We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Palm Beach to your Saves list
Seaside Palm Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Genuine Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I’m going to review this hotel in two ways - first the Hotel detail (fair and impartial), and second a basic choice between what was our personal favourite on the island (The LOPSEAN Villa Del Conde) and this hotel, The Seaside Palm Beach.

FIRST: THE HOTEL

A hotel is often defined by its facilities, decoration, amenities and so on. This Hotel is good. However, it's also the little touches that really set it apart...

- the smiling, helpful "Pool Man" putting down thick, clean lounger covers and towels for you in the morning & setting up & moving parasols to your personal taste throughout the day (shade or sun)
- abundance of free, clean towels everywhere (pools / spa / wellness)
- plenty of good quality, wooden sun loungers – all working perfectly
- a soothing, calming atmosphere, nice people everywhere
- baby pools main pool, adults only (quiet) pool – somewhere for everyone
- not a spec of dirt or an insect in sight - anywhere
- hotel the Director walking 'round the hotel daily checking up and talking to guests
- great plasma TV in the bedroom
- free changing room for your last day
- quality toiletries replaced daily
- smartly dressed, attentive reception staff
- bottle of water by your bed each night
- Let me give an example of how good the Maid was - she saw I was using a third pillow (which really wasn't for my head, it was on the other bed!); that night she produced a third pillow in the correct linen, all set out for me. Perfect room service.


I could go on, but let’s cover off some other key areas:

On balance, the best feature of this hotel is its sunbathing areas - set amongst mature palm trees, attracting birds, but not shading the pool areas you easily can drift away and totally relax, “feel special”, feel “on holiday” - you really could be in another world, even though you can walk out the door and be right on the beach and close to good shopping. Simply the best. Don’t be fooled by the exterior of this hotel !

The Spa has great saunas, steam rooms etc. with open showers and (naturist) sunbathing areas, free cooled drinking water on tap. The best place in Maspalomas for a private, all over tan.

Rooms always very clean, a great sunset (or beach) view from floors 4-7 (class B/C – NOTE: make sure you pay for one of these, it will transform your vacation. Best rooms: 4/5/6/730-757 for the evening sunset, but my friends in the hotel preferred the other side so they could hear and see the sea) and a high quality Plasma with 90+ channels including 10 UK.

Throughout the hotel there were quality, helpful, well-mannered staff - truly five star treatment. I'm sure those who didn't experience this need to remember behaviour breeds behaviour.... treat your hosts with respect, be polite and sometimes patient ... and a few tips here and there work wonders... !

Guests: about half were over 60, but the rest were a many ages; my guess is 80% German, the rest Dutch, English, maybe a couple of Spanish. Everyone was pleasant and well mannered - I saw no teenagers, maybe just older children 17/19 with their parents.

Men must wear long trousers for dinner, but now it's more likely to be jeans and a polo shirt, rather than jacket and smart trousers. Same everywhere now, sadly, the majority don't want to make the effort. Some did, but it's not the same as just four years ago when some were wearing long trousers for Breakfast at this hotel!

Any problems? A couple - the bar staff were a little slow at times, I think they had some new people. Evening meal - 3 nights a buffet, 4 nights a la carte (with very limited choice and sometimes very slow service indeed). Being in high season the staff couldn't always cope with a full hotel all arriving for evening dinner at once.

This could be solved by either more buffet evenings. or with a simple sign asking people to wait and be seated by staff, but that approach goes against what the Hotel is all about - the free flowing of people, the calmness, no instructions or barriers.... just relax.... I can understand the management’s reluctance to ‘direct people’ in this way. It is an interesting dilemma!

Also, smoking is allowed outside (by law) so there is a risk of being half way through your meal when someone lights up beside you. Yes, a downside, but contrary to what some more negative reviewers might say, it's easily avoided - just eat inside, where it's air conditioned and smoke free. It's the same everywhere else in Spain. The VDC does not offer this lovely option. So get over it !




SECOND: THE CHOICE YOU HAVE

Bottom line, we have stayed here three times, and also at the Ville Del Conde twice. In the evening some may say, and I may agree, the VDC wins: as it serves an outstanding buffet with show cooking and a wide choice of food every night, all high quality. Then you move to the central piazza / central square, with its patio heaters and excellent shows. So if your evening meal is the most important thing in the world to you, maybe the VDC is for you, (particularly if you like evening shows outside).

However, in the day and overall, the SSPB wins by a clear margin. But Why…?

Class. Its staff are better, its rooms (B/C only) are significantly better (if somewhat small), sunbathing in what feels like a private and exclusive garden with staff attending to your every need, plus the adult Spa and sunbathing areas, palates/yoga/ keep fit on the lawn, and the calm, measured, upmarket atmosphere. It’s divine. You will escape the real world.

If you want to experience a feeling of being 'special' every day (but in a natural, unforced way) the best sunbathing areas of all the hotels in Maspalomas, a calmer atmosphere, mature, polite guests then SSPB is for you.

I'll be returning to Maspalomas; assuming the price is right we have a new favourite number one if we want to relax.

Rest assured, The VDC is just fine, you'll love it. We’ll happily return if the SSPB is too expensive. But whilst it’s a close call …the Seaside Palm Beach wins overall. Our new number one !

A massive thank you to all the staff and management for a simply wonderful holiday. Near perfect - and trust me, I’m hard to please and don't suffer fools gladly! Wish I could return next week…

Room Tip: Best rooms: 4/5/6/730-757 for the evening sunset, but my friends in the hotel preferred the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

First of all, I wish to apologize for the delay in responding to your review published on Tripadvisor.

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a detailed comment! This very creative and original way to express how to have a good time by comparing two products (in this case us and our competitor) is not only a very fair approach on what you have experienced and your perception on what both hotels are like, but also a very helpful and valuable information for other travellers.

It is part of our Seaside philosophy to achieve that every guest feels special and to strive to meet the individual needs of each guest. We have made this our priority as we think that these are the key factors for unforgettable holidays.

Therefore it has been a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one.

Once again I would like to express my gratitude to you for writing this comment, which again, I am sure many travellers will find very helpful when having to choose their holiday destination here on Gran Canaria.

I remain with kind regards and hope to see you again soon,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    120
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
113
335
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt Herts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just back after 11 nights in Palm Beach Hotel. Having read the report titled "Mr" we were unsure despite so many other excellent reviews. I can honestly say that the "Mr" report was madness, infact this hotel was superb bfrom start to finish, 5* maybe 4+.
Cleanliness, service, food choice, style, staff helpfulness and VFM definately top rate. The nice little touches of a complimentary bottle of mineral water and chockie at bedtime was a nice touch.
Rooms were clean, air con worked perfectly, not noisy, easy controls - bathroom large with a walk in wetroom shower. Again powerful hot water (although mostly had coolish as needed to cool down - weather so hot last week). I thought bathroom towels were smallish and not luxury enough (really minor point) and so were pillows.
BBQ and a la carte on alternate nights, food plentiful, tasty, hot and no complaints on service (get Carlos on board and you get a good guarenteed a good table). Wine list extensive and reasonably priced. Nice touch was having the manageress walking the walk each night and conversing with guests of all languages.
Pools, kids, main & sea water with spa. Pool service, (inc free towels & parasol) was exceptional and the pool staff could not be more helpful.One downside was the pigeons that frequented the poolside area and African Bar and left their marks on some of the chairs. Could be dealt with as will only get worse.
So overall if you want quiet and luxury this is it. Highly recommend for the 50+ couples group.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have best view (but carry surcharge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback concerning your holiday on Gran Canaria.

The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay and that you singled out the cleanliness, the food choice and the service provided by the staff to be excellent.

Please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments concerning the towels and pillows and will have this in mind for future changes.

With regard to the pigeons we wish to inform you that we are taking all possible measures to keep them away from the hotel. Since our hotel borders with the protected area of Maspalomas, it is only allowed to take certain measures. In addition, we are in close contact with the community of Maspalomas to find an adequate solution.

With renewed thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I picked this hotel due to the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. I have just returned from the Palm Beach Hotel with my husband and daughter who is 23 yrs. We have had the most relaxed and most enjoyable holiday we have ever had and we would definately go back! The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you from the moment we arrived. Our room was beautiful with a good view of the beach. Infact we were only 2 mins walk from the beach and all the lovely classie shops and lovely restaurants. The main bus station is only 5 minutes walk away with an excellent bus service - recommend visiting Puerto De Morgan and getting the ferry home up the coastline. Our room was lovely and cleaned every day and the towels were changed twice a day. Every evening a maid came around and left water and chocolates - first holiday we have never needed to buy water. The facilities are excellent - 3 swimming pools, 1 main pool, 1 for children and 1 adult pool which was a sea water/spa pool. I was really impressed with the pool attendent you picked where you wanted to sit and he would put the cushion and towel on your sun bed. I visited the Spa and had a deep massage which was really good. The food is beautiful - 3 days a week it is A La Carte and general food the other days of the week. I would like to say a big thank you to the manager Rocio Cibra'n and ALL the staff who were very helpful and friendly, especially Carlos & Manolo who consistently made us welcome.
Wish we had stayed longer - definately returning!
Thank you all very much!
The Clarke family, England.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Clarke Family,

We wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and highly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Seaside Palm Beach*****.

It has been a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. Especially your kind words regarding our staff were very much appreciated. Please be assured that we passed these on to our team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and remain

with kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have just returned from our second visit to the Palm Beach Hotel. We returned because we enjoyed our first visit in 2008 so much. We were not disappointed, having arrived late our room was upgraded. The management, staff, were most obliging and helpful. The food was excellent and the facilities for us were just what we wanted fo a relaxing holiday We enjoyed our holiday and would recommend the Palm Beach to all our friends. If there was one constructive comment I would suggest the hotel should request families with young children to take control and supervise them during dinner and not allow them to play.on the terrace.

David & Gwen. Dublin Ireland

Room Tip: Floors 5 - 7 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear David and Gwen,

It has been a pleasure reading your comments published on Tripadvisor and we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences with us and other travellers.

We are delighted to learn that both of you had exceptional and overall relaxing holidays in our hotel. Thank you also for your valuable feedback. We trust that our guests follow their parental responsibilities. However should there be a mayor disturbance to other guests we will indeed advise our guests accordingly.

With renewed thanks for recommending our hotel to friends and family and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

With best regards from Maspalomas,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My original review of this hotel was so critical that, no doubt under pressure, it was removed from here. The photographs that I posted also appear to have been removed, despite the presence of many pictures that are clearly promotional ones, not genuine traveller photographs at all.

Don’t be fooled by any positive review here!

1. Despite e-mailing the hotel in advance in both English and Spanish, our room preferences were not respected.
2. The allocated room was subject to excessive noise generated by the disco from the hotel itself, making sleep difficult until the early hours of the morning.
3. A new room was allocated but suffered from exactly the same problem and additionally that the air conditioning system was not working and nor was the Internet connection.
4. After the trouble of moving room yet again (and packing for a third time when we are supposed to be enjoying a holiday instead), realised that the promise of air conditioning did not extend to overnight, which is exactly when it is most required. We were therefore awoken every night by 27° heat in the room. Calls were made to reception at 4:30 AM in evidence of this but no explanation was ever provided.
5. Upon arrival, we discovered that the bedding included just a single very tiny hard pillow, accompanied by unsprung, uncomfortable mattresses. A request for additional pillows was initially fobbed off and we had to insist on the basis of this supposedly being a five-star hotel.
6. We didn't expect to be sharing our rooms with spiders, cockroaches and a very large number of ants everywhere, which included for example the dressing table.
7. One of the dressing gowns and the room was already dirty when he arrived.
8. No attempt was made at the restaurant to cover food, which was frequently covered in flies.
9. Most days cups and plates were dirty to some extent.
10. A large proportion of the three-way sugar bowls are chipped around their entire perimeter.
11. The hotel did not offer any sort of welcome, much less a towel and drink on arrival.
12. There was no invitation to a manager's/staff cocktail evening.
13. The hotel is extremely unattractive inside and out. Retro 70s interiors are as unpleasant to look at, as the backless chairs are to sit in. Even restaurant chairs were so designed.
14. Diners expect relaxing background music perhaps and not to have it almost drowned out by very loud popular music from the immediately neighbouring room.
15. The hotel does not care at all about its non-smoking guests, providing no non-smoking areas at dinner. Clearly, the hotel does not "get it" that people want to enjoy their meals in a smoke-free environment. Despite Spanish law requiring indoor areas to be smoke-free, this was compromised by the opening of large sliding doors that allowed smoking from those immediately proximate. Unfortunately, the hotel caters to a great preponderance of smokers.
16. In a hotel of this standard, toilets should be separate to other bathroom areas. Ventilation of the toilets should be by mechanical means and not via a louvered window onto the corridor outside.
17. The spa area is particularly unattractive but this is considerably exacerbated by calming aromas and music/silence being replaced by the noise and fumes from heavy diesel traffic navigating the service road immediately alongside.
18. Not that there is much peace in the hotel anyway. There was constant hammering, drilling and Stihl sawing throughout our stay, both from the neighbouring properties and the hotel itself.
19. What sort of a five-star hotel does not have a proper selection of stationary in the room?
20. Could the hotel do nothing to prevent men in the neighbouring properties exposing themselves in an ostentatious way while guests are playing tennis?
21. Thomson's description promised a choice of restaurants but one was closed and the other interior restaurant (at which we were obliged to dine due to complete disregard of the hotel for non-smokers) attracted a supplemental charge.
22. There was no animation program available at this hotel, despite the fact that this is a usual feature of hotels of quality these days.
23. There being precious little to do, it is a shame that the little equipment on offer for our own amusement was an embarrassment to the hotel. See photograph.
24. The food was dreadful for a hotel of any standard. See photograph.
25. The first room which we were allocated had a broken fridge shelf, encrusted with old food. Table lamp was broken in the second room. Who is performing regular maintenance checks?
26. Presumably no-one because even the balcony safety rail was loose. See photograph.
27. It is not possible for guests to control their own balcony light, which is switched for all balconies together at the time of the hotels choosing.
28. Two important time-critical messages left by Thomson's only decent member of staff in the UK (apparently) were not delivered to us and possibly deliberately intercepted by the hotel.
29. We had to return to reception no less than three occasions due to faulty keys and there was often a queue of other people with exactly the same problem. I do not expect this degree of inconvenience at a good hotel.
30. Why put weighing scales in the bathroom that are inaccurate by 10 kg?
31. No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms, nor iron etc.
32. A double room that normally means a double bed and this was specified to Thomson but in the event, two single beds were provided.
33. I seriously considered covering the rooms’ "artwork" during our stay. If guests did that to one of the walls at any other hotel,, they would be accused of vandalism. See photograph.
34. On inspection, I find that the hotel bill, which was not presented in my native language, includes mini-bar itmes that were in fact not taken. Despite taking up the matter, this has never been redressed.
35. The hotel does not, even upon request, issue receipts for exchanges of currency.

About the only satisfactory aspect of this hotel where the staff, who were for the most part either good or excellent and the tennis court and coach, although we did not require lessons.

Of course some of the points above are relatively unimportant in themselves but other points are major concerns and the sheer number of problems is indicative of an overall poor standard of senior management and investment.

To sum up, this is a lazy and complacent hotel, which treats its’ guest to fumes and noise in the spa, followed by an underwhelming dinner, sat on badly designed uncomfortable chairs, blasted by competing music systems and poisoning by ever-present heavy smokers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Once again this review reverts to your case over which we corresponded on numerous occasions in November 2011 and in April 2012. As you will recall, it was when your e-mails crossed the line and became threatening, abusive and insulting, that we decided not to continue with this type of correspondence any more, a decision of which you were informed in writing.

We wish to point out that your previous review has not been removed from Tripadvisor due to your constructive criticism of the hotel, but because of your disrespectful statements with direct references to individuals. As this is not in keeping with the corresponding guidelines of usage for Tripadvisor, your review has been removed.

I regret that almost one year later you have not moved on, and as I explained to you at the time, I am sure that if you had spoken to me whilst you were at the hotel regarding your discontent or if the style of your subsequent e-mails had been within the limits of what is considered to be respectful dialogue we could have cleared this matter.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I've booked this hotel because travel agency told me that is the best hotel at Gran Canaria and that all guest's are very satisfied with it. As a person who travel a lot I know what it means 5 star hotel and what I can expect from it. First - Hotel is only for family and kids and old people!!! I felt like I was in rehab centar not on vacation. FOOD - Breakfast always same but not that bad. Dinner - very poor!!! 3 times per week it's only possible to eat something good because it's a barbecue days... Room service is almost funny, like at 3 star hotel where you can only have Club sandwich or some other sandwich and room service is available ONLY TILL 22:00!!! When I booked this hotel they told me that there is 2 restaurants in the hotel beside the main one and when I came they were closed!!! SUMMER PAUSE ??????!!!!!!!!! There is more thing to tell but I think this is enough!!! Is this a 5 star hotel or am I crazy?!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and wish to comment on your statements.

Especially during the summer months we are lucky to welcome different groups of guests. Couples and singles of each age, as well as families, have many possibilities to spend their holidays with us, having a fun day at our Mini Club, relaxing by the pool, doing some outdoor sports etc.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our BBQ nights during your stay but regret to hear that our menus á la carte were not to your taste. Our additional restaurants “L’Orangerie” and “La Trattoria” always open only in the winter months, depending on the occupancy also already in the middle of September. We are sorry to hear that you were not informed about this in advance.

Our room service menu offers different plates with fish, filet steaks as well as snacks, sandwiches and salads. We regret to read that it did not meet your expectations.

We would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our 5 star services and remain

with best regards from Maspalomas

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for our first holiday together. The hotel exceeded our expectations and at first we felt a little like we didn't fit in here.

The hotel's facilities can not be faulted, the rooms were spotless, cleaned daily and we were provided with fresh towels daily too.

There was a huge range of food available to everyone's tastes that was always eaten on the terrace. Every other evening was a barbeque which we really enjoyed and the alternate night was a sit down table service meal. I must say that there was no young couples in this hotel, and we were told that we couldn't eat one evening because my boyfriend had long shorts on rather than trousers. I thought this was absolutely ridiculous as they were smart tailored shorts and he hadn't brought any trousers with him!! No one had told us about this beforehand either.

Also, there was very little English people in the hotel and it seemed to be dominated by Germans. This wouldn't be a problem but it seemed we were 'overlooked' and whereas the staff in the restaurant made an effort to chit chat to other parties, we rarely got a hello.

The freshwater pool was so refreshing and sunbeds weren't a problem to get, although I'd suggest you get up early to get a good spot. The massage pool was also amazing with jets in there to revitalise you.

The beach is literally a 2 minute walk away and all along the front there are various shops and restaurants to eat at. We often went into playa del ingles in the evening, just €5 in a taxi where there ate a great range of karaoke bars and clubs for a good night out.

A boat trip is a must and definitely the highlight of our holiday, although er had to go and find information ourselves as when we asked at reception they didn't seem to know much about trips or days out.

All in all the hotel was in a great location, and was beautiful. It would have been faultless if it weren't for the few hiccups in customer service. We still had an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Business Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Palm Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.