We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maspalomas Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maspalomas Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Avda Tour Operador TUI, s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheltenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I do agree that there are more families here than before, having been here as a couple twice before, 5 and 8 years ago, and this time just with a friend to play golf across the road. it was a lot noisier but I think the staff are very helpful if you ask for a quieter room or you have a complaint they will deal with it. The organisation of the hotel needs looking at, ie put families all on the ground floor, then mobile older people on the first floor and finally younger couples/singles on the top. Just a suggestion. Also the entertainment is a bit pathetic. They need to do stuff for kids at 8-9, then move on the the acts at 9-10 then 10-12 some nights put on some music. We really wanted to dance! The only night we could was New Year's Eve or at the Abba tribute night for 10 minutes! Only other suggestion is to re-tile the pool, it's very yellow and make the heated pool area bigger. So many kids I could only swim 10 yards and back. Please don't be put off by my comments, I had a lovely time and would go back again. Food, weather, rooms, staff etc all very good . Some of the comments below are just your typical moaning english people sadly. I met one there who didn't even give it a chance just asked Thomsons to get him the first flight out on his first day. What a misery!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, but no guarantees if you ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    357
    129
    50
    15
See reviews for
221
431
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had a superb Christmas break. We (2 Adults + 12 yr) had a really wonderful, loved everything about the Hotel. Whilst it is a massive complex, you never felt it was as big as it was, it was a new experience for us with the Half Board (Evening Meal) idea and initially thought its not really for us, but the food was excellent, varied every evening and was always fresh, fresh - a great way to try out different dishes. The Christmas Gala Dinner was wonderful, it was waiter service and it was made to feel very special and i thought the acknowledgement of the Staff a lovely touch. Evening entertainment was a mixed bag, take it or leave it but i would say catered for all, Music in Bar was also ok. Santa & his helpers visting the Hotel on Christmas Night was good fun too!! Thoroughly loved the Entertainment outside Reception whilst we waited for Santa, lovely to see traditional music & culture.
The hotel (rooms, outside grounds, pool area) is maintained very well, spotlessly clean.
I think this a lovely spot to go with families with all children catered for, we didn't avail of the Kids club as our son was quite happy with the swimming pools, (participated couple of times with the Water games organised) Table Tennis, Pool tables, beach volley ball (on the artifical beach on site!) & Mini Golf.
Outside of hotel, you have nothing going on, (residential area) 20 mins walk to b'ful beach area, not sure about shops etc., as we had abosultely no inclination to go, we were there for the heat, sun and relaxing time and we certainly did although probably gained a few extra lbs in doing so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was at the hotel at the same time as some of the moaning minnies below. Yes the hotel was crowded and yes there were lots of children around but as a 70+ widower who lives alone it was just good to see families enjoying themselves especially when a lot of them have come from the winter dark lands of Scandinavia. I have been to the hotel 6 times now and it has changed but not necessarlly for the worse. The staff were busy but if you smiled at them they responded, all the ones I met were helpful, the food is mass catering and not cordon blue but there was always something that was good and the Christmas Gala Dinner was outstanding.
It is not an over expensive hotel and in my view good value for money, but if you don't like children then stay away,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed a week in the sun in December. Pros: short transfer time, good buffet restaurant, plenty of sun loungers, clean and tidy complex, helpful staff. Family orientated hotel. Cons: Not much else in and around the resort, rooms were very noisy especially if you were on the ground or 1st floor, no spa facilities.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are pleasant. Make sure your room is located on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just spent Christmas week at the Maspalomas Princess and had a great time. The hotel staff laid on a cocktail party with entertainment prior to an excellent Gala Dinner on Christmas night. This was followed by fireworks in the forecourt and the arrival of Santa for the children.
It made Christmas memorable without being overdone.
As a bonus the weather for the whole week was hot and sunny. The only small gripe was that the buffet food, particularly breakfast, was not very hot.
Having been to this hotel recently, however, we noticed that the childrens club facilities have been greatly enhanced and extended and it appears that the hotel is aiming more at the family market in future. There were a lot of children there during our stay but this may have just been fot the Christmas.
If, however, as a couple, you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle, this may no longer be the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

When a hotel still has its Thomson awards from 1998 & 1999 displayed as a 'great hotel', then you should worry. Given its over a decade later, they should be looking at striving for the high standards it once had - instead this hotel is being run into the ground.

It needs a complete overall of the rooms, services offered & retraining of chefs/staff to appeal to the high standards of what paying guests expect in the year 2013 !

I will no longer even contemplate going here for a holiday as why spend your good money when the hotel & the staff treat you with distain e.g. buffet choices from the 90's with limited choice & "Hot" food which is seldom that.

Instead I urge the hotel management & staff as well as you go to the 'Baia Lara' hotel in Lara Beach, Antalya, Turkey which is modern, amazing & they really do welcome guests to their resort. Here everything is included and everything works - Modern rooms, great pools, proper staff who understand that YOU are the reason they are employed so provide an amazing welcoming experiance.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having stayed at this Hotel many times over the last decade it is sad to report that (Due to the demands of TUI, the parent company of Thomson Holidays) the hotel seems to be aiming for the Scandinavian bucket and spade market and choosing to attract swathes of screaming children.
Such a shame as this hotel used to offer a relatively traditional and calm Oasis with a decent buffet, spotlessly clean areas and solid service.

It is sucha shame that Princess Hotels seemed to have succombed to the Tour Operators demands and, as a result, have ruined this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maspalomas Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maspalomas Princess Hotel

Address: Avda Tour Operador TUI, s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Specialty lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maspalomas Princess Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Maspalomas Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maspalomas Princess Hotel Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maspalomas Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.