We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koala Garden Suites

Save Saved
You added Koala Garden Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Garden Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Geminis 2, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
West midlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would happily return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from Koala Garden Suite and we had a lovely week. We're both in our 40's and we travelled independently, arranging our own transport/flights/accomodation etc.

Let me point out to all the complainers on here, this is classed as a 1 star hotel by Travel Republic, although I think this is perhaps too low. A 2 star would be more generous. It is NOT, however, a 4 star/4 key. If you're looking for a 4 star then you're looking in the wrong place. The price should tell you that and if you really believe you're getting a 4 star place for the price of a 1 or 2 star then you have a problem. You get what you pay for!

The accomodation is very clean, basic but well catered for. We went self catering so I can't comment on the quality of the food served there as we didn't eat out.

Although the kitchen is literally in a cupboard and very small, it had everything we needed:

Microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge, coffee maker, hob with 2 rings, pots, pans, crockery and cutlery. They even provided a small bottle of washing up liquid which was plenty for the week. Pots and pans were in the cupboard benath the TV - an odd place but that's where they were!

We sat down to a full cooked (albeit basic) meal each evening on the balconey. There was only one 'sharp' knife which was pretty blunt so my advice, if you intend to cook much, would be to take a knife sharpener with you.

The room was cleaned most days and towels changed twice. The bed sheets weren't changed although I'm sure they would have provided extra linen if we had asked.

The reception staff were very pleasant, very helpful and responded to our requests immediately.

The area around the apartments are clean, well set out and pleasant to look at. There are no highrise buildings and each apartment is slightly staggered which allows a small degree of privacy from those either side of it.

Entertainment isn't particularly great but, as we were looking for a quiet week away, it wasn't a huge problem to us. We were next door to the reception block so we were subjected to all the evening 'fun'. Having said that, it wasn't too loud and it didn't go on all night. The kids mini disco was on every night and lasted about an hour, after which the music was turned down and by 9pm it was quiet again. Can't really complain at that although I never want to hear the hokey cokey ever again! We were right next to the main, heated pool and during the day there was music played through a speaker from a laptop. This wasn't too loud or intrusive although I would have preferred to be somewhere without music - not a great problem really though. We were, however, surprised by the sheer range of music that was played. I don't think I have ever heard such a diverse range of music played in a place like that. Something for most people I would say. My partner enjoyed one coolish afternoon with a glass of wine in hand listening to Bob Marley! But if you want peace and quiet then ask to be put in an area away from the music and the noise. (Not in Zone 1!)
There is a games room for the kids with things like pool and air hockey. There is also internet and computer games in reception.

The mini supermarket on site is ok but lacks fresh fruit and veg if you're considering cooking yourself. Having said that, there are 2 mini supermarkets on site and we only went to the one closest to reception. The prices weren't too bad and it suficiently served for daily supplies such as bread and wine. We went to the bigger supermarket in the Faro 2 centre for our main food supply. Be warned though - there are 2 supermarkets in the Faro 2 centre. The one is very small and only seems to sell alcohol, suncream and hats! The main supermarket is a little further round and on the lower ground floor, almost beneath the smaller one. Keep looking!

Koala is set in a fairly quiet location, some distance from the beach. If you're thinking on walking to the beach we estimate it to be approxmately 2 miles. We're fairly regular walkers and it took us 40 minutes to walk there at a reasonable pace. There is a free bus service though if you prefer not to walk that far.

All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing time away and we would definitely go back to koala. If you're looking to be entertained then this place isn't really for you. If you're looking for peace and quiet, whatever your age then this place is ideal. Families with young children would benefit from this place too as the kids seemed to enjoy the entertainment in the evening and it didn't go on all night.


Out and about:

The sand dunes are pretty amazing and worth a visit. Avoid them on a windy day though. The sand whips up and over them and stings as well as getting everywhere (and I do mean everywhere!)

Sunbeds on the beach cost us 7.50 euros for 2 beds and an umbrella. Not the cheapest but worth it for a little bit of comfort and shade on hotter days.

The sea was ok. It gets pretty rough though and it's very rocky along the main front. Not good for young children as the waves are quite strong and pull you in. If you walk round to the other end of the Dunes though close to Playa Del Ingles, the sea is much calmer and sandier but it's quite a walk.

Watch out for the nudists amongst the sand dunes! Although some of them like to use the sunbeds on the seafront, a lot seem to prefer lying amongst the dunes surrounded by the scrub, popping up like meercats to look around! Quite an amusing sight if your out for a stroll around the dunes if your not shocked by nudes!

If you're not afraid to drive out there, hire a car for at least a day and go and see the island. At least take a coach trip out if you don't want to drive. The scenery is absolutely stunning and well worth taking the time to go and see. We were awed by it! We'd definitely consider going back for a walking holiday as there are plenty of routes to walk and fully appreciate the islands interior.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    91
    68
    30
    33
See reviews for
77
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

1 Weeks stay Easter 2009 with Myself, Partner and 5 year old. Complex is nice. Food was good. Pools were clean

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretsquirreltrips
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

What a perfect hotel! This hotel is definitely family orientated with fantastic staff who have a great attention to detail. In the rooms we had a small box step to move to the sink etc. so the children could reach the sink and a children’s table and chairs in the room. The pools were lovely including one heated pool for the winter and each one had a lifeguard always present so you can fully relax knowing the children are safe while playing.

Everywhere was super clean the food had a great selection and served hot, they even had a children's menu.
I would definitely come back again to this hotel and stay for much longer next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Pleasantly surprised on arrival after reading reviews, 3 adults and 1 child. Apartment small for the party however adequate for short stay. very clean and all areas and pools very clean, and heated, lifeguards on all pools at all times and good secuirty at night. all staff very pleasant and helpful, added to our enjoyment and thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

If you are staying self catering - I do recommend this place, plenty of pools, 24 hour reception, large rooms and verly close to holiday world amusement park - full of restaurants and has a mini theme park. Courtesy coach to beach about 10 mins drive away which was greatly appreciated
Also taxi's to nearby nightlife playa del ingles, mas palomas very cheap
Only downside more than your fair share of cocroaches for 2 weeks!!
Did report it and hotel tried to help but they clearly had a problem the 2nd week we were there .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

These apartments were rated as four star bungalows with a garden view.. what we were given was a second floor apartment facing two large swimming pools.. with loud music children running round, and topless woman of all shapes and sizes lying around..
The apartment was at best 2 star..the kitchen is in a cupboard, two three quarter beds as hard as rocks and one pillow each.. the bathroom was shabby and the towels although very clean were old and worn..
We went back to reception and asked for the garden view studio we had booked, have to say the staff are exceptionally helpful and polite.they gave us a key to another apartment.. which was worse the smell of drains in the bathroom was dreadful.. my husband went back to reception and was told.. it had been advertised wrong and was only a 3 star accommodation.. they did give us keys to another one which was even worse.. we eventually had not choice but to stay the night in the second floor apartment. but settled for another ground floor on next day..which wasn't really any better.. we then had a German family walking across our patio. so had to use the clothes airer as a barrier to stop them..
Fortunately we had a hire car..so apart from sleeping and washing there we went out every day.. I would not recommend this complex to anyone who is expecting to stay in a 4 star bungalow.. also there is nothing at all in the surrounding area to do. a car is necessary.. The only good thing was the staff....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed here for a getaway week in the sunshine & weren't disappointed. We were located in Zone 2 which is based around the main heated pool, noisy during the day but it's unlikely you'll be in your apartment much during the day anyway. To the back of our room, we had another smaller & quieter pool, so tended to pick our spot there. NOTE: the sunbed grabbers put their towels on them before breakfast each morning, so if you can't beat them join them!! We had to, much as we hated doing so!
The complex was mainly made up of Dutch & German holidayers, the staff were very friendly & helpful & nothing was too much. Rooms are only cleaned twice weekly, so you'll have to make your own beds & keep your kitchenette (fully stocked, great little area) clean yourself.
TIP: Bring a portable DVD player for any evenings you may want to stay in the apt. The TV has no English channels!! CNN was there until the digital changeover on 1st April then it disappeared.. a bit rubbish for a big hotel.
Food was fresh & tasty but not great variety. Breakfast was better than dinner in terms of what was there, e.g chips every night, same kind of pork in sauce, same veg, same cakey desserts... ok for basic dinner but you can always go out for dinner too for a change. A cab to Playa del Ingles should cost about 4e, lots of bars/restaurants/shops, as there's not much at all in Maspalomas. There is 'Holiday World' a short walk away, a funfair with all rides every evening & 'Faro 2' shopping centre nearby that has a few bars & restaurants although this was very quiet & most of them were closed up. Maybe they'll all open for the peak summer months..
Kids will love this place!! We didn't have any with us but the facilities really cater for them, from the playground area to the evening entertainment, even a separate food section in the restaurant!
The free bus shuttle is good to get you to the local beach, the beach can be busy & if windy be careful of the sand whipping you in the face, coming off the sand dunes! (Kids would wear swimming goggles to protect their eyes!) Hire of 2 sunbeds was about 7e for the day.
All in all, we had a great week in well equipped, nice surroundings & if you like cats you'll love the hotel strays who are very friendly especially when you share bits of your food with them!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koala Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Garden Suites

Address: Calle Geminis 2, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Garden Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Koala Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
Koala Garden Suites Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koala Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.