We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame the pools are too cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Playa Meloneras Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Playa Meloneras Palace to your Saves list
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   C/ Mar Caspio 5 | Costa Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“shame the pools are too cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

just got back from a brilliant stay at this lovely resort. great food, nice rooms, nice bars and nice pools to look at. WAs a complete shame they are not heated and so unbearable. they do have one heated infinity pool but its freezing. for such a rich resort why o why cant they just turn up the heat slightly for guests to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort and that you were able to rest.

We also want to thank you for the remark of the temperature of the swimming pools. As you comment, we do have a heated one which is around 24ºC. This is the maximum temperature allowed in public swimming pools in the Canary Islands. However, we understand that due the winter season and the lower outside temperature these days the feeling is that the water is colder than it should.

We will be very happy to welcome you again at the H10 Playa Meloneras Palace.

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    523
    168
    91
    73
See reviews for
442
932
53
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel has been build in 2002 and looks like it is 25 years old. Maintenance has not been done properly or not at all. The bathrooms show humidity spots and corrosion, the tiles are loose, door to toilet was missing. The rooms are outdated with only 1 single electricity connection, no internet in the room, no watercooker or coffee machine, no iron, no bottle opener. Curtains loose and transparent.
This hotel is not 5 stars like for instance the Lopesan hotels in the area.
I will not come back here!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel. Spend a few NOK / EUR / GBP more and find a good hotel at walking distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your holidays on Gran Canaria and at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are updating the rooms in order to high up our standards and make our guests holidays an unforgettable experience.

Once again, we wish to express our highest regret that you did not found the perfect holiday on Gran Canria and wish you all best.

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great hotel, relaxing, clean, safe.

Most of the staff were excellent and really friendly, one or two less so but you get that everywhere.

Fantastic for kids and Vanessa who runs the kids club is deserving of a special mention.

We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for writing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed and relaxed in our facilities.

We will let know our colleague Vanessa your special mention. For sure she will be very happy and motivated.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. If you need assistance for your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First of all, I had read other reviewers complaining that they were not served champagne at check-in. If that had been my only grievance, I would have given the hotel maximum score. The hotel obviously took the review to heart, as the cava was promptly served. However, having a glass of cava placed in your hand while you're standing at the check-in desk with a backpack on, a camera bag hanging over your shoulder and car seat with the baby still in it hanging from your arm, does not make a stay five stars...

My wife and I both thought the hotel showed clear signs of being 20 to 30 years old, but a British couple who claimed to have stayed there ever since the hotel opened say it's only 10 years old. Cracks in the concrete walls and a lot of broken tiles around the swimming pool are clear signs of decay, but for a 10 year old hotel I don't know how or why it's happening.

Also, for a 10 year old hotel, the building is remarkably primitively constructed. The rooms are not noise-proofed at all -- we could hear the upstairs neighbour, the next-door neighbour, the elevator (we were at the end of the corridor) and all guests and staff walking by our door on hard heels or after a little all-inclusive alcohol. Noise-proofing in a 10 year old building should be a lot better than that, and especially at a five star hotel.

The room also led us to believe the hotel was built in the 80's. It had ample telephone plugs, including one next to the toilet, but no internet connection whatsoever. I'm sure all the guests who experience emergencies while using the toilet relish the opportunity to call the reception for help, but I would rather be able to receive emails from friends and do Skype calls with my family from my hotel room. And no, even though we were literally less than 10 meters away from the central building, it's often shaky wi-fi did not leak even to our balcony. And the internet connection offered by the pool-side café was more offline than it was online. Come now, how hard can it be? This IS 2012.

We were on the western side of the hotel, but I suspect conditions are different on the eastern side due to the -- by comparison -- excellent wireless connection offered by the pool-side bar on that side. It might even leak to the balconies.

Finally, I was a bit disappointed to see that even at a five star hotel, a "double" room means two single beds placed side-by-side on a floor that seems devoid of friction. Expect bed-side romance to suffer or face the risk of descending into the crack.

All in all a trip down memory lane as far as the room and buildings go. Or perhaps Spanish building codes aren't that great. Three stars, max.

The pools are nice and quite possibly very clean (after spending 20 minutes in the pool, I couldn't get the smell of chlorine out of my skin for a full day). Only one pool is an infinity pool, and to be honest the effect is kinda ruined by the distance to the sea, but it's still a nice gimmick. Unfortunately for us, this pool area is flagged as an "adults/relaxation area" -- no kids allowed. On the other hand, it gave us a nice retort when people were complaining about babies being noisy at the kids allowed-area.

We stayed in a double room with a sea view. The view was as promised -- a direct, honest-to-god sea view from the room and the balcony. This seems to be the case for approximately 80% of the rooms in the hotel (as judged from the outside), so when they say sea view, chances appear pretty good you will get what you expect. The rooms on the pool level have terraces with direct access to the pool area, but also little privacy and no sea view. Although the H10 is the only Meloneras strip hotel to have a road and a shopping centre between itself and the sea, the view does not suffer much from this due to the seaward slope of the terrain.

Said shopping centre is almost entirely deserted, save for a row of restaurants and a "supermercado" at the beach level. To go shopping, you have to walk 15-20 minutes along the promenade to Boulevard Faro and the Varadero shopping centre. Not at all horrible, but if you were hoping for excellent, local shopping, they still seem to be a few shops shy of a centre. One downside to the centre, as experienced by a friendly German couple we met, was that in the weekends they run their stereos a little louder than usual. If you end up in a room on the seafront, you may not be able to enjoy the balcony as much.

The pools also have a lot of sunbeds and even double sunbeds (in this case, "double" in the same interpretation as the "double" room). Like others are saying, no reserving sunbeds before 10 am, which sometimes meant no sunbed for us. On the other hand, very few seemed to want to spend the day in the lounging area almost directly in front of the main building. With somewhat awkwardly curved lounging beds and adjustable curtains for privacy or shade (provided there is no wind), the area probably also had the best sea view and the best internet connection.

When you check in, you are given pool towel tokens. This funny concept involves going to the spa to exchange your tokens for towels, then being given the opportunity to go back and exchange them at will (between the designated hours of operation, which luckily do not include siesta), and finally you can return your towels permanently and get the tokens back. I still don't know why, but it's a concept.

We didn't spend a single day at the beach. With a baby, that would have been troublesome in the first place, which is why we wanted a classy, five star resort, but we never really felt the need to.

For the outdoor areas: four stars.

This brings us to the final part of our supposed five star stay: the inclusiveness. We went for the half-board option, which includes breakfast and buffet dinner. They claim "show cooking" in the restaurant, but really it's just three guys frying meat. They don't even juggle the meat. The food was quite nice, even if they seemed to randomly rotate the menu, so you never knew if that really delicious dish would be served again tomorrow, or ever.

The buffet restaurant is hot and noisy (to be expected from a dining area approved for 772 guests and with the air conditioning turned off due to it being "winter"), but the outside dining area is very quiet and cool (and labelled with a somewhat cryptic sign of a burning cigarette that I swear I haven't seen since the 80's).

A typical dinner buffet consists of several types of "show"-fried meat, some alternative dishes (pasta, lasagna, paella, pizza, or something-else-a), a salad bar, and a dessert table. Mysteriously, the chocolate ice cream is always the first to go, and the maitre d' reacts to this by sometimes not providing any chocolate ice cream at all. It's the quirks that make people love their partner, and possibly also their hotel.

With the all-inclusive option, you get to dine à la carte at restaurant Garcia, but it remained elusive and unknown to the half-boarding hoards. If you wish to explore the thrills of a menu, the hotel will let you exchange your dinner buffet for a lunch buffet or a picnic basket (we did not try the latter), but only if you tell them a day in advance.

Food: three stars. You really cannot give a buffet with no chocolate ice cream more than three stars.

Finally, the staff. Despite economic crisis in Spain and a super-duper-dependency on tourists on Gran Canaria, the locals still come across as somewhat uninterested. Not everyone, of course -- the animation team (in charge of various fun activities such as rifle shooting, tennis, and water gymnastics for the elderly) being a very notable and very noticable expection -- but every now and then we were met with the we-don't-do-that attitude. Not a big problem, and most staff are friendly and want to help.

Sometimes they do seem more interested in their rules than their guests. I still wonder what would have happened if we hadn't returned the pool towel tokens. Our German friends were told only Privilege guests could swap bed pillows. On the plus side, they did supply us with a water boiler so we could prepare baby food in the room, despite us not having bought the 4 euro a day tea service. Smiley faces for the receptionist and maitre d' who conspired to make that work, and the baggage haulers to had to struggle with our stroller, car seat, two suitcases, and one bag for the baby.

For the service I give four stars.

Room Tip: Pool level rooms have less privacy. Seafront rooms have more noise. The eastern block probably has b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. Your opinion is very important to us in order to keep on improving.

We are very sorry to read that we were not able to achieve your expectations, as this is our main goal.

We have taken good notice of your suggestions and we take always our guests critics as a positive way to keep on improving.
We would like to inform you that we will install before the end of the year Wifi in all the rooms. However the reason of the existance of telephones in the bathrooms is a question of safety.

Our cleaning team always prepare very carefully the bed with double bed sheets and it is very difficult to have an accident. In fact, many european 5 stars hotels use this system in order to give flexibility to our guests (as there not all the guests who visit the hotel are couples). However, in case our guests would like to have a room with a king size bed, we always recommend to book a Junior Suite.

Regarding your comments about the sunbed reservation forbidden before 10 o´clock is just in order to give our guests a more pleasant stay and give all our guests the chance to enjoy them.

We have also taken notice of your comments about the restaurant and the showcooking. The 90% of our guests find in our gastronomy on of the reasons to come back but we can keep on improving and your critic will be very useful in order to high up our standards and give an unforgettable experience to our guests.

Thank you for your nice words about our staff. For sure they will be a great motivation for the whole team.

We would like to show you our improvements in a near future,

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from another wonderful holiday in this hotel.
The staff are very friendly and efficient.
The entertainment had greatly improved since our visit in March.
The pool area is much cleaner and the staff do a great job.
The garden area is also kept very tidy.
Well done to the H10 team who work very hard.

A couple of improvement we would suggest are:-
The sea view rooms are now very dated and need renovating.
Duvets on the bed would be a great improvement as would free WiFi throughout the hotel.

Looking forward to our next visit in April. :D

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to read comments of satisfaction like yours.

We want to thank you for your loyalty and for the nice words about our staff. We will inform them about you comments, for sure your words will be a huge motivation for all of us to keep on working and improving.

We have also taken notice of your suggestions and we are glad to inform you that these improvements are programmed in a near future.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed all inclusive for 10 days October 2012, had read some negative reviews, but I must admit that this was one off the best hotels I have stayed in, and I am quite fussy, The hotel grounds are very spacious and well equiped with sun beds loungers(no reserving until after 10am).,

The hotel was extremely clean and bright, we stayed in a Junior suite, but the normal hotel rooms are very spacious, the food was excellent with a wide choice to suit all tastes.

I hope to be able to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We are really happy and delighted to read that you enjoyed so much your stay with us. We thank you for the time you spent writting and sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We will let all our team know about your satisfaction. Your words will work as a great motivation for all of us to keep on improving and giving our best service.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spacious rooms with good views of the sea and located 2 mins walk from Melanoras beach. Lovely pool area and the kiddies disco at night was a big hit with our girls. Only drawbacks are staff are not overly friendly with the exception of the kids activity staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMeloneras, Equipo Directivo at H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

All the team is really happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, specially your girls with our animation team which will be for sure very happy to hear about your.

We also take notice of your comments in order to keep on improving.

It will be a pleasure to be your host again.

Best regards,

H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Playa Meloneras Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Playa Meloneras Palace

Address: C/ Mar Caspio 5 | Costa Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Business Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Playa Meloneras Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Playa Meloneras Palace is located in Meloneras, in the south of Gran Canaria, an excellent location in a quiet seafront area next to some of the island's exclusive golf courses. Its recently refurbished rooms, new Chill-Out terrace with sea views, manicured gardens and Despacio Spa Centre give this hotel its special charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your H10 Playa Meloneras Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Playa Meloneras Palace Hotel Maspalomas
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa Meloneras Palace
Gran Canaria Meloneras
Meloneras Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Playa Meloneras Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.