We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia to your Saves list
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Oasis 32, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Knokke-Heist, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful to spent a nice and quite holiday.
The all staff is perfect, qualified and friendly (reception, pool, restaurant etc..).
The garden is beautiful just like in a paradise.
We will go back soon to enjoy again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mrs. de Wael,

Thank you for having chosen Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia during your recent holiday on Gran Canaria.

We are delighted to read that you spent a wonderful holiday at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the facilities and the service provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Maspalomas,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    33
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
225
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is truly outstanding in every way.We have recently returned home after our third visit and are already planning our fourth. If you are looking for a stunning intimate hotel away from the crowds were you are made to feel valued this is the hotel for you! The standard of service at reception in the bar and restaurant are excellent as is the choice of food on both the set menu and the a la carte not forgetting the lovely breakfasts cooked to order by two delightful ladies,who are always smiling. We have chosen suites for our visits which we have found spacious along with the bathroom.A team of lovely ladies work very hard keeping the rooms immaculately clean. We have been lucky enough to stay in several of the :Leading Small Hotels of the World:and I have to say not all of them live up to the name.Choose to stay here and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen once again the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia as your holiday destination.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. Furthermore I highly appreciate the nice comments about the staff that truly makes the difference of our guests' stay. Thank you for especially mentioning our breakfast chefs and the room attendants! I am certain your words will be a great motivation for the team.

Our second main focus is on the highest quality of food & beverage and we are happy that we also met your expectations in this aspect.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A vacation the residencia is relaxation in perfection. Architecturally a dreamlike facilities. Very tastefully and stylishly furnished. The many long-standing staff team offer a completely perfect service in the restaurant like in the rooms. The warm and competent team at the front desk is in our opinion hardly to exceed. The kitchen always excellent. Especially worth mentioning is the extraordinary hospitality the always and everywhere is to be felt. We are now already for the 5. time the residencia and for us it's always an arrival in a small paradise. This hotel we could each of the peace and quiet searches highly recommend. Because of the five, very nearby golf courses for golfers outstanding suitable. We are already looking forward to our next stay. Many thanks and a large radix complement at the residencia team!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that your stay was “relaxation to perfection” and that you have found your “paradise”.

Thank you so much for commenting on the staff that truly makes the difference of our guests’ holiday. We always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Gran Canaria truly is a great getaway for golf enthusiasts where you can play on a total of eight professional golf courses 365 days a year.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Like paradise. Food. Service. Everything.
We are just staying in this fantastic seaside hotel. Wonderful garden. Wonderful restaurant. L Occitane products in the bathroom. A wonderful place to spent a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Christa,

Thank you for having chosen the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia for your holidays on Gran Canaria.

It is a pleasure to read that you are enjoying your stay with us and that everything is to your liking. To offer the highest standard in service and food & beverage are only two of the Seaside Hotels main objectives and we are happy that we have met your expectations.

Thank you and keep enjoying your “wonderful holidays in paradise”!

Best regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I agree with previous reviews that food is very good, staff are polite and courteous and bedrooms are spacious and well maintained with everything you might require including an umbrella and long handle shoe horn. Fruit, tea, coffee and water are delivered to the room each day. The public rooms are not as elegant as I had expected and the restaurant (especially the inside one) is cramped with many tables close together. The entrance is not very imposing and is shared with an apartment building. Service is generally good but in the evening this can be quite hectic in the restaurant. I prefered the waiter service to the twice weekly barbeques and particularly enjoyed the soups and desserts.
Sunbeds are comfortable with plenty of umbrellas providing shade. It is sad to say that reserving of beds is very common, although there are always many beds to choose from. Many reserved beds are left unoccupied until the aftrernoon. My belongings were moved off a bed by the pool attendant when I went to reception to seek assistance when another guest approached me to advise that he had paid a sum of money to use that particular bed!!
I enjoy keeping fit on holiday and although the gym is very small, the equipment is sufficient for most types of exercise. I also used the Thalasso pool each day, but again it is small but most days I was able to gauge it so that I was either alone or with only a few people. Although I always use the sauna, steam room etc facilities on holiday, I did not on this occasion. The area is mixed gender and the hotels preference is for naked use. There are no notices to this effect and I and other brits shared the view that this is distasteful and unpleasant in a hotel environment with many different nationalities and cultures..
The hotel is surrounded on three sides by waste land and they have done a good job in disguising this with the use of fences and hedging. For me the experience was disappointing and is certainly not worthy of the 5starGL rating.

Room Tip: I preferred none pool room which are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having stayed at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia and for having shared your experiences on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your nice comments about the staff, the food and the hotel rooms.

I regret that we did not meet your taste in regards to the design of the hotel entrance and the restaurant inside and your disappointment about some of our facilities.

We always provide plenty of sun beds for all guests in-house so there is indeed no need to reserve one. We ask the guests not to reserve, unfortunately some guest do so anyways. I will speak to the pool attendants regarding the incident with your sun bed and apologize for the inconvenience.

Due to hygiene reasons we decided to make the sauna a traditional “nude sauna”, which is stated on the sign next to the sauna. However we ask our guests to use towels. The guests are also welcome to use the sauna during other times than the “sauna hours” in the late afternoon to have more privacy.

Let me elaborate a little bit on the hotel standards in Spain to clarify the ratings. The 5* Gran Lujo rating is an official rating in Spain and the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia is the only 5* Gran Lujo hotel on Gran Canaria. The standards of a 5* Gran Lujo hotel are first of all standards of outstanding high quality and exceptional personalized guest service accompanied by certain standards as room size, offer of a spa, twice daily maid etc.

Again, we thank you for having stayed with us and we hope anyways to welcome you back at our property.

Best regards from Maspalomas

Robert Heitzig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I have been travelling to the Canaries for many years and never found a
good rated hotel with "good food" Found it what a delightful place - such wonderful staff, beautiful decor and best of all the food it was 5* plus. We are heading back in October and can't wait.

Mrs S Wadsworth (Jersey)

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful in beautiful settings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mrs Wadsworth,

Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive such lovely comments and are very happy that you finally found “your hotel” on Gran Canaria. Personalized service and the highest quality of food are our main focus and we are pleased that we have met all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Warmest regards,
Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a glorious 5 night stay at this property, which we were guests at 7 years ago on our last visit to Gran Canaria. We had high expectations on our return to the hotel and I must say the hotel delivered in every respect. The grounds are immaculate (the hotel and grounds are spotless), the service impeccable (staff remember your name, your drink, your food preference…all the right things), the food delicious (I cannot say enough for the variety, quality and service in the restaurant, be sure to book your stay for Wed, or Sun night Bar-B-Que). We booked through Leading Hotels of the World and were upgraded to a Junior Suite (room 248) facing the pool (would highly recommend facing the pool), which had great afternoon sun on our patio. The clientele of the hotel was mainly older, established Europeans (many Germans & English), which was just perfect for us as we wanted a quiet relaxing week in the sun. Apparently the property has very few American guest (perhaps too far to go?), which is surprising as it was an easy flight ATL-MAD-LPA. The hotel’s proximity to the dunes of Maspalomas is very convenient if you want visit to the beach (less than 10 min walk) or the shops along the promenade (15-20 min walk).

I cannot say enough about the property…if you are planning a visit to Gran Canaria, The Grand Hotel Residencia is “the” place to stay. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful relaxing vacation…we’ll be back.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the pool for morning or afternoon sun on your patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having stayed with us again. We highly appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor – it is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

The focus at Seaside Grand Hotel Residenica, as well as at the other properties of the Seaside Chain, is personalized guest service and a high quality offer of food and beverage. We are happy that you enjoyed both. Gran Canaria is such a beautiful island and we would love to welcome more guests from the US.

I have shared your comments with our team, which was very encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World and the Seaside Group, we continuously strive to meet and exceed the needs and expectations of our guests.

Thank you again for publishing a review and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Address: Avenida del Oasis 32, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Business Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, only member of “The Leading Hotels of the World” on the island of Gran Canaria, is situated in a place of exceptional beauty: an extensive palm grove in a natural park. At just a few steps from the sand dunes and beach of Maspalomas, the charming two-storey villas integrate harmoniously within the landscape, and enjoy spectacular views of the distant mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Grand Maspalomas
Grand Hotel Residencia
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.