We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel if you are on a tight budget.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THe Koala Garden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added THe Koala Garden Suites to your Saves list
THe Koala Garden Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Geminis 2, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly hotel if you are on a tight budget.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Koala Gardens last November as our budget for holidays is reduced after retiring in 2012. We have been a bit spoilt after staying at a five star hotel on the two previous occasions,
When we got there my wife said " I'm not coming here again¬ and |I had to rebuke her that she should wait a while before she make up her mind! . Koala Gardens is quite a distance from the beach but the hotel offers a courtesy bus which runs from outside the hotel down to the bus stops near to the beach, down a sort of promenade called 'La Charca'. It would be best to be at the bus stop in good time as the bus can get quite full and some nations do not believe in queuing, however if one bus becomes full the driver did request another bus. The Taxis are very cheap compared to the UK one reason seems to be that the 'first mile' is NO DEARER than the following. mile or part thereof and is only about €4. The Apartment- we found spacious with large beds and contemporary decor. The kitchen was as described by other reviewers but as we were AI it didn't make any difference to us, There is a bath as well as shower the water heater seems to be of small capacity so you would have to run it a couple of minutes wait 5 minutes about 4 or five times if you want a good soak ( if you are 5'2' like me) , We were told there was 2 restaurants that we could use, one near zone 4 & 5 which is mainly made use of by the AI guests that are in Zone 4 & 5, but the Restaurant near to the Reception (?zone 1,2 &3) is designated for guests who pay for their meals. but there is no objection to AI guests using this restaurant the only DIFFERENCE is you have to pick up your drinks (free) just OUTSIDE the restaurant at a hatch (from the SAME bar) and then walk in with your drink and then usually shewn your table. DON'T BE OFFENDED BY THIS - RULES IS RULES!; It just so they can cost things properly. We didn't find them any less polite to us and we can't speak German! We found everybody at Koala Gardens very friendly and we are BOTH!!! hoping to be back soon!

Room Tip: There are steps up to the higher floors (eg 5-34) that might not suit the less fit or disabled but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at THe Koala Garden Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Koala Friend:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions.We send you a big hold from all the staff, and we all hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    100
    65
    35
    33
See reviews for
87
115
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleethorpes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

holiday was ok the rooms are very old and smell of damp beds are hard but clean . tv you only get cnn and bbc world news in english if you wanted to watch tv. outside is nice and clean lots of pools but cold you need to take your towel out the room to use. ALL the staff was very nice and the girl in the kids club very nice to your kids if they have some time in there.now if you want to drink beer ect you have to sit out side raining or not and drink" there is NO bar there" wifi is free but you have to get 1/2 hour at a time or pay for the full week £20 . now the food its the same every day pork beef or chickhen and sometimes its cold even tho your the first one in there the bread buns are hard as rock there left out until there eaten.if you go anywhere use a taxi very very cheap they not rip you off and am a taxi driver and I would see any scams £3 fair there would be £6 in Grimsby or 4 people on the bus would be £5 so cheaper to use taxi.the beach is very nice and clean but kids look out some people have no cloths on at all !!! . one thing I will say is take some coffee ect cos there is no where to get a drink if you get there after 11pm and its not open till 8am I ask for a drink of coffee and was told to go to holiday world 15 mins walk and pay for one !!. so all in all I will go back again but I may cook my own food or put up with theres for a week again . if anyone needs anymore info you can contack me on here.... ps I went with wife and 2 kids 7 and 12 .. I payed £270 each all in if you want 5 star go pay £500 plus and 26c to 29c every day

Room Tip: don't get a room near the pool with young kids cos a 2 year old fell in last week and I was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at THe Koala Garden Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr.Vincefz8:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. We wolud like to send you a big hold from all our staff, and wish all al the best, also invite you to stay ay the Koala Garden again to share a big time with all of us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked into Koala Garden Suites last minute after deciding to cancel a more remote booking and go for a resort instead! The price was a little high as a result but I'm sure a better deal can be had by booking in advance.

First of all, give up any idea of walking to the beach from the resort, as it's a long boring walk (around 45 minutes, more if you have kids). Even using the shortcut it isn't much less - certainly not 10 minutes as I read elsewhere! Also, it's worth noting that people were complaining about not getting on the free bus to the beach from the resort as it was full. We had a car so never encountered this personally.

So onto the accomodation itself. The resort is quite quiet but well equipped with several pools and a bar, and a couple of restaurants if you don't wanna go out (or cook). The kitchen is effectively in a cupboard, which was a minor irritation as it was pretty small, but overall the apartment was well equipped, spacious and clean. The AC and heater both worked well (you need both in the Canaries in winter!) This resort really comes into its own if you have a car - it was very very close to the motorway, and as Maspalomas is located in a very good position for exploring the island, it is the perfect base to explore Gran Canaria.

I think I may have been a little disappointed if I was going on a beach holiday without a car, but otherwise it's a great resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at THe Koala Garden Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Thank you for your opinion.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I spent Christmas at the Koala Gardens Suite booked via Thomas Cook.
The accommodation we found to be poor, shabby, rock hard beds (so don't expected a good nights sleep unless you are tanked up) and generally a bad smell in the bathroom at all times.
The swimming pool in the main area is supposed to be heated - but you can forget that as it's stone cold.
We found the food to be pleasant and of good quality considering the star rating. The restaurants were clean and tidy and the waitresses were helpful and polite. However, the male waiting staff seemed operate the restaurant like a concentration camp dictating their rules to diners in often an abrupt manner. If you are going here on "All inclusive", forget any courtesy. They will treat you like second class citizens in the restaurant. There is one in particular short, thin bar man around late 50's who was so rude to guests it's unreal. He refused to serve my 10 year old son a coke since his "all inclusive" wrist band was broken. Generally a rude man who should not be working in Front of house, rather he would be more suited to the scullery.
The kids entertainment was fine and adequate. Reception was efficient and the general manager was pleasant.
Only real gripe is the substandard accommodation and rude, often ignorant male bar and waiting staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koala G, Manager at THe Koala Garden Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Also commenting that because of the heterogeneity of customers and schedules standardization , we provide our clients with the service according to the most widely used criteria in the hotel industry. We are sorry about the incident and we sincerely apologize.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I found this Hotel not too out of the way for Maspalomas it was easy to find and close to all amenities too and plenty cabs always outside.
Clean friendly and with an electric kettle a plus for sure and would return
It is also next door to the outdoor market which runs on Wednesday and Saturdays.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main road can get noisy in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Travelled here for 1 week all inclusive on 16 December 2013. The hotel appear to be undergoing a transition of management and change, and as such this was reflected in the absence of flexibility with drinks at the bar, 1 per person- meaning that each person had to get their own. Challenged in terms of volume of drinks at the time of day you started drinking (despite the bar opening at 11am).
The food was buffet based in 2 restaurants. The timings were very strict. Snack period were biscuits. Staff were most friendly. There was a limited supply of hot water each day, 10mins maximum in our room. We notified the hotel but no change. Unable to call reception from room. It is in a nice quiet location, playa des ingles is just 4 euro each way in taxi. Free beach bus, however we walked and it was 40mins each way and very easy route. No heated pools. No evening entertainment. Local supermarkets close by. Wifi only in reception. No matter what room you have, you'll most likely get a pool view. A nice break, but just didn't wow us on this occasion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Area 4,5 very quiet, relaxing we were over restaurant
Accommodation clean, services good, no activities in this area, except pools, taxi on door step, but they won't take you to wed/sat market as it's a 200 mtr walk. Food good, some Bar Staff exceptionally funny, staff are strict on using of restaurant times, if you're late you would miss meal.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Koala Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Koala Garden Suites

Address: Calle Geminis 2, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — THe Koala Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment complex THe Koala Garden Suites is located 2 miles from the sea and near the golf course in Maspalomas, in an ideal environment for your family vacation, THe Koala Garden Suites offers the best proposal in comfort and service. He has everything at his disposal, comfortable and bright apartments in blocks of two floors, air conditioning and excellent level of equipment, to be located close to shopping centers, amusement park, local market and recreational areas, is ideal for family vacation and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your THe Koala Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
THe Koala Garden Suites Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Koala Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.