We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome as warm as the weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Save Saved
You added Seaside Palm Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A welcome as warm as the weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel with some exceptional qualities and some that require a little more polish. Overall, on balance I'm not sure I'd say it's a 5* hotel, but is a very solid and respectable 4*. There is a little bit of rating inflation that blights so many hotels around the world, so the Palm Beach should not be singled out unfairly.

The hospitality offered by the staff is in the exceptional category. The manager clearly instils this quality in her staff by leading by example. From restaurant staff, to pool teams, to room service, to reception, everyone extends warmth, charm and a friendly smile backed by a solid commitment to service. Refreshing.

The food is also excellent. While the breakfast service is similar each morning, there's sufficient choice to ensure your meal is only as limited as your imagination. Dinner alternated between a bbq night and an a la carte night, with the menu on the later always different. The bbq, like breakfast, was formuliac but with plenty of range. Room service menu is a bit limited, as was the pool bar menu, until we found you can order off either, so a bit of an own goal not to list everything in both places. Everthing was cooked to perfection.

The restaurant would benefit from a little more polished service - a bit of external training required for the team to demonstrate 5* service: Set up a maitre 'd welcome station so if it is busy you can receive people rather than guests milling around, prairie dogging for a table; set tables before sitting people; if you're trying to find people who've gone to the bar while waiting for a table, don't stand right in front of them on your mobile talking to a colleague on the other side of the restaurant saying 'these ones?' little things.

The wider facilities are good - pools in good order, plenty of loungers, attentive staff, pleasant reception area and lounges. Rooms are spacious and beds comfy. Bathrooms are a bit cosy and room decor is, erm, vibrant - not to my taste, but in good condition. TV channel range a bit deutch-tastic, but you don't go on holiday to watch telly. Otherwise, my wife enjoyed a spa treatment, which was excellent but a bit pricey.

In summary, we had a good stay made great by the staff and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Seaside Palm Beach **** and for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the hospitality and the excellent food.

Your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us in our effort to continually improve our level of service. Please rest assured that I will be following up on these points with my team.

Once again I wish to thank you for your friendly review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    106
    35
    10
    3
See reviews for
101
300
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights in August. There are many positives, for example, the location right next to the beach, the friendly staff, the cleanliness and the quality of the food. But there are also some things that are less than ideal. These include, the fact that although the hotel has been very well refurbished, there's no hiding that it was built in the 70's and as such the rooms, lobby, and dinning area are all a bit small. Also, we found the whole mealtime experience very confusing when we first arrived. 1) because you can just wander in and sit where you like, 2) because on most nights it's a mixture of buffet and a la carte - but nobody explains this on you and 3) because bread is served by the waiters and sometimes they ignore or forget to do it. I would also say that although shorts are not allowed at dinner jeans apparently are - which is fine by me. I just wish that had been made clear before I'd packed my trousers. I would however, like to finish on a positive note and say we really enjoyed the holiday and the hotel is very good. An example of this being how they let us keep our room until 6pm when we left for the airport at no extra charge. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Best room are sea view on floor 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Phil,

Thank you for having chosen the Seaside Palm Beach***** and for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would definitely come back.

Our sincere apologies that on your arrival the dress code and the information for the restaurant was not clear, although this information is included in the information pack you receive on arrival, we will see how this can be improved to avoid any future misunderstandings. The Restaurant offers BBQ/Buffet on three evenings and an á la Carte menu with table service on 4 evenings, a variety which our guests enjoy during their stay with us.

In recent times we have deferred from taking table reservations, to enable our guests to sit at the table of their choice according to what is available on their arrival and to prevent having tables reserved all evening and perhaps clients do not arrive or are late and this can be a disturbance to other guests. Members of the Management are present to greet guests in the Restaurant and show them to a table.

Once again we wish to thank you for your friendly review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Seaside Palm Beach. We also visited this hotel 2 years ago and were very impressed. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and is very close to the beach.
The pool areas are very well kept and there are always plenty of sun loungers. We enjoyed the range of food available at breakfast and the evening meal alternates between barbeque and table service. You do pay for bottled water in the restaurant but I would expect to pay for bottled water in England.
The hotel leave small bottles of water in the room each evening which is a lovely touch. Fresh pool towels are also left in the room every day.
All of the staff are very attentive and polite. The hotel management are very visible and friendly - we enjoyed talking to the manager at dinner and during the welcome cocktail meeting. There is always live music at the pool bar in the evening which was very enjoyable.
This is a perfect hotel for a relaxing, get away from it all, holiday which is just what we wanted. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An excellent hotel, very clean hotel with very good facilities and staff. A real five star hotel that I think has been under described in its brochures. Brilliant pools (including good 1 X childrens and 2 X adults only along with family pool), sauna, steam room, table tennis, darts, quoits and so much more. Lush, beautiful gardens situated three minutes walk from the sand dunes. Of course the wine is expensive as you would expect from a 5* and trousers are worn by men at evening meals in this type of hotel. Half board was excellent with table service some days and buffet stle on other days.

Room Tip: Better rooms are above level 3 and the garden rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We`ve just returned (me and my husband) from a two-week holiday at Palm Beach. I`d taken into consideration before booking the hotel that we might get a garden-view room. And we did. Because the hotel policy is rather strange - you can`t actually book a room with a sea view even with an extra charge. No matter how you book it`s always garden OR sea view. Our junior suite was located on the 5th floor (560). The room was fine, comfortable, nice bathroom, free of charge bottles of water provided every day, a newspaper delivered every morning, fresh pool towels provided every evening (in case a guest wished to have an early morning swim) along with a turning down service (tasty chocolates ).
We enjoyed our breakfasts (all the juices - fresh, a wide choice of tasty food, lots freshly cooked). The lunch and dinner menus (four times a week food served at the tables) changed every day. Maybe not Michellin star food but still delicious. Good choice of wines. According to the the hotel policy, there was a dress code (diiner) that very many guests didn`t follow and nobody cared. If the hotel sets a dress code,it`s for a reason. They don`t care what the guests look like, don`t ask anybody to follow any rules! Then the guests who are well-mannered don`t have to feel uncomfortable sitting next to somebody wearing shorts or flip-flops (or both). We loved the live music being played every night at dinner and as an evening entertaintment. The best was mr Javier singing standards. Loved it!
The swimming-pool area (the biggest one) was well-organised and looked stylish (wooden chairs with mint matteraces and towels, always two: a bigger one and a smaller one). Although we didn`t like that the pool service didn`t pay attention to those guests who didn`t behave according to the rules (jumping to the pool or using matteraces, disturbing other gusets). We didn`t mind the shouting as a relaxing pool was provided but we didn`t use it because the place wasn`t that suitable for swimming.
There is no lobby bar in the hotel. The only bar available is the one at the pool. One doesn`t want to sweat when dressed not for swimming but just ready to leave for the airport (yes, we were offered a glass of cava sitting in the lobby but we`d rather pay for drinks and not wait for anybody taking notice of us).
The staff in general is really nice, helpful, friendly, always smiling. The two people that made our stay memorable are: Ms Elisa (a member of the managing crew) and Mr Vega (a waiter). Wonderful people! Thank you!
The figure of the hotel manager, we found strange (we have no idea what her names is; she never wore a name badge). She appeared among the tables at dinner time and talked to the guests (there was a smoking area on the upper level close to the pool with about 8-9 tables); everybody (German-speaking, it seemed) but us ... One evening she came to our table and started talking to us and we simply asked her what had made her talk to us that time and she asked when we had arrived (I have no idea what difference it made). As the general manager who doesn`t make every guest feel welcome, she isn`t doing the best job, I think.
Every Monday at 18.30 there was a cocktail with the management at the terrace above the restaurant. At that time the sun was shining straight there. Three small umbrellas didn`t do the job. We actually came downstairs to be a part of that cocktail but decided to quit because it was boiling hot out on the terrace. I`ll leave it with no comment ....
The location of the hotel is very good, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. I`d go back but not for the money we`d paid.
All in all we had a great time!

Ps While sitting at the bar when the neon sign was on, one could see two and half maybe three stars. You show your pictures to your friends and ask you: Was it really a five-star hotel?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and appreciated the good food, the friendly service (please be assured that your kind words about Elisa and Vega will be shared with them) and the evening entertainment.

As the hotel manager, I endeavour to speak to all my guests during their stay. In order to ensure that clients on arrival at the hotel have the opportunity to meet the different members of my team we encourage them to attend the welcome cocktail that takes place each Monday, and in this way I am also able to familiarize myself with new arrivals and at times of high occupancy, as was the case during the first week of your stay, all the heads of department and managers are able to introduce ourselves as we may not get the opportunity to do so individually due to the high number of clients in the hotel. We aim to be warm and welcoming to our clients, ensure that the service runs smoothly, whilst respecting their privacy whilst they are enjoying their dinner in the evening. I am truly sorry that you were unable to attend the welcome cocktail on the first Monday of your arrival as this would have helped to avoid any misunderstanding.

As an international team comprising of different nationalities, we pride ourselves on treating all our guests equally and any feelings you have that this was not the case were completely unintentional and I sincerely hope that you will accept my apology.

Regarding the view of your Junior-Suite, all requests for specific views are on request and we always do our utmost to fulfil these requests but we prefer not to confirm this prior to arrival to avoid any disappointment.

During school holidays we do have more families with children who like to spend their holidays in our hotel for this reason we take into consideration all our guests needs and provide two pools within the adults only Spa area for those that wish to relax in a tranquil ambience.

We do control the dress code and we also inform our guests about this upon arrival. We are sorry should our efforts have not been entirely successful on some occasions. Please be assured that we will increase our vigilance in this area.

If there is anything we can do to meet your expectations during your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel but stayed for just one night before transferring to the Villa del Conde which was much more to our taste. Will not be negative about the hotel but really can't understand why it is so popular - and so expensive!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for your review concerning the one night you stayed at our Seaside Palm Beach ****.

Since the comments of our guests are a matter of paramount importance we would appreciate if you could contact us directly (direccion@hotel-palm-beach.com), letting us know which areas of our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife, 1 year old son (23 months) and I have just returned from the Seaside Palm Beach from a 2-week stay, on a half-board basis. On arrival, the reception staff were friendly and courteous. We were offered welcome drinks in the lounge area, whilst we waited a short time for our room to be ready (we were early). Without exception staff were always polite and helpful, and made a big fuss of our son, which made us feel at ease. A special mention to Rocio, Hotel Manager, and Lelianne, Assistant Manager, who were truly excellent.

The hotel is located only 100 yards or so from the beach, 50 yards to the nearest supermarket and a short walk to the bus station, taxi rank, beach bars/restaurants and excellent shops and boutiques. It is also less than a 30 minute transfer from Las Palmas airport, which is very helpful with a young son to entertain.

The food was always of an excellent standard, lots of variety and well presented. The requirements of our son could always be accommodated and if there was anything that was not on the menu, we could ask for an alternative to be prepared. Breakfast was exceptional and always set us up for the day. We ate at the restaurant every night of our stay, the food was so good we did not feel the need to go elsewhere. The evening meal alternated nightly between a la carte and 'barbeque'. Perhaps the hotel ought to rename their 'barbeque' night, because it offered far more than a typical UK barbeque, with a wide variety of meat, fish, vegetables, salad, and just about anything else you could ask for. The hotel was also prepared for you to swap evening meal for lunch. On occasions, we did have a light lunch at the pool bar.

We had a double room with cot-bed, and balcony, with an upgrade to a pool view. The room was cleaned daily, with bedding and towels changed without fail. We were also given complimentary bottled water and chocolates every evening. The hotel maids were really friendly and we were particularly impressed with Nieves, who our son enjoyed seeing at the end of every day.

We were very impressive with the number of pools on offer. We used the children's pool, complete with slide, and smaller baby pool, which was fantastic for the younger children. The main adults pool was a great size and never overly busy. There was also a separate saltwater 'quiet' pool for those wishing to relax. Adjoining this pool was the wellness centre and spa. The pool staff were always friendly and available to help with providing mattresses and umbrellas as soon as we arrived. Staff from the pool bar were also available to take drinks orders and bring them to you poolside.

We would recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in returning in the future. Definitely 5-star!

Room Tip: We had a double room with a cot-bed for our 1 year old son, on the 2nd floor, i.e. same floor as rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Splendia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Palm Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.