We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all depends on your tastes... But hold on to your wine bottle!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Vieja

La Casa Vieja
El lomo 139 Ctra Fataga, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
928 76 90 10
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 180 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It all depends on your tastes... But hold on to your wine bottle!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The four of us had a dinner here, because it had been recommended for great meat. Was it actually great? some of us thought so, others disagreed. After some cross- tasting, we concluded that: the roasted rabbit was very good, but a little burnt; the steak was very good; the fillet, just average; the local specialty (ropa vieja, which is meat with chickpeas), good but not so special. As to the service...the waiter took the initiative to make some jokes: some of us appreciated them, some did not. We definitely did NOT appreciate some tricks he made about the wine: 1-when our wine bottle was still almost half-full, he quickly took it, emptied it in our glasses and asked something like: "of course now you want another bottle?", so we felt almost forced to order a new bottle; then 2-at the end of our meal, he quickly withdrew the bottle (again, almost half-full), without giving us the time to say whether we wanted to drink more of it... we suspect he went to drink it, himself!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Food ok, Service ambivalent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited with a few friends on the last night of our holiday on recommendation from the resort we were staying. We wanted to go to somewhere 'out of the way' of the usual Playa del Ingles restaurants and this fitted that bill perfectly. The place had a very 'local' feel to it, and there were a number of tables of, presumably, canarians inside.

We were seated at a table in the corner 'out of the way' from other diners, orders taken, food delivered which was all satisfactory. We paid the bill, asked for a taxi which duly arrived and we left. There was no acknowledgement of our custom, nor were we made to feel welcome at any point by the staff.

All in all, the food was ok, maybe we just got the staff on a 'bad' night. Not a great experience, but not the worst either. Did make us feel like a bit of an inconvenience to the people working there though. Shame.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It is ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I asked taxi driver to take me to a local restaurant. So he dropped me off at this place. I was there early and only one there for an early dinner. The waiter was nice. Recommended grilled octopus which was a little over cooked and goats which was ok.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a great evening here at Casa Vieja. Only disappointment was that if you wanted paella, they didn't cook it for 1 person. The fish was cooked beautifully, I had goat stew with potatoes, have to say it was tender and succulent. The staff were friendly, showed us the meat and fish all fresh and inviting.
I thought the cost for what we had was extremely good, meal for three with a bottle of wine and desert was €60. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I just had a meal with friends here and it was delightful! Great Canarian and Spanish food! Lovely live music, great service and good value for money really complement your experience. Being Spanish I always expect a lot when visiting this kind of establishments; La Casa Vieja really stood up for me. Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Vieja also viewed

San Bartolome de Tirajana, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to La Casa Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.