We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Sunair s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere where you can relax in peace and quiet. The one bed appartment we had was not huge but big enough for me and my husband. The appartment was very close to the pool area where one of the pools was heated. We stayed on a half board basis and there was a good variety of food available. The small fridge in the room (empty mini bar) was very useful to keep drinks in. Only thing missing was a kettle in the room. There is a flat walk to the beach which takes about 10 - 15 mins.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your open and kind words. We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you spent wonderful days in Maspalomas and that you had been very pleased with the facilities and the food.

Regarding the missing kettle in the room, we like to point out, that your comment is much appreciated since it helps us to improve the services we offer to our guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    491
    180
    65
    50
See reviews for
654
324
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a really good stay with my family during christmas new years. The events organized by the resorts were very engaging and entertaining. Excellent heated pool environment even in the coldest months like december. Highly recommend it for families who wish to visit.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Dunas Suites and Villas over Christmas and had a lovely week. We had a 2 bedroomed accommodation, which was very clean, and cleaned daily. There was a nice terrace for sitting out and we enjoyed the daily visits from the resident cat(s)! There was a small fridge for water and space for a few drinks etc, but no tea making facilities in the apartment we stayed in. The staff were all helpful and very cheerful. The resort is very clean, the gardens are kept well and it's a pleasure to wander about the place. The resort was tastefully decorated for Christmas and every effort made to make Christmas nice. Moving on to the food, this was our first experience of all-inclusive and the food was presented beautifully, nicely cooked and plenty of choice. There were fresh displays of fruit, breads, salads, cheeses, desserts and more, at every meal, plus all of the hot choices. We ate loads and enjoyed every meal. The Christmas Gala buffet was really nice, if a little busy.
We used the pool every day, early morning and evening, but didn't use other facilities. Our teenager is a computer geek, managed to get him in the pool and that's about it. We walked about quite a lot and we all enjoyed that.
Internet very slow in the apartment, but fine in the reception area. It would be good if this could be sorted out.
Shower was occasionally cold, but I think this is to be expected in a large resort.
Overall, a really place and enjoyed our experience of it.
The sand dunes and lake, the walk along the beach to Playa de Ingles and designer shops near the lighthouse are nice things to do/visit in the area.
A friend gave me the details of HappyHiking so that we could organise a hike, but the guide was sick. In the end we did our own walk in the mountains using rambling rogers walking guide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay in our hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, the garden and the pools. Also we are happy to hear that you were very pleased with the food and especially the Christmas Buffet. We will forward your praises to our kitchen team.

Regarding your comment about the internet connection we would like to point out, that we will improve this service during the next week. We are already installing more antennas in the whole complex.

Thank you very much for mentioning especially the friendliness and service mind driven team, this is much appreciated by all of us.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have recently come back from spending Christmas week here and have raved non stop to everyone since returning.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by friendly and very accommodating staff. We were instantly given our all inclusive bands, were offered help with our bags and had been fully informed of the facilities, local attractions and shops. Once we had been given directions to our villa we found that our request to be near a swimming pool could not have been taken more literally as we were 10 steps away from one.
The hotel as a whole is very modern and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The villa was very clean and spacious. We had just one small problem with the shower but as soon as this was reported, someone had been sent to fix it within the hour.
The food on the whole was delicious. I don't think I've ever eaten so much in my life! Your basic foods were served each mealtime and then each night there was a different variety of soup, fish and meat along with some typical Canarian foods. For me personally the meats were outstanding.
It has to be said though that our holiday was made by the animation team.They offered a variety of entertainment including bingo, aqua gym, games and even made sangria! The hotel theme song that they dance too a few times a day stuck in my head for the entire week! They all worked extremely hard from morning until night and appeared to be good with people of all ages. We were a family of 5, the youngest being 16 and within 5 minutes of being by the pool she had already been thrown in. From that moment on a friendship had been formed. I feel I should mention specific members of the team such as Wiliam and Chicco who were always eager for us to join in with activities and always said hello. But in particular we all felt that Andrea was outstanding, He always seemed to go the extra mile, was funny and extremely friendly. He became one of the highlights of our holiday.
The bar staff were all friendly but again in particular a specific waiter called Carlos was brilliant. Simply the only way to describe him is lovely.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks to everyone at Dunas for making our first Christmas holiday away a memorable one

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holidays so much. We pride on a good service and connecting with our guests, and your review reassures that we are on the right path.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation and liked the hotel, rooms, staff, food and beverage, atmosphere and entertainment. We will pass on your nice comments to Andrea from our animation team and also to Carlos.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We book our one week vacation via alpharooms.com. That worked perfectly and was cheaper than Booking.com or Hotels.com.

The Dunas suites (we stayed at the suites part) area is peaceful, clean and beautifull. All the apartments had their on little terrace and we were lucky to have our apartment close to the pool area, but still in a peacefull "block".

Thanks to the variety of childrens' program, the parents have a lots of children-free time :) Our daughter loved the kids club and the mini disco was a daily culmination. For the adults there's also lots of activities, all thought we preferred relaxing.

The variety in the all inclusive buffets is wide and changes every day.
The staff was extremely nice, especially the animation stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guests.

thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are delighted about your positive valuation of our hotel, especially the rooms, the food and the entertainment program. We forwarded your nice comments about the hotel staff and especially the animation team to them.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again soon and we remain at your disposal for further information.

Best Regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bagillt,uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Dunas suites the week before Christmas, it was a fantastic place for our family as we didn't need to leave the complex. Everywhere was cleaned regularly to a very good standard. There was a lot of choice for food, could do with a bit more for vegetarians and British but never the less it was still good quality. The animation team were fantastic with the kids, they looked forward to the mini disco and games at night (it was fun) Thank you Andrea, Chicco, Tamara and Tania you are great !!!! We will be booking again for Christmas 2013. Could you ask Andrea to pass his email in the response as we have mis-placed his email address, many thanks for a great week, see you next Christmas.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite room 136, bit of sun at lunch time for a sit on the patio. You dont need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

we highly appreciate your comments published on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we appreciate the nice words that you have posted. Regarding your comments about more variety for vegetarians and British guests, your opinion is much appreciated, since it helps us improve.

We will forward your comments to our staff, especially to the animation team.

Concerning the e-mail of Andrea, please contact Suitehotel@hotelesdunas.com and we will sent his e-mail.

Best regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

lovely clean hotel, amazing food with huge variety for any taste; good entertainment for both kids and adults. Thanks to all cleaning stuff, serving, cooking and of course animation. We had a lovely week.

Room Tip: block d doesnt get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of your recent stay at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

We are delighted and happy to hear that you spent wonderful sunny days here on Gran Canaria and that you enjoyed the food, facilities and entertainment program provided by the hotel team. Thank you very much for mentioning especially the friendliness and service mind driven team, this is much appreciated by all of us.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.

Best regards from Gran Canaria


Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.3 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#19 of 66 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#22 of 66 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#12 of 66 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#2 of 66 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Address: Avda. Sunair s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.