We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fantastic Gym and Spa - More to Do on the Eco Front” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mar Mediterraneo 1, Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Fantastic Gym and Spa - More to Do on the Eco Front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Overall a great hotel and fantastic location in Maspalomas for a Gran Canaria holiday. Lovely grounds and pools with views out to the sea and access to the seaside promenade and shopping area. Plentiful half board option and a great gym for an additional fee if on the standard tariffs. Some room to enhance its eco performance especially compared to other Lopesan / IFA hotels that have solar panels installed.

Public Transport:
- No information on Lopesan website on public transportation options, or clear map of how to get from Maspalomas Faro bus stop to the hotel (the hotel is perfectly located to make use of the local public bus network including the route to/from the airport)

Zero Waste:
- Disposable plastic toiletries containers rather than the bulk dispensers you find in many eco-conscious Nordic hotels
- Was not provided the option to receive bill via email rather than getting another piece of paper to throw away

Energy:
+ Electricity in room keycard operated
- No apparent on-site generation through solar or thermal hot water (there should be plenty of opportunity for this on Gran Canaria and Lopesan/IFA is implementing this in other hotels)

Recycled and Local Products:
- Unable to tell if the paper products in the room were recycled

Environmental Information:
- No information in room or on website regarding environmental, initiatives, performance / CO2 emissions and targets (although if you go looking you can find information via Lopesan’s company description)

CO2 Offset:
- No option to offset CO2 emissions from stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,264
    559
    156
    60
    60
See reviews for
467
974
47
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we spent some family time in this place and we enjoyed every minut of it
my wife and I are not usually into hotel clubs but we decided to go there to meet with some family who stayed in this hotel
we were shocked by how big this hotel is.....the reception area is huge.
Staff is extremely friendly from reception to sleaners , bar staff or restaurant staff
room are big and bed are comfy, no real effort have been made in the deco but so much space make these rooms nice..Ac super good and nice bathroom
Balconies are ok.
we were impressed by the 2 restaurants, the quality of food and the diversity is incredible, same for breakfast
there is a 3rd restaurant for the VIp so we were not lucky enough to access it but there is two other restaurants at the end of the pool.....one steak house and another restaurant , kinda modern were we had one of the nicest dinner in a long time...staff, deco, food, everything was perfect...i think the name was OSIANIS

we managed to access the SPA and we had a shock..little bit expensive but the nicest spa i have seen in my life

we spent a lovely week in this hotel, lot of people but so big that you can go to a differnet spot everyday without meeting the same people....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are just home having spent a week staying here.The hotel is huge..approx 1000 rooms but never crowds you as its split into nice courtyards and plaza's.Rooms are comfortable, well serviced and clean but have the annoying continental idea of a double bed..two singles pushed together.The staff all the way from check in to check out were excellent friendly and helpful with only one exception in the breakfast room.The food is very good,breakfast and dinner are buffet's with huge choice and very good quality.The only black mark goes to the Ambassador restaurant which is part of the hotel and quite honestly the reason we stayed there having eaten there twice on our last stay in Meloneras when the food was exquisite,this time it was a long long way from fine dining and a huge disappointment.The meal cost 104 euro,we ate the follwing night in the buffet at 20euro each,,,, the food was way better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. antrim
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here from September 28th to October 5th, we had a relaxing holiday at this lovely hotel.
This really is a special hotel; after a disastrous holiday elsewhere last year in a grotty, cockroach infested hovel that was 'meant to be 4 stars' we were relaxed travelling to the Lopesan as we just knew we would be happy. We were.
The food in the two buffet restaurants is hot, always freshly made, of good quality and variety. We also dined in the El Churrasco and Embassador restaurants. It was all splendid. I have no complaints.
Our room was 1138 which overlooked the Corralium pool and surrounding gardens. It was clean, in very good repair with comfortable bedding. The air conditioning worked well so we were able to sleep at night.
We sunbathed daily at the side of the huge infinity pool where there was fine sand, this was a beautiful environment to relax in. Plenty of shade if you want it and direct sunshine if you don't.
The Corallium was an experience which I would highly recommend, the 'womb suite' with its water beds in particular. My only slight complaint was that the Corralium pool had little in the way of jets/hydrotherapy in comparison to what you get at Gloria Palace San Agustin/Amadores. But to be fair these don't have the 10+ rooms such as the flotation pool, ice house or Egyptian Sauna.
The central reception area is both impressive yet comfortable and relaxing. I loved the hotel band and we enjoyed sitting outside each evening to listen to them and watch the entertainment.

My only complaint is that the hotel doesn't have a dedicated Chill Out Terrace with patio burners, relaxing music and a seperate cocktail list with a really good cocktail barista to make them. This was a disappointment as apart from the Mojitos (Classic and Strawberry) the other cocktails were very average. This is why despite being delighted with everything else I'm only giving the hotel an overall rating of 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

In 2006, we were wandering around the lighthouse at Maspalomas and always said we would come back one day and stay at the Lopesan Costa Melonares Resort for a holiday one day. It was a dream which I never thought would be fulfilled, but we spent two idyllic weeks here in August 2013. We had a fabulous time, and can see why people return year after year. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We were given rooms with inland rooms which overlooked the back of the casino and the Lopesan Baobab Hotel with the Mountains in the distance. If you are not bothered about having a sea view then the mountain rooms are the way to go as they do not get the late afternoon sun and are a little bit cooler in the evenings. The rooms were very spacious and with lots of cupboard space. We asked for the drinks to be removed from the mini-fridge in the bedroom on our second day of being there. in the room there are two bottles of water which look as though they would be complementary for the guests use, be careful they are not the hotel makes a charge of €2 per bottle.

We were on a half-board basis, and the food was good and very plentiful with lots of variety too. You have a choice of eating inside or outside on the terrace, if you wish to eat inside you can just walk in and sit at any table. If you wish to eat outside, then the chances are that if you get there early you will be seated quite quickly but if not you will have to queue. The Alameda Restaurant was a lot quieter than the Alantico Restaurant, but the food served in the restaurants was the same on both sides.

We spent many days in the various swimming pools within the hotel grounds but we didn't use the spa facilities that were provided by the hotel at an extra charge.

The Tertulia Terrace Cafe provides the ideal spot to sit and people watch. The hotel provides entertainment each evening on a small stage to the side of the terrace. But there are not enough seats to comfortably seat all the guests who wish to watch the entertainment.

On a couple of evenings we walked out of the back gate onto the Lopesan Boulevard at the back of the hotel and had drinks in a few of the cafes along the promenade and listened to the local folk groups who came to play at those venues.

On the whole would we go back, yes, it was a lovely hotel and it met with all of our expectations in more ways than one. It is in a wonderful location, with friendly helpful staff and management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We are going back for our 3rd visit in February - when I read these latest reviews I know we have made the correct decision again - so exciting !! We return because we know the area well and the facilities and promenade areas are great for wheelchair users.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully situated, kept immaculately clean, has superb facilities and grounds but is ENORMOUS! We stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast offered huge choice and excellent quality. Only tip would be to avoid the 9am breakfast rush, 8-8.30 is much more civilised.
We are beach lovers so didn't spend much time around the hotel during the day and ate out every night taking full advantage of the great range of local restaurants in easy walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for the beach. Our room was excellent with a separate bath and shower and a large, comfortable double bed. The A/C wasn't so good though and we struggled to get the temperature down below 22 degrees (which is fine for most). We had booked a standard mountain view room but on arrival were told we had been upgraded to a pool view room so I can't comment on the standard rooms. We don't really worry too much about the room as we spend so little time in it!
My only real criticism is that there do not appear to be enough waiters in the evening serving drinks. We often waited quite a while, firstly for our orders to be taken and then for the drinks to turn up. In our opinion, drinks weren't great quality for the price and served with about half a dozen peanuts and not even a mat! Conversation is difficult due to the sheer number of people, the volume of the entertainment and the layout of the seating.
If you are looking for efficient and personal service in a relaxed environment, this hotel probably isn't for you.
Having said that, if you are looking to largely stay within the confines of a hotel offering excellent facilities, activities and grounds with a real buzz about it, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Mar Mediterraneo 1, Meloneras, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Corallium Spa & Casino is situated on the sea front on thesouth part of Gran Canaria, very close to the Dunes of Maspalomas Nature Preserve. It issurrounded by an undeniable natural beauty environment, this spectacular hotel complex offers allthat is needed to enjoy unforgettable holidays, full of restful moments, leisure and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa And Casino
Gran Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Resort Maspalomas
Costa Meloneras
Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras
Gran Costa Meloneras
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.