We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Save Saved
You added Seaside Palm Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice and overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel has a good location - very close to the beach. The lobby, hallways and rooms have been nicely renovated. Rooms are spacious, they have nice balconies, bathrooms are of decent size. The airconditioning did not work very well. The outdoor facilities including pools were very nice. Their breakfast spread was excellent. Dinners were good. Personell and services were very good. The hotel attracts mainly more mature clientel. I really have no complaints, but in the end, I do not think that it was worth the money I spent. There is nothing exceptional about this hotel to justify significantly higher price when compared to other hotels in Maspalomas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for publishing your comments regarding your stay at our Seaside Palm Beach*****.

It is a delight to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the rooms, the food, the service and the facilities were to your liking.

Furthermore, we wish to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the air conditioning. Please be assured that we do our utmost to provide perfect holidays for our guests. This is why we appreciate very much when our guests inform us immediately should they not be entirely satisfied with something.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and hope that we will have the possibility to welcome you back for future holidays.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    110
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
105
304
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is our second holiday in this hotel. After traveling a lot around the world I must say that it is very difficult to find any faults.
1. Very well positioned. On the Maspalomas beach. In the center of resort, close to all the shops and restaurants. Overlooking famous Maspalomas Dunes.
2. Spotlessly clean. Room service is very good. If you will choose Room type C and above, you will have fresh water, newspapers, Loccitaine toiletries, kettle and night room service with sweets on your beds.
3. Whatever room you choose, design wise they all very same standards. You will only pay extra for a view.
4. Grounds are very well designed. All divided by small areas, that you will not feel unpersonal.
5.The full atmosphere, ambiance, staff and managers of the hotel makes you fill very recognizable, not just a number in a lien's list.
6.Most people are very well dressed, which we liked very much.
7. Most of the guests are from Germany. Also second week we had more people from UK, Northern Countries and France. We liked to stay with Germans. They very much respect your privacy. There is no wild parties and late night noises.
8. There is 3 pools in the hotel: large fresh water, small heated seawater and children's. There is never shortage of sun beds. Spa and all the saunas are very nice, clean and well positioned on the fresh air. You are relaxing after been in the sauna looking at the stars and sky and listening to the birds singing.
9. Food is exceptionally good. Everything is very fresh. I am very sensitive to unknown foods, but this is the only hotel my tummy feels comfortable in too:)
They have barbecue buffet dinners 3 times a week, which are very plentiful. The rest of the week it is a la cart, which I find was a good idea, cos it let you digestive system relax a little. Breakfast is excellent.
The only thing I would change, it is the beds. It is a very romantic hotel, but they do not have rooms with one big bed. It is only two beds pushed together.You feel very separate from your partner. I used to move to my husband during the night and fell into a hole between them:)
In general great hotel and very upmarket resort with beautiful long beach. We want to thank again all the staff and manager of the hotel for the great service they provided and we hope that it will stay the same. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you like to stay in the room during the day, then pay for your view. If you are out most off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for publishing your review on Tripadvisor regarding your second stay at our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated, as they give us a direct feedback from the view of a guest and also help other travellers to make their decisions.

We are delighted to learn that this year’s stay was just as perfect as the last one and that you enjoyed all the comforts our hotel has to offer. Furthermore, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the company of our international guests and that you were happy with our culinary delights.

Please rest assured that we took note of your wish for a double bed. The majority of our guests prefer to have to big beds combined, this is why we provide double beds only in a few rooms.

Once again we wish to thank you for your review and are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just back from a week here and overall had a pleasant stay. We had a few teething problems over the first few days but when we finally spoke with the Manager these in the main were dealt with effeciently. One of the issues was with the Air con, and although looked at a number of times it was never resolved and we were never given an explanation. It was cooler to open the balcony door than have the AC on at it's coolest setting!

Staff on the whole were efficient and very friendly and the food was of a good standard. The barbeque was good quality and great choice, different on each night, but the food in the restuarant was limited choice and at times not great - certainly not 5* standard.

One of our biggest issues was with the whole 'holding beds at the pool' scenario - literally by 8/8.30am most beds had been 'booked' even though the hotel has a policy that if not used within an hour they would be freed up - this didn't happen and 3 days in a row 2 beds were held beside where we were and never used throughout the day. I can't stand this practice but constantly saw lots of tipping going on! We also payed extra for a room upgrade to a pool/garden view room - complete waste of money! We were on 1st floor overlooking the umbrellas on the Terrace where all the main dining took place and saw no pool, just a few palm trees in the distance.

We enjoyed our stay, but having stayed in many 5* hotels around the world I wouldn't rate this as a 5*. It was nice, but personally for the price I think there's a lot better value around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our food and the helpfulness of our staff.

Nonetheless, we regret to read that you were not satisfied with the view of your room. The type B rooms, located between 2nd and 5th floor, have either pool or garden view or enjoy a restricted sea-view on the two upper floors. In case our guests do not like the assigned room they always have the possibility to ask for a change of room (based upon availability). We always do our utmost to enable every one of our guests, to spent unforgettable holidays at our Seaside Palm Beach*****. On a future stay I would be more than glad to take care of your room preferences personally.

Regarding the sun beds, we try to avoid having guests blocking them by instructing our pool-staff to remove towels on unused sun beds. We hope you understand that we ask our guests to follow our non-reservation policy, in a well occupied hotel it is sometimes hard to follow up on every case, however we will look into this matter.

Please be informed that we did check the air conditioning several times and found it to be working normally with the coldest temperatures between 10 and 14 degrees.

We were surprised to read that quality and variety of the menus in our restaurant were not to your satisfaction, because we always do our best to maintain a very high standard, offering a variety of high quality menus 4 times a week, served directly at our guests' table. We alter this with 3 x BBQ buffet, which we were happy to read, was to your complete satisfaction. The variety of menu served at the table and BBQ is in most cases very much appreciated by our guests.

The same goes with our service standard. Our staff endeavours to give every guest the same attention and service. Therefore please be assured that we took note of your comments and will keep an eye on that in the future.

We would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our 5 star services and remain

With kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Like the previous review we have also been to many hotels over the past few years and this ranks with the best. We were greeted by warm polite professional staff, check in was quick and efficient and we were escorted to our suite by the duty manager. The room was a good size, split living/sleeping/bathroom area and a good size balcony overlooking the pool. We loved the 70's retro decor, bright and cheerful.There is more than adequate storage, a free safe, l'occitane bathroom products and a payable minibar. On our first night we received a complimentary bottle of champagne, daily bottled water and newspaper (nice touch).
We had opted for half board. Breakfast gave plentiful choice and the evening dining was mostly of a high standard. I did prefer the a la carte to the BBQ option, but that was personal choice. Evening meals normally consisted of 2 choices per course with a dessert buffet (difficult to resist). The menus were varied and some of the choices included rabbit, steak, guinea fowl, lobster, all cooked to a high standard.
The hotel staff throughout were pleasant, courteous and professional at all times, always smiling and ready to greet you good morning and good evening.
Sun beds were plentiful, there was some early birds reserving beds but it wasn't really necessary, some days we arrived after a walk at 11am and there were still plenty of beds available.
I would without hesitation recommend this hotel, I fail to understand some of the previous negative reviews regarding this hotel. We loved every aspect of this hotel and will definitely be back.
A personal thank you to stephanie (management), always smiling and helpful, professional and courteous, I still think you work too many hours!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

It is wonderful to read your personal review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holidays at our hotel.

We are truly pleased to hear that you felt comfortable from the very beginning and that you fully enjoyed the welcoming ambience, the service and our gastronomy.

Stephanie was more than happy to see that you mentioned her on Tripadvisor. She sends you many greetings and hopes you are doing well. I personally also wish to thank you for mentioning the good work of the staff, as this is exactly what makes them love their jobs.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful start into the new year 2013.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have been to many hotels in the last years and this was by far the best one! When we entered the hotel we were greeted by smartly dressed, very courteous staff that was able to answer all our questions and help in any way. (Thank you, Vivien!)

The rooms are spacious and very clean, we got two bottles of water every day and two obligatory (and tasty) cookies. The room is serviced twice a day and in this hotel they really understand what it means: not just vacuum the floor but leave the room neat and tidy.
The hotel is located at the famous Maspalomas beach, and during the night the sound of the ocean ushered us to sleep.

We were especially delighted that the hotel took note that we were on a honeymoon. We got a free breakfast in room and a free spa service.

The food at the restaurant is excellent, also with very professional staff. In fact, for some of them we had the feeling that they knew our wishes even before we did. (Thank you, Elizabeth and Damien!) After every lunch we were delighted by the "Chocolate Dream", made up every day in a slightly different way.

All in all definitely recommended without any reservations. We had a great time there!

Room Tip: We had a room with ocean view - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

First of all we wish to take the opportunity to congratulate you, once again, on your wedding. It was a true pleasure and honour that you chose our hotel to spend your honeymoon at and we are more than happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

Furthermore, it is nice to read that our little Honeymoon amenities and the spa treatment were very much to your liking - this is exactly what we hoped for.

Regarding the kind words about or staff, please be assured that we passed these on to Elizabeth and Damien, since compliments like this motivate and encourage us to continue working the way we do.

Once more, we thank you for sharing your experiences with us and for recommending us on this platform. We would be more than happy to welcome you back on future vacations.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Back again and never disappointed. The staff really do go the extra mile and are all very pleasant. We had a problem with a switch in our room and having called reception, the technician arrived in a couple of minutes and fixed the problem. Not sure we would have had this service in the UK. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your review published on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to read that you had a relaxing stay at our hotel and enjoyed the nice treat. Moreover, we were happy to hear that you appreciated our efforts to go the extra mile for our guests, because this is exactly what we intent to do every day.

We would be more than happy to have the possibility to welcome you back next year and look forward to pamper you once more.

Best regards

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed a week at this hotel, room was great, hotel staff from reception/concierge to pool staff/restaurant staff were courteous, attentive and friendly
Hotel a stones throw from beach and lovely promenade of maspolomas/melonores
Would definitely go backl

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that especially the staff and the location of the hotel were to your satisfaction.

We would be more than happy to welcome once again and remain with

best regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Palm Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.