We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect sun get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Playa Meloneras Palace

Save Saved
You added H10 Playa Meloneras Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   C/ Mar Caspio 5 | Costa Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect sun get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Overall a fantastic 5 night stay over Christmas. Set in a superb location in Meloneras- by far one of the nicer locations of Gran Canaria.
Rooms good size- although had to request a move as initial room allocated overlooked childrens play area. We had requested a quiet room with a nice view but request seemed to be overlooked. However we were soon moved to a much nicer room on 4th floor overlooking sea which was great.
Food was superb overall. Staff generally very helpful but a few could benefit some customer service training especially small stocky guy with short hair on reception in particular.. Who I think may have been a manager).. Quite unneccesarily rude and dismissive on 2 occasions. On the otherhand the guy who helped with our luggage on last day 29 Dec was superb.. He should be promoted. Excellent customer service from him.
Pool area superb and great place to relax.
Overall if you want a decent hotel with nice rooms, superb location away from playa de Ingles, then book this hotel.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear H10 Playa Meloneras Palace guest,

It is wonderful to read your personal review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holidays at our hotel.

We are truly pleased to hear that you felt comfortable from the very beginning and that you fully enjoyed the welcoming ambience, the service and our gastronomy.
We would like to thank you for mentioning the good work of the staff, as this is exactly what makes them love their jobs. However, we apologize for the treatment received by this person in particular and we have already taken actions to avoid this type of behaviour.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    425
    142
    87
    70
See reviews for
383
734
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas so had to book and pay for 3 nights. It was so bad we checked out after 2 nights and wrote off the loss. The hotel is old and run down. The worse thing is the pool. After sitting poolside enjoying the perfect Canarian weather you want to jump into the pool to cool off- NOT! They do not heat this pool and the water is frigid. Those brave people who attempted to swim were screaming and came out of the water bright red from the freezing temperature. Other hotels in the area heat their pools so we looked on with envy as other people enjoyed a relaxing swim. This hotel is at the very end of the boardwalk, far removed from the restaurants, shopping and night life. The hotel and rooms were old, run down and dirty. Not a relaxing time and a complete waste of money.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at this hotel. There are several good hotels in this area so don't waste y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronnoysund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

In December last year, we stayed in a newly build 5-star hotel called "Lopesan Baobab Resort", located in Meloneras, Gran Canaria. We tought our holiday was absolutely amazing, so this year we wanted to go back to Meloneras. First we checked the prizes on Baobab, but the rooms were very expensive this time.

However we got a very good offer from "Canarias.com" in another hotel in the area: "H10 Playa Meloneras Palace". So we booked two rooms with half pension (breakfast and dinner) there instead. - And I can promise you that we did not regret...

In our home in Brønnøysund, Norway, we have beautiful seaview with midnight sun in the summertime. In this hotel we felt as home immediately! There were really, really wonderful surroundings at this H10-hotel. We got one room on the second floor with poolview (room no. 365), ... and evening sun, and our 16 year old son and his friend also got a very nice room (room no. 635).

So our rooms were nice, even if the beds were a bit hard in our opinion. The food was very good, and the service in the hotel was mostly excellent. The only thing we complained about, was an old waiter in the restaurant. He was quite grumpy, and we never saw him smile.

We highly recommend this hotel to people who like beautiful surroundings in a quiet area, not to far away from tourist attractions in the southern part of Gran Canaria.

Room Tip: Get a room with evening sun. The sunset it beautiful here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for writting your experience on TripAdvisor.

The whole team is really happy to read that you and your friends relaxed, enjoyed and spent a wonderful holidays in our resort. It is amazing to read that you felt immediately like home and you could watch the spectacular sunsets everyday.

It was a pleasure to be your host and we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. Difficult to find any fault with this hotel. Perfect location, great food, attentive, pleasant staff. Rooms bright and pleasant. .No reserving beds by the pool in the mornings your towel, whatever, will be removed before 10 am. Well done this hotel! Would recomend without reservation. Would definitely return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writting your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are really delighted to read that you enjoyed so much our facilities and the excellent service that all the team offers everyday. For sure all the staff will be very happy to know about your satisfaction.

We wish you Merry Xmas and a very happy 2013. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We checked out of the hotel on November 1st 2012 and paid cash for all of our drinks etc. We had been staying half board. As we walked out of our room a maid came and checked the drinks cabinet...which we had not used and said that it was full. On check out I remembered that I had given my credit card details (written on a form)and I asked the receptionst what would happen with my card details...she said don't worry nothing will be charged to your account as you have paid in full by cash. When we arrived home....a few days later we received our credit card bill which showed that we had had a charge from the hotel 3 days after we had checked out?
The holiday was booked with Thomas Cook, we complained and have not had a reply yet even though their policy is to reply within 28 days!! So...do not trust the hotel and do not assume that Thomas Cook is a company that looks after its customers...sad but true. I also emailed the hotel and have not heard anything from them???

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday 3-10 December. This hotel is spotless the staff always cleaning every part of hotel.Food was excellent staff very helpful and our room large with a good sea view.
2 pools were cold but the Infinity one was heated and good for swimming.
Charlie and Maureen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your last stay. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays and relaxed at our hotel.

We try to work very hard everyday in order to get your satisfaction, so we are delighted to know that we got our target.

It will be a big pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards and Merry Xmas!!

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just back from this lovely hotel so you may well ask why only 4 stars. ? Basically the staff in general let it down(except for the restauraunt where they are delightful).
On arrival we were armed with tripadvisors reviews on where we hoped our room was going to be. Forget that. The surly receptionist was having none of that and put us in the west wing where we got no sun at all . Nothing we could say would change his mind and we found his attitude quite arrogant. I have to say most of the reception staff were fine.As I mentioned and I see others have as well staff are not friendly.
Okay on to the positives and there are many. Food is the best I have tasted in a five star hotel and the selection was amazing.The chef's were very accomodating and the only problem we had was what to choose each night. Staff had smiles on their faces and I have to say whoever is in charge runs a tight ship. The efficiency was something to behold. Half empty plates on the buffet were removed and immediately filled up. Therefore it always looked full and appetising.
The pool area is spotless and if you go to the adult only infinity pool you get all the peace and quiet you could wish for. However you get the one or two parents who ignore the sign .
Entertainment is quite poor so I would suggest going to the Villa Conda 10 mins towards the town . There you will meet lovely smiling staff and enjoy sitting out in the square .
Rooms are clean and our chambermaid had our room made up by 11 each day. No complaints there.
So let me sum it up for you. Would I go back? Yes, but I think I would need to know in advance I was getting a room in the east wing . The west wing is dark but ok if you have kids and want to be near the childrens club etc.
Overall it was a great holiday in a nice hotel . One or two minor points as mentioned but if you have booked enjoy . It really is a lovely hotel

Room Tip: East Wing and a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities, our superb gastronomy and the services we offer. The whole team works very hard everyday to make our guests holidays an unforgettable experience.

We regret to know that you could not get the room you whished. We always try to fulfil our guests requests, but those days we were making a renovation on the area you wanted to be and it was not possible to allocate you. We apologize for the inconveniences.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,

Best regards.

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Playa Meloneras Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Playa Meloneras Palace

Address: C/ Mar Caspio 5 | Costa Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Playa Meloneras Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Playa Meloneras Palace is located in Meloneras, in the south of Gran Canaria, an excellent location in a quiet seafront area next to some of the island's exclusive golf courses. Its recently refurbished rooms, new Chill-Out terrace with sea views, manicured gardens and Despacio Spa Centre give this hotel its special charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your H10 Playa Meloneras Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Playa Meloneras Palace Hotel Maspalomas
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa Meloneras Palace
Gran Canaria Meloneras
Meloneras Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.