We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, shame the pool is not heated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vital Suites Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Vital Suites Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vital Suites Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Gran Canaria 80, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“nice hotel, shame the pool is not heated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a nice stay at this hotel. the rooms were large and nicely decorated. The spa is ok for free as alot of the jets do not work. the pool bar is nice. the only let down is that the pools are not heated and are freezing. i do not understand why they do not heat them as i will not stay here next year because of this which is a shame.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    52
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
68
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is really expensive (210eur per night), very far from the sea. The hotel staff only PRETENDS to be helpful. For example, the old guy with grey hair in the reception is extremely unpleasant. He gave us a very bad room with no view and seemed to be disturbed when we asked to change it. He indicated us a wrong way to the seaside. The other (also old one) told that the shops in Yumbo are opened from 9, when in reality from 10 am. I found out more from the taxi drivers than from the hotel staff. The suites are not well organized - sleeping areas give to the noisy outside, so no good sleep. In general it is very noisy because of the old conditioning system, especially in the restaurant. Another thing: please, change the cook ! This Italian is only hanging around, and not paying attention to the preparation of dishes. The shrimps were overcooked, the choices - poor, like pork, chicken, potatoes... Very cheap food for hotel pretending to be 4 stars...i also did not like that some guest were priviledged (friends?owners?) . There was a couple who had their table reserved all the evenings, they also had a right to a kiss from the cook, lots of attention from the staff, etc...Really unpleasant regards the others. So I would really not come back there because of the rude receptionist with grey hair and because of the noisy old conditioning systems.

Room Tip: The room on the corner 310 gives view to the sea, but there is a noisy conditioning just in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our third stay at the Vital Suites and our opinion remains that this is an excellent hotel.
The suites are spacious and well appointed. Bedrooms have adequate storage space and even in temperatures of 40 degrees have quiet and efficient air conditioning. The lounges have a sofa bed, two other chairs, a mini bar, TV (which sadly has only 1 English channel), and they give access either to a balcony or a terrace; WiFi is free. The bathrooms are exceptionally clean and bathrobes are provided. The pools are lovely, there are always sufficient sun beds and the view over to Maspalomas is stunning, by day and night. Breakfasts are excellent and the staff friendly, attentive and prompt in meeting your needs. Our dinner waiter (Viz Cano?) and our suite cleaner were particularly good.
Playa del Ingles has it's fair share of unimpressive accommodation but this hotel is a welcome exception.
We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here of a week in Early May 2012. Have been considering staying at this hotel for a number of years . I'm Glad I stayed because now I can deleted it from my considerations in the future. The Rooms, while habitable are in need of some serious updating. The Pool area is pleasant enough. Reception is basic and the staff are reasonably pleasant too indifferent.
The restaurant is adequate I guess. Some reviewers have commented that the breakfast is fantastic. I'm not sure that this is the case. I found the breakfast to be not more than you would find in a similar standard 4 star! Facility.
I got the sense that this is a 3+ star hotel possibly trying to hold onto the 4 star rating it currently enjoys. But I also got the sense that if they lost the 4 stars then would not really be bother either.
The hotel is basic overall in how it actually looks and feels. The Water feature at the front of the hotel, please in fairness do something with it. It looks like something you would fill bucks at in a building site.
Huge amount of Gay clients. Possibly 70% of the guests. This is something that should be noted.
The shower room available to guests for changing on late departures needs to be consider. The lighting is on a movement sensor and while you are using the shower the light's go off and leave you in darkness. Its actually quite a H&S concern as you need to walk to the middle of the room in order to activate the lights. This leaves you with a potential risk of slipping on a very wet floor. The shower unit overflows onto the floor area also. A chair to sit on whiles dressing would be a plus. Also some coat hooks or a rail to hang clothing while showering would be a good idea.
Normally stay at one of the Riu Palace or Grand Palace hotels. Now that I have been here I will defo be going back to the RIU....

Room Tip: Choose a Room in a Different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed 2 days at Vital Suites Hotel in May 2012. Perfect Hotel with a nice pool area and really good food. Friendly staff.
Big SPA for rainy days. Perfect for guests over the age of 40.
Only 15 minutes away from the famous Jumbo Center (for bars and nightlife) but also really nice quiet sleeping comfort at night.
Taxi to the famous dunes of Maspalomas only 5 Euros and from the garden you have a view to the famous faro (light house) of Maspalomas

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a very nice hotel situated in a quiet road and is a bit of a hidden gem. Only one level sits on the road side and all the rooms face inwards over the swimming pool and lounge / outside dining area. There are some amazing views over a well established golf course. The hotel is nice and quiet and spotlessly clean. There is a beautiful spa and sauna rooms underneath, which were surprisingly quiet. The rooms are spacious with seperate lounges and balconies / terraces... There were 2 downsides to the hotel, which were the "double" beds were 2 singles pushed together and made up as 2 singles... and the evening meals werent very good, with the chef getting a tad "too enthusiastic".... However it is literally a 5 min walk from a large number of restaurants and the Yumbo centre (although you wouldnt realise this). Breakfast is very good and includes prosecco for those who like to start the day with a fizz... Would definitely return to the hotel, on a B & B basis, but do wish they would do something about the beds situation, especially considering how many couples there were (a lot of people commented on it while we were there).

Room Tip: balcony rooms have just that bit more privacy.... and only some get a lot of sun....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We wanted to have no hassle relaxation in the sun. And we got it in Vital Suites. Nice location, wonderful view over the golf course and the sea at the horizon. Mixed guests mainly pairs (middle aged, pensioners, gays). The location is walking distance from the shopping centre Yumbo and in the neighborhood there are several decent restaurants and bars. The dunes are reachable by 10 minutes walk.

The pool area is neat and right size for the hotel. Chairs were available when needed and the service from the bar was excellent.

The spa in the hotel is small but well run. The massages we took were good and relaxing as good massage can be.

Room Tip: It depends on what you want. If you want to have direct access to the pool then rooms 207-210 might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vital Suites Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vital Suites Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida de Gran Canaria 80, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vital Suites Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vital Suites Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vital Hotel Maspalomas
Vital Suites Hotel And Spa
Dunas Vital Hotel
Dunas Vital Maspalomas
Dunas Vital Suites
Vital Suites Hotel & Spa Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vital Suites Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.