We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Save Saved
You added Dunas Mirador Maspalomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Einstein s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average hotel in poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our trip to the Mirador was not awful but not fantastic either - it was just 'okay' for a week in the sun.

Firstly, we must say the staff are wonderful. They are hard-working, polite and friendly. We never encountered any of the rudeness pointed out in other reviews, in fact they often bent over backwards to see to our needs.

Secondly, the place is spotless. The communal areas are well maintained and the bedrooms/ bathrooms are very, very clean. No complaints at all in that area.

However, the Mirador really does need to up its game in other areas if it is to be considered a three-star hotel (we have stayed in many 2 and 3 star hotels that offer better basic facilities.)

For example, no kettle or fridge in the room. This is fine ordinarily at other 'all-inclusive' hotels as hot water/ drinks facilities are available 24 hours a day. Not at the Mirador though. Drinks stop at 11pm and do not start again until breakfast at 8am. This made making my baby's bottle almost impossible, especially as our travel kettle wasn't compatible with their voltage. Apparently, kettles and fridges are available at an extra cost (typical of this hotel!)

There are stairs everywhere with limited ramps for buggies and wheelchairs, plus the lifts are usually out of service - not exactly what I'd expect of a 'family-friendly' resort. Ever tried climbing four flights of stairs with your suitcase and baby in its buggy? Perhaps this is why the hotel doesn't have a gym, you don't need a work out after all the step climbing!

Rules dominate this hotel, not great when you want a relaxing family holiday. For example: no more than 2 drinks at the pool bar; no inflatables/ balls in the pool (including water-wings for babies!); no leaving your towel on the sun-lounger for more than 30mins if you weren't present - lunch in 30 mins then; no taking drinks to your room (but no tea/ coffee/ water available in the room!?); no taking food from the restaurant (including fruit for snacking on if you didn't want the calorie-laden food at the pool bar); no shorts at dinner (I saw a man very smartly dressed in nice linen shorts and a shirt turned away but people in scruffy trousers and a t-shirt were allowed in!) By the end of the week I felt like the final rule should be: no having fun!

The food is average at best, we managed to find something to eat every night but quite often my husband (who isn't really a fussy eater) would end up with chips and a bread roll! Breakfast and lunch is fine, it's just dinner that the choice needs to be improved. The quality was okay, but there were some suspicious looking dishes that we stayed well away from. The hotel does claim to have a theme for its food each evening, but in reality it just means a different flavoured sauce over chicken/ fish and sometimes pork.

Also, sometimes it was hard to find a clear table in the 'all-inclusive' side but there were plenty of free table in the half board side (the dining room is split in two so the hotel can keep tabs on who has to pay extra for drinks.) This was a little infuriating. They also operate a weird 1st and 2nd sitting at dinner. I'm not sure what difference this made.

We had no complaints over the drinks, wine was surprisingly okay as was the beer. The cocktails are strong and some you have to pay extra for if you are all-inclusive. The weirdest thing about the bar menu was that an alcoholic pinna colada was free to AI guests but a non-alcoholic one incurred a charge of a few euros!?

Pool towels are available to rent at a cost of 1 euro each a day but you can buy one for 4 euros in the shop around the corner. The safe was payable too as was Wi-Fi if you wanted it (6 euros a day!!)

The bar in the lobby was weirdly not included in the AI package so AI guests had no choice but to sit in the pool bar at night. Cramped and chilly in February!

The entertainment team tried their best and were friendly; it did seem that they had zero budget to work with though.

The hotel is located in a nice residential area with a Spar shop, chemist, Chinese restaurant and German bar nearby. That's pretty much it though for a good two miles or so. We walked to the nearest town/ beach most days - this took about 40 mins each way and was nice in the February heat, I wouldn't fancy it in high-summer though as it's all up and down hill. The hotel does run a free shuttle bus to the beach for guests in the day. If you want to eat out of the hotel then you either have to walk for a good 40 mins, take this bus (which stops late afternoon) or take a taxi. Not ideal, especially with a young child. For the location alone we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

thank you for evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in general.
Positive and negative feedback is important to improve our services. We will consider all the points you mentioned and will work hard to improve them.

We want to apologize that your stay wasn't to your complete satisfaction but hope that we may welcome you some time again.

Kind regards,
Angela Magni
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    523
    283
    106
    76
See reviews for
361
558
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

9 days of great half board experience at Dunas Mirador: great vibe and food (especially when serving calamares, lemon chicken or veal), beds on the light side but comfy to sleep in, large pool you can really swim in (unheated), convenient small pool good for stretching or games (heated), very nicely and tastefully built resort which is not posh but in a very good shape, easy going, attended, clean and with the best value for money in the area!

The location is good enough, about 3 km from the beach but easy to get around by the hotel shuttle (free of charge) or by taxi (approx 4 euros for a trip to the center of Playa Ingles or to Meloneras shops and the dunes/beach). This place is great for an active person as well as those who come only to lay around sun bathing (especially the english in this hotel). Really loved the place and cannot wait to return. "Thank you" to the hotel staff too.

(The only thing to improve is the quality of the wines sold at dinner, ugh)

Room Tip: We used GLOBAL buses to travel around the Island. Make sure you don´t spend all your time in the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

thank you for evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Dunas Mirador. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with both our facilities and our staff.
Feedback like this is very important for improving our services and motivate our staff.

If you like, you can join us at Facebook where you get in touch with other Dunas guests.
We are looking forward to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards,
Angela Magni
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere port
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been this hotel before and had a very good holiday and met some great people some of whom we have kept in touch with and visit. We are returning here in March and from the reviews I've seen on here we are expecting to have a great time. We will let you know

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

thank you for evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear about your satisfaction with your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time in Dunas Mirador so much that you decided to come back.

Feedback like this is the best motivation four our staff.
If you like, you can join us at Facebook where you can get in touch with other Dunas clients.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in march.

Kind regards,
Angela Magni
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Four days to go for our trip to the MIRADOR after a dreadful holiday in Playa del ingles a few years ago my husband vowed never to go back but here we are off to the Mirador for his 70TH Birthday and we are so looking forward to it after reading GREAT reviews ,we will be a party of four O.A.P.two slightly disabled but the feed back on this site means no worrys many thanks to the people who take time to write reviews good or bad and the dress code at night means a chance for us ladies to dress up a must for holidays wait for my report on our return it will be a true one .

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you chose to spend your holiday in our hotel Dunas Mirador.
We hope everything will be to your complete satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to contact us in case you have any questions.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,
Angela Magni
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we arrived at the mirador on 11/02/13 and were very pleased with what we saw. hotel clean and staff friendly and very welcoming. showed to our room which was very nice. pool view. the animation team very good always trying to keep kids and adults entertained.plenty ov choices in the food department no different from any even 4/5 star hotel... weather was 25/30c all week. maspolomas beach is about 15 min walk down steep bank but taxi back is only 3 euro so worth the trip. overall we would loved our stay there and would def return. so please ignore any bad reveiews i.m so glad we did....

Room Tip: pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

Thank you for evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you liked both our facilities and our staff.
Feedback like this is the best motivation for all our staff and helps us to improve our services.

If you like, you can join us at Facebook where you can get in touch with others Dunas clients.

We hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Kind regards,
Angela Magni
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a weeks stay at the Dunas Mirador and I've got to say we all
Had a fabulous time,the pool area is superb with 2 big pools and a jacuzzi,ok the pools where a bit cold but it is February .Cant fault the food there was a great selection and something for everyone.The hotel staff where very pleasant and polite even though they do work extremely hard.The hotel is very busy with lots of Germans at it,but we where lucky enough that there was also a Lot of Scottish in the resort.The only fault with the hotel,and it's not much of a fault is the location,it's a bit quiet round about it,but a taxi for only 4 euros takes you into Playa De Ingles and the hotel also puts on a free bus for taking you to the beach and back,the drinks are actually not bad at all for them being all inclusive and we had many a good night at the pool bar,just relaxing and having a good time with fellow travellers.Tea and coffee as well as soft drinks are also provided for the none drinkers.The reception staff where great you just had to ask them to call a taxi for you and it was done,a trip into Puerto Rico only cost 20 euros and was well worth the day trip there,it only takes about 20 minutes to get there,No hassle getting sunbeds in the morning as there are plenty of them.Our room didn't have a great few as it was facing the motorway but it was massive with a huge balcony and kept very clean with maid service cleaning the room 5 times the week we where there.The 4 of us had a fabulous stay and we all agreed that we would go back to the Mirador,all in all a very good last minute holiday for all of us.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

Thank you for evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor.
It is a plesaure to hear that you had such a great time and enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with both our facilities and our staff.
Feedback like this is very important to us, so we can identify our "weak" points in order to improve them and it is also the best motivation for all our staff, so thanks again for your comment.

If you like, you can also join us on Facebook, where you can get in contact with many other Dunas guests.

We hope that we can welcome you back some time soon in Dunas Mirador.

Kind regards,
Angela Magni
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned on the 11th Feb after booking a last minute hoilday at the Mirador. Not sure what to expect the first impressions of the hotel were quite good. The reception staff were friendly and the room in Block E had a great view of street pool and the dunes and sea (Room 404). The room was clean and had a TV which kept the son amused whilst we got ready for the evenings. The only down side for the room was the lack of a fridge, iron and believe it or not no kettle or water for drinking (just bottled drinking water would have done). Everything could be hired from reception though.
When booking the holiday we had not been informed of the dress code regarding evenings in the restaurant. I had only packed one pair of long trousers and this is a must on an evening in the restaurant. The guy at the door was polite but very insistant on the dress code. The food itself was adequate not brilliant but we never really went hungry. However, we did eat out once as the food was not always what we fancied.
As I mentioned I had only taken one pair of evening trousers and decided to keep them in the luggage room at reception. Next day before dinner I went to the luggage room which is kept locked and the trousers had been removed. No sign of them in lost property or with house keeping so I can only presume they had been stolen.
We had to explain for the next few nights that I had no more trousers. I wore good quality clothing shorts that were dressy and a quality top or shirt. Looking very smart. But still I was told to wear trousers the next day. I simply refused on the basis of stolen clothing. Also there was an old guy in a tracksuit and slippers. In comparison I looked amazing!! I think for a 3* the dress code is a little OTT and could be a bit more relaxed.
The bars were ok too but some of the cocktails were rubbish on All inclusive. the beer was San Miguel and the spirits decent. Suprisingly the wine was decent too. A couple of really miserable staff at the pool bar one imparticular a bit abrupt and rude but i didn't care I was on my holidays he was at work!
Entertainment was quite good and the people running it were always on the go. If you like joining in and having a bit of fun there really was plenty to do. They were all really friendly and loved it when you participated. Our son who is 12 was always taking part and we did too but they loved it when he got involved giving him great encouragement. Thoroughly enjoyed the activities. Water polo got a bit physical but was funny to watch and the shooting and archery was a great relaxing way to ease your way into the day.
A disco for all of the little uns was on at around 8pm and then the adult entertainment after at 9:15pm. I really cant fault the entertainment if I was to compare against other hotels I stayed in its probably the best so far.
The weather for this time of year was lovely. We had a hazy day or so when we first arrived where the wind was a bit blowy and it did get a little chilly on an evening. So a thin top or jacket would be recommended. After the first day or so the sun came out and the weather was glorious sunshine and hot enough to sunbathe and tan. The pools were still a little cold but one was heated and good enough to swim in.
So for a holiday in the winter I would highly recommend the Mirador. Its a pleasant stroll down to the beach it takes about 25 to 30 mins to walk down there. Its worth having a wander out as its a nice area along the coast with lots of bars and restaurants shops and things to do. Loads of cyclists and cycle hire places.

Ian, Suzanne and James

Room Tip: Block E room 404 get the sun all the way until it goes down at night. it has street views pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Dunas Mirador guest,

Thank you for evaluating our hotel in tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time here in Gran Canaria. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with both our facilitis and our staff. We like to apologize about the loss of your trousers, we are really sorry about that but hope that this didn't spoil the rest of your stay.
Feedback and comments like this are very important to us so we can identify our "weak" points in order to improve them; on the other hand it is the best motivation for all our staff, and we will pass it on, especially to the animation which you mentioned.

You can also join us on facebook if you like, where you can get in touch with many other Dunas clients.

We hope that we can welcome you back again some time soon in Dunas Mirador!

Kind regards,
Angela Magni
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.