great, (but could have had a little more variety)....

All in all a great holiday and we have come home relaxed and happy.

Room Tip: We paid to upgrade to a ground floor superior Suite...well worth it. Our room was about 10 metres f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Maspalomas, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holidays at our hotel.

We are truly pleased to hear that you felt comfortable from the very beginning and that you enjoyed your holidays. Also thank you for your nice words about our animation team, we already passed on your comments to them.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Hilke Hockmann
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Pros:

1. Lots of sunbeds. Lots of pools.

2. An extreme amount of plants give a calm, relaxing atmosphere.

3. Did not hear neighbours through the walls.

4. No cockroaches/mosquitos.


Cons:

1. A long way to restaurants, shopping etc.

2. Several times every day, there was an extremely strong smell from the toilet-system.

3. No air-condition (or bars in front of windows for safety) makes sleep quality poor.

4. All the pools were heated. Some should be colder for cooling down on those hot days.

5. Why a deposit for the TV-remote control??

6. On arrival, we recieved a piece of paper with information. We had to later ask a lot of questions concerning basic things, so this paper could be better. This will only take a few minutes of work by the staff, but will help so much.

7. We tried the bar one evening, and the red wine was actually so hot that it was undrinkable.

8. One woman in the reception lacks social skills (empathy, service, attention etc.).

9. The tennis court has a lot of holes in the fence, and you cannot get the ball then (behind closed gates). We only were given three tennisballs to play with, which soon became just two.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Maspalomas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the Dunas Maspalomas with us on Tripadvisor.

We note your pros and cons of our hotel and will try to improve the failures.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Dunas Maspalomas Bungalows.

Kind regards
Hilke Hockmann
Gästebetreuung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After visiting Dunas Maspalomas before we thought we really like to return with our 6 year old son. We arrived on July 14th returned on July 28th 2013. As before we were not disappointed with the clean spacious high quality bungalow. The pools are surrounding gardens are well maintained. The staff are A star. The only downside was the choice of food. The standard of the food was superb. We felt it was catered more for the French as unlike before when it was 50% English and 50% German this time round it was predominantly French. So for the two weeks our 6 year old dined on bread and chips. A huge lack of vegetables. Also he doesn't like Goat, Veal Rabbit etc etc. (neither do we). After speaking to a couple from France they told us it was the first time any French had been to the Canaries. On arrival at the airport they were all greated like they were royalty, which also continued at Dunas Maspalomas. The animation team were only speaking in French and the evening entertainment was aimed at the French too. The Spanish, Germans, English and Dutch felt pushed to the side not even given a second thought from management. Sadly we will not be returning to Dunas Maspalomas i really wouldn't recommend if you have young children purely down to options of food on the all inclusive is pretty poor.

Room Tip: choose a room that has air conditioning if not you can hire fans at 15 euros a week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Maspalomas, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your open and kind words. We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor.
We note your complaints and we will try to improve the failures.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at Dunas Maspalomas Bungalows.

Kind regards
Hilke Hockmann
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My Daughter and myself went for one week’s holiday 3rd - 10th July on an all-inclusive Holiday leaving Dad at home, and I was really impressed with the quality of the bungalows in a beautiful garden setting, The Bungalows and all communal areas were spotless with all the cleaning staff were very visible all the times and always very courteous and great you when you walk past. The choice of food was excellent and there is never a moment goes past that you cannot have something to eat if the restaurant is closed then the pool bar takes over. There are four pools to choose from but only two that we used as our bands were for 3* and the other half of the complex was 4* so we were not able to get drinks there. I cannot tell you how great the staff were at Kids club who switch from German Spanish & English with great ease, and involved everyone together with different activity’s every day. I can’t wait to go back and try 4* (Bigger Restaurant, more entertainment and bigger pool)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations at Dunas Maspalomas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your personal review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holidays at our hotel.

We are truly pleased to hear that you felt comfortable from the very beginning and that you fully enjoyed the entertainment, the food and the pools. Also thank you for your nice words about our staff, we already passed on your comments to them.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Lisa Luppi
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunas Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Maspalomas

Address: Avenida Airmarin s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This super holiday park comprises one, two and three bedroom villas with kitchens and spacious terraces. It is located in the middle of a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, making it a unique holiday park within the Canary Islands. Adjacent to the 4 star Dunas Suites & Villas Resort, it is just a few metres from the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is approximately 1 km from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers who wish to enjoy the natural environment by strolling around the grounds.The 3 star complex Dunas Maspalomas Resort was renovated en june 2013 with new textiles, new paintings in pale tones, most recent decoration, new kitchen with appliances, new flat screen TV, new electric installation, new accessories and taps in the bathrooms, with additional vanity mirror and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dunas Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunas Maspalomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.